Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

Finley Jayne is a bit of an enigma. When angered she becomes this fighting machine and can take down just about any bloody bugger she wants. Watching her fight is cool too. But for Finley, she can't control it and it's getting worse. A bit like Jekyll & Hyde, this s...
Finley Jayne is a bit of an enigma. When angered she becomes this fighting machine and can take down just about any bloody bugger she wants. Watching her fight is cool too. But for Finley, she can't control it and it's getting worse. A bit like Jekyll & Hyde, this story is amazing.

I'm very stingy with my 5 parasol ratings. But this story totally deserves it and more. It's brilliantly written. Amazingly executed, this is the type of story that I love to read. It's Steampunk, It's romantic, It's got a gothic feel to it. There is danger lurking around every corner.

Griffin King is special as well. He can access the dead when necessary. So when Finley literally bumps into him and his friend Sam. He feels a connection to this girl and decides to bring her into his house. But you see, Griff is not what he seems. He is the Duke of Greythorne and is probably one of the wealthiest and most eligible bachelors in all of England. (Commence the swooning, Griff rocked my socks off!)

Griff's best friend, Sam is highly skeptical of this girl who is utterly dangerous living under the same roof. But he's got a reason to be skeptical. See Sam was fatally injured by an android-type thing and Emily (brilliant Em who lives with Griff and Sam and Sam is a bit sweet on) patched him together with the same material that tried to destroy him. Sam is not thinking well.

There were a few storylines here that tied up neatly and like I said it was all executed so well. Like a finely spun spiderweb. Griffin is still reeling from the deaths of his beloved mother and father and wants to find the killer at all cost. His attraction to Finley causes everyone to question his motives in keeping her around. But he seems to be the only one who can calm her two selves into one calm being.

I absolutely adored this story and would love to read more like this. This is Kady Cross' debut YA novel and highly recommend it.

posted by Laurab68 on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice beginning of a series!

I have to say that most of my steampunk experience involves zombies and werewolves and other delightful bumps in the night. While The Girl In The Steel Corset lacks in this domain, it tackles steampunk in its most basic of essences and gives us a fantastic world where D...
I have to say that most of my steampunk experience involves zombies and werewolves and other delightful bumps in the night. While The Girl In The Steel Corset lacks in this domain, it tackles steampunk in its most basic of essences and gives us a fantastic world where Dr. Jekyll, Mr. Hyde, and artificial intelligence battle for supremacy.

The world that Kady Cross imagined is magnificent and well-done in its intricacies. Machines have been integrated into society, but not quite at the peak where they can think for themselves. Aether seems to hold endless possibilities - out-of-body traveling, dual personalities, ghostly visitations, impressive strength, fast healing times, and most likely even more to discover. It was awesome, and the best part is that the characters were also exploring the world that they live in so I didn't feel like the only one in the dark.

I enjoyed all the characters, most particularly Jack Dandy, but I wished we had spent a little more time with them! Each had their own spotlight, but it seemed to last a moment too short before rushing off to the next character, the next piece of the puzzle. I wanted a little more insight on what made Griffin tick. Orphaned, bred as a duke but not really elbow-deep in society and marriage prospects, full of mystery and emotions unknown, Griffin still seemed too stiff for me to root for. If Finley's heart boils down to Griffin and Jack, count me in as Team Jack!


The Girl In The Steel Corset reminds me of Kelley Armstrong's Darkest Powers trilogy without the paranormal aspect, but with similar group of characters who have powers unimaginable but also uncontrollable. This first installment has not quite dazzled me, but I look forward to seeing if the sequel will continue to expand this world and give these characters more edge now that the introductory stuff is done.

posted by epicrat on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Finley Jayne is a bit of an enigma. When angered she becomes this fighting machine and can take down just about any bloody bugger she wants. Watching her fight is cool too. But for Finley, she can't control it and it's getting worse. A bit like Jekyll & Hyde, this story is amazing.

    I'm very stingy with my 5 parasol ratings. But this story totally deserves it and more. It's brilliantly written. Amazingly executed, this is the type of story that I love to read. It's Steampunk, It's romantic, It's got a gothic feel to it. There is danger lurking around every corner.

    Griffin King is special as well. He can access the dead when necessary. So when Finley literally bumps into him and his friend Sam. He feels a connection to this girl and decides to bring her into his house. But you see, Griff is not what he seems. He is the Duke of Greythorne and is probably one of the wealthiest and most eligible bachelors in all of England. (Commence the swooning, Griff rocked my socks off!)

    Griff's best friend, Sam is highly skeptical of this girl who is utterly dangerous living under the same roof. But he's got a reason to be skeptical. See Sam was fatally injured by an android-type thing and Emily (brilliant Em who lives with Griff and Sam and Sam is a bit sweet on) patched him together with the same material that tried to destroy him. Sam is not thinking well.

    There were a few storylines here that tied up neatly and like I said it was all executed so well. Like a finely spun spiderweb. Griffin is still reeling from the deaths of his beloved mother and father and wants to find the killer at all cost. His attraction to Finley causes everyone to question his motives in keeping her around. But he seems to be the only one who can calm her two selves into one calm being.

    I absolutely adored this story and would love to read more like this. This is Kady Cross' debut YA novel and highly recommend it.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Infernally Brilliant

    There are very few books that a hardcore steampunk writer like me will nerd out this much to. It has gotten to the point that i am curling up in my bed and squealing at every thoroughly steampunky or romancy thing that happens. I have not been so bloody nerdy since i read Phillip Pullman's notorious steampunk trilogy, His Dark Materials, for the first time. The writing style is fantastic and bloody intriguing, and the plotline is fast paced and keeps even someone like me with ADHD interested for hours. Even for a book geek such as myself, who can outline nearly any plot just by reading a short summary that doesn't give away many vital details (forgive me, I read so much that very little surprises me in books now), I am having a hard time predicting much of the book's events. This book is well worth the read (worth it even to a book snob). :D

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    A MUST READ!!! LOVED THIS BOOK!! :)

    I came across the Girl in the Steeel Corset when happening across the website in a web scavenger hunt. It was fun and I tried a lot of promising books, this being one of them. Read one chapter. ONE! and I was hooked. *This review will have NO SPOILERS!* I encourage reading. The gist of a non spoiler intake on the book is that Finley is no ordinary girl. Most girls can't knock a man flat in one punch (although that'd be SO cool) and as she tries to find yet another place she happens across Rich boy *ahem* Griffin and his "gang" of people all with their own abilities. What kind? Well, here;s an idea..READ THE BOOK!! it's really, quite good. ANYWAY! Just when Finley had a sliver of being excepted her world is turned up side down. Thrown together in the mix is a love triangle, a robot, here and there, and a strange corset that seems to be made out of metal (thus the title) Anyway I love it and I think that you will too. Enjoy and kudos to Kady Cross for a wonderful book. Two thumbs up!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice beginning of a series!

    I have to say that most of my steampunk experience involves zombies and werewolves and other delightful bumps in the night. While The Girl In The Steel Corset lacks in this domain, it tackles steampunk in its most basic of essences and gives us a fantastic world where Dr. Jekyll, Mr. Hyde, and artificial intelligence battle for supremacy.

    The world that Kady Cross imagined is magnificent and well-done in its intricacies. Machines have been integrated into society, but not quite at the peak where they can think for themselves. Aether seems to hold endless possibilities - out-of-body traveling, dual personalities, ghostly visitations, impressive strength, fast healing times, and most likely even more to discover. It was awesome, and the best part is that the characters were also exploring the world that they live in so I didn't feel like the only one in the dark.

    I enjoyed all the characters, most particularly Jack Dandy, but I wished we had spent a little more time with them! Each had their own spotlight, but it seemed to last a moment too short before rushing off to the next character, the next piece of the puzzle. I wanted a little more insight on what made Griffin tick. Orphaned, bred as a duke but not really elbow-deep in society and marriage prospects, full of mystery and emotions unknown, Griffin still seemed too stiff for me to root for. If Finley's heart boils down to Griffin and Jack, count me in as Team Jack!


    The Girl In The Steel Corset reminds me of Kelley Armstrong's Darkest Powers trilogy without the paranormal aspect, but with similar group of characters who have powers unimaginable but also uncontrollable. This first installment has not quite dazzled me, but I look forward to seeing if the sequel will continue to expand this world and give these characters more edge now that the introductory stuff is done.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Victorian intrigue and romance...awesome combination!

    First off..this was a new genre for me, but I was introduced to it thru the Harlequin Teen site and I think I am hooked. I loved the scene being Victorian London, with the modern age just staring and the idea of steam powered vehicles and things. The fashions that Finley Jayne gets to wear are so amazing and each scene I wanted to slip into the same corsets and clothes and walk the gritty streets of London. Kady Cross does a great job of bringing steampunk and amazing characters together in a book that will have you pulled in before you know it.
    The character of Finley Jayne is a very strong female character that from the beginning scene is someone you don't mess with. She may look all petite and feminine, but she has two aura's. She comes by it naturally, her father was the original Jekyll and Hyde and seems she has the same affliction. But after a chance run in(quite literally) with the Earl of Greythorne, she lets him help her control the darker side of her life, and she in turn helps him defeat a bad guy bent on destroying everything with automatons that are more lifelike than can be believed. The story is very believable and while the steampunk side is very fantasy based, you really believe after a few chapters that it could happen in this alternate world. The romance that buds with the Earl Greythorn and Finley is nice and I also love the naughty romance between her and Jack Dandy, the head of a London gang. The ending is in a perfect cliffhanger and I know I will be ready to get my hands on the second book as soon as it hits the shelf.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Romance, action, adventure, and a kick-butt heroine!

    The Girl in the Steel Corset is inventive, and enjoyable action adventure set in an alternate Victorian London of 1897 where automatons, robots, steam and clockwork technology are a normal part of everyday life. We are introduced to Finley Jayne, the 16-year-old heroine, as she is confronted by unwanted sexual advances of her employer's son. When she refuses, he tries to beat her. But Finley is no ordinary servant girl. She has something inside her that she can't control -a dark, violent, vengeful side to her that has tremendous strength, agility and cunning. You do not want to get her angry. The young man of the house, who is known for his advances and violence to other servants, gets his come-uppance in the form of a brutal ass-kicking of his own served to him with the fists and boots of none other than this unprepossessing little servant girl. After fleeing the scene, she quite literally runs into the the Duke of Greythorne, Griffin King, who takes her in to his little band of misfits. He can see, control, and become one with the Aether, the universal energy that is everywhere, inside and all around us. Sam is part robot, after being almost killed in a horrible battle with a rogue automaton. Emily is a scientific genius and inventor and expert in medicine. Jasper is an American cowboy with a questionable past. Together, they are investigating a series of automaton attacks masterminded by a criminal called The Machinist.
    She soon finds out that Griffin's and her own parents have a shared past that include the discovery of the life-giving Organites - tiny little creatures that attach themselves to human tissue and copy the bodies own cellular composition. When applied to wounds they can rebuild flesh and heal injuries. Finley also discovers that her father conducted experiments on himself by ingesting concoctions that included Organites when she was conceived, and that he was also the man who was the inspiration for Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.
    This novel is perfect introduction to steampunk genre for a teen audience. There is romance, mystery, action, adventure, cool gadgets and inventions as well as a kick-ass heroine who is learning to control and join both the light and dark parts of her psyche. The struggle inside Finley Jayne is universal. We all have dark and violent thoughts, but she gets to explore and act on those impulses, kicking some serious butt and speaking her mind in a repressed Victorian society, full of manners and proper social etiquette. I would love to live in this world! The novel has the group dynamic of The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, in a good way. In the end, the climax was resolved a little too easy for my taste, but with such a talented group of misfits, what possible crises could they not overcome? We will know eventually, because this is the first in a series. I am looking forward to the next book in The Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross. If you can't wait for the next book in the series, why not download the 78-page prequel novella starring Finley Jayne for free on your NOOK. Search for the eBook titled The Strange Case of Finley Jayne by Kady Cross.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Changing POV

    The very first thing that stood out to me while reading was that this book changes point of views between characters. I did think that when I picked it up that the story would be told only from Finley's perspective, but was very pleasantly surprised to see that it does jump around.

    Why I say pleasantly surprised is because I actually liked Griffin's perspective the best. I liked Finley just fine, she was not my favorite character, but I just thoroughly enjoyed all the parts told from Griffin. He sees Finley different than she sees herself and I liked the way he thought. There are a handful of characters that join together in this one and I favored Griffin and Emily the most. But everybody always has their favorites. I was just surprised at the way the author handled telling the story in different ways and perspectives.

    I did have a love hate relationship with Finley though. In the beginning of the book I saw a strong kick ass character who was definitely going to change some minds about how women should act. But then later in the book she seemed to me to become very unsure of things and question herself often. There was a very specific scene when Sam attacks her, a very understandable situation, but she really does not fight back until he has really beat the crap out of her. I expected her to fight back immediately, but her hesitation or confusion just made me very frustrated with her in general.

    I really enjoyed the plot twists and the exchange between the characters. What I liked most about the book is that it keeps a really even pace throughout. You get constant movement and when you get the high and low moments it is presented so well that the flow of events was a very pleasant reading experience overall.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Live To Read

    This is part of a new genre, Steampunk. The reader's first impression of the novel will be...that not much is different from, say, fantasy or just plain young adult. This novel was interesting in that the author seemed to know a fair amount about machines; however, it was very confusing in some parts. The main character, Finley, is a ballsy character in some portions of the novel, and, at random, it will seem as if her courage peters out...for instance, there is a fight with her and another character that just seemed very unwarranted and silly. The secondary characters are interesting to meet, but not necessarily fun characters to read about...Jasper was amusing though.


    The plot was different, the reader kind of has to figure out the plot though...he/she will probably catch on in the middle of the book. The ending was a little disappointing too, it doesn't always have to be HEA (happily ever after), but it was a little of a non sequitur. This book was overall ok, but it probably won't make the reader "awed" by this new genre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Ccharacter Problem.

    I dislike Finley Jayne. Too Mary Sue of the Badass Stereotype.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Good concept lost in predictable and flat writing.

    Despite having a love of children's, young adult, tween, and adult lit, I could not find anything about this novel to make me want to recommend it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome, way better than this review

    This book wasn't exactly what I was expecting but I was by no means disappointed. This book is both technical and emotional. The characters are never dull and almost all of them are multi-sided. The action scenes are well described as are the machines throughout the book. There is a love triangle but it's less annoying than in most teen novels, she doesn't even consider romance for a huge portion of it. Over all I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Good.

    I liked this book, and completely fell in love with the characters of Sam and Emily. However, I found Finley's likableness decreasing in every page until I could barely stand her. I also really disliked the whole love triangle with Finley, Jack, and Griffin. All in all, good, but it could have been a thousand times better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Why?

    Why are the two book cheaper then the one book?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    ;)

    Worth the read........:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    For a series that is called "The Steampunk Chronicles"

    For a series that is called "The Steampunk Chronicles" the world lacked a lot of steampunk ideas. One big idea for steampunk books is learning how the world adapted differently than ours did and how integrated these steam inventions are into everyday life. In this book, the invention that it is titled after, the steel corset, has nothing really to due with steam workings and is described as having working and moving gears, yet serves no other function than a pretty piece of armor, thus making the gears decoration, an idea very un-steampunk. Also, instead of coming up with clever ideas for lighting and power, it is all explained away with a "mysterious ore" that powers everything, with no other explanation. The inventions that were more classically steampunk were unoriginal and hardly explained.

    As for the story itself, though interesting in concept, a lot of the plot points seemed to happen to the characters rather than the characters doing something for themselves. Finley's conflicting emotions are very shallow and seem to only be in place to create a tension that seems to be missing for the plot of the book. Each character seems to have an interesting story and powers, and yet everyone seems to only be superficially explored. Even the villain could have been explored at a greater length, better understanding why he did what he did, but once again the reader is left with nothing more than a shallow understanding. Though I was hoping for an interesting plot with maybe some romance on the side, or at least have the romance intertwined with the plot, instead I found it was more of a romance that just happened to have other things going on in the background.


    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book a lot more than I expected. I felt the ending left me hanging...is there a sequel? I'm ready for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    I couldn't put it down!

    This was an immensely interesting book. In it there are so many unique twists that you wouldn't see coming. The main character Finley Jayne is not the typical helpless girl that you would usually see in the late 1800's. This book makes you fall in love with the character's. I highly recommend it especially if you like to read the out of the ordinary type of books. Timber Creek High School Student Class of 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Absolutely adored it!

    I loved this book! I was smitten with the book from the first 10 minutes of reading it. I could not put it down. I believe it says on the cover something like...But no normal girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a grown man with one punch. As soon as I read that I knew this was the book for me.
    The girl in the steel corset was a book that I can see myself reading over and over again. I loved the main character, Finley. Actually, I enjoyed all of the characters. I am very excited that this is going to be a series of books. I cannot wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    A huge disappointment

    This books starts with a great deal of promise, but about midway through, quickly takes a turn for the worse. The premise of the book is interesting and in the beginning the dialogue and story grabs you, but that does not last. The writing becomes too wordy, the characters seem ridiculously childish & immature, there is too much repetitive descriptors (ropey was used to describe Emily's hair oh, about a zillion times), the "love triangle" never develops at all, the "action" is about as anticlimatic as you can get. If you figure a book as a line, there should be many peaks and valleys in that line. This books was about as straight a line as you can get. The only high point to the book was Jack Dandy (one third of the supposed love triangle). He is intriquing and mysterious and we don't learn much about him and I definitely would've liked to know more, for example...why is his speech so mangled when he can speak flawlessly at times? What is he hiding? There seems to be a great deal of depth to him, but we don't learn anything and as bad as this book ended, I won't be reading the sequel if there is one. I had to force myself to finish this book & skipped over many passages and only read the sentences that were actually dialogue. I was sorely disappointed in this book, which was even more disappointing since the beginning seemed to have so much potential.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Just finished!

    This was a really good book. I enjoyed the different love situations and the mystery of it all. I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13