Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 10683 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5779)

4 Star

(2670)

3 Star

(1281)

2 Star

(481)

1 Star

(472)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

147 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

MUST Read!!

If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together...
If like me you could not put down the first two books by Steig Larsson "The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest" will not let you down. The author takes us through many harrowing and suspenseful moments, even a laugh out loud event and then in the end neatly ties together the future of our main characters. At many points in her life Lisbeth Salander appeared to be controlled by others however we can see she is very much in control and ready to fight back. Along with Lisbeth and Mikael Blomkvist, Erika Berger Millennium's editor and Mikael's sometime lover is the focus of much attention. For me Lisbeth our quirky and ORIGINAL heroine ranks up there with Martin Cruz Smiths Arkady Renko, Len Deighton's Bernard Samsom and Ian Rankin's John Rebus. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets' Nest has Internet hackers who are heros and doctors who are villains, the book has it all. Trying very hard to read the book slowly and to savor it for as long as I could the plan yesterday was to read about 50 pages or so. Starting at about page 200 and then suddenly a few wonderfully enjoyable hours later page 601. Finished, done, happy but sad that it was over and there would be no more books from steig Larsson.

posted by JML5629 on March 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free

Download The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet_s Nest For Free From Here goo.gl/Y6JdN

posted by 9114493 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2670 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 134
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great trilogy

    All three books were great and kept me turning the page. for me it took about 75 pages of reading to get into the story line but once there, it was hard to put the book down. The author connected all three books quite well. I did think there were at times some unwantef bablingly long descriptions. I just skipped over them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great story

    Loved this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I wish there were more books in the series. Anyways, great endin

    I wish there were more books in the series. Anyways, great ending to a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Hornets nest indeed. If I were that guy I would have made sure she was dead before I buried her so she could not get medical assisstance.

    Huntrrgzv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was a good as the other two books in this trilogy by Stieg Larsson. He keeps you wanting to read more to find out what is going to happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Good Book!

    Hard to put down but would have liked it better if we didn't have to wait a few chapters before bringing in a character that was introduced two or three chapters back. Have to try and rememeber who they were. Also too much explanation of each character for my liking. I found it good but not as good as the first and second of the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Thought this was really good!

    Great read!





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good end to a great trilogy

    The trilogy is over & it was a roller coaster of a ride. Well worth the time, you will definitly enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Great read

    I read this book very quickly as the previous books laud all the ground work. You must read the series in order

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Very good

    Like all these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Ijbgffcvbgvvvb ssfbggbbbbhhknbb.

    !mmjjnjbhnnnnhgbnnbnntrdvfgggrvvcvhhvbbbccxszzqwdfhjnxxcvvbbhnbguxxswqqfrffiikokooolpgfgcvvbbvvvvvvvvvvvvvdfvvvvvvvvrfrrrrfffggvggvvvvvfdddfzcf""""''':+-7*&:%#4$"@##$''''%%%%%%%%%333%':%&'5&&&%%&&$%@#"''&&*&&&&&555&&&&&&45zaaszxzz.m..........jhdasxzxdfccvvvvvxccccvfvvvvvvcfghnghjnnbhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhnhuoiio

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Not for me

    I was reading this book and someone i know got a head injury, and this book suddenly became unfun to read. But the writing is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Super Great b Super Great Book.

    A must read. Tough at first....style, names, a multitude of characters to digest. BUT....keep reading....so very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    awesome

    great finish to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Satisfying yet Challenging

    This final book in the trilogy picks up right where the second book leaves off.
    As with the other two books I found it somewhat challenging absorbing and processing all of the Swedish names of people, streets, cities and so on.
    This last book has lots of political, judicial and journalistic jargon. I found I really needed to devote my full attention to reading so I could focus and process what I was reading.
    I found it highly interesting, and a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.
    After reading a series of easy vampire fiction and then young adult books I felt this was a nice shift. I also felt smarter after reading the last two of the Dragon books back to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    the girl who kicked the hornets nest

    Love the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    This final volume provides a satisfying conclusion to the trilog

    This final volume provides a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy, but it might not be the book that fans of the first two in this series expect. In fact, each book in this series actually belongs to a distinct genre—the first is essentially a murder mystery, the second is a blistering psychodrama, and this third one is a crime novel/political thriller/courtroom drama—yet somehow Larsson ties them all together into a coherent and intriguing narrative. The plotting in this one is clever, the characters are well-crafted, and the action moves along at a brisk pace (despite the book’s length). I have just two quibbles with this novel—Lisbeth is largely inert through much of the story. Although she utilizes her hacking skills to great effect, she is confined to a hospital bed (and later a prison cell) for the vast majority of the novel. Therefore, if she is indeed “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest,” she must possess some very long legs indeed. And while I’m at it, here’s a side quibble—for a series of novels that condemns and reveals (exploits?) violence that men commit against women, why is the title character referred to as a “girl” throughout this series? She is, in fact, a strong, resourceful, intelligent, and brave woman. The other substantive quibble regards the character of Erika Berger, the once-and-future-editor of Millennium magazine, who is cyberstalked and endangered by a mysterious assailant in a subplot that seems to contribute very little to the main narrative other than highlighting yet another way in which men victimize women. Larsson is a gifted enough storyteller to have woven this subplot more convincingly into the main narrative, and his failure to do so is somewhat disappointing. These two and a half quibbles aside, however, “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” is a top-notch thriller and a fitting conclusion to the potboiling Millennium trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Took me forever but was worth it

    I really enjoyed this series. It took me an embarrasingly long time to complete but i am glad that i stuck it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Good finsh of the series

    Good finsh to the series. I just wonder if the story is completly told. Many times Salanders sister Camille was mentioned. Why keep mentioning her? I wonder if the auther was going to write a seperate novel regarding Camille.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One hornet alone can¿t kill? Release The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet¿s Nest and it will definitely kill your boredom!

    Book three in the famous Millennium trilogy continues the story around Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist with the already well-known virtuos writing style of Stieg Larsson.

    Larsson develops an interesting relationship between Lisbeth and Mikael. Although they are not able to communicate face-to-face they find a way to talk to each other with the help of media devices, which play an important role in the whole trilogy.

    The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest continues the actions of The Girl Who Played with Fire, the second novel in this series, smoothly. It satisfies the reader’s urge for knowledge but stresses his inquisitiveness till the last page is turned.

    Where novel one and two in the series only point out single culprits, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest uncovers the corrupt and shocking intrigues of dominant members of society.

    As in the first two novels I really enjoyed the little text or teaser that introduces each new chapter. Larsson tells several stories of women resistances or fights against supposedly invincible enemies. These short extracts connect with the plot of the main story and reflect Lisbeth’s personal fight against her enemies in a very vivid and intense way.

    The end is rather abrupt and it didn’t satisfy me completely as it is also the final end to the series. Stieg Larsson was writing the 4th novel in this series when he died in course of a heart attack. Still this series deserves the respect and appreciation of every avid (thriller) reader!

    THE VERDICT

    The Millennium phenomenon shoudln’t be ignored. Read Stieg Larsson’s famous The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest if you want to know how the thrilling story around Lisbeth and Mikael ends. It’s a fantastic novel, but unfortunately the last part of the Millennium series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2670 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 134