Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Green Sweater: A Life in Holocaust's Shadow

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Historical but not a blockbuster

    The book is relatively short but a lot of repeat information.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Fascinating survivor tale

    I enjoy reading stories of survival in the most desperate of times. The author wrote her story from her true viewpoint of a small child hidden in sewers. There are villans of course, and unexpected heroes, but the most fascinating people are the every day folk who coped (or didn't cope) with their dire circumstances with potentially lethal outcomes on a day to day basis. Not a gloomy book, or a condemning book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good, But Not Great (Spoiler: Dont Read This Review if You Haven't Read the Book)

    Most holocaust books (on survivors) tell of horrible things which happened to them and their people, the starvation, the beatings, the killings, the disappearing family members. This author told of those things as well but, it was hard for me to get myself into in the writer’s shoes. I was not able to visualize and “connect” with the circumstances and envision the horrors there. For instance, the author notes the changes in life, moving from a large, grand apartment to ever decreasing space, until they finally live 20-deep in a crawl space of a sewer. I could visualize the grand apartment, the piano and the apartments inside the ghetto. But the most pivotal living space was the eventual 14 months spent living in the sewers and I could not visualize it. Granted, I’ve never been inside a sewer, so I have nothing to compare it to, but that is the foundation of good writing; to transport the reader into the scene of which you are describing. John Hershey’s “The Wall” is also about Jews living in Poland and the ghettos there, and the eventuality of living in the sewers. It’s been at least six years since I last read that book and I can still visualize the bunkers and sewers in his writing. As for this book, we know the author wore a green sweater in the sewers for 14 months. We know she had no proper shoes because her mother (amazingly) let her wear sandals into the sewer and then her boots were lost. The writer could have told about the sores she must have developed on her feet, and the wretched stench and condition of her sweater (that made it into a museum). Those are the kind of descriptions of details that link you to the person, time and conditions she tried to write about. After reading her ordeal, the way it glazed over the hardships, didn’t evoke emotions of unbelief that “should” accompany a story of a group of people being forced to live in filth with the rats, or die. The only time I was truly moved (to tears, I might add) was when Socha, realizing the group had no more money or means to help themselves, gave the father money out of his own pocket. That was astonishing. That was an act of total selflessness. It moved me. And apparently that was his role to play in life, to save that handful of people, for not long after, God saw fit to take him home, BUT allowed him – through his goodness – to provide for his own family by leaving all the money and jewels he collected from the Jews for his family. Wow. Finally, I would have liked to have known how the family survived, what made them go to Jerusalem, how they got there (they had no money), etc. The book left a lot to be “supposed” because it took so long to get to their living in the sewers, and was repetitive with a lot of non-essential facts, that it left out important facts that would endear you to the characters (or rather the real people), and lost much in translation that the ending was like “okay so they survived”. And speaking of survival, many times the author stated she was the “last survivor” of their ordeal – which would leave you assuming she alone made it out of the sewer alive, but that is not the case. She obviously meant the last one living as her mother, father and brother died of “I’m assuming” natural causes. We will never know because the author didn’t give these details. It was an okay book; it could have been a great book. The factors of greatness are there, the failures belong to the writing.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1