Customer Reviews for

Girl of Nightmares

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cove

I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the w...
I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the way I will tell you that I loved Anna Dressed in Blood (You can see my review here) so I was super excited for Girl of Nightmares. This book was every bit as amazing as Anna was. It is not as fast paced, but the character growth and interactions are really great in this one and although not as creepy, there are some super chilling parts that gave me the shivers. The whole feel of this book is totally different from the first book. Where in Anna it was scary, this one is a more subtle, but lingering creepiness that never quite leaves you.

Cas is still really amazing to me. I really loved his character growth in the first book where he went from being a loner who didn't want any relationships or connections , to a boy who has a few really good friends and is actually okay with staying in one place for a while. He grows even more in this book and it's absolutely great. He is closer than ever to Thomas and Carmel and he will do whatever he can to get Anna back from hell, even if it means sacrificing himself. He is very strong emotionally and I really like that about him. It's not to say he's not afraid because he definitely has plenty of fear. He is just very determined to do what he believes is right. it's not just because he cares about Anna, but he doesn't think that she deserves to suffer in Hell for eternity.

Thomas and Carmel are great friends. They stick by Cas no matter what even if they don't agree with his decisions. Thomas constantly makes me laugh, he had some of the best lines in this book. Carmel is really a tough chick. She doesn't let fear rule her. She also is determined to prove that she can be part of the group and help out when needed. She's not just a friend, but also someone who Cas needs by his side through this. To me Thomas and Carmel really stepped it up a lot in this book.

We also meet a few new characters and some I liked, some I didn't, but all were interesting. I was a bit sad that Anna wasn't more in this book, but she's in Hell so that's expected. I still really love her character. Let me tell you, she is still one awesome scary ghost!! Jestine is a new character we meet and I didn't really know what to think of her. She is really nice, almost too nice, but I was never sure quite what her motives were.

In this book Cas is really having a hard time. As if he isn't already distraught that Anna went to Hell to save him and his friends, now he seeing her, but he can't talk to her. When he sees her, it is like torture. He is living a nightmare and all he can think about it that he needs to go get her out. Along with his faithful friends they set out to do what everyone says is impossible.


This book is full of suspense, creepiness, and heart aching moments. I was thoroughly engaged in this book from the first page to the last. The characters are so amazing, and the descriptiveness is wonderful. I could imagine myself tagging along in this creepy world that Kendare Blake has created!!

posted by Amabe421 on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror n

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed i...
Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed in Blood were alive and thriving in Girl of Nightmares which made for a really exciting read!

One of the reasons why Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares are so amazing is because of the three main characters! They really came together in the former and continued to rely on each other in the latter. The dynamics of Cas, Thomas, and Carmel really works well and they play off of each other’s strengths which always makes for an exciting read! Thomas’ grandfather is one of my favorite characters! He made me laugh a lot! I really wanted to know more about the Obehman. Was he human before he became this monster? Was he a ghost who became super powerful? Is he a demon? I would have liked his origins explored more.

Going into Girl of Nightmares, all I really knew is that Cas was going to try to save Anna from wherever she was. Cas didn’t even know where Anna was! So I didn’t know where this book was going to take the readers but that almost made it more exciting because I had no idea! I really liked that the adventure took the gang outside of their little town into London and then into the Suicide Forest! The secret society of ghost hunters was also very interesting and I would love to see a side book that dives deeper into the history of it!

I really, really liked this book and I’m so glad that Kendare Blake has decided to write horror within YA! I give Girl of Nightmares 4 hearts because even though I loved it, it wasn’t as enthralling or all-consuming as Anna Dressed in Blood!

posted by ElegantlyBoundReviews on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cove

    I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the way I will tell you that I loved Anna Dressed in Blood (You can see my review here) so I was super excited for Girl of Nightmares. This book was every bit as amazing as Anna was. It is not as fast paced, but the character growth and interactions are really great in this one and although not as creepy, there are some super chilling parts that gave me the shivers. The whole feel of this book is totally different from the first book. Where in Anna it was scary, this one is a more subtle, but lingering creepiness that never quite leaves you.

    Cas is still really amazing to me. I really loved his character growth in the first book where he went from being a loner who didn't want any relationships or connections , to a boy who has a few really good friends and is actually okay with staying in one place for a while. He grows even more in this book and it's absolutely great. He is closer than ever to Thomas and Carmel and he will do whatever he can to get Anna back from hell, even if it means sacrificing himself. He is very strong emotionally and I really like that about him. It's not to say he's not afraid because he definitely has plenty of fear. He is just very determined to do what he believes is right. it's not just because he cares about Anna, but he doesn't think that she deserves to suffer in Hell for eternity.

    Thomas and Carmel are great friends. They stick by Cas no matter what even if they don't agree with his decisions. Thomas constantly makes me laugh, he had some of the best lines in this book. Carmel is really a tough chick. She doesn't let fear rule her. She also is determined to prove that she can be part of the group and help out when needed. She's not just a friend, but also someone who Cas needs by his side through this. To me Thomas and Carmel really stepped it up a lot in this book.

    We also meet a few new characters and some I liked, some I didn't, but all were interesting. I was a bit sad that Anna wasn't more in this book, but she's in Hell so that's expected. I still really love her character. Let me tell you, she is still one awesome scary ghost!! Jestine is a new character we meet and I didn't really know what to think of her. She is really nice, almost too nice, but I was never sure quite what her motives were.

    In this book Cas is really having a hard time. As if he isn't already distraught that Anna went to Hell to save him and his friends, now he seeing her, but he can't talk to her. When he sees her, it is like torture. He is living a nightmare and all he can think about it that he needs to go get her out. Along with his faithful friends they set out to do what everyone says is impossible.


    This book is full of suspense, creepiness, and heart aching moments. I was thoroughly engaged in this book from the first page to the last. The characters are so amazing, and the descriptiveness is wonderful. I could imagine myself tagging along in this creepy world that Kendare Blake has created!!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror n

    Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed in Blood were alive and thriving in Girl of Nightmares which made for a really exciting read!

    One of the reasons why Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares are so amazing is because of the three main characters! They really came together in the former and continued to rely on each other in the latter. The dynamics of Cas, Thomas, and Carmel really works well and they play off of each other’s strengths which always makes for an exciting read! Thomas’ grandfather is one of my favorite characters! He made me laugh a lot! I really wanted to know more about the Obehman. Was he human before he became this monster? Was he a ghost who became super powerful? Is he a demon? I would have liked his origins explored more.

    Going into Girl of Nightmares, all I really knew is that Cas was going to try to save Anna from wherever she was. Cas didn’t even know where Anna was! So I didn’t know where this book was going to take the readers but that almost made it more exciting because I had no idea! I really liked that the adventure took the gang outside of their little town into London and then into the Suicide Forest! The secret society of ghost hunters was also very interesting and I would love to see a side book that dives deeper into the history of it!

    I really, really liked this book and I’m so glad that Kendare Blake has decided to write horror within YA! I give Girl of Nightmares 4 hearts because even though I loved it, it wasn’t as enthralling or all-consuming as Anna Dressed in Blood!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    AMAZING second installment - a must read!

    Kendare Blake is an incredible writer. She combines humor, love, and gore in a really beautiful way. Her characters are believable and the dialogue never sounds forced. (read as an adult writing like a teenager that sounds too adult - Blake actually sounds like a male teen)

    Excited for whatever she comes up with next!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    This was amazing. Cas is determined to save Anna, no matter the

    This was amazing.
    Cas is determined to save Anna, no matter the cost. While not everyone is supportive, Thomas is always by his side and a few others hop aboard along the way.
    We revisit old friends, and get to know them better, and we meet some new friends, or enemies, depending on how you look at it. The ending was definitely satisfying, considering I couldn't get up until I reached it, but it did make me cry. I don't know if there will be another book, I don't know if there could be, but the selfish part of me wishes for one.
    I really loved this book, I love living in Cas's world, but I almost wish that we could have been able to see a bit more into Anna's world throughout the story. All in all, I am just going to tell you these two words: Read it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

         Cas is desperate to get Anna out of the hell she got sucke


         Cas is desperate to get Anna out of the hell she got sucked into after saving himself, Thomas, and Carmel from the Obeahman six months ago. This task is only made more difficult by the fact that everybody, with the exception of Thomas and kind of Carmel, is against it. It's quite a testament to Cas's character that he is determined to free her despite these odds: (almost) everyone against it, no one truly willing to help, no idea how to cross into Anna's hell dimension then back out. Of course it doesn't hurt that Anna keeps appearing to him, so he can't really ignore it either. Not that I'm sure he would.
         I grew to like Thomas more in Girl of Nightmares. He is bound and determined to help Cas, he doesn't even think twice about what the dangers are. He knows his grandfather isn't keen on the idea and neither is Carmel, but he feels a sense of duty to help Anna. One because he wants to help Cas and two because she saved their lives. He grew up and matured throughout the novel and quickly moved into my category of "Best Secondary Characters." Carmel on the other hand, I'm unsure about. Yes, she redeemed herself and I can understand her reasoning, but surely there must have been a better way. That's all I'm going to say about that - no spoilers here, just vague comments that make you want to pick up the book.
         I would have also liked to have seen more of Anna. Aside from her ghostly self popping up every now and then to Cas, we don't actually encounter her until very late in the novel. Anna was one of my favorite characters, so I wasn't fond of that. Of course, when we do see her, she is her charming self and you can tell that she and Cas really care for one another, despite the, hum... differences in a pulse.
         Girl of Nightmares had a lost less ghost action than Anna Dressed in Blood, so that was kind of disappointing, but I get it (though I did love the scene from inside the Tower of London). Anna Dressed in Blood is about stopping a blood thirsty ghost, Girl of Nightmares is about saving said ghost from a hell dimension. Additionally, the spotlight switches from Anna to Cas. While she is still the focus of Cas, our focus is more toward him and his need to save Anna.
         So no I wasn't up all night, but I was still engaged in the story. I wanted Cas to save Anna, I wanted them to end up together - though I had no idea how Blake was going to pull that off, I wanted Cas to completely destroy the Obeahman, I wanted to find out what Gideon is hiding, and I wanted to find out what the Order of the Blah Blah Blah (aka Order of the Biodag Dubh) has to do with everything.
         Blake's writing pulls you into this story and forces you to care for these characters. She makes them so real that you really envision high schoolers hunting and killing ghosts, while trying to save one from a hell dimension. She uses amazing descriptors to put us in the scene, her narration is snarky and humorous, and while I felt the plot dragged it places, I found myself to still be entertained.
         While I missed the creep factor from Anna Dressed in Blood, I found Girl of Nightmares to be equally entertaining and compelling, while ending the series on a wonderful note. Blake did a great job with this series as it's not your typical ghost story, but yet... it is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Eh...

    not NEARLY as good as the first one. Honestly was dissapointed. :/

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Yes!!

    Omg this book was amazing! Just as good as the first one if not better!!! Must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    This book is great

    This book is a great step up from all tjhe past star crossed lover stories. This book shows young adults that love and friend ship are th two most power ful thing in the world (mostly love). It also gives the sutle yet still strong vibe of welcomeing creepyness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Love

    I love the ending so sweet and yet so sad, but no matter what I would never change it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading Anna Dressed in Blood last year, I was very excite

    After reading Anna Dressed in Blood last year, I was very excited to find out what was going to happen next. Anna Dressed in Blood had a shocking ending, so I was glad the wait to find out is finally over. Girl of Nightmares starts off with Cas being overly upset about what happened to Anna. After a while, he starts seeing her ghost. That's when Cas makes it his mission to find out where Anna is, and how to "rescue" her. I found it kind of weird how Cas kind of started "obsessing" over the fact to get her back, even though he does love her. It was also fun to read about Thomas and Carmel again.As I kept reading, there were many parts that I found that were a bit boring. Sometimes I found it to be a bit much detailed in the magic/spiritual stuff, but maybe because I always have a hard time understanding them. In this book, we got to learn more about Thomas and Carmel. I really hoped that Anna was more available throughout the book, because I really loved her in Anna Dressed in Blood. We did meet a new character in this book, but I hoped we got to meet her earlier in the book, and not towards the end.Overall, there were many disappointments in this book. I did enjoy it, but I had higher expectations for it. There were many mixed reviews for this book, so if you liked Anna Dressed in Blood, I still recommend you to read it. I will be looking forward to Kendare Blake's future books!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Girl Of Nightmares

    After reading Anna Dressed In Blood, I was totally and completely stoked to read Girl Of Nightmares! I needed to know what and if that was going to be the end of the this budding romance between Cas and Anna. I was just starting to fall in love with the idea of them being together, and it all got ripped out from right beneath me in the end. I had hope though…

    In this next installment in the Anna series, Cas is still shaken up after having lost Anna after everything that they have gone through. After finally finding someone that he actually has fallen in love with, and can be happy with, his father’s murderer, the Obeahman, takes someone else away from Cas. We watch as he wallows in his sorrows, taking things as they come, slowly becoming a shell of his former self…thinking of only Anna, seeing her everywhere…hearing her.

    A wake up call during one of his ghost hunting adventures alerts Cas to a possibility that Anna is still attempting to contact him, and is not where she should be. It is after some investigating that Cas believes Anna needs him…needs him to help her get out of Hell. But will this new obsession of Cas’ cost him his friends, or even worse…his life?

    Although Girl Of Nightmares was a fantastic read, I felt that it was not quite as amazing as Anna Dressed In Blood. Don’t get me wrong. Kendare does another amazing job in making the ghosts and monsters spring to life off the pages, with her unbelievable descriptions and storytelling skills. I, personally, felt that the first one was more action packed, a story line that was constantly on the go, had more…umph! I will admit that there were some points in Girl Of Nightmares that dragged for me, and I was begging for the story to start picking up. Luckily for me, when the story decided to pick up, it totally picked up!

    I was thrown once again into a world created by Kendare Blake full of gore, ghosts, monsters, terror…once again feeling the uneasiness of something watching me in the dark… I was craving for those moments when I started Girl Of Nightmare. And when they came, I was thrilled! The part which comes to mind that gave me the absolute chills and had me laying awake in bed was the part in Suicide Forest. And OMG if ever there was anything dead that you thought may freak you out in the woods, it’s all in here. I found myself kicking my feet trying to get away from these things lurking in the woods. Gah!

    Girl Of Nightmares is riddled with humour and horror, following in the footsteps of its predecessor. I was still crushing on Cas, found Thomas incredibly adorable, and found Carmel to have taken on a little bit of an Isabelle, from The Mortal Instruments, type of attitude. Totally loved it! Aside from her little, faux pas in the beginning of the book, she quickly became one of my favorite characters in this book.

    We are introduced to some new characters in Girl Of Nightmares and all though they aren’t in the book until well into the latter half of the book, they will instantly become unforgettable favorites. Not only are the characters unforgettable, but the ending will leave you breathless, and aching for the possibility of more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    4/5 stars

    4/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Kend

    Can someone plzz lend this to me?!
    - may0 (maya)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To layla

    If u hae it can u lend it to me plz? If not thats fine :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Suspense

    This book is an amazing addition to the one prior. I was super excited to read it, and finished it more quickly then I had wanted. The beginning picked up flawlessly from were the prior book ended. Furthermore, ending to this one was heartfelt and on so sweet. My heart raced in the end, as the suspense grew. This was a perfect second addition, and I am glad it was not a let down. : D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the cover

    First off, that cover is beautiful. Same with the first book. Anyway, this one while good, had its slow parts. Other than the encounters with Anna, the Suicide Forest and near the end, I felt less excited, taking my time reading this, far longer than I should. But that could be I didn't want it to end yet. Not that the sequel wasn't bad or anything. It was good. The writing, characters and descriptions (the big fight was just, brutal) were good. And again, freaking love that covers for these books. Quite eye catching. Fun to read these at night. Love the tone and atmosphere, more creepy than scary. Also is it a coincidence with the second in a series having the main character look for their love interest or are missing? Like New Moon, Kissing Coffins, this, etc? It makes me wonder if there's going to be another book. Lately it seems, series just keeps coming out with a new book. With this, the ending was good. Short but good. So, this was a good sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    -A

    Should an eleven year old be reading this or...

    Thx
    -A

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Ahhhh

    This series was awesome! I read them both in little over a day...i couldnt put it down. Im sad its over.i loved the charecters and the plot, whats better then a impossible love. Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    A great sequel!  I was happy with the conclusion of this story,

    A great sequel!  I was happy with the conclusion of this story, but I wish there was more to read. I forgot how quickly I can read through books when the story is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    FREAKIN AMAZING

    I dont like to rea books very much but this book was AMAZING \(^.^)/ i hope there will be another one coming out soon:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4