Customer Reviews for

The Girl from Junchow

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Very good read. Read The Jewel of St. Petersburg and The Russia

    Very good read. Read The Jewel of St. Petersburg and The Russian Concubine first. I loved this book but it left me wanting to know more at the end. I kind of felt like it left me hanging...I hate that!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Great read!

    This novel captured my interest in the beginning and I truly enjoyed it. Author is amazing! Travel, family dynamics, loss, adventure and love flowed smoothly through out! I simply adored it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Sakura

    Lili? U here?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Lili

    I posted at last result.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    If you liked The Russian Concubine, you'll like this one.

    Definitely read The Russian Concubine first. This one is another entertaining and satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating tale

    Also published under the title "The Concubine's Secret"

    This novel is a captivating and fascinating sequel to "The Russian Concubine", a tale of love and danger set in the late 1920's Junchow and Moscow. The story takes us on a journey, surrounding the intricacies of Lydia Ivanova's life, a life of drama graced with a touch of passion.

    Lydia believes her father, Jens Friis, is still alive but held captive in Stalin's Russia. Determined to find him she teams up with her brother Alexie and close friend Popkov. The dangerous search leads them to bars of the seedy underworld where bribery of camp workers is one of their prime sources of information. In a world where they have to continually watch their backs, they befriend and betray those with key information, a treacherous game that eventually directs them to Moscow.

    In Russia, with everything at stake Lydia becomes entangled with a soviet officer and Alexei is drawn into the hands of Russian criminals. Popkov finds himself in the precarious position of trying to keep his friends safe even at the risk of his own live.

    On another front, Chang An-Lo, a high ranking officer who is advancing rapidly in the Communist party of China, is delegated to view the factories built by the Stalinist regime. He so happens to be Lydia's romantic partner while she was in China. As fate would have it, Lydia and Chang meet up at a party honouring the Chinese delegation and discuss old times. Their past strong romantic connection quickly has Chang sympathizing with her predicament and vowing to help her gather information and help in the possible rescue of her father.

    Ms. Furnivall rich writing is very entertaining, gripping and provides all the thrills we are accustomed to. The dialogue is crisp and the setting vividly recreates Stalin era Russia. Lydia is maturing beautifully and is portrayed as a strong and loveable character; we easily fall into her spell. Some of the plotting may lack realism with its characters getting out of sticky predicaments and injuries a bit too easily for the times, but the interaction between characters is outstanding and is one of the attributes that makes this fantasy novel one of the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    Kate Furnivall has done it again!!!

    If you read author Kate Furnivalls' prequel to this story, "The Russian Concubine", then "The Girl from Junchow" is a must!! You must find out what character Lydia Ivanova faces as her journey continues. This story from begining to end had me wanting more. Gripping, heart warming, lovely piece of historical fiction, a true thrill. Kate Furnivall does not disappoint!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!!!

    Better than her first book The Russian Concubine. Usually the "sophmore" book sometimes looses some of its punch, but not in this case. I read this one faster and throughly enjoyed it a lot more. Definitely one for your collection if you enjoy reading historical fiction or just enjoy reading a good tale. Kate Furnivall has definitely proven herself to be a great storyteller. I can only hope she gives us more in future stories of Lydia and Chang An Lo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    The Russian Concubine is back.

    This is the sequel to "The Russian Concubine," which I could not put down! Lydia travels to Russia to find her father and adventure follows. Some of the same characters populate this book with a few new ones added.
    This book wasn't quite as good as the first book, but compared to some books, it was great. I will buy the 3rd book, if there is one. I would love to read more of these characters and the story. And the book did end feeling as if there will be a third book.
    Kate Furnivall does a great job with the characters, atmosphere, visualization and story line. She keeps you turning pages and not wanting to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another amazing story from Furnivall!

    If you loved The Russian Concubine, you will surely love this one as much. The story is one of power-the power of love, family, friendship and survival. The characters are well developed and the secondary characters are intricately woven into the plot. The ending leaves an opening for a third book and hopefully Furnivall has already continued Lydia's story. Don't miss this one-it's a truly great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating historical sequel

    Fleeing with her mom from the Bolsheviks and believing her dad is dead, Russian expatriate Lydia Ivanova still struggles to adapt to being alone in Junchow, China since her mom was killed (see THE RUSSIAN CONCUBINE). Now in 1929 she learns the impossible that her father is alive though incarcerated in a labor prison.
    ---
    Leaving behind her native lover Communist Chang An Lo, Lydia and stepbrother Alexei search for her father by returning to Moscow in hope of liberating him. However, during their quest, Alexei vanishes leaving Lydia to believe he left her for expedient selfish reasons. Lo arrives to keep Lydia safe while hiding what he knows about her father, but his concealment does not prevent her from learning shockers re her family.
    ---
    THE GIRL FROM JUNCHOW is a fascinating historical sequel that brings to life time and place (China and Russia) as the heroine goes full circle returning home. Ironically the vivid descriptions that showcase 1929 Junchow, Moscow, and other locales often overwhelms the suspense subplots of Lydia's search for her dad and Lo search for Lydia. Still fans of early twentieth century tales will want to read this deep tale and its fine prequel, THE RUSSIAN CONCUBINE.
    ---
    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2