Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Steel Corset (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 243 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(129)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Loved this book!

Finley Jayne is a bit of an enigma. When angered she becomes this fighting machine and can take down just about any bloody bugger she wants. Watching her fight is cool too. But for Finley, she can't control it and it's getting worse. A bit like Jekyll & Hyde, this s...
Finley Jayne is a bit of an enigma. When angered she becomes this fighting machine and can take down just about any bloody bugger she wants. Watching her fight is cool too. But for Finley, she can't control it and it's getting worse. A bit like Jekyll & Hyde, this story is amazing.

I'm very stingy with my 5 parasol ratings. But this story totally deserves it and more. It's brilliantly written. Amazingly executed, this is the type of story that I love to read. It's Steampunk, It's romantic, It's got a gothic feel to it. There is danger lurking around every corner.

Griffin King is special as well. He can access the dead when necessary. So when Finley literally bumps into him and his friend Sam. He feels a connection to this girl and decides to bring her into his house. But you see, Griff is not what he seems. He is the Duke of Greythorne and is probably one of the wealthiest and most eligible bachelors in all of England. (Commence the swooning, Griff rocked my socks off!)

Griff's best friend, Sam is highly skeptical of this girl who is utterly dangerous living under the same roof. But he's got a reason to be skeptical. See Sam was fatally injured by an android-type thing and Emily (brilliant Em who lives with Griff and Sam and Sam is a bit sweet on) patched him together with the same material that tried to destroy him. Sam is not thinking well.

There were a few storylines here that tied up neatly and like I said it was all executed so well. Like a finely spun spiderweb. Griffin is still reeling from the deaths of his beloved mother and father and wants to find the killer at all cost. His attraction to Finley causes everyone to question his motives in keeping her around. But he seems to be the only one who can calm her two selves into one calm being.

I absolutely adored this story and would love to read more like this. This is Kady Cross' debut YA novel and highly recommend it.

posted by Laurab68 on April 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice beginning of a series!

I have to say that most of my steampunk experience involves zombies and werewolves and other delightful bumps in the night. While The Girl In The Steel Corset lacks in this domain, it tackles steampunk in its most basic of essences and gives us a fantastic world where D...
I have to say that most of my steampunk experience involves zombies and werewolves and other delightful bumps in the night. While The Girl In The Steel Corset lacks in this domain, it tackles steampunk in its most basic of essences and gives us a fantastic world where Dr. Jekyll, Mr. Hyde, and artificial intelligence battle for supremacy.

The world that Kady Cross imagined is magnificent and well-done in its intricacies. Machines have been integrated into society, but not quite at the peak where they can think for themselves. Aether seems to hold endless possibilities - out-of-body traveling, dual personalities, ghostly visitations, impressive strength, fast healing times, and most likely even more to discover. It was awesome, and the best part is that the characters were also exploring the world that they live in so I didn't feel like the only one in the dark.

I enjoyed all the characters, most particularly Jack Dandy, but I wished we had spent a little more time with them! Each had their own spotlight, but it seemed to last a moment too short before rushing off to the next character, the next piece of the puzzle. I wanted a little more insight on what made Griffin tick. Orphaned, bred as a duke but not really elbow-deep in society and marriage prospects, full of mystery and emotions unknown, Griffin still seemed too stiff for me to root for. If Finley's heart boils down to Griffin and Jack, count me in as Team Jack!


The Girl In The Steel Corset reminds me of Kelley Armstrong's Darkest Powers trilogy without the paranormal aspect, but with similar group of characters who have powers unimaginable but also uncontrollable. This first installment has not quite dazzled me, but I look forward to seeing if the sequel will continue to expand this world and give these characters more edge now that the introductory stuff is done.

posted by epicrat on May 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Finley Jayne is a bit of an enigma. When angered she becomes this fighting machine and can take down just about any bloody bugger she wants. Watching her fight is cool too. But for Finley, she can't control it and it's getting worse. A bit like Jekyll & Hyde, this story is amazing.

    I'm very stingy with my 5 parasol ratings. But this story totally deserves it and more. It's brilliantly written. Amazingly executed, this is the type of story that I love to read. It's Steampunk, It's romantic, It's got a gothic feel to it. There is danger lurking around every corner.

    Griffin King is special as well. He can access the dead when necessary. So when Finley literally bumps into him and his friend Sam. He feels a connection to this girl and decides to bring her into his house. But you see, Griff is not what he seems. He is the Duke of Greythorne and is probably one of the wealthiest and most eligible bachelors in all of England. (Commence the swooning, Griff rocked my socks off!)

    Griff's best friend, Sam is highly skeptical of this girl who is utterly dangerous living under the same roof. But he's got a reason to be skeptical. See Sam was fatally injured by an android-type thing and Emily (brilliant Em who lives with Griff and Sam and Sam is a bit sweet on) patched him together with the same material that tried to destroy him. Sam is not thinking well.

    There were a few storylines here that tied up neatly and like I said it was all executed so well. Like a finely spun spiderweb. Griffin is still reeling from the deaths of his beloved mother and father and wants to find the killer at all cost. His attraction to Finley causes everyone to question his motives in keeping her around. But he seems to be the only one who can calm her two selves into one calm being.

    I absolutely adored this story and would love to read more like this. This is Kady Cross' debut YA novel and highly recommend it.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Infernally Brilliant

    There are very few books that a hardcore steampunk writer like me will nerd out this much to. It has gotten to the point that i am curling up in my bed and squealing at every thoroughly steampunky or romancy thing that happens. I have not been so bloody nerdy since i read Phillip Pullman's notorious steampunk trilogy, His Dark Materials, for the first time. The writing style is fantastic and bloody intriguing, and the plotline is fast paced and keeps even someone like me with ADHD interested for hours. Even for a book geek such as myself, who can outline nearly any plot just by reading a short summary that doesn't give away many vital details (forgive me, I read so much that very little surprises me in books now), I am having a hard time predicting much of the book's events. This book is well worth the read (worth it even to a book snob). :D

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    A MUST READ!!! LOVED THIS BOOK!! :)

    I came across the Girl in the Steeel Corset when happening across the website in a web scavenger hunt. It was fun and I tried a lot of promising books, this being one of them. Read one chapter. ONE! and I was hooked. *This review will have NO SPOILERS!* I encourage reading. The gist of a non spoiler intake on the book is that Finley is no ordinary girl. Most girls can't knock a man flat in one punch (although that'd be SO cool) and as she tries to find yet another place she happens across Rich boy *ahem* Griffin and his "gang" of people all with their own abilities. What kind? Well, here;s an idea..READ THE BOOK!! it's really, quite good. ANYWAY! Just when Finley had a sliver of being excepted her world is turned up side down. Thrown together in the mix is a love triangle, a robot, here and there, and a strange corset that seems to be made out of metal (thus the title) Anyway I love it and I think that you will too. Enjoy and kudos to Kady Cross for a wonderful book. Two thumbs up!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Victorian intrigue and romance...awesome combination!

    First off..this was a new genre for me, but I was introduced to it thru the Harlequin Teen site and I think I am hooked. I loved the scene being Victorian London, with the modern age just staring and the idea of steam powered vehicles and things. The fashions that Finley Jayne gets to wear are so amazing and each scene I wanted to slip into the same corsets and clothes and walk the gritty streets of London. Kady Cross does a great job of bringing steampunk and amazing characters together in a book that will have you pulled in before you know it.
    The character of Finley Jayne is a very strong female character that from the beginning scene is someone you don't mess with. She may look all petite and feminine, but she has two aura's. She comes by it naturally, her father was the original Jekyll and Hyde and seems she has the same affliction. But after a chance run in(quite literally) with the Earl of Greythorne, she lets him help her control the darker side of her life, and she in turn helps him defeat a bad guy bent on destroying everything with automatons that are more lifelike than can be believed. The story is very believable and while the steampunk side is very fantasy based, you really believe after a few chapters that it could happen in this alternate world. The romance that buds with the Earl Greythorn and Finley is nice and I also love the naughty romance between her and Jack Dandy, the head of a London gang. The ending is in a perfect cliffhanger and I know I will be ready to get my hands on the second book as soon as it hits the shelf.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome, way better than this review

    This book wasn't exactly what I was expecting but I was by no means disappointed. This book is both technical and emotional. The characters are never dull and almost all of them are multi-sided. The action scenes are well described as are the machines throughout the book. There is a love triangle but it's less annoying than in most teen novels, she doesn't even consider romance for a huge portion of it. Over all I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    I loved this book a lot more than I expected. I felt the ending left me hanging...is there a sequel? I'm ready for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    I couldn't put it down!

    This was an immensely interesting book. In it there are so many unique twists that you wouldn't see coming. The main character Finley Jayne is not the typical helpless girl that you would usually see in the late 1800's. This book makes you fall in love with the character's. I highly recommend it especially if you like to read the out of the ordinary type of books. Timber Creek High School Student Class of 2012

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Absolutely adored it!

    I loved this book! I was smitten with the book from the first 10 minutes of reading it. I could not put it down. I believe it says on the cover something like...But no normal girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a grown man with one punch. As soon as I read that I knew this was the book for me.
    The girl in the steel corset was a book that I can see myself reading over and over again. I loved the main character, Finley. Actually, I enjoyed all of the characters. I am very excited that this is going to be a series of books. I cannot wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    How could you book? Such a freaking tease, you are, leaving an ending like that for a sequel. None the less good set up. So as I mentioned lately, I can add this one to books I always wanted to read but haven't for some reason. I was hooked in right from the beginning, well a chapter or two in actually. I really loved the setting and characters. The main character especially you really feel for her and want her to be accepted with her new found friends. And can I just say how much I loved the fact that the romances weren't the main focus but still part of the story in the way. But now so much so that it puts the story in to a stop. I also liked how Finley and everyone learned to work together while investigating someone known as the Machinist and discover something about each other. Sam was adorable, Jasper was such a flirt, adored Jack Dandy and of course Griffin. And that steampunk setting. Not to mention the cover. I mean that dress was very pretty. I was reading a bunch of books, including this one but found myself wanting to come to this. Also the moments between Finley and Dandy, well their growing friendship if you will, reminded me of another book Emperor's Conspiracy, what with the MC having a friend in the crime underworld and what not. Anyway, very good start and I hope the other books in the series are just as good. And that the romance doesn't get in the way. While I loved the romance in this, I do appreciate the story moving forward as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Steampunk fun!

    A great story that's part Jekyll and Hyde, part Sherlock Holmes, and all adventure. First in a series. One of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    What is Jaspers secret?

    Reply to Ariella because idk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Steampunk gold

    Great series I found it by accident and I'm glad I did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Amazingly different

    When I first got this from library, I almost didn't read it. I did finally pick it up and was instantly hooked. I had never before read a steampunk novel before, but this was amazing. Finley is the kind of character you can't help but like. Especially because she is portrayed as a girl who can take care of herself. She isn't a damsel in distress. I have read the book several times and never seem to tire of it. I reccommend it to anyone who likes action and adventure. This book never has a dull moment. Please read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Finnely

    This was an incredable read! I must read again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Steampunk, the Supernatural, Action, and Romance. Oh my! I have

    Steampunk, the Supernatural, Action, and Romance. Oh my!

    I have to say that this is one the best steampunk novels for teens that I have read. (the other being the Leviathan Trilogy). The majority of "steampunk" teen books I have come across claim to be part of the genre but have more werewolves and vampires in them than the Twilight series. The only connection to their so-called steampunk classification is that they take place in Victorian London but end up lacking the alternate steam-powered reality that is steampunk. I am glad to say that the first installment in The Steampunk Chronicles, The Girl in the Steel Corset, sticks with the title of the series. It truly is a steampunk novel.

    That is not to say that there is none of the supernatural at work here. Quite the contrary, in fact. Finley Jayne (the main character) has quite a problem with her "other" self (a bit like Jekyll & Hyde) when she is literally run over by the Duke of Greythorne. She then realizes she isn't the only one with strange abilities. The supernatural aspect of this series is quite unique relative to the genre (like said above, none of this immortal vampire nonsense) but more along the lines of something like a genetic mutation.

    Finley isn’t the type of girl to stand by and watch while other fight. More accurately, she is the one to cause that fight. Finley’s darker half can cause quite a bit of trouble, and with trouble you know action is soon to follow. Because of this she gets in quite a few messes but has her new friends, who posses abilities like hers, to help.
    Griffin King: The Duke of Greythorne. He has the ability to connect to Aether – the shadow world where energy flows. He can speak with the dead, but when he does so he risks absorbing too much energy from the Aetheric plane, which can cause quite a problem for him -- and anyone in the immediate vicinity -- if not handled correctly.
    Sam: he seems pretty distant for the majority of the book, but don’t worry. Things come together at the climax. As for Sam’s ability? He is super strong and on the inside he is quite different from a normal human, much to his own horror.
    Emily: quite a lovable character, the little Irish redhead. She seems fairly normal, except the fact that she is so talented in the ways of science that her inventions are at least 40 years ahead of their time. Besides being a genius, her ability comes in handy considering her affinity for machines.
    Jasper Renn: an American Cowboy who is loyal to Griffin and has unmatched speed, but what did he do that made him want to leave America so badly? When his past comes back to haunt him, will he stand idly by? Or leave his friends to protect them from the danger that follows him?
    Where do their abilities come from? Why do they have them? Those questions can only be answered by reading the book.

    What would a book aimed at teens be if it didn’t involve at least a little romance? Luckily, this book has a couple of love triangles that add to the suspense and drama. Can the knots in their friendships be untied before their affections to others destroy them? Will everyone make amends and team up before it is too late?

    The ending of the first book leads right into the second and left me eager for more. As soon as I finished, I ran right over to my local B&N and got the second in the series that is planned to be five (plus a prequel, which is included in the first book).
    Time for The Girl In the Clockwork Collar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    I want MORE!!!

    Finley Jane is amazing. I truly enjoyed these books. Have read all that are currently available. If you like for the books you read to hold your attention, then this is a series for you! Read it and you'll see why!! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Loved it

    Great book i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great book!

    Love this series! Kept my interest from the start. Recommend highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    I love this series so far!!! Great books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is fantastic, but you should read The Strange Case of Finley Jayne first. Also, it's not exactly a Steampunk, but that doesn't make a real difference. It's a great read either way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7