Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Was on Fire: Your Favorite Authors on Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games Trilogy

Average Rating 4.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

cool

it was nice to read after the series because your so addicted you need something else to read about it, this was kind of like a step towards withdrawl

posted by prancing7dancing7dino on June 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Not great

I didn't expect the book to be great, just a supplement to the series. Three or so of the thirteen essays are worth reading. There is some good insight, but for the most part, the essays just seem bland and boring comparing the Hunger Games series to reality TV shows or...
I didn't expect the book to be great, just a supplement to the series. Three or so of the thirteen essays are worth reading. There is some good insight, but for the most part, the essays just seem bland and boring comparing the Hunger Games series to reality TV shows or things like that. I bought it just to have, but I'd suggest waiting for it at your local library as to not spend $12 on it.

posted by 9246158 on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    cool

    it was nice to read after the series because your so addicted you need something else to read about it, this was kind of like a step towards withdrawl

    57 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Not great

    I didn't expect the book to be great, just a supplement to the series. Three or so of the thirteen essays are worth reading. There is some good insight, but for the most part, the essays just seem bland and boring comparing the Hunger Games series to reality TV shows or things like that. I bought it just to have, but I'd suggest waiting for it at your local library as to not spend $12 on it.

    44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Marta Morrison for TeensReadToo

    I loved THE HUNGER GAMES trilogy Those books have stayed with me, and I think about their meaning in my life and in society. I like it when a book not only entertains me but is so well-written that I have to keep looking to find hidden meaning. When I saw this book with essays written by different YA authors on various aspects of THE HUNGER GAMES, I had to read it. There are essays on how the fashion influenced the rebellion, the reason why Katniss chose Peeta, and how reality shows affect the society of today and led up to the Hunger Games of Panem. There are funny pieces and serious works that really make you think. I really enjoyed the essay by Blythe Woolston about the mental health of the tributes and how that explains many of the problems of their society. I also liked the one on the politics of MOCKINGJAY and the revolution. If you want to take THE HUNGER GAMES to the next level, then you may find these essays enlightening.

    31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    it was ok

    this wasn't the best book ever. I thought it was going to be the fourth book, but it turned out that it was only a book about the books. So, WARNING this is not a book in the series.

    23 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great

    This really helped me think of how our society relates to that of the hunger games whilst helping me understand and see certain things in the book better. I actually went back in the book to say oh i didnt see that before (in the 500 times i have read the hunger games).

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It took me longer than usual to finish this book, not because it

    It took me longer than usual to finish this book, not because it's flat or dull, but because it has too much information to absorb fully in a short time. The Girl Who Was on Fire is a wonderful collection of essays from some of the most popular authors in the YA community on the various aspects of The Hunger Games. These authors share their individual insights and perspectives on the book and/or the series - their topics ranging from the characters, the fashion, the scientific aspects, to the mentality of the Games itself.

    'Love' plays an important role in Mary Borsellino's Your Heart Is a Weapon the Size of Your Fist. In her essay, she states that love can be your greatest strength, but it can also be your greatest weakness. Elizabeth M. Rees' Smoke and Mirrors discusses the ways the Capitol uses to trick and deceive, and how these tactics work. On the other hand, Bent, Shattered, and Mended by Blythe Woolston tells us about the impact of the Games on the surviving tributes, how the horror of it all affects their lives as an aftermath of the Games.

    Reading The Girl Who Was on Fire was a great experience for me. The essays are thought-provoking and deep in meaning. They made me think about many things, and I felt enlightened more than once while reading the book.

    Are you a fan of The Hunger Games? If yes, then I'm sure you'd enjoy these essays immensely. Even if you're not a fan of the series, this book will prove to be a valuable source of knowledge. What we can be sure of is that The Girl Who Was on Fire is a treasure trove waiting to be discovered. So, what are you waiting for?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Not bad

    Well... it isnt the real hunger games books, but it really helps you understand

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I thought this book was very well edited and brought different views all together into one amazing volume.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    SO OBSESSED

    Cool book to ponder over and fuel your obsessive energy. Also good for showing off said obsession. Yay The Hunger Games!
    P.S. Team Peeta forever!!!!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Loved the series

    Obviiusly the series was amazingggggg but this book is just an explanation sort of i mean it gives other peoples thoughts and ideas it mite help u understand the series a but more

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Lol

    GO TEAM PETTA

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    So stupid!

    I thought this would be good but I read the sample and hated it! Just a bunch of people praising the Hunger Games!

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Wow

    Its a book ok? Who cares if katniss is being dramatic!!!! Thes how she was made ppl! The author did a really good job of leaving us up to decide who we thought was better, Gale or Peeta. And who cares if it turns out to be like twilight!!! THE BOOKS ARE GOOD and thats all that matters.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing!

    I am a HUGE fan of Katniss, Peeta, Gale, Prim...I sugest this book to anyone that is interested in Utopian/Distopian Societies.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Really GOOD!

    Awesome!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    <3

    If i marry gale do u think miley cirrus would be upset????

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    DID NOT LIKE THIS!!!!!!!!!

    Do not buy! I mostly wanted to find out about wiress and her stuttering, it did not thourly cover this. It said in the discription it had that! I also wanted to know about annies troubles, no luck. I maybe even wanted to know about their games, you know ,what happened in them. I HATED THIS.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Confused

    I know i read the books so fast. This really help me go deeper in to the book and the little deatils.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Seriously

    im team PEETA CAUSE HE ROCKS GALE IS A LOSER how can u not be team peeta

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    TEAM KATNISS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 250 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13