BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming

Average Rating 4
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

good "pool" book

This story was not what I was expecting. Looking at the cover, it looked like a "pool" book, a little light summer read, but it turned out to be a great little mystery, not too heavy, not too light, just right for a summery read. I enjoyed the quirky characters and the...
This story was not what I was expecting. Looking at the cover, it looked like a "pool" book, a little light summer read, but it turned out to be a great little mystery, not too heavy, not too light, just right for a summery read. I enjoyed the quirky characters and the jiggidy-jogs in the story. Keep em' coming, Joshilyn!

posted by donnareads911 on June 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

OK book

Not one of my better book purchases. characters kind of boring or unrealistic, story line kind of boring - dragged on a bit in places - would not recommend or pass along this book -

posted by 197291 on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    OK book

    Not one of my better book purchases. characters kind of boring or unrealistic, story line kind of boring - dragged on a bit in places - would not recommend or pass along this book -

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Different than I expected.

    The book started out great, then had some slow parts here and there, but ended well. I guess I was hoping for something more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Good light reading

    It surprised me but overall I thought this was a good book. I was expecting more supernatural but ultimately it's a very small part of the book, mostly it's about relationships and the lengths we'll go to to protect the ones we love. It took me about 100 pages to get into it, but halfway through I couldn't put it down! The characters were well written and the writing was superb. I was worried that the ending would be drab, but it did surprise me! A great mix of relationships, mystery, and a hint of paranormal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    This book was good for the most part. The characters were well

    This book was good for the most part. The characters were well written, but at times the book dragged on and on and a little more than halfway through the book it became more captivating and started making more sense. I almost didn't finish it and now am glad I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    From the sound of it, I was expecting more ghost encounters, but

    From the sound of it, I was expecting more ghost encounters, but the story was entertaining in trying to guess the end result.  I would say that at times it became too heavy with family drama.  I found the character of Thalia to be one of the most annoying and horrible of characters though.  Too the point that I simply could not stand any parts of the book where she was present.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Enjoyable Story of Family Relationships

    Laurel is occasionally visited by ghosts. The ghost of one of her 11 year old daughter's friends visits her at the beginning of her novel and leads her to her dead body floating in Laurel's swimming pool. The police investigation finds the death to be an accident but Laurel is not so sure. She suspects a man in the neighborhood, who may be a pedophile. She is also afraid that her daughter Shelby knows something about it, but is too frightened to say it. She goes to her older sister Thalia for help, and together they start investigating.
    I mostly enjoyed the book, except for the major plot development in the middle that seem greatly overdone. In it, Thalia acts so horribly and Laurel reacts so extremely, that it did not feel real. Laurel seemed out of character and Thalia should have been immediately disowned by her sister. But, the book progressed nicely past that point and had a reasonable ending.
    The book focuses on family relationships, Laurel's mother and husband also figure prominently, and how we cannot escape our pasts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2