Customer Reviews for

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 331 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

posted by sand7s on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't connect but worth a read.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a unique book of secrets, courage, and betrayals. Elisa is a sixteen year old girl who needs to embrace her destiny if she wishes to help the people around her and even more survive.

On her sixteenth birthday Princess Elisa is set to be...
The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a unique book of secrets, courage, and betrayals. Elisa is a sixteen year old girl who needs to embrace her destiny if she wishes to help the people around her and even more survive.

On her sixteenth birthday Princess Elisa is set to be married to the gorgeous King Alejandro. What she doesn't know is that it is for her own safety as well as an aid to Alejandro's kingdom. See, Elisa is the "chosen one". She bears the Godstone, and only one is chosen every century. She doesn't know love or strength yet, but she must rise above herself in order to protect those close to her and reach her destiny.

I have to admit, unfortunately, I could not get into this one. At first, I honestly was going to stop and add it to the list of "could not finish", but for some reason I kept reading. And, I'm actually glad I did. From part 2 on... the story did pick up for me. Elisa learns who she needs to be and you can see her mature throughout the story. Also from part 2 on, I started to enjoyed the characters we met much more. And I honestly felt extremely bad for Elisa towards the end... it seemed that every time she was ready to love, it was ripped away from her.

Just because I could not get into it, doesn't mean anything though. I am just one opinion in hundreds maybe thousands! There are still good things I saw about the book. I saw a main character grow into herself. I saw a strong girl deal with love and loss. The book is also extremely unique and writing is very well done. I am only one person expressing my opinion, so if you are interested in the book, pick it up and try it out for yourself! Unfortunately, it was just not for me. =/

posted by jenababy13 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't connect but worth a read.

    The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a unique book of secrets, courage, and betrayals. Elisa is a sixteen year old girl who needs to embrace her destiny if she wishes to help the people around her and even more survive.

    On her sixteenth birthday Princess Elisa is set to be married to the gorgeous King Alejandro. What she doesn't know is that it is for her own safety as well as an aid to Alejandro's kingdom. See, Elisa is the "chosen one". She bears the Godstone, and only one is chosen every century. She doesn't know love or strength yet, but she must rise above herself in order to protect those close to her and reach her destiny.

    I have to admit, unfortunately, I could not get into this one. At first, I honestly was going to stop and add it to the list of "could not finish", but for some reason I kept reading. And, I'm actually glad I did. From part 2 on... the story did pick up for me. Elisa learns who she needs to be and you can see her mature throughout the story. Also from part 2 on, I started to enjoyed the characters we met much more. And I honestly felt extremely bad for Elisa towards the end... it seemed that every time she was ready to love, it was ripped away from her.

    Just because I could not get into it, doesn't mean anything though. I am just one opinion in hundreds maybe thousands! There are still good things I saw about the book. I saw a main character grow into herself. I saw a strong girl deal with love and loss. The book is also extremely unique and writing is very well done. I am only one person expressing my opinion, so if you are interested in the book, pick it up and try it out for yourself! Unfortunately, it was just not for me. =/

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    A Must Read!

    If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's books, then I highly recommend The Girl of Fire and Thorns! Great story, great characters, and great writing.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    A Novel Every Young Woman Should Read!

    THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS is an outstanding debut novel from Rae Carson. It combines every element that makes a fantasy novel fun to read (humor, page-turning adventure, magic, romance, an epic journey, and tons of suspense) with completely original elements that make the reader fall in love with both the novel and its protagonist, Elisa. Elisa is a very unlikely hero who has been chosen for greatness. The character development is outstanding as Elisa learns to embrace who she is while conquering her personal struggles in order to save a country that isn't even her own. The book is full of unexpected plot twists, political intrigue, religious exploration and critique, fabulous world building, and themes pertinent to every young woman today. This is one of the best written novels I have ever read, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    most interesting heroine

    I've read a lot of teen fantasy but I have NEVER read something where the main character is overweight or unattractive. I thought this was a really new and interesting twist that first drew me to the book. Elisa is a really great main character and all her flaws and insecurities make her more realistic than most.
    The story was also fantastic and pulled me in, the only complaint I have is the ending. Without giving anything away, the ending seemed really rushed, like hundreds of pages go into building what should have been something much more epic or exciting. Elisa discovers she's on the verge of some great mystery and three pages later it's solved. Anticlimactic in my opinion, but still a great book and I definitely recommend reading it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Unimpressed!!

    I bought this book thinking it would be an interesting read. In theory the story could have been good; however, the execution was not there. It was much too religious and bland. I struggled to finish. There was no expansion or growth of the main characters and they were quite boring. This book was definitely not worth my money and I do not plan on following this series.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Pretty good read

    I think I give this book about a 3.5 rating. I liked it, but didn't love it.
    The best part about this book is that it is a story about a young girl who calls herself fat and useless at the beginning of the story, and during everything that happens to her she proves to herself her true worth. I enjoyed the different kingdoms and tribes of people described. I really liked some of the characters.
    What I didn't like is the romance parts of the book - they were just bland and lacking. I just didn't believe the feelings were there. Maybe that is because of the writing style that was more tell and not enough show. There was also too much description of the travel (basically: "we're walking, we're walking, we're still walking" - this is how I feel about a lot of fantasy novels lately though).
    The religious aspects of the book were creative but I think were too much at times.
    All in all I felt there could have been more feelings and more plot development but that this story is a good read and is an interesting fresh type of story I haven't read before.

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my review.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mixed Feelings

    I have to say that I have mixed feelings about this book. But let's start with the good: I really liked the main character, Elisa; she was someone almost every girl could relate to, and at the end, maybe even strive to be like. Also, I liked how she grew throughout the novel. There was a big difference between the Elisa in the beginning and the Elisa in the end. The author was very subtle about it. Elisa didn't all of the sudden just change, it took time.

    All the character's, except maybe Alejandro, had their own distinct personality. And the world the author creates is lush and vivid. There was a ton of action and adventure and a bit of romance. I wish I could leave the review at that and say I absolutely loved it but, alas, I cannot.

    So, the bad: to be honest, there was really only one HUGE thing that made this not a five star read for me. It was the ending. I'm a happy ending kind of girl, and although I know this book is a part of a series so this isn't how it really ends, I just couldn't believe the author ended this book like that! There were many reasons it wasn't exactly a happy ending but for me there was one big reason it wasn't and if you read the book you'll figure it out. As a reader, I wasn't satisfied; I'm actually a bit pissed off.

    Overall, I have to say that the book was pretty great. If I wasn't such a happy ending girl I probably would have rated it five stars. I'm not sure if I'll read the next book in the series but I do recommend this book to people, it was very engrossing.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    The perfect fantasy.

    Complex world in the allegorical style of Narnia, inspiring and relatable heroine, gorgeous prose and economy of words, a secondary cast that become like dear friends, and truly creepy but sympathetic villains. What more do you want?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Should have been a children's book

    The plot of this book had high potential. After reading the reviews, I thought this would be a unique book that would be engaging and entertaining. Apparently all of the people who left good reviews on this book were twelve years old (most of the reviews had terrible spelling) and thought that this book was something worth praising. I found the main character to be whiny and boring. She was a 'flat' character with no personality. She did not grow or mature in any way through out the book. The quality of writing in this book was terrible. The words and style used were obvious and simple, which in a book is not something most readers want. I would say the age group for this book would be 10-13 at most.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Admits Defeat

    I will admit that this book was great. Worth your money. Has a good mixture of action, romance, tragedy, and personal growth. Recommend to young adults.
    But of course there's still room for improvement on the author's part. Yes it had brilliant words strung together and many morals inclined, but it lacked partial feeling when it came to Elisa's love toward everyone around her.
    Still, I am going to follow this author and her future novels to see what else she can bring to the table.
    Worth a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Love it

    This book is amazing i couldn't stop reading. I highly recommend

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging and well-written...worth a pre-order!

    The Girl of Fire and Thorns was a truly fabulous coming-of-age story. Elisa is married off to a foreigner on her sixteenth birthday, whisked off to a new land, and then hidden away as a secret. She can't reveal her Godstone and she can't reveal her marriage. Not the best start to a whole new life! She feels even more alone and worthless than she did in her home. What she doesn't realize is why it is so important to hide...and what could happen when her secrets are uncovered.

    Elisa was such a dynamic character and I absolutely fell in love with her. At the beginning of the novel, we area introduced to a fifteen-almost-sixteen year old girl who is preparing for her out-of-the-blue wedding. She is clearly uncomfortable in her own skin. She's been chosen for some great act of Service, but she feels like it must have been a mistake. How can she ever be as successful as her beautiful older sister? How could anyone ever fall in love with an overweight, less-than-perfect naive Princess? Her lack of confidence is fed by the secretive nature of her marriage and the multitude of secrets that she is forced to keep when she arrives in her new husband's country. Elisa was such a fabulous character because you literally watch her grown up and come into her own. She is forced to embark on this harrowing journey and along the way she transforms into a strong young woman. She experiences the joy of first love and the pain of death that war brings.

    The world and cast of characters that Rae Carson has presented in this book left me longing for more. The world is phenomenally and intelligently crafted. Carson's descriptions of the landscape gave me a real sense of the world without becoming cumbersome. In addition, her characters were understated but well-developed. We learn about them through Elisa's eyes and in a very "show not tell" way, which I appreciated. When characters were successful, I cheered, and when bad things happened to good people, I got upset (VERY upset in some cases).

    My overall sense about this book is that it is the start to a fabulous trilogy that I cannot wait to devour. I must also applaud Carson for wrapping up this book without any major cliffhangers! The world and characters have a lot of room to grow and develop in future books, but I wasn't left beginning for a conclusion to a completely undeveloped (or suddenly new) plot line.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2014

    It took an interesting premise, an overweight princess unsure of

    It took an interesting premise, an overweight princess unsure of her own worth and why she might have been chosen gets thrust into an unfamiliar world and must learn to adapt.  She struggles, cries, and stress eats, I believed everything about her.  Then (spoilers) like every non-funny fat person you've ever read about she is forced into some kind of hard labor that makes her lose weight, and of course that's when she starts getting her life together, only then does she buckle down and start really living.  It's very clear she has a sound mind, even a talent for intrigue, but apparently you can't be the hero and a belly, so I really couldn't get over that giant glaring cliche. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Very Nice

    While I enjoyed the good storyline and always exciting magic..what I enjoyed the most was the theme...have faith in yourself. Others may doubt you and try to tear you down..but you only fail when you doubt yourself. It is a good message for all. Of course the adventure and romance was great too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Great Book! I wasn't really excited when I got this book from t

    Great Book!

    I wasn't really excited when I got this book from the library, but but the end I was laughing, crying, and cheering for Elisa. 

    The thing that surprised me the most about this book was how religious it was. I don't know if that was what the author intended, but I thought it was really inspirational how Elisa looked to God to get her out of scrapes. But if that's not what you're into, don't let it stop you from getting this book. 

    Elisa is a very relatable main character, and it was cool to watch her journey. I didn't think this book was perfect (having a magical belly button?) but I really liked. Definitely one of the best books i've read in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    !

    Why do posters ruin the books for others by revealing plot points? We dont care that u received the book for free from author, publisher, bookstore or grandma moses. Just stop ruining the story for others. It is rude and inconsiderate. Do you stand at the movie theatre door and tell everyone the entire movie including the ending? Learn to review and stop revesling every detail of the book. You dont have to do that.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Loved

    I loved this book! The girl has spunk!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    CookieIII

    Help! I need a good book!!! I'm not looking for romance, im looking for something to lighten up my summer a bit. Dystopia is my favorite. Tell me a book!

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 331 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17