Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

Average Rating 4
( 395 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
By Stephen King

This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in t...
The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
By Stephen King

This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in the Appalachian Mountains. Her family always argues with each other and pays little attention to her. She thinks of herself as the invisible child. While they are spending their time bickering with each other, Trisha tells them that she needs to use the restroom and is going to take the other path, and catch up to them when she is done. They do not hear her of course. She goes too far into the over grown path and looses her way.
Trisha loves sports and she idolizes Tom Gordon, a famous Red Socks player. He is her hero, because listening to the baseball games on her walkman, while being lost in the woods gives her hope for survival. A search party goes out looking for Trisha, and she knows because she had heard it on the news station of the walkman. A helicopter flies over her, but does not see her, and she is left alone in the woods.
Trisha has to find out how to survive on her own, with the little supplies she has in her backpack. She eats all of her food and drinks all that she has, and the water form a stream that she has walked miles to makes her sick. She makes her way into a crescent shaped clearing, and gets the feeling that she is not alone.
She later finds out that "the thing in the woods" has been following her the entire time. It is a spirit and a misshaped monster that has stopped her from eating by placing dead animals by all food sources, and clawed and knocked down trees. It looks like a human with no eyes, and wasps covering every inch of it, and completely terrifies her. Trisha tries to convince her self it was a dream. But it is not. Overall, I would say that it is an exciting book, with a great plot. Also, the characters and setting make the story come to life and feel as if you are part of it.

posted by Jessica96 on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The first time that I have been disappointed in a King novel

I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the bo...
I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the book to get better or the scary part to happen, and it never did. Don't get me wrong the book is very well written and it has it moments, but they a far and few in between. Please read this book because I am sure that a lot of people will disagree with my opinion, and you may to, and I do not want to ruin a book for anybody.

posted by MadHatter182 on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 395 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon

    The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
    By Stephen King

    This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in the Appalachian Mountains. Her family always argues with each other and pays little attention to her. She thinks of herself as the invisible child. While they are spending their time bickering with each other, Trisha tells them that she needs to use the restroom and is going to take the other path, and catch up to them when she is done. They do not hear her of course. She goes too far into the over grown path and looses her way.
    Trisha loves sports and she idolizes Tom Gordon, a famous Red Socks player. He is her hero, because listening to the baseball games on her walkman, while being lost in the woods gives her hope for survival. A search party goes out looking for Trisha, and she knows because she had heard it on the news station of the walkman. A helicopter flies over her, but does not see her, and she is left alone in the woods.
    Trisha has to find out how to survive on her own, with the little supplies she has in her backpack. She eats all of her food and drinks all that she has, and the water form a stream that she has walked miles to makes her sick. She makes her way into a crescent shaped clearing, and gets the feeling that she is not alone.
    She later finds out that "the thing in the woods" has been following her the entire time. It is a spirit and a misshaped monster that has stopped her from eating by placing dead animals by all food sources, and clawed and knocked down trees. It looks like a human with no eyes, and wasps covering every inch of it, and completely terrifies her. Trisha tries to convince her self it was a dream. But it is not. Overall, I would say that it is an exciting book, with a great plot. Also, the characters and setting make the story come to life and feel as if you are part of it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The first time that I have been disappointed in a King novel

    I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the book to get better or the scary part to happen, and it never did. Don't get me wrong the book is very well written and it has it moments, but they a far and few in between. Please read this book because I am sure that a lot of people will disagree with my opinion, and you may to, and I do not want to ruin a book for anybody.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    No Chemistry, No Pazazz

    In this book, Trisha MacFarland gets lost in the woods while camping with her mom and brother. She must now survive in the woods with her packed lunch and a radio. This is an extreme disappointment! The adventure of Trisha getting lost in the woods is like watching the adventures of an ordinary pinecone. The character chemistry was also awful, since her mother just forgets about finding her daughter after she believes her daughter was murdered. It just stood as a disappointing adventure book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    Exciting, gripping and very real

    I loved this story ,, it was so real ,, I was in the stand cheering this little girl on to victory ,, I stepped in the mud with her when she felt defeated ,, I could see all of this so clearly and to think that one little girl's hero could get her through it all, she could teach us all about being tough ,, a must read for all ,, I hope there are going to be more short creative stories like this to come ,, Stephen King is such a good storyteller

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Meh

    I just finished The Hobbit, and I liked the part where she mentioned Bilbo
    Other than that I'm not very far into it and don't like very much. So far, el verdict iz:
    BBBBOOOOOORRRIINNNNNGGG
    Sincerely,
    Omy

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The fear of the unknown, inner strength, courage and hope are what lies at the core of this scary story.

    Trisha McFarland is a nine year old who is going hiking with her mom and older brother. As the hike begins, the mom and teenage brother are busy arguing once again and Trisha who is walking behind them, decides to veer off and use the bathroom in the woods. She figures she won't be missed and she even hopes that her mom and brother might look back and be scared once they realize she's gone, since they've been paying her no mind. Once she's done using the bathroom, Trisha decides to take a shortcut through the woods, instead of going back to the trail. Within minutes, she's completely lost. Her brother and mom still haven't even realized she's not walking behind them anymore. Days roll into nights and the deeper she walks into the woods, the worse it is for her. Soon enough, Trisha realizes she is not alone, something is following her. She can't see it, but she knows it's there. This 'something' is leaving dead animal carcasses and claw marks on trees. Trisha's poor sense of direction continues to lead her further and further into the deep woods. Do you know what amazes me most about this book? The fact that Stephen King can write a story about a nine year old girl being lost in the woods and turn it into a tense, creepy, page turner. I decided to re-read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon one weekend and it was a nice dose of horror. Characterization is wonderful here as per King's usual. Trisha's parents are divorced, while in the woods she has flashbacks of her mom and dad. She wonders how she could have been sitting in her car one minute, and lost in the woods the next. You can't help but root for her and be scared for her too. King doesn't miss a beat though, Trisha hallucinates at times as the exhaustion and stress take their toll on her. As I read I could easily envision the dense woods, the sounds of birds, the fear Trisha felt. You don't really know what is following Trisha, whether it's a bear or a monster. King does a fantastic job at making you scared of something that hasn't even shown itself yet. It's simply the thought of that monster in the woods that is really scary. I recommend The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon to all King fans or to anyone looking for a quick dose of horror. This one is mild compared to his other works, so if you are new to this author and are looking to read one of his books that isn't too scary, I think this is a good choice. The fear of the unknown, inner strength, courage and hope are what lies at the core of this scary story. King delivers here and I'm glad I re-read this one. King has a knack for creating young characters that the reader can root for and care about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    chilling but great girl hero

    This would be a good gift book for a teen/pre-teen girl. It is scary but not terrifying, and very empowering. I recommend this highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not the typical King book but still damn good!

    The flesh eating zombie never showed up but this book pleasantly suprised me. Trisha, the nine-year old main character is strong, funny, and believeable in an insane situation. King shows both his love for New England and the Red Sox but knowledge of either of those things aren't needed to enjoy this suspenseful tale.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Disappointing but still okay

    This was the second Stephen King book I've read, the first being Salem's Lot. I loved Salem's Lot, it was a great book and was also very scary. I was expecting the same from this book and I was very disappointed. It gets off to a pretty slow start, it's an average survival story until about 1/3 of the way through. Then it changes into an average survival story where the character knows she's being watched by something. This continues until there is about 50 pages left and then the story finally develops and the creature following her finally makes a significant appearance. This book was not scary in the slightest which is fine (although not expected from a horror writer) but the story itself was mediocre and there was little suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Best Book (of this genre) I Ever Read!

    This book is like a vacuum - it sucks you right into the story. I could not make myself stop reading this book, and I didn't want the story to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    What a Journey!

    This is the first Stephen King novel I have read. I was on the journey with Trisha from the start.... lost, scared and hopeful! Truly a wonderful tale with a flair to send chills your way! Loved it! Thank you, Mr. King!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Loved it

    Good story! Enjoyed very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Excellent

    Good short suspence

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Lol

    The thing following her was................SLENDERMAN!!! LOLZ!!!!! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! Thought I had read just about everything

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

    Thought I had read just about everything there was from this man. How I missed this masterpiece until now is beyond me, but I am so glad I found it!!!

    This is a tremendous story of a little girl lost, but oh so much more than that. It is a testament to the human will to survive, even in the most hideous of circumstances. There were funny moments, sad moments, and (being Stephen King) a few pretty scary moments! I am sure many will disagree with me, but these are my favorite Stephen books -- when the scary is more subtle and underlying. I fell in love with this book and with Tricia, rooting for her all the way.

    Thank you Stephen King for never disappointing me. I can't wait for whatever you have in store next!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Love this story

    This is one of my favorite King stories. Listening to the ball games on the radio is her only connection. The commercial jingles, the game commentators, they all get used in her delirium in such a creative way. If you've ever been lost or even just turned around for a short time while in the woods, you will relate to this story! The audio version is well done. The reader's tone and inflection bring the characters to life. I will listen to this several times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great story!

    I couldn't put this one down: I read in just a few days. One of my Stephen King favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Great read for fiction fans

    This novel is not your stereotypical King, so if you are looking for horror, look elsewhere. However, I loved it! I had a hard time enjoying reading list selections when I was a kid because I preferred horror and mysteries, but when I took a chance on The Hatchet, I was pleasantly surprised. So, if you are a The Hatchet fan or fan of stories of survival from a physical and psychological perspective, you will love this. Also, unlike many off the reviewers, I actually read the whole thing and it was years ago so ut is good enough to have stuck with me over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    In my opinion, Stephen King's "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordo

    In my opinion, Stephen King's "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon" is not only a great adventure book, but an amazing thriller as well. When Trisha walks off of the trail away from her bickering brother and mother to pee, she suddenly gets lost from the trail. The mishaps that Trisha McFarland gets into is very real and psychologically terrifying, and I loved every second of it. About half way through the book the psychological horror really kicks in when Trisha drinks water from a stream and get ill, then she throws up all of her food that she ate was in her backpack. She soon starts hallucinating about "the thing in the woods", which is a human covered in bees with no eyes, these encounters scared me the most. What I enjoyed most about this book is the ending. The ending was left open so the reader isn't sure whether Trisha dies or not, by using the phrase "Game Over". This is not my favorite book, but definitely my favorite thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Great

    This is an amazing read. Inspirational, scary, and sweet in equal parts. One of King's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 395 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20