Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

Average Rating 4
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
By Stephen King

This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in t...
The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
By Stephen King

This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in the Appalachian Mountains. Her family always argues with each other and pays little attention to her. She thinks of herself as the invisible child. While they are spending their time bickering with each other, Trisha tells them that she needs to use the restroom and is going to take the other path, and catch up to them when she is done. They do not hear her of course. She goes too far into the over grown path and looses her way.
Trisha loves sports and she idolizes Tom Gordon, a famous Red Socks player. He is her hero, because listening to the baseball games on her walkman, while being lost in the woods gives her hope for survival. A search party goes out looking for Trisha, and she knows because she had heard it on the news station of the walkman. A helicopter flies over her, but does not see her, and she is left alone in the woods.
Trisha has to find out how to survive on her own, with the little supplies she has in her backpack. She eats all of her food and drinks all that she has, and the water form a stream that she has walked miles to makes her sick. She makes her way into a crescent shaped clearing, and gets the feeling that she is not alone.
She later finds out that "the thing in the woods" has been following her the entire time. It is a spirit and a misshaped monster that has stopped her from eating by placing dead animals by all food sources, and clawed and knocked down trees. It looks like a human with no eyes, and wasps covering every inch of it, and completely terrifies her. Trisha tries to convince her self it was a dream. But it is not. Overall, I would say that it is an exciting book, with a great plot. Also, the characters and setting make the story come to life and feel as if you are part of it.

posted by Jessica96 on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The first time that I have been disappointed in a King novel

I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the bo...
I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the book to get better or the scary part to happen, and it never did. Don't get me wrong the book is very well written and it has it moments, but they a far and few in between. Please read this book because I am sure that a lot of people will disagree with my opinion, and you may to, and I do not want to ruin a book for anybody.

posted by MadHatter182 on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The first time that I have been disappointed in a King novel

    I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the book to get better or the scary part to happen, and it never did. Don't get me wrong the book is very well written and it has it moments, but they a far and few in between. Please read this book because I am sure that a lot of people will disagree with my opinion, and you may to, and I do not want to ruin a book for anybody.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Disappointing but still okay

    This was the second Stephen King book I've read, the first being Salem's Lot. I loved Salem's Lot, it was a great book and was also very scary. I was expecting the same from this book and I was very disappointed. It gets off to a pretty slow start, it's an average survival story until about 1/3 of the way through. Then it changes into an average survival story where the character knows she's being watched by something. This continues until there is about 50 pages left and then the story finally develops and the creature following her finally makes a significant appearance. This book was not scary in the slightest which is fine (although not expected from a horror writer) but the story itself was mediocre and there was little suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Hardcore SK fans will [probably] be somewhat disappointed with this book.

    I have read just about everything King has written, under any name, and totally enjoy his brand of the unusual/psychological thriller. This book is about a nine year old girl who loves baseball and a pitcher named Tom Gordon. The girl gets lost in the woods while on a hiking trip with her mother and brother. She survives for nine days all by herself. Not your typical SK book. However, it does show how determination and imagination can help someone through a rough time.
    Not exactly what I was expecting in a SK book, but a fairly good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    The most disappointing Stephen King book ever written.

    Hi, my name is Tori. I am a Stephen King fan. I love most of his books. This book was not the best book ever but it turned out okay. It was very suspenseful and had pretty good detail it could have used a little more detail though. This is about a girl name Trisha McFarland and she goes on a trip with her parents. She had to go pee in the woods and got lost. She only had her walkman when she got lost and not a lot of any other supplies. She is a big fan of baseball and her favorite player is Tom Gordon and he was on the Red Socks team. When she got lost she listened to the baseball games through her walkman. Well until the walkman died. She had no battery left in her walkman. Then she fell into a creek. Something was following her while she was lost. No one had a clue during this book what it was because she heard it but she saw no signs of it. Now I know you want to know what is following her but I guess you will have to find out when you read this book. This is a very easy and okay read. I will recommend this to people who like suspense and enjoys an easy reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Linds. New Writer

    When I read the back cover of this book I thought that it sounded like a great horror novel, but was uinlpeasently surprised to find out that its was not. (Not scary by any means). The book is what it is. A girl lost in the woods.. Thats it. Yea there was a beast following her but he only came out in the last 20 pages or so. It took to long for the book to get started and then ended abruptly. It was a mediocre book. I would not read it again, but if you enjoy Kings novels then you may as well read this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Boring Book

    I didn¿t really enjoy The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon because when you think about Stephen King you think about horror, or something dramatic is going to happen. In this book there were very few times anything dramatic happened. It was more of a mystery book because you were not sure what the wasp man was going to do and you also weren't sure if she was going to make it in the end and find her family. Through the book she talks a lot about finding shelter, eating and saving food for later, and finding water. She found a river which she thinks will lead her. But then the three men appear bringing little horror and no action like other books Stephen King has written. If you like mystery books and books that don¿t have too much horror I recommend reading The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon. I didn¿t like it but you may everyone does have their own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2006

    King Fan

    It is a good book, but not his best work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2006

    It was very odd

    When i started to read this book. i really thought it would be great....but i really didn't care for it. I like reading Stephen King books. He is really the only author that i could read....because i can't find any other author that is so detailed and graffic with everything. I love horror books but i still have yet to find one that will just scary my socks off me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    First time King reader.

    This was my first King book. Although this book did not blow me away, there is just something about the way King writes that kept me glued to the pages. I actually read this in one day and the end was great. I will continue to read his works. P.S. I just got done with Cujo and it was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    ....hmmmm....

    This book was a good short read and all, but it could have been better. Sure it had it's moments (one or two actually...) but overall I was kinda disapointed...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    Could have done better

    I think that it was a good book compared to what Steven King had to work with. Maybe if the little girl would have met a friend along the way and added more of a story to it I might have enjoyed it more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    He can do much better...

    Although the plot for this story was very intriguing, I think the manner in which he wrote was not his best. I had to struggle to finish this book, and I found it very dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    A chapter about a girl going pee???

    This chapter was good but why this one? I'm sure their are more interesting chapters in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Not what you would expect from King

    This book was not the best I've ever read but It wasn't the worst. It Is a story about hope and survival and the determination of one girl who had the odds against her. If you like stories about survival and the personal strength that keeps people moving despite how hopeless It may seem, then this story Is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    Good Book, but too predictable

    I thought this was an entertaining read, but for me it was too predictable. The best part of the book was King's descriptions, it really made me feel like I was right there with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2002

    Expected more

    I am a big Stephen King fan, that's why I decided to read this book. I was a little disappointed because I was expecting it to be more scary. This wasn't at all what I expected Stephen King to write. I can say I liked the very end because it was what I wanted to happen. If you are expecting to lock your doors and sleep with the lights on after reading this book, don't bother reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2002

    hmmm

    This was a good book but the last two chapters sucked! A bear? Come on! This is 'supposed to be Stephen King! It is supposed to be a good ending not a stupid one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2001

    i was so into this book that i read it in only 2 days!!

    I loved this book. Mr. King has completed another masterpiece. A short book, it definitely delivered. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. You can see all the places like you were there and you can truely feel for the girl. She is an amazing character. i highly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Good, but not as good other King books.

    This book is sort of like 'The Blair Witch Project' in that a girl is lost in the woods and weird things happen to her. Actually, I was expecting more from this book, in terms of being scary and entertaining. Don't get me wrong, the book was good and certainly interesting, but not the best. If you like King's other books, then you should read this one. If not, start with a different King book and see if you like it before you read 'The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2000

    Not the Greatest

    The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon left me thinking that something else should have happened. I found I could put the book down. The book didn't end how I felt it should and is not one of Stephen Kings finest. Some may enjoy others such as me may hope for more. You decide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3