BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon

Average Rating 4
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(131)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon

The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
By Stephen King

This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in t...
The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
By Stephen King

This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in the Appalachian Mountains. Her family always argues with each other and pays little attention to her. She thinks of herself as the invisible child. While they are spending their time bickering with each other, Trisha tells them that she needs to use the restroom and is going to take the other path, and catch up to them when she is done. They do not hear her of course. She goes too far into the over grown path and looses her way.
Trisha loves sports and she idolizes Tom Gordon, a famous Red Socks player. He is her hero, because listening to the baseball games on her walkman, while being lost in the woods gives her hope for survival. A search party goes out looking for Trisha, and she knows because she had heard it on the news station of the walkman. A helicopter flies over her, but does not see her, and she is left alone in the woods.
Trisha has to find out how to survive on her own, with the little supplies she has in her backpack. She eats all of her food and drinks all that she has, and the water form a stream that she has walked miles to makes her sick. She makes her way into a crescent shaped clearing, and gets the feeling that she is not alone.
She later finds out that "the thing in the woods" has been following her the entire time. It is a spirit and a misshaped monster that has stopped her from eating by placing dead animals by all food sources, and clawed and knocked down trees. It looks like a human with no eyes, and wasps covering every inch of it, and completely terrifies her. Trisha tries to convince her self it was a dream. But it is not. Overall, I would say that it is an exciting book, with a great plot. Also, the characters and setting make the story come to life and feel as if you are part of it.

posted by Jessica96 on October 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The first time that I have been disappointed in a King novel

I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the bo...
I am a huge Stephen King fan, and have loved every book of his that I have read. And i was very excited to read The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon, as I have heard that it was one of his best works, but I has hugely disappointed. As I was reading I kept on waiting for the book to get better or the scary part to happen, and it never did. Don't get me wrong the book is very well written and it has it moments, but they a far and few in between. Please read this book because I am sure that a lot of people will disagree with my opinion, and you may to, and I do not want to ruin a book for anybody.

posted by MadHatter182 on April 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon

    The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon
    By Stephen King

    This is a very suspenseful novel. It is written with great detail, and is very well thought out. It is about a nine year old girl named Trisha McFarland, who disappears off of a trail with her mother and brother in the Appalachian Mountains. Her family always argues with each other and pays little attention to her. She thinks of herself as the invisible child. While they are spending their time bickering with each other, Trisha tells them that she needs to use the restroom and is going to take the other path, and catch up to them when she is done. They do not hear her of course. She goes too far into the over grown path and looses her way.
    Trisha loves sports and she idolizes Tom Gordon, a famous Red Socks player. He is her hero, because listening to the baseball games on her walkman, while being lost in the woods gives her hope for survival. A search party goes out looking for Trisha, and she knows because she had heard it on the news station of the walkman. A helicopter flies over her, but does not see her, and she is left alone in the woods.
    Trisha has to find out how to survive on her own, with the little supplies she has in her backpack. She eats all of her food and drinks all that she has, and the water form a stream that she has walked miles to makes her sick. She makes her way into a crescent shaped clearing, and gets the feeling that she is not alone.
    She later finds out that "the thing in the woods" has been following her the entire time. It is a spirit and a misshaped monster that has stopped her from eating by placing dead animals by all food sources, and clawed and knocked down trees. It looks like a human with no eyes, and wasps covering every inch of it, and completely terrifies her. Trisha tries to convince her self it was a dream. But it is not. Overall, I would say that it is an exciting book, with a great plot. Also, the characters and setting make the story come to life and feel as if you are part of it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Best Book (of this genre) I Ever Read!

    This book is like a vacuum - it sucks you right into the story. I could not make myself stop reading this book, and I didn't want the story to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2000

    What a Journey!

    This is the first Stephen King novel I have read. I was on the journey with Trisha from the start.... lost, scared and hopeful! Truly a wonderful tale with a flair to send chills your way! Loved it! Thank you, Mr. King!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Lol

    The thing following her was................SLENDERMAN!!! LOLZ!!!!! XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! Thought I had read just about everything

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

    Thought I had read just about everything there was from this man. How I missed this masterpiece until now is beyond me, but I am so glad I found it!!!

    This is a tremendous story of a little girl lost, but oh so much more than that. It is a testament to the human will to survive, even in the most hideous of circumstances. There were funny moments, sad moments, and (being Stephen King) a few pretty scary moments! I am sure many will disagree with me, but these are my favorite Stephen books -- when the scary is more subtle and underlying. I fell in love with this book and with Tricia, rooting for her all the way.

    Thank you Stephen King for never disappointing me. I can't wait for whatever you have in store next!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Love this story

    This is one of my favorite King stories. Listening to the ball games on the radio is her only connection. The commercial jingles, the game commentators, they all get used in her delirium in such a creative way. If you've ever been lost or even just turned around for a short time while in the woods, you will relate to this story! The audio version is well done. The reader's tone and inflection bring the characters to life. I will listen to this several times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great story!

    I couldn't put this one down: I read in just a few days. One of my Stephen King favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    In my opinion, Stephen King's "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordo

    In my opinion, Stephen King's "The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon" is not only a great adventure book, but an amazing thriller as well. When Trisha walks off of the trail away from her bickering brother and mother to pee, she suddenly gets lost from the trail. The mishaps that Trisha McFarland gets into is very real and psychologically terrifying, and I loved every second of it. About half way through the book the psychological horror really kicks in when Trisha drinks water from a stream and get ill, then she throws up all of her food that she ate was in her backpack. She soon starts hallucinating about "the thing in the woods", which is a human covered in bees with no eyes, these encounters scared me the most. What I enjoyed most about this book is the ending. The ending was left open so the reader isn't sure whether Trisha dies or not, by using the phrase "Game Over". This is not my favorite book, but definitely my favorite thriller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Great

    This is an amazing read. Inspirational, scary, and sweet in equal parts. One of King's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Great read

    This book may have been one of the best I have ever read i recommend you should tlread it if you like suspenceful mystery and all of that sorta stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Great book

    We are reading this book in school and i fell in love with it! i had never read a stephen king book b/4 & this was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Highly recommend for literature circles

    I selected this novel as part of a survival-based literature circle for my 7th graders. Having knowledge of Stephen King's name and work really caught their attention and they lined up to select this book.

    The main character's experiences with family issues is another way kids can connect to the text. The baseball theme is another way for students to find their way into the text. It appeals to both boys and girls.The rich narrative helps students to infer and the vocabulary allows for excellent conversations about context clues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon By Stephen King Nine year old Tri

    The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
    By Stephen King

    Nine year old Trisha McFarland is hiking along listening to her mother and older brother bicker incessantly she begs for them to stop so she can use the restroom but they are so engrossed with their conversation they don’t even notice. Trisha decides to stop anyways thinking she will do her business and she will be able to catch up with them in no time and maybe, just maybe, they will notice her missing and it will give them something else to talk about. But Trisha can’t seem to find where they have gone off to; she can’t even find the trail she was on. Now Trisha is lost in the woods with only her Walkman to give her comfort as she tunes into baseball games and fantasizes that Tom Gordon is there with her protecting her. Soon, something begins to follow her, something sinister, will Trisha be able to find her way to safety or will whatever has taken notice of her end her misery once and for all?

    With this novel it is hard to decipher what is illusion and what is truth as Trisha’s imagination starts to play tricks on her but so does something else, at times it gets confusing and most of the time I kept thinking “well that must be fake too” when it was actually something that was supposed to be physically happening. I think this is why the book was so interesting though that you couldn’t tell. I haven’t read much of Stephen King’s work, but this was spooky, not in the bump in the night sort of way, but putting aside that Trisha is nine how would anyone react to being lost for days in the woods. All in all it was an interesting story and a good read, Stephen King is a great writer and he was able to bring to life the deeper recesses of the human mind along with the supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Worth a read

    This is one of my favorite books of his. Different than his usual style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Awesome Book

    It's very descriptive and makes you feel sorry for the characters. I REALLY love it. Stephen King is a really good writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Great Audiobook and Book

    This is among King's best storter novels. I higly recommend it. The story centers around 9-year-old Trisha McFarland and her survival when she loses her way after leaving the Appalachian Trail to go relieve herself. She decides to take a shortcut back to the trail and from here on, everything goes wrong. She's lost and left with her walkman, gameboy, and the lunch she brought for the days hike. Eventually, fatigue and hunger give way to halluciations of Friends, Teachers, and Tom Gordon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    OMG

    I love this book so faar i havent finiabed it yet but i will write anothe review when i am done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Good book

    This book is about a girl named trisha her mom and brother pete go on a hike on the aplation trail and well trisha had to pee and pete and her mom were arguing and did not here her when she asked for them to wait and when she was done peeing she thought she could take a short cut through the woods and then get back on the main trail well that did not happen cuzz there was no short cut and she went deeper in to the woods well ur going to have to read the book to find out what eles happens well happy reading hope u like the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    So good

    This book is pretty intense. It is an easy read but its really good. Check it out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Walking in the woods alone.

    Something is following the girl. I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8