Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Blue Beret

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Would have been 5 stars, but...

    This is a wonderful story that is captivating, in part due to its historical aspect. The switching between present time and World War II worked very well; often I find it distracting. The story itself, both past and present storylines, are fascinating. The only reason that I did not give the book 5 stars was the ending. Others have mentioned this as well and I agree. At the last chapter I turned the page expecting another chapter, and NOTHING! I even turned back the page, thinking perhaps I skipped a page. After such a captivating story, it left the reader unsatisfied and feeling like the story was unfinished. I am surprised that the editors let this story end this way!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    "The Girl in the Blue Beret" is a delightful book. The characters are fully developed and sympathetic, and the complex plot moves forward rapidly. Mason's books are not something to read in an afternoon, and "Blue Beret" is no exception. The protagonist faces the sense of loss any person feels when faced with unwanted mandatory retirement; the overnight transition from an all-consuming career to forced idelness is devastation. Mason's book looks at one veteran of World War II and examines his struggle to cope. While the focus is on one man from a comparatively long ago time, the issues are relevent to many in current society who no longer have a job, and who long for happier times in the past.

    Like many books that take a realist view toward life, the book is not tied up in a neat little bow at the end, but it does leave the reader with the feeling that life is getting better. I found it hard to put the book down; I have already highly recommended it to several friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    It's OK.

    The story content started out interesting but the end was dragged out too long,it became repetitious and pointless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Good read, great story

    This is a highly readable book based on (but fiction) the author's father-in-law's experience after being shot down in a B-17 bomber in WWII. The book traces a pilot's emotional turmoil when, 35 years after the fact, he finally meets many of those from the French resistance who rescued him and eventually helped him escape from the country, and learns all was not as it seemed to him at his superficial level. THough I thought the ending was weak, I highly recommend this novel. A nice insight to one facet of WW II not often written about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Poor ending

    I loved the story and the characters. The possibility of a blooming romance was hinted. However, I hate it when the aurhor just appeares to run out of story and ends the book before it should have been. And don't give me poetic license junk, I like a story to have some kind of a conclusion and ths one did not!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Really good

    This is a touching story with adventure and heart. I expected a book to last me a few weeks of casual reading and ended up pounding through over the weekend. THUMBS UP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Intriguing Family History

    The Girl in the Blue Beret written by Bobbie Ann Mason is a very well written, wonderful story. Bobbie Ann Mason took experiences from her late father-in-law from his time as an American World War II pilot shot down and his trek to escape Occupied Europe. The Girl in the Blue Beret is an intriguing use of family history that tales the role people of the French Resistance Movement played during the war. Of their triumphs and heartbreak, of the joys they felt and the horrors they faced by the Nazi. In reading The Girl in the Blue Beret I was taken back by the risks people of the French Resistance Movement took to help our boys return to allied territory. Some of the things shared through Bobbie Ann Mason's father-in-law that happened during World War II are things one can only learn from being there or finding someone willing to share their story. The Girl in the Blue Beret starts with Marshall Stone returning to his crash site decades after the war, he is intent upon finding those who helped him escape. They all made an impression on him with their kindness, care and concern, but the one who he remembers the strongest he only remembers as, 'The girl in the blue beret'. Finding people of French Resistance Movement is not an easy task, but those he finds are willing to listen to his story and share their own. The Girl in the Blue Beret is a beautiful and affecting story of love and courage, war and redemption, and the startling promise of second chances. I give credit to Bobbie Ann Mason for taking her father-in-law's experiences and creating such an intriguing story. I feel she has done justice to him and all involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this book even though it was slow going in parts. The best part of the book was when the pilot met up again with the girl in the blue beret. Now she is 50. Her story was very interesting and I must say I was disappointed in the ending. I felt like it left the story kind of flat. Still all in all very good historical read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3