Customer Reviews for

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 319 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

posted by sand7s on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't connect but worth a read.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a unique book of secrets, courage, and betrayals. Elisa is a sixteen year old girl who needs to embrace her destiny if she wishes to help the people around her and even more survive.

On her sixteenth birthday Princess Elisa is set to be...
The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a unique book of secrets, courage, and betrayals. Elisa is a sixteen year old girl who needs to embrace her destiny if she wishes to help the people around her and even more survive.

On her sixteenth birthday Princess Elisa is set to be married to the gorgeous King Alejandro. What she doesn't know is that it is for her own safety as well as an aid to Alejandro's kingdom. See, Elisa is the "chosen one". She bears the Godstone, and only one is chosen every century. She doesn't know love or strength yet, but she must rise above herself in order to protect those close to her and reach her destiny.

I have to admit, unfortunately, I could not get into this one. At first, I honestly was going to stop and add it to the list of "could not finish", but for some reason I kept reading. And, I'm actually glad I did. From part 2 on... the story did pick up for me. Elisa learns who she needs to be and you can see her mature throughout the story. Also from part 2 on, I started to enjoyed the characters we met much more. And I honestly felt extremely bad for Elisa towards the end... it seemed that every time she was ready to love, it was ripped away from her.

Just because I could not get into it, doesn't mean anything though. I am just one opinion in hundreds maybe thousands! There are still good things I saw about the book. I saw a main character grow into herself. I saw a strong girl deal with love and loss. The book is also extremely unique and writing is very well done. I am only one person expressing my opinion, so if you are interested in the book, pick it up and try it out for yourself! Unfortunately, it was just not for me. =/

posted by jenababy13 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it v

    Very interesting and entertaining. Very good book. finished it very quickly

    30 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    A Must Read!

    If you enjoy Tamora Pierce's books, then I highly recommend The Girl of Fire and Thorns! Great story, great characters, and great writing.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    A Novel Every Young Woman Should Read!

    THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS is an outstanding debut novel from Rae Carson. It combines every element that makes a fantasy novel fun to read (humor, page-turning adventure, magic, romance, an epic journey, and tons of suspense) with completely original elements that make the reader fall in love with both the novel and its protagonist, Elisa. Elisa is a very unlikely hero who has been chosen for greatness. The character development is outstanding as Elisa learns to embrace who she is while conquering her personal struggles in order to save a country that isn't even her own. The book is full of unexpected plot twists, political intrigue, religious exploration and critique, fabulous world building, and themes pertinent to every young woman today. This is one of the best written novels I have ever read, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    The perfect fantasy.

    Complex world in the allegorical style of Narnia, inspiring and relatable heroine, gorgeous prose and economy of words, a secondary cast that become like dear friends, and truly creepy but sympathetic villains. What more do you want?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Love it

    This book is amazing i couldn't stop reading. I highly recommend

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Great Book! I wasn't really excited when I got this book from t

    Great Book!

    I wasn't really excited when I got this book from the library, but but the end I was laughing, crying, and cheering for Elisa. 

    The thing that surprised me the most about this book was how religious it was. I don't know if that was what the author intended, but I thought it was really inspirational how Elisa looked to God to get her out of scrapes. But if that's not what you're into, don't let it stop you from getting this book. 

    Elisa is a very relatable main character, and it was cool to watch her journey. I didn't think this book was perfect (having a magical belly button?) but I really liked. Definitely one of the best books i've read in a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Loved

    I loved this book! The girl has spunk!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Well, I should start off by saying that I could NOT stop reading

    Well, I should start off by saying that I could NOT stop reading this book. Literally. I started it LAST NIGHT, stayed up until 1:30 AM and then opened my eyes before 9 to keep reading it. I just had to know what happened. I do enjoy guessing what is going to happen as I read, and sadly with most books I’m hardly ever actually surprised. Not here! I was convinced the book was going to end with some kind of sappy, love-triangle ending as a lot of books seem to these days, but I was wrong. It was very refreshing.

    The characters here were no great shakes, except for the main character Elisa. Talk about refreshing. She starts off as a fat, pampered, ignorant child–but not spoiled. She becomes pretty kick butt by the end, but she takes a journey to get there that is believable. Few authors dare to do this these days, and the ones who do rarely do it well. I felt like I could sit down and chat with Elisa, because she was just so REAL.

    Granted, Elisa and the book did fall into one YA cliché that makes me sigh. So often in YA books these days, there is no visible growth when the main character falls in love. It is just instant love at first sight, BAM. Does it make the book move along, sure. But it’s fairly ridiculous and it annoys me when it happens. At least here, Carson makes an obvious attempt to discern why Elisa feels the way she, and there isn’t an instant lovey-dovey scene anywhere. Still a little too quick for my taste (and a little too quick for a certain event near the end of the book to have the impact it ought to) but better done then I’ve seen lately.

    The world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns was also great. In places – especially in the beginning – I felt like I wasn’t getting enough information to form a clear picture with, but enough information came out as the book went on for me to grasp generalities. The book was clearly setting up for a sequel, so it’s entirely possible the world wasn’t completely explained for just that purpose. Either way, it worked out well enough. The book flowed quickly and easily.

    I read ridiculously fast first time through, and sometimes after that I won’t reread a book, but I certainly want to revisit this one! Overall, I would certainly recommend this book to fans of fantasy YA fiction. It’s different, it’s believable and it’s interesting. Four and a half stars from me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    NikolasOhana3114@gmail.com

    Add and frien me plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Shade

    Hello?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Angie

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Cfibears26@gmail.com

    Friend me plz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Book

    An amazing book in my opinion! Keeps you on your toes the entire thing; Could barely stop reading until the very end;

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    A Must Read!!

    I absolutely HATED reading when I was a little kid. That is until I read this book in the 6th grade. Now almost six years later, I owe it to both Tamora Pierce and my school librarian for getting me hooked on reading. This is a story that every girl wants to live out, and it deals with many topics that young girls have to deal with at that age. Also, it's a great read that I still enjoy reading to this day. It's a great coming-of-age series, and it is deffinitly a book that I would encourage a young girl to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Without reservation, I give The Girl of Fire and Thorns 5 out of

    Without reservation, I give The Girl of Fire and Thorns 5 out of 5 stars. Rae Carson doesn't just pull you into the story, she literally drags you into it with a compelling plot line and a remarkably sympathetic protagonist. I absolutely loved that Elisa wasn't your traditional "beautiful in a non-traditional way" young adult heroine. Elisa is awkward and overweight, she eats her feelings, and has low self-esteem. From the moment you meet her, Elisa is relate-able.
    The characters are well rounded, and the relationships are wonderfully well developed and believable. The world described is brilliantly realized once you get your bearings. It's grounded in reality in the fact that the languages in the book bear a striking resemblance to Spanish and Latin. My favorite thing about the book is the fact that Elisa is at once a very strong and a very weak character. She has doubts about who she is and what her destiny is, and yet she works to find her own strength and her own courage. She is one of the rare young adult heroines who has agency. Who figures things out on her own, rather than has a male side kick do it for her. And I loved that!
    There were very few things about this book that I didn't like. It did have a rather slow start, and it was slightly confusing to get my bearings. A prologue or at least a map of the world in question would have been nice to introduce the reader to Elisa's world. 
    Overall, The Girl of Fire and Thorns is an amazing read. It's a story about having the courage to find your faith in yourself. It's a must have book! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    This book was so good. I injoyed it very much, I had a hard time putting it down. It never got boring and I was always itertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    FANTASTIC READ !!!!!

    If you haven't read any books by Rae Carson- take a chance and read her trilogy. The story line is absolutely captivating. You cannot put the books down. You become completely involved .It absolutely rocks !!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Enticing, Wonderful!

    Enticing, Wonderful!
    From early on, this story draws you in. A colorful and unique tapestry of culture is woven. The main character grows more complex and intriguing, cultivated by the ones surrounding her. Without doubt there is more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Love this!

    Excited to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8