Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Gatehouse

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great

I was excited to read this book and was not disappointed. loved every minute reading it.

posted by lordofbooks on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good But Not THAT Good

Driven away from a home by a scandal, Mariah is quite literally banished to a gatehouse on her aunt's expansive property, where she is to live out her time in solitude and penitence. Fortunately for us, our leading lady won't sit by idle, and the drama ensues. Several m...
Driven away from a home by a scandal, Mariah is quite literally banished to a gatehouse on her aunt's expansive property, where she is to live out her time in solitude and penitence. Fortunately for us, our leading lady won't sit by idle, and the drama ensues. Several male leads pop up, and the predicable conclusion happens. It just takes a while to get there.


This is not as strong a story as Klassen's The Apothecary's Daughter. The characters are not as well written or sympathetic as in the aforementioned novel, but more importantly, there are simply so many of them (and all with "M" names). Rather than enhancing, the subplots are a burden to the overall plot. It should not stop you from enjoying the book.it just could have been that much better with a more ruthless edit.

posted by Indy25 on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Love it

    I just love all of Julie Klassen's book. I have read them all except two. I have greartly enjoyed them all thus far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Very good!

    If you like Jane Austin, you will like this. Long enough to have several turns in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    If you like Jane Austen, you will love this!

    I absolutely loved this book! Julie Klassen is a gifted writer and captures the true feel of what it was like to live back in the time of the Regency era. This book has all the so called "politeness" of society as well as mystery and intrigue, as the Gatehouse itself is shrouded in a mysterious past. Miss Mariah Aubrey has secrets of her own and together this makes for a wonderful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    A very good story, believable for the time it was set in. I'll l

    A very good story, believable for the time it was set in. I'll look for others by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    ******

    Great story. Would like to see more written about this story line. Maybe a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    This book is a great read. It is written in the style of Jane Austen's books. I will be looking for more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alright

    This one was good but alright as well. I like the cover. It reminded me a bit of Persuasion. At least it ended happily so that was nice. Still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Well....

    It was an ok read very simple and easy. Rather a bit too simple at times for my liking. But if youre looking for some easy and sweet, then this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Beautiful Love Story

    Well written and historically accurate. The story is very moving and included several mysteries to boot! If you love a good love story intertwined with mystery and interpersonal relationships...this is the book for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Nice

    I found myself liking the characters. I really enjoyed the setting of the story and the mystery to solve along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    I just love Julie Klassen!

    Her books are awesome reads in the bathtub--or just when you need to escape!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Amazing and Fresh Story and Characters

    Julie Klassendoesn't write like anyone else that I know. I love that she gives us fresh writing that is not constrained by formulas and rule-following despite her having been an editor herself! Her main characters and minor are vibrant and memorable. The romance was realistic and full of great tension.
    Many of the other Regencies I have read all sound alike. But Klassen's fresh voice shines throughout the story telling.
    Mariah Aubry is hiding in her relative’s gatehouse, with a view of a building nearby that houses a number of needy souls. And she has a secret – she’s a novelist (which I love because I write fiction!) Captain Matthew Bryant is too good for the conniving beauty who threw him aside for another wealthier man. But he has to struggle with his own demons as he charts a new course for his life. Within the gatehouse is something that will change their lives if they can keep it from her deceased aunt’s wicked stepson. Ms. Klassen does a great job of keeping the reader wondering about the hero and the antagonist and provides a wonderfully satisfying ending to the story.
    Lovely job with the spiritual arc which is embedded well within the story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Well written good read

    I would read other books by this author. Plot was developed and characters believable. Good content. Nice way to spend a winter evening at home by the fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Recommended

    This was a lovely written book that kept my interest from beginning to end. I love Julie Klassen's writing. Will read anything of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    overall good read!

    I had a bit of a hard time getting into this book but once I did, I enjoyed it! I felt like there were a lot of names at times, making it hard for me to remember who everyone was but it didn't take away from the story. This was a longer book than most (391 pages) so it gave me the time I needed to get to know the characters and get into it before reaching that point only to have the story almost finished. I'll admit, my two favorite phrases now are "dash it" and "thunder and turf." Both struck me as funny and I laughed out loud each time a character said either. I thought Julie did a great job of fleshing out the characters - even those with minor roles. She weaved a few twists into the story, leaving me satisfied when I finally finished the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    can't say enough that I love Klassen

    Very good read, I love telling others about this author and introducing them to all the gems she has written. I have never been disappointed in a single one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read

    Loved it, as I do all her books. Very enjoyable, great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book. I was unable to put it down, always wanting to know what happens next. Alot of good twists. I would definately reccomend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Julie Klassen's best yet!

    Her plots and endings become more surprising with each book, and the historical detail is amazing. Read this one and her earlier books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15