Customer Reviews for

Girl in the Arena

Average Rating 3
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Dark but satisfying

This book was a punch to the gut but one I didn't know I needed.

posted by Bluberryfields3 on February 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Girl Practically Everywhere Besides the Arena

I have really conflicted feelings about this book. I was expecting some cheap Hunger Games rip-off, but it wasn't like that at all.

This book is about Lyn, who has had seven gladiator fathers, due to her mothers career as a Glad wife. As a substitute to war, and ent...
I have really conflicted feelings about this book. I was expecting some cheap Hunger Games rip-off, but it wasn't like that at all.

This book is about Lyn, who has had seven gladiator fathers, due to her mothers career as a Glad wife. As a substitute to war, and entire Glad culture has arose, blood sport being just as common as football. Lyn's life is ruled by bylaws put forth by the Gladiator Sports Association. It is these bylaws that say she is required, through a chain of unfortunate events, to marry Uber, the warrior who defeated her seventh father in the arena. Rather than give in to these demands, she proposes an alternative: fighting him in the arena.

Initially, I thought I wasn't going to like this. At first it was because I thought it was a rip-off. Then it was because the writing and formatting was odd and distracting. And then it was because I realized that the action would be slow-coming. But then, about half-way through the book, I realized I kinda liked it. Lyn, the narrator was endearing, and the writing was starting to grow on me. I stopped with the exectations and just went with the flow. By the end, I didn't hate it as much as I did to start with.

The writing is not typical of a young-adult book, and that threw me off for a while. I appreciated that the author was doing something different. And I shall warn everyone right now, this book has no quotation marks. This drove me insane to begin with, and I was frustrated with the author. I mean, why couldn't she use quotation marks like a normal author? But in no time, I didn't even realize the difference.

I liked Lyn. She was endearing. She wasn't a Mary Sue, yet she wasn't a stereotypical bad-ass robot. I understood her motives. But I did not understand her brother. Her little brother, who is autistic, is also supposedly a prophet/oracle. I thought this book was set in an alternative now. I don't get the whole mysticism thing. And I also didn't get how they had things like You Tube still, but also virtual living machines that can create a functioning virtual being. But I did like the whole history of GSA. That does seem odd enough to be true.

Don't expect a hardcore thrilling action novel. Despite being about violence, this book had very little action. Lyn wasn't even in the arena until the final pages. I think this is misleading on the marketer's part. This book is way more contemplative than it sounds. I got bored in some places, but I was overall absorbed.

I am still confused about my feeling for this book, so I apologize for the possible wishy-washiness of this review. I can see how some people hate it, some people love it. It's an odd little book.

posted by Awesomeness1 on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Girl Practically Everywhere Besides the Arena

    I have really conflicted feelings about this book. I was expecting some cheap Hunger Games rip-off, but it wasn't like that at all.

    This book is about Lyn, who has had seven gladiator fathers, due to her mothers career as a Glad wife. As a substitute to war, and entire Glad culture has arose, blood sport being just as common as football. Lyn's life is ruled by bylaws put forth by the Gladiator Sports Association. It is these bylaws that say she is required, through a chain of unfortunate events, to marry Uber, the warrior who defeated her seventh father in the arena. Rather than give in to these demands, she proposes an alternative: fighting him in the arena.

    Initially, I thought I wasn't going to like this. At first it was because I thought it was a rip-off. Then it was because the writing and formatting was odd and distracting. And then it was because I realized that the action would be slow-coming. But then, about half-way through the book, I realized I kinda liked it. Lyn, the narrator was endearing, and the writing was starting to grow on me. I stopped with the exectations and just went with the flow. By the end, I didn't hate it as much as I did to start with.

    The writing is not typical of a young-adult book, and that threw me off for a while. I appreciated that the author was doing something different. And I shall warn everyone right now, this book has no quotation marks. This drove me insane to begin with, and I was frustrated with the author. I mean, why couldn't she use quotation marks like a normal author? But in no time, I didn't even realize the difference.

    I liked Lyn. She was endearing. She wasn't a Mary Sue, yet she wasn't a stereotypical bad-ass robot. I understood her motives. But I did not understand her brother. Her little brother, who is autistic, is also supposedly a prophet/oracle. I thought this book was set in an alternative now. I don't get the whole mysticism thing. And I also didn't get how they had things like You Tube still, but also virtual living machines that can create a functioning virtual being. But I did like the whole history of GSA. That does seem odd enough to be true.

    Don't expect a hardcore thrilling action novel. Despite being about violence, this book had very little action. Lyn wasn't even in the arena until the final pages. I think this is misleading on the marketer's part. This book is way more contemplative than it sounds. I got bored in some places, but I was overall absorbed.

    I am still confused about my feeling for this book, so I apologize for the possible wishy-washiness of this review. I can see how some people hate it, some people love it. It's an odd little book.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Interesting but....

    It was okay, an interesting concept, but i thought it was boring and confusing at parts. Not the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Intriguing

    This book was good. Not great, but still good.
    I felt immediate sympathy for the main character, Lynn from the get-go. In retrospect, she slightly reminds me of Katniss, but she still stands firm on her own as herself.
    I liked the fast pace of the book-it kept me hooked to the point that I read it all in a day. This book touches on the humanity of forcing people to fight to the death, but it didn't go as in-depth, so don't expect a full psycho-analysis. My biggest disappointment was the rushed ending, leaving most of Lynne's problems only partially resolved. However, I do believe that was intentional on the point of the author to try to make it more real. It still felt like the ends were too loose though.
    I would recommend this to people who aren't looking for it to be just like the Hunger Games, because it isn't. It's a stand-alone book; good in its own way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    My opinion on this book

    This is my second time writing a book review so it may not be that great, anyways i'll try to do my best.

    Summery:

    This story is told and seen from Lyn's point of view. Lyn is the main character, an 18 year old girl. She has grown up in a world full of fighting and has just lost her seventh father and she struggles trying to take care of her slowly crumbling family. Becuase of a law in her culture she is now technicaly engaged and her fiancee is the one who killed her father?!

    My opinion:

    This book has made me laugh so many times while also having a sad plot. I think this book is definatly worth reading though it was very short with only about 250 pages. I also love all the supporting characters too. There were parts of the book that did bore me going on and on about stuff... but all in all it was a good book though i have read better ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    This guy

    Read it for scohol was ok not what i really excpected but all in all a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Okay, not what I expected

    I thought it was a pretty good book, but it was not my idea of a fantastic book. I love gladiator books and movies but this was kind of a disapointment. The ending was really weak but the characters were well developed, and I loved Uber. I wish the author would of explored more in depth about the the relationships going on with the main character and the two guys. Overall I would read it if you were just looking for something to do if your bored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    decent read

    In the midst of popular paranormal teen fantasy books, here is a book that goes against the grain. No super humans, living dead or tiny green people. Yet, there is alternate reality aspect to attract supernatural readers, modern day Gladiators.

    Eighteen-year-old Lyn, daughter of seven Gladiators becomes the center of the Gladiator world after her seventh father dies in the arena. All because her fathers' killer, Uber picks up her dowry bracelet in the arena and in the Glad culture that means marriage.

    The impending engagement/marriage of Lyn and Uber triggers passive Lyn into action. Fighting the Gladiator Sports Association. The same association whose rules are contradictory, constantly changing and whose only goal is to make money by bilking the fans and exploiting the Glads.

    I did enjoy the book, however the GSA was completely ruthless and lawless at times. I found it hard to believe that such an association could exist in the present day United States.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1