Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Green Sweater: A Life in Holocaust's Shadow

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    the person who made her comment of the book being boring on may

    the person who made her comment of the book being boring on may 21 2012 has to have her mind examined can you imagine yourself being placed in the same situation having to survive they way the victims had to live day to day not knowing if they wouldn't get caught and killed. its history for all of us and this story has hit home to me and I am grateful she has brought us the light and the accountability of what she and the others went thru to fight to live. thank you

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing story of survival

    A horiffic story of terrible events. But what a couragous story of survival and the measures a human will go through and endure to live. The parents of Krystyna were amazing and so self sacrificing not only for the children but for others and the circumstances they were place. An amazing story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    A child's heart wrenching experience of the holocaust

    This book was a very touching memoir of the life of a child and her family during the holocaust. It is a very moving read, and I enjoyed learning of the struggles her family overcame, and how her family remained strong through all they had endured.

    The book was, however, poorly written; many expressions were repeated, which may have been on purpose for emphasis, but I found myself getting agitated with the repititiveness of it. Even so, I do highly recommend reading this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Great book

    I love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    JEWISH SURVIVAL IN WORLD WAR II

    A true story of Jewish survival in World War II that you can't put down. The struggle of a Jewish girl and her family as they survive in the sewers with the help of outsiders. They continued to struggle after the war as they adjusted to their freedom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    So very emotional and sad

    I truly hope millions read this book and other books about the inhuman treatment of fellow human beings. Maybe then it will fineally somehow sink into a whole lot of small minded bigoted people that we are all equals. Who cares about race color or religion! If we dont start living for peace and love right now, we are doomed to keep repeating the same horrifying things over and over! We already live in a world that is on the verge of being destroyed by our selfishness and ignorance. We need to wake up and get our heads out of our rears right now before it is just too late!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    The human spirit can survive the most devestating circumstances.

    This was one of the most extrodinary stories I have ever read. I had dreams of being with this family as they tried to survive the most evil people. I will never understand the extraordinary strength they had. I was overwhelmed with feelings of clausterphobia. I pray that the type of suffering and evil will end once and for all! Read this book to gain real perspective in your own life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely recommended for anyone who is wants to know a survivors story.

    I have read numerous books about the treatment of people affected by the Nazi sweep across the European countries. As Krystyna Chiger relates her story, one goes through the experience as she did. One can feel the disgust of her daily life and understand the influences of her parents and other adults who helped in this story of unbelievable survival in the worst of circumstances.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    I am a high school sophomore and I read this book for my researc

    I am a high school sophomore and I read this book for my research project. This book taught me a lesson. To never take anything for granted because life can change in the matter of seconds much like it did for the Chiger family. This book had a bunch of emotions going through it. While reading this I felt sad, scared, relieved and proud. I was never happy reading this because I just couldn't bear the thought of going through that holocaust escape plan. I really enjoyed this book because I can relate to it. I have never been in that situation but I have four people in my family and I have a younger sibling. I honestly cried when I thought about being stuck in that situation. The bravery of her father amazed me. He could have easily given up or been killed. The people in this book were all so selfless. Even though this did not answer all of the questions for the Holocaust I am glad I read this book because it taught me that a little hope and love can go a long way especially when you are feeling like nothing is going right for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Historical but not a blockbuster

    The book is relatively short but a lot of repeat information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Anonymous

    This book should be a "must read" for everyone. What people are capable of enduring under extremely harsh circumstances is truly amazing. I couldn't stop reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Unbelievablee Unbelieable


    Could not put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Fascinating survivor tale

    I enjoy reading stories of survival in the most desperate of times. The author wrote her story from her true viewpoint of a small child hidden in sewers. There are villans of course, and unexpected heroes, but the most fascinating people are the every day folk who coped (or didn't cope) with their dire circumstances with potentially lethal outcomes on a day to day basis. Not a gloomy book, or a condemning book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Loved it

    The way the story was told was great, and the story in general is what kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Hello

    Is it only 28 pages because thats all i got for the $9.99 book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    A truly fascinating story!  Not as emotional and scary as some I

    A truly fascinating story!  Not as emotional and scary as some I've read, but definitely one as brave and forgiving as any!  Will read again, I am sure.  These people were very fortunate to have a guardian angel who stuck it out with them!  Beautifully  wriiten

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    :)

    This book is so inspiring everyone should read it <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Moving story of suffering.

    The first 175 pages were a sinch. The last four took a box of tissues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good, But Not Great (Spoiler: Dont Read This Review if You Haven't Read the Book)

    Most holocaust books (on survivors) tell of horrible things which happened to them and their people, the starvation, the beatings, the killings, the disappearing family members. This author told of those things as well but, it was hard for me to get myself into in the writer’s shoes. I was not able to visualize and “connect” with the circumstances and envision the horrors there. For instance, the author notes the changes in life, moving from a large, grand apartment to ever decreasing space, until they finally live 20-deep in a crawl space of a sewer. I could visualize the grand apartment, the piano and the apartments inside the ghetto. But the most pivotal living space was the eventual 14 months spent living in the sewers and I could not visualize it. Granted, I’ve never been inside a sewer, so I have nothing to compare it to, but that is the foundation of good writing; to transport the reader into the scene of which you are describing. John Hershey’s “The Wall” is also about Jews living in Poland and the ghettos there, and the eventuality of living in the sewers. It’s been at least six years since I last read that book and I can still visualize the bunkers and sewers in his writing. As for this book, we know the author wore a green sweater in the sewers for 14 months. We know she had no proper shoes because her mother (amazingly) let her wear sandals into the sewer and then her boots were lost. The writer could have told about the sores she must have developed on her feet, and the wretched stench and condition of her sweater (that made it into a museum). Those are the kind of descriptions of details that link you to the person, time and conditions she tried to write about. After reading her ordeal, the way it glazed over the hardships, didn’t evoke emotions of unbelief that “should” accompany a story of a group of people being forced to live in filth with the rats, or die. The only time I was truly moved (to tears, I might add) was when Socha, realizing the group had no more money or means to help themselves, gave the father money out of his own pocket. That was astonishing. That was an act of total selflessness. It moved me. And apparently that was his role to play in life, to save that handful of people, for not long after, God saw fit to take him home, BUT allowed him – through his goodness – to provide for his own family by leaving all the money and jewels he collected from the Jews for his family. Wow. Finally, I would have liked to have known how the family survived, what made them go to Jerusalem, how they got there (they had no money), etc. The book left a lot to be “supposed” because it took so long to get to their living in the sewers, and was repetitive with a lot of non-essential facts, that it left out important facts that would endear you to the characters (or rather the real people), and lost much in translation that the ending was like “okay so they survived”. And speaking of survival, many times the author stated she was the “last survivor” of their ordeal – which would leave you assuming she alone made it out of the sewer alive, but that is not the case. She obviously meant the last one living as her mother, father and brother died of “I’m assuming” natural causes. We will never know because the author didn’t give these details. It was an okay book; it could have been a great book. The factors of greatness are there, the failures belong to the writing.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Excellent book

    Excellent book. I would highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4