BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Girl of Nightmares

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cove

I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the w...
I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the way I will tell you that I loved Anna Dressed in Blood (You can see my review here) so I was super excited for Girl of Nightmares. This book was every bit as amazing as Anna was. It is not as fast paced, but the character growth and interactions are really great in this one and although not as creepy, there are some super chilling parts that gave me the shivers. The whole feel of this book is totally different from the first book. Where in Anna it was scary, this one is a more subtle, but lingering creepiness that never quite leaves you.

Cas is still really amazing to me. I really loved his character growth in the first book where he went from being a loner who didn't want any relationships or connections , to a boy who has a few really good friends and is actually okay with staying in one place for a while. He grows even more in this book and it's absolutely great. He is closer than ever to Thomas and Carmel and he will do whatever he can to get Anna back from hell, even if it means sacrificing himself. He is very strong emotionally and I really like that about him. It's not to say he's not afraid because he definitely has plenty of fear. He is just very determined to do what he believes is right. it's not just because he cares about Anna, but he doesn't think that she deserves to suffer in Hell for eternity.

Thomas and Carmel are great friends. They stick by Cas no matter what even if they don't agree with his decisions. Thomas constantly makes me laugh, he had some of the best lines in this book. Carmel is really a tough chick. She doesn't let fear rule her. She also is determined to prove that she can be part of the group and help out when needed. She's not just a friend, but also someone who Cas needs by his side through this. To me Thomas and Carmel really stepped it up a lot in this book.

We also meet a few new characters and some I liked, some I didn't, but all were interesting. I was a bit sad that Anna wasn't more in this book, but she's in Hell so that's expected. I still really love her character. Let me tell you, she is still one awesome scary ghost!! Jestine is a new character we meet and I didn't really know what to think of her. She is really nice, almost too nice, but I was never sure quite what her motives were.

In this book Cas is really having a hard time. As if he isn't already distraught that Anna went to Hell to save him and his friends, now he seeing her, but he can't talk to her. When he sees her, it is like torture. He is living a nightmare and all he can think about it that he needs to go get her out. Along with his faithful friends they set out to do what everyone says is impossible.


This book is full of suspense, creepiness, and heart aching moments. I was thoroughly engaged in this book from the first page to the last. The characters are so amazing, and the descriptiveness is wonderful. I could imagine myself tagging along in this creepy world that Kendare Blake has created!!

posted by Amabe421 on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror n

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed i...
Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed in Blood were alive and thriving in Girl of Nightmares which made for a really exciting read!

One of the reasons why Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares are so amazing is because of the three main characters! They really came together in the former and continued to rely on each other in the latter. The dynamics of Cas, Thomas, and Carmel really works well and they play off of each other’s strengths which always makes for an exciting read! Thomas’ grandfather is one of my favorite characters! He made me laugh a lot! I really wanted to know more about the Obehman. Was he human before he became this monster? Was he a ghost who became super powerful? Is he a demon? I would have liked his origins explored more.

Going into Girl of Nightmares, all I really knew is that Cas was going to try to save Anna from wherever she was. Cas didn’t even know where Anna was! So I didn’t know where this book was going to take the readers but that almost made it more exciting because I had no idea! I really liked that the adventure took the gang outside of their little town into London and then into the Suicide Forest! The secret society of ghost hunters was also very interesting and I would love to see a side book that dives deeper into the history of it!

I really, really liked this book and I’m so glad that Kendare Blake has decided to write horror within YA! I give Girl of Nightmares 4 hearts because even though I loved it, it wasn’t as enthralling or all-consuming as Anna Dressed in Blood!

posted by ElegantlyBoundReviews on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror n

    Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed in Blood were alive and thriving in Girl of Nightmares which made for a really exciting read!

    One of the reasons why Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares are so amazing is because of the three main characters! They really came together in the former and continued to rely on each other in the latter. The dynamics of Cas, Thomas, and Carmel really works well and they play off of each other’s strengths which always makes for an exciting read! Thomas’ grandfather is one of my favorite characters! He made me laugh a lot! I really wanted to know more about the Obehman. Was he human before he became this monster? Was he a ghost who became super powerful? Is he a demon? I would have liked his origins explored more.

    Going into Girl of Nightmares, all I really knew is that Cas was going to try to save Anna from wherever she was. Cas didn’t even know where Anna was! So I didn’t know where this book was going to take the readers but that almost made it more exciting because I had no idea! I really liked that the adventure took the gang outside of their little town into London and then into the Suicide Forest! The secret society of ghost hunters was also very interesting and I would love to see a side book that dives deeper into the history of it!

    I really, really liked this book and I’m so glad that Kendare Blake has decided to write horror within YA! I give Girl of Nightmares 4 hearts because even though I loved it, it wasn’t as enthralling or all-consuming as Anna Dressed in Blood!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Eh...

    not NEARLY as good as the first one. Honestly was dissapointed. :/

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading Anna Dressed in Blood last year, I was very excite

    After reading Anna Dressed in Blood last year, I was very excited to find out what was going to happen next. Anna Dressed in Blood had a shocking ending, so I was glad the wait to find out is finally over. Girl of Nightmares starts off with Cas being overly upset about what happened to Anna. After a while, he starts seeing her ghost. That's when Cas makes it his mission to find out where Anna is, and how to "rescue" her. I found it kind of weird how Cas kind of started "obsessing" over the fact to get her back, even though he does love her. It was also fun to read about Thomas and Carmel again.As I kept reading, there were many parts that I found that were a bit boring. Sometimes I found it to be a bit much detailed in the magic/spiritual stuff, but maybe because I always have a hard time understanding them. In this book, we got to learn more about Thomas and Carmel. I really hoped that Anna was more available throughout the book, because I really loved her in Anna Dressed in Blood. We did meet a new character in this book, but I hoped we got to meet her earlier in the book, and not towards the end.Overall, there were many disappointments in this book. I did enjoy it, but I had higher expectations for it. There were many mixed reviews for this book, so if you liked Anna Dressed in Blood, I still recommend you to read it. I will be looking forward to Kendare Blake's future books!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    To layla

    If u hae it can u lend it to me plz? If not thats fine :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    -A

    Should an eleven year old be reading this or...

    Thx
    -A

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    What I Liked: 1) Cas following Anna. He fell in love with this g

    What I Liked: 1) Cas following Anna. He fell in love with this ghost in the first book, but the lengths to which he is willing to go for her really become apparent in Girl of Nightmares. It was a very strong emotion, and it was easy to feel as I was reading. 2) I still like his sidekicks, Carmel and Thomas. They added a lot to the story. But in this one a new person was added, Jestine. I think I was expecting something specific from her, but even though that didn't show up, her presence was a fun change. It gave Cas something to fight for other than Anna. Everything that Jestine brought into the story was gave Cas reason to look into the history of the atheme and how it came into his family's possession in the first place. I loved getting to know some more about that history. I didn't miss it in the first book, but as this one went on, it made me more and more curious. 3) The final battle scene. This was what the whole book was building up to. And it was so nerve-wracking, and action-packed. It seemed to go on for such a long time, but not in a dragging on way, just in a, how can he take that much kind of way.

    What I Didn't Like: 1) Some parts of the book were a little repetitive, and unlike the battle scene, did seem to drag on. I knew there was a point coming, but by the time we got there it was just too convoluted to be recognizable. 2) There was not as much character growth as I have come to expect from Miz Blake's writing. At times I felt like the plot was dragging the characters through the motions, while Cas and Crew dug in their heels.

    Overall Thoughts: I've had a hard time not comparing Girl of Nightmares to Anna Dressed in Blood. I was so impressed by the writing and character metamorphosis in ADIB that when I didn't encounter that in this book, I was sad. I still loved the creativity that Miz Blake brought to her story, and some new characters brought a different dimension to Cas's life and his purpose. The scare factor wasn't as high as Anna Dressed in Blood, but still made for a fun ghost story with a definite evil dude! Anyone know if this is the end of the story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    I LOVED Anna Dressed in Blood, and I was really looking forward

    I LOVED Anna Dressed in Blood, and I was really looking forward to this book. I'm not sure if my expectations were too high, or if it was something else, but I was disappointed with Girl of Nightmares. I really struggled with how to rate this book. I went back and forth from 3 to 4 stars, but ultimately decided on 3…here's why:

    In summary, Girl of Nightmares picks up a few months after Anna Dressed in Blood leaves off. The old crew we love is back, Cas, Thomas, and Carmel, and they are trying to figure out how to get Anna back. Of course, besides trying to find a ghost trapped in Hell, they have human troubles of their own.

    Now, here's where my problem lies. The first half of the book I could have done without. Literally, chapters 1-14 could have been condensed down to just a couple of chapters, and we would have gotten the same effect. I really was forcing myself to keep reading, and the only thing that kept me going was how much I had loved the first book. Ultimately, I'm glad I did keep reading. At chapter 15 the book picked up and ended with a bang. Action, betrayal, cults, sacrifice, Hell, ghosts, almost dying, etc., etc. It was completely awesome! If the whole book would have read like the last 15 chapters, I would have rated it 10 stars!

    In Girl of Nightmares, we are also introduced to Jestine, who I am kind of hoping Blake pens into another book. The way this one ended, it is very likely the end of the series, but I would love to see one more with Cas and Jestine. They were a lot of fun together. So, long story short, even though I was not quite as thrilled with this book as the first, it was still good enough that I'd read the next, and I'm hoping there will be a next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Quaint ending to Cas and Anna

    Girl of Nightmares was a nice follow up to the first book. However Anna Dressed in Blood was the better of the 2 books. It was a nice read but fairly unimpressive. I expected more of the sequel and it seemed to fall just short. A little more of Anna would've been nice but overall it was an okay read. It wrapped up in a neat little bow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1