Customer Reviews for

Girl in the Arena

Average Rating 3
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dark but satisfying

This book was a punch to the gut but one I didn't know I needed.

posted by Bluberryfields3 on February 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Girl Practically Everywhere Besides the Arena

I have really conflicted feelings about this book. I was expecting some cheap Hunger Games rip-off, but it wasn't like that at all.

This book is about Lyn, who has had seven gladiator fathers, due to her mothers career as a Glad wife. As a substitute to war, and ent...
I have really conflicted feelings about this book. I was expecting some cheap Hunger Games rip-off, but it wasn't like that at all.

This book is about Lyn, who has had seven gladiator fathers, due to her mothers career as a Glad wife. As a substitute to war, and entire Glad culture has arose, blood sport being just as common as football. Lyn's life is ruled by bylaws put forth by the Gladiator Sports Association. It is these bylaws that say she is required, through a chain of unfortunate events, to marry Uber, the warrior who defeated her seventh father in the arena. Rather than give in to these demands, she proposes an alternative: fighting him in the arena.

Initially, I thought I wasn't going to like this. At first it was because I thought it was a rip-off. Then it was because the writing and formatting was odd and distracting. And then it was because I realized that the action would be slow-coming. But then, about half-way through the book, I realized I kinda liked it. Lyn, the narrator was endearing, and the writing was starting to grow on me. I stopped with the exectations and just went with the flow. By the end, I didn't hate it as much as I did to start with.

The writing is not typical of a young-adult book, and that threw me off for a while. I appreciated that the author was doing something different. And I shall warn everyone right now, this book has no quotation marks. This drove me insane to begin with, and I was frustrated with the author. I mean, why couldn't she use quotation marks like a normal author? But in no time, I didn't even realize the difference.

I liked Lyn. She was endearing. She wasn't a Mary Sue, yet she wasn't a stereotypical bad-ass robot. I understood her motives. But I did not understand her brother. Her little brother, who is autistic, is also supposedly a prophet/oracle. I thought this book was set in an alternative now. I don't get the whole mysticism thing. And I also didn't get how they had things like You Tube still, but also virtual living machines that can create a functioning virtual being. But I did like the whole history of GSA. That does seem odd enough to be true.

Don't expect a hardcore thrilling action novel. Despite being about violence, this book had very little action. Lyn wasn't even in the arena until the final pages. I think this is misleading on the marketer's part. This book is way more contemplative than it sounds. I got bored in some places, but I was overall absorbed.

I am still confused about my feeling for this book, so I apologize for the possible wishy-washiness of this review. I can see how some people hate it, some people love it. It's an odd little book.

posted by Awesomeness1 on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Girl Practically Everywhere Besides the Arena

    I have really conflicted feelings about this book. I was expecting some cheap Hunger Games rip-off, but it wasn't like that at all.

    This book is about Lyn, who has had seven gladiator fathers, due to her mothers career as a Glad wife. As a substitute to war, and entire Glad culture has arose, blood sport being just as common as football. Lyn's life is ruled by bylaws put forth by the Gladiator Sports Association. It is these bylaws that say she is required, through a chain of unfortunate events, to marry Uber, the warrior who defeated her seventh father in the arena. Rather than give in to these demands, she proposes an alternative: fighting him in the arena.

    Initially, I thought I wasn't going to like this. At first it was because I thought it was a rip-off. Then it was because the writing and formatting was odd and distracting. And then it was because I realized that the action would be slow-coming. But then, about half-way through the book, I realized I kinda liked it. Lyn, the narrator was endearing, and the writing was starting to grow on me. I stopped with the exectations and just went with the flow. By the end, I didn't hate it as much as I did to start with.

    The writing is not typical of a young-adult book, and that threw me off for a while. I appreciated that the author was doing something different. And I shall warn everyone right now, this book has no quotation marks. This drove me insane to begin with, and I was frustrated with the author. I mean, why couldn't she use quotation marks like a normal author? But in no time, I didn't even realize the difference.

    I liked Lyn. She was endearing. She wasn't a Mary Sue, yet she wasn't a stereotypical bad-ass robot. I understood her motives. But I did not understand her brother. Her little brother, who is autistic, is also supposedly a prophet/oracle. I thought this book was set in an alternative now. I don't get the whole mysticism thing. And I also didn't get how they had things like You Tube still, but also virtual living machines that can create a functioning virtual being. But I did like the whole history of GSA. That does seem odd enough to be true.

    Don't expect a hardcore thrilling action novel. Despite being about violence, this book had very little action. Lyn wasn't even in the arena until the final pages. I think this is misleading on the marketer's part. This book is way more contemplative than it sounds. I got bored in some places, but I was overall absorbed.

    I am still confused about my feeling for this book, so I apologize for the possible wishy-washiness of this review. I can see how some people hate it, some people love it. It's an odd little book.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Misleading and Disappointing...would give it 1.5 stars if I could!

    I seen the cover of this book and thought, "Perfect! I LOVE Ancient Roman culture and gladiators." Then I read the synposis and thought "Sounds reminiscient of The Hunger Games...and I definitely loved The Hunger Games." So I bought it, eager to get reading. I was sorely disappointed. I'm not exactly sure why they titled it "Girl in the Arena" it would have been more appropriatly titled "Growing up as a daughter of Gladiators". I felt that both the title and synopsis were both misleading. This isn't a story of a girl fighting in the arena (perhaps only fighting against a figurative arena of rules and bylaws of the Gladiator culture), but rather the emotional toll that one would endure growing up in this type of a culture. Haines is extremely detailed which I felt was sometimes to a fault although it allowed for clear imagery. The majority of the book is of Lyn reminiscing about her past interactions with her seven gladiator fathers (6 of which were stepfathers, 1 biological). Because she spent so much time in the past it seemed somewhat slow moving at times. I was on the verge of putting the book down so many times but I just kept thinking to myself, ok its about to get good. Unfortunetly it never really did until the last 50 pages or so. I also felt that at times the book was some what preachy. It's very apparent how the author feels about war (not that anyone likes it) and government by the sly comments she would make. To top it off the book seemed unrealistic. The setting for this book is America today. It was hard for me to buy into the idea. I had assumed that it was going to be set in Ancient Roman times or even if it was set in the future like Hunger Games I would have found it more believable. I just couldn't see the Glad Corp getting away with what they did in today's world, nor can I see the public being so ruthless and callous to enjoy such brutality (regardless if it has happened in the past or not). One example being how the Glad Corp tried to increase the likelihood of fatalaties of the spectators by trying to encourage people to leave the arena in a rush. I just couldn't bring myself to believe it under the circumstances that she created. The final complaint I have about Girl In the Arena, is how Haines decided not to use quotation marks. It was confusing at worse and annoying at best. So in light of all these shortfalls I must warn you that if you are one to enjoy action, romance, or suspense I would bypass this book...it lacks all three.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Dark but satisfying

    This book was a punch to the gut but one I didn't know I needed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Girl in the arena

    This book was different than what i thought it would be. Through most of the book, i thought it would lead up to something like the Hunger Games based off the title and what i had read about the book, but it wasnt. The author used a different writting style which throws you off at first, but then you get used to it. I really liked the message of the book because it makes you think about how society sells violence because people love it so much. There were a lot of random stories from Lyn's past that she talks about, making the book kind of slow at some points, but overall it was a great book and i would recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Interesting but....

    It was okay, an interesting concept, but i thought it was boring and confusing at parts. Not the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Awful

    I started this book because it was free on my libray website and i have no idea whyi finished it the plot was unbelievable and the characters were shallow and under developed dobt waist your time on this one if your looking for an interesting read try birthmarked instead

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Awful

    She didn't even go into the fight until the last chapter! I was so unhappy with this book. Hard to understand, skipped a lot of paragraphs because they were boring and not needed, and so not worth the money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    ....

    Sounds JUST like the hunger games... i dont know if i want to read it or not... its like she copied suzanne collins or vice versa..

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Much better than I was expecting.

    I don't know what made me pick this book up. The cover is kind of cheesy and it really doesn't give you much of a synopsis. But I'm glad I did.

    I read a lot, but not as much lately since I started college. And, I usually don't read YA. But this was a refreshing, emotional, in-your-face kind of story. The characters are well-developed, Lyn as the strong and edgy protagonist, and Uber as the painfully sweet and misunderstood guy that just wants her to like him. It's quickly paced, and I was very invested by the end. I tore through it, even though I really should have been writing a paper, but it was just so GOOD. I needed to know what was going to happen.

    I don't give this five stars because it was a perfect book. I really wish the ending had been more conclusive, or that there was the promise of a sequel. I give it five stars because I don't think it's getting nearly as much recognition as it deserves (probably because of the cheesy cover) and I think it was just as good as, if not better than Blood Red Road. It is NOT a rip off of the Hunger Games (though if you like those books, I think you'd enjoy this).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Gitl in the arena

    I really liked this book but it was really confusing at some parts. It was suspenseful. And i really liked the 1 dude who killed her father i liked it i really did but has some confusin parts i give 4 out of 5 stars:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Just like hunger games

    I really enjoyed this book. Its well written and chock full of suspense.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    A THRILLING 'GIRL'-- MUST-READ FOR YOUNG & OLD ALIKE

    I love this book and this writer! Lise Haines always surprises you and always moves you with her vivid edgy prose. Here in her most daring work yet, she creates a heroine you can truly 'root for' in an all-too-real Arena. Haines dares to imagine our own violent and glitzy culture with the 'dials turned up' past 11. This book is marketed for YA and I agree teenage girls will connect to Lyn and will totally jump into her world. But readers beyond teens will plunge in too for the wild ride, the wonderful writing and the jolting message underlying it all about where we are all heading--
    So bounce right into this ARENA.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Waste of time

    Read head line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Not well written

    The story is interesting in concept but the author isnt a good enough writer to tell it. The relationships were not believeable, often too much background was thrown into minor moments, and it felt as if the protagonist Lynn spent more time saying what she would like to do rather than actually taking action and making moves. Disappointing overall, would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Intriguing

    This book was good. Not great, but still good.
    I felt immediate sympathy for the main character, Lynn from the get-go. In retrospect, she slightly reminds me of Katniss, but she still stands firm on her own as herself.
    I liked the fast pace of the book-it kept me hooked to the point that I read it all in a day. This book touches on the humanity of forcing people to fight to the death, but it didn't go as in-depth, so don't expect a full psycho-analysis. My biggest disappointment was the rushed ending, leaving most of Lynne's problems only partially resolved. However, I do believe that was intentional on the point of the author to try to make it more real. It still felt like the ends were too loose though.
    I would recommend this to people who aren't looking for it to be just like the Hunger Games, because it isn't. It's a stand-alone book; good in its own way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Girl in the Arena

    THIS BOOK IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Incredibly boring.There was maybe two points in the book where I

    Incredibly boring.There was maybe two points in the book where I actually got interested. I am a very visual person when reading and like to picture the story in my head but was very unable to do that with this book. Not to mention the way the dialogue was written (without quotations) made everything that much more difficult.
    I was very excited to read this book because of the synopsis and what could potentially happen. I was extremely interested in the love interest but was sorely disappointed after finishing the book. There was a noticeable lack of romance and I felt the loose end it was her best friend was poorly tied up. Also there was no real ending to the main romance between Lyn and Uber.
    In fact I didn't think there was a real conclusion to any of the plot points in the book. It wasn't a cliff hanger meant to lead into another book either. Even if it was and another book were to come out I would strongly advise against reading it based on the way this book turned out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Hi

    Gr8 book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    My opinion on this book

    This is my second time writing a book review so it may not be that great, anyways i'll try to do my best.

    Summery:

    This story is told and seen from Lyn's point of view. Lyn is the main character, an 18 year old girl. She has grown up in a world full of fighting and has just lost her seventh father and she struggles trying to take care of her slowly crumbling family. Becuase of a law in her culture she is now technicaly engaged and her fiancee is the one who killed her father?!

    My opinion:

    This book has made me laugh so many times while also having a sad plot. I think this book is definatly worth reading though it was very short with only about 250 pages. I also love all the supporting characters too. There were parts of the book that did bore me going on and on about stuff... but all in all it was a good book though i have read better ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Terrible

    This book isnt one bit like the hunger games. Its wierd, boring, and the fight scenes are totally unrealistic. Also no quotation marks in the book so i hated it:( really disappointing...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5