BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10381 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5813)

4 Star

(2721)

3 Star

(1010)

2 Star

(380)

1 Star

(457)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

116 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

Even Better than the First!

I was quite fortunate to have been provided with an advance reader's copy of "The Girl Who Played with Fire." I had read, and loved, the first volume of this trilogy, "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." I am happy to report that I loved this second part of the story ev...
I was quite fortunate to have been provided with an advance reader's copy of "The Girl Who Played with Fire." I had read, and loved, the first volume of this trilogy, "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." I am happy to report that I loved this second part of the story even more than the first.

The book, like the first installement, is quite formidable in size, as it encompasses more than 500 pages. Nonetheless, I tore through it in three nights. I just could not put this book down; I had to reach the conclusion, searching for answers to so many puzzles posed during the narrative. I found that the author again managed to write a most exciting, intriguing action story, while skillfully interweaving strong social commentary, particularly as against prostitution, the sex trade, and the horrid treatment of impoverished women with an utter lack of hope in their lives.

The story reunites the reader with Lisbeth Salander, the fire-playing, tattoo-wearing young woman, who has to be one of the most unique fictional characters ever created. Mikael Blomkvist, an honest, dedicated journalist also again commands our attention as the other leading protagonist in the novel. The book ends with quite a stunning turn of events (no spoiler here), which left me literally saying, "WOW!"

I most heartily recommend this book. Again, the tragedy of the premature death of the author is truly felt.

posted by bibliotek on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Slower and more of the same

Unfortunately, the plot in this book does little to rouse interest in the character of Salander who was far more appealing in the first book. Sometimes the less a reader knows the more appealing a character becomes. More themes of violence and the book is very slow. ...
Unfortunately, the plot in this book does little to rouse interest in the character of Salander who was far more appealing in the first book. Sometimes the less a reader knows the more appealing a character becomes. More themes of violence and the book is very slow. The two main characters from the first book are barely together and the wonderful investigative journalism slant from the previous book is missing. A love interest of Salander isn't given much attention and the love scenes as in the previous book are bland. Character development is missing.

posted by L.A.Carlson-writer on July 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 10513 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 526
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Even Better than the First!

    I was quite fortunate to have been provided with an advance reader's copy of "The Girl Who Played with Fire." I had read, and loved, the first volume of this trilogy, "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo." I am happy to report that I loved this second part of the story even more than the first.<BR/><BR/>The book, like the first installement, is quite formidable in size, as it encompasses more than 500 pages. Nonetheless, I tore through it in three nights. I just could not put this book down; I had to reach the conclusion, searching for answers to so many puzzles posed during the narrative. I found that the author again managed to write a most exciting, intriguing action story, while skillfully interweaving strong social commentary, particularly as against prostitution, the sex trade, and the horrid treatment of impoverished women with an utter lack of hope in their lives.<BR/><BR/>The story reunites the reader with Lisbeth Salander, the fire-playing, tattoo-wearing young woman, who has to be one of the most unique fictional characters ever created. Mikael Blomkvist, an honest, dedicated journalist also again commands our attention as the other leading protagonist in the novel. The book ends with quite a stunning turn of events (no spoiler here), which left me literally saying, "WOW!"<BR/><BR/>I most heartily recommend this book. Again, the tragedy of the premature death of the author is truly felt.

    116 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The second Blomkvist and Salander Swedish thriller is a super whodunit

    Swedish Millennium magazine publisher and reporter Mikael Blomkvist is considering an expos&#233; of the extensive sex trafficking trade in Eastern Europe. He knows the article will cause a stink in Sweden when the elite are exposed as participants. However, just before the release of the damaging report, the lead journalists are murdered and the evidence including fingerprints on the weapon point to Lisbeth Salander.

    With an outraged cry from the media and the government, some of whom headline the dead reporters' sex trafficking article, to hunt down this vicious killer, Salander knows she must put aside her beach reading of Fermat to uncover the real culprit. Blomkvist knows the tattooed Salander is innocent and using his investigative skills as a crusader he also begins making inquiries.

    The second Blomkvist and Salander Swedish thriller is a super whodunit that brilliantly combines action-packed sequences with cerebral treatises. The story line is fast-paced from the opening salvo and never slows down even when the heroine discusses mathematical theories as Blomkvist and Salander independently and united investigate the homicides with neither expecting the trail to take them to her past though their previous combined inquiry (see THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO) should have warned them.

    Harriet Klausner

    28 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    HIghly recommended

    At times I had trouble connecting with the characters. The writing is terrific in this one as compared to the first, though, I thought. This is a fun read for anyone who is bored with the genre mystery.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    I'm not all that impressed

    I have reached chapter 7, and so far, can't seem to find anything in this story that holds my interest to the point I have a hard time putting the Nook down.

    I'm hoping that I will find it becomes more interesting and exciting as I read further. At this point, I'm glad I did not pay very much for it.

    7/14
    That bit was written because, at that point, I was disappointed in the book's story line. NEVER judge a book before you get past chapter 7 must now be my new mantra. I not only because fascinated with the story as it unfolded (still have a heck of a time with the foreign words) but sat up until 3am this morning to finish it.

    I have just now downloaded the final book of the trilogy, and will hate to see the end come, as there will be no more.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a series!

    This book picks up where The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo leaves off. Believe it or not, it is better than the first book, and the ending leaves you wanting more. The third installment picks up where this book leaves off. These books are so riveting with the twists and turns and mysteries that crop up concerning the main characters, Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist. It is very unfortunate that this author is no longer with us to produce more masterpieces such as this series. I fear that the third installment will be even better than this one, but will be left with an ending that reveals a plot that should occur in a future novel. One can only hope that Mr. Larssen's fourth manuscript gets published and translated to English so his fans can enjoy his last novel.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slower and more of the same

    Unfortunately, the plot in this book does little to rouse interest in the character of Salander who was far more appealing in the first book. Sometimes the less a reader knows the more appealing a character becomes. More themes of violence and the book is very slow. The two main characters from the first book are barely together and the wonderful investigative journalism slant from the previous book is missing. A love interest of Salander isn't given much attention and the love scenes as in the previous book are bland. Character development is missing.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lisbeth Salander is the glue

    It's too bad Stieg Larsson passed away before he was able to write more than just the Millenium Trilogy. Each of the books is excellently composed, with an interesting and original plot and intriguing characters. Specifically, Lisbeth Salander. Salander is the most unexpected of heroines, but the one you always want to win it all. Each character draws you deeper into the book, but it's Salander that keeps you up late at night reading this book. An excellent read.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Lisbeth learns that if you play with fire,you are going to get burned.

    The novel takes off right where the first one left off. Lisbeth is accused of the murder of a couple hired by Millenium to write a novel on sex trafficking. It seems that the whole world but one person,Michael Blomkvist, is sure that she is the murderer. Michael sets out on his own private investigation to prove salander's innocence. In order to do that he must delve into Lisbeth's troubled past to solve the mystery.This book did not match up to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo in my opinion. It had a much slower plot development than the first. The first 200 pages of the novel give details on what lisbeth has been up to since the end of the first novel and develops her character with more detail,which is a plus. I thought that learning about lisbeth's past was a fascinating part of the story. you learn how she became the woman she is now. I would recommend this book to fans of the first one. It is important to read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo first,though.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HIGH DRAMA!

    Larsson's second book, The Girl Who Played with Fire, adds many more layers to Lisbeth's character by revealing her background which defines her strengths and seemingly strange behavior. Larsson has created truly unique characters in Lisbeth Salander and Mikaiel Blomvist who will stay in your memory for years to come. In taking the time to understand Lisbeth it is possible to gain greater understanding of ourselves. This is a quick read because of the intrigue and suspense, despite the book's length.
    The writing is superb, the story is exciting and fast moving; there's a lot of high drama and the characters are sensational. What more can a reader ask for?

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2009

    A must read

    I also was lucky enough to get an advanced copy and if you read Larsson's first installment (THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO)then you must read this second part. As hard as it may seem, it just might be even better, especially if you were a fan of Lizbeth Salander. This instalment focuses more on her with Blomvist as support.

    Read this book, you will not be let down, in fact you won't be able to put it down, guaranteed!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Larsson Will Become Legendary

    What a brilliantly written book! The suspense was intense and the characters colorful, surprising and beautifully written to inspire trust, mistrust, dislike, and sympathy. Looking forward to reading the other two books in the trilogy. Too bad Mr. Larsson is deceased, but these three will probably become classics. A wonderful reading and discussion experience.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Not my cup of tea...

    I handled the language and sex scenes in the first book, but this one was a bit much for me. Not into the lesbian stuff and stopped about 100 pages in and decided I'd just stop reading and archive the book. It is excellent and I iknow there are thousands out there who have read the whole book, but just way toooo graphic for me. If those scenes were left out I could have made it through. But that's just me.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I liked Dragon and found this a pale follow-up. I almost gave up on it a couple of times but once I start to read something, I like to stick with it. It got better half-way through but it wasn't as interesting or exciting as Dragon. I found a lot of the conversational dialog stilted and unrealistic.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    Journalist as PI

    I enjoyed this book and the first book by the same author with the same lead characters. Larsson creates a world in Sweden that contains a publishing entity, upper eschelon of society, and a related seamy underworld. The lead female character, Salander, figures prominently in both books, and becomes central in this one. It is interesting to gradually discover her history and see her overcome it to become a fuller character. The reader is at first baffled, then sort of indifferent to her, then comes to hope she can overcome what has happened to her. I look forward to the last book of this trilogy

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Girl Who Played With Fire

    The second novel by Stieg Larsson is a terrific sequel to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. He weaves the main character into a new drama and mystery that totally envelopes the reader. I could hardly put the book down. It's very sad that he has passed; as he only wrote three novels. I am waiting with great anticipation for his third and last book, and wondering if he will continue his saga of Salander's life.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lisbeth Rocks!

    The second book in the Millenium series follows Lisbeth Salander one year after the first book ends. The characters are brilliant. Lisbeth's past and present collide in a story filled with plot twists and turns that will keep readers on edge until the end. Once again, Mikael Blomkvist and Millenium are out to uncover the truth. The author exposes the underbelly of Swedish society to show that Sweden isn't just the land of Smurfs, Gummi Bears and Abba. As someone who works in social service, I can see many youth who have been through things like Lisbeth and hope that they too can find the reslilience to fight back as she does. Mikael Blomkvist has the integrity and fortitude to speak the truth. He is the friend who will be in your corner and stands up for what he believes in no matter what the cost.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelievably better than the first!

    The second book in the astounding Millennium series is unbelievably better than the first! Lisabeth Salander, the unusual heroine/tattooed bisexual professional computer hacker, brings it to us harder, faster, and more enigmatic than ever before! When she secretly hacks into Mikael Blomkvist's - journalist and publisher - computer, she angrily discovers the details of a sex trafficking investigation underway. If you've read the first book in the trilogy, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, you understand clearly that Lisabeth has a unique, and at times even terrifying, way of handling these types of situations in which a man has sexually offended or exploited a female. When Lisabeth takes matters into her own hands, the plot heats up to explosive proportions, and she justifiably becomes, the girl who played with fire!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Superb storytelling

    Read Dragon Tattoo first. Played with Fire continues the captivating character development and its story is just as absorbing as the first. Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist are well drawn, complex personalities. Supporting characters are well filled in too. The subject matter is disturbing, but hey, they are both crime dramas. The villains' vile behavior is described, but not amplified on, so all but the most squeamish can be assured that Larsson will not unduly shock. These books are page turners that are difficult to put down. I can't wait for The Girl Who Stirred the Hornet's Nest.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    I'm addicted to Larsson.

    I bought The Girl Who Played With Fire the morning after I finished reading the first book in the Larsson trilogy, The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo--like an addict getting my next fix. (I was tickled that two other shoppers at B&N were searching for this book at the same time I was--for the same reason and with the same urgency.) The Girl Who Played With Fire is even better than the first book. Larsson was a master at plot and character development. I found it took me a couple chapters to really get hooked on the first book because he creates a lot of characters to keep straight, but once in, there was no rest until I finished. I can't wait until the third book is released this Spring, although, knowing he died after writing the trilogy makes me sad to know that the end of that book will really be the end--until the movie, of course.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Thrilling book/series to read.

    I haven't been so intrigued by a series in awhile. Found this author by accident after looking at the positive reviews that these books received. Captivating plot and characters. Unable to put down for long. Keeps you guessing page after page and then you never expect what occurs. When I finished this book I was very disappointed as it will be hard to find other books that live up to this author's ability to tell a story and hold you captive. I can't wait until the next book in this series. I only hope his 4th manuscript will hold enough information to finish this series. Rooting for the girl who played with fire to win out in the end! Must read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 10513 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 526