Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

good "pool" book

This story was not what I was expecting. Looking at the cover, it looked like a "pool" book, a little light summer read, but it turned out to be a great little mystery, not too heavy, not too light, just right for a summery read. I enjoyed the quirky characters and the...
This story was not what I was expecting. Looking at the cover, it looked like a "pool" book, a little light summer read, but it turned out to be a great little mystery, not too heavy, not too light, just right for a summery read. I enjoyed the quirky characters and the jiggidy-jogs in the story. Keep em' coming, Joshilyn!

posted by donnareads911 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

OK book

Not one of my better book purchases. characters kind of boring or unrealistic, story line kind of boring - dragged on a bit in places - would not recommend or pass along this book -

posted by 197291 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good "pool" book

    This story was not what I was expecting. Looking at the cover, it looked like a "pool" book, a little light summer read, but it turned out to be a great little mystery, not too heavy, not too light, just right for a summery read. I enjoyed the quirky characters and the jiggidy-jogs in the story. Keep em' coming, Joshilyn!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book by a Great Author

    I bought this book because of the interesting title and cover - once I read the first chapter I had a hard time putting the book down. This is a wonderful book! The characters were amazing and well rounded. Once I finished the book I immediately returned to B&N and found Joshilyn Jackson's other works (Gods in Alabama and Between, Georgia). You will not be disappointed with this author.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    OK book

    Not one of my better book purchases. characters kind of boring or unrealistic, story line kind of boring - dragged on a bit in places - would not recommend or pass along this book -

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Slow read

    This book had a decent story line, but I had a hard time staying interested. The middle seemed to drag on. The main characters were developed but I found them unlikeable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    very good different type of story and writing

    I took this to the beach on vacation could not put it down, went right out after finishing and bought one of her other books read that and went for another. Not on vacation now so reading has slowed d/t required work reading! But I am sure the 3rd is just as fun as the 1st and second.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Different than I expected.

    The book started out great, then had some slow parts here and there, but ended well. I guess I was hoping for something more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Good light reading

    It surprised me but overall I thought this was a good book. I was expecting more supernatural but ultimately it's a very small part of the book, mostly it's about relationships and the lengths we'll go to to protect the ones we love. It took me about 100 pages to get into it, but halfway through I couldn't put it down! The characters were well written and the writing was superb. I was worried that the ending would be drab, but it did surprise me! A great mix of relationships, mystery, and a hint of paranormal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Intriguing story

    This is a story of family dynamics and sisters' secrets, and I found it fascinating. The author weaves an intriguing story by giving the reader bits of information along the way that keep you guessing. I will be looking for more books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    Amazing Must Read!

    Joshilyn Jackson did a magnificent job taking real life problems and blending them together with the unthinkable. This book kept me in suspense until the very end. The characters had so much personality and life to them (especially Thalia) that sometimes I would forget that they weren't real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Southern gothic page turner

    The Girl Who Stopped Swimming is Joshilyn Jackson's third novel. After finishing this one at breakneck speed, I'll be hunting down the first two.

    Laurel has escaped her childhood and the family history in poverty stricken DeLop, Alabama. She's married to David, has a daughter Shelby and lives a comfortable life in a gated community. The ghosts have stopped following her. Until one night, when she sees the ghost of a young girl beckoning to her. She looks out the window and there is the dead girl - in her pool.

    Although they disagree strongly on many, many things, she calls on her actress sister Thalia to come and help her deal with this. As the sisters 'investigate', the past comes charging up behind them. Secrets long buried won't be kept quiet any longer.

    This is an absolute gem of a novel. Jackson's prose are captivating and unsettling at the same time.

    "But her house did not feel normal. It was silent and too large around her, as if it had been hollowed out. The wrongness in her yard had it's nose pressed against her glass doors, and she felt something small and feral scrabbling in her belly. Every time she thought she'd lose herself in her work, the something would run one spiky tooth along her stomach lining."

    The story is addicting. Can she really see ghosts? Hints of the past are eked out and I was reading as quickly as I could to piece it altogether. It's a mystery, but also a study in families and relationships and how the past affects the present.

    In the reading group guide and notes, the author notes that "at it's heart, this book is about poverty". I found this quite interesting. As well as the literal translation of fiscal poverty, emotional poverty plays a key role.

    This was a fantastic read for me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THIS ONE TAKES A CURVE

    THE GIRL WHO STOPPED SWIMMING
    Joshilyn Jackson
    Grand Central Publishing Trade Paperback
    $13.99
    319 pages
    ISBN: 0-446-69782-6
    Reviewer: Annie Slessman

    Having grown up in the South I recognized instantly the words of Bet Clemmens. Unlike Laurel Hawthorne, main character of Joshilyn Jackson's new book, THE GIRL WHO STOPPED SWIMMING, I didn't have to give a minutes thought to Bet's remarks. How many times did my mother say, "will you slow down, you talk so fast the words seem to melt into one another?" Laurel's mother had been raised in the Southern town of DeLop. A town where meth, drugs of all types and poverty seems to steal the lives of its residents. Laurel's mother is one of the few who has escaped the boundaries of DeLop. To pay for her freedom, Laurel, her sister, Thalia and their mother return each Christmas to DeLop with gifts to better the lives of those who still remain captive to this community.

    Carrying forth the tradition of her mother, Laurel takes in, for the summer, one of DeLop's young residents named Bet Clemmens. Bet is about the same age as Laurel's daughter, Shelby. The girls get along wonderfully and Bet finds herself not wanting to leave such a comfortable existence.

    Lauren sees ghosts. For instance, her Uncle Marty frequently visits her beside. Marty had been killed during what was deemed a hunting accident when Lauren was a small child. One night as Lauren is awaken from her sleep, she sees, not Marty but one of Shelby's friends, Molly, standing at her beside. Following Molly to the window she sees Molly lying face down in their swimming pool. When she realizes she is not dreaming, Lauren and her husband race downstairs to try to rescue Molly from the water. They are not successful and it is then that the story takes a swerve. Unable to handle things emotionally, Lauren beckons her sister, Thalia, to her home to help her deal with the loss of Molly and the mystery surrounding her death.

    This story takes us on a journey that tops many hilltops, takes ever curve and eventually leads the reader into the bowels of hell. Its surprise ending will have you gasping and afraid to turn the page.

    This is my first Joshilyn Jackson read. However, I have already placed an order for her two previous works, gods in Alabama and Between,Georgia. I will warn you before you buy this book, you will not be satisfied with just one Joshilyn Jackson read. You too, will be putting in orders for more of her work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    This book was good for the most part. The characters were well

    This book was good for the most part. The characters were well written, but at times the book dragged on and on and a little more than halfway through the book it became more captivating and started making more sense. I almost didn't finish it and now am glad I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed!!

    It sounds better than it really is!! I don't know if I expected too much, but this book fell flat. There seemed to be too much detail and backstory about the main character Laurel and her geeky computer hubby David. Their relationship was as terrible and unexciting as Thalia (her sister) described it. The author tried too hard in making it some whirlwind romance that could withstand the test of time. The real drama would have been the stories and turmoil between Laurel and Thalia...or Delop even!The book was very obvious. I could tell what was going on with Uncle Marty from the first page. The only surprises to me was why Thalia did what she did on the hunting trip with her daddy, and who was behind the murder. It was mediocre at best and not thrilling. There was not enough description in the book as a whole and could have been better. I think it was lacking in all departments. I felt like I kept waiting for it to "get better". I felt there was reference to things that never went anywhere...like all the mermaid crap. I also didn't see the point in even mentioning Laurels quilt making...sigh...really? Not every book is going to be a winner, I suppose! Boo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    My 50fr is

    24.08.02 seconds p and im 13 i have been swimming for 3 years though respond to...........

    Desary#

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A rollicking tale that I never knew where it would land. This su

    A rollicking tale that I never knew where it would land. This superbly written mystery is peopled with off-beat characters who alternately wreck and fix their relationships. One supporting character was so over-the-top, she nearly stole the book. You can't go wrong with a Joshilyn Jackson title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Good Read

    I am a Joshilyn Jackson fan. This was a good read - but not my favorite of hers.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    From the sound of it, I was expecting more ghost encounters, but

    From the sound of it, I was expecting more ghost encounters, but the story was entertaining in trying to guess the end result.  I would say that at times it became too heavy with family drama.  I found the character of Thalia to be one of the most annoying and horrible of characters though.  Too the point that I simply could not stand any parts of the book where she was present.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I am the girl that did not swimming

    I am an amazing swimmer probobly better thn a you my time gor a fifty free is thirty seconds please respond

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Book was semi-interesting but I found it very bizarre how Laurel

    Book was semi-interesting but I found it very bizarre how Laurel almost never expressed any sympathy about the dead child and rather than calling/visiting the family, sends her psychotic sister over to torture the mother further. I kept waiting and waiting for someone, anyone, to express some sympathy to the family, rather than worrying about their own child's tender feelings or obsessing over the shortcomings of the trashy hometown. I wondered if the author made Laurel have limited social skills and a lack of empathy to explain her relationship with her math geek husband. To me, it just made her seem narcissistic and clueless.

    The whole story with Uncle Marty was just strange and unexplained, was all of this angst over him exposing himself? Gross and abusive, yes, but not what the lead up had been. Finally, Thalia had to be one of the most obnoxious and unpleasant, as well as unrealistic characters, ever. Her habit of launching into a nasty, spiteful, prepared tirade every time she spoke was so annoying I wanted to reach through the pages and punch her myself. Maybe it is a geographical perspective, I am from the NW and have never felt at home in the South, though that is where my family is from, but a lot of things in this book unreasonably annoyed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Great book!

    Another great one from Joshilyn Jackson! Enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7