Customer Reviews for

Girl of Nightmares

Average Rating 4.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cove

I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the w...
I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the way I will tell you that I loved Anna Dressed in Blood (You can see my review here) so I was super excited for Girl of Nightmares. This book was every bit as amazing as Anna was. It is not as fast paced, but the character growth and interactions are really great in this one and although not as creepy, there are some super chilling parts that gave me the shivers. The whole feel of this book is totally different from the first book. Where in Anna it was scary, this one is a more subtle, but lingering creepiness that never quite leaves you.

Cas is still really amazing to me. I really loved his character growth in the first book where he went from being a loner who didn't want any relationships or connections , to a boy who has a few really good friends and is actually okay with staying in one place for a while. He grows even more in this book and it's absolutely great. He is closer than ever to Thomas and Carmel and he will do whatever he can to get Anna back from hell, even if it means sacrificing himself. He is very strong emotionally and I really like that about him. It's not to say he's not afraid because he definitely has plenty of fear. He is just very determined to do what he believes is right. it's not just because he cares about Anna, but he doesn't think that she deserves to suffer in Hell for eternity.

Thomas and Carmel are great friends. They stick by Cas no matter what even if they don't agree with his decisions. Thomas constantly makes me laugh, he had some of the best lines in this book. Carmel is really a tough chick. She doesn't let fear rule her. She also is determined to prove that she can be part of the group and help out when needed. She's not just a friend, but also someone who Cas needs by his side through this. To me Thomas and Carmel really stepped it up a lot in this book.

We also meet a few new characters and some I liked, some I didn't, but all were interesting. I was a bit sad that Anna wasn't more in this book, but she's in Hell so that's expected. I still really love her character. Let me tell you, she is still one awesome scary ghost!! Jestine is a new character we meet and I didn't really know what to think of her. She is really nice, almost too nice, but I was never sure quite what her motives were.

In this book Cas is really having a hard time. As if he isn't already distraught that Anna went to Hell to save him and his friends, now he seeing her, but he can't talk to her. When he sees her, it is like torture. He is living a nightmare and all he can think about it that he needs to go get her out. Along with his faithful friends they set out to do what everyone says is impossible.


This book is full of suspense, creepiness, and heart aching moments. I was thoroughly engaged in this book from the first page to the last. The characters are so amazing, and the descriptiveness is wonderful. I could imagine myself tagging along in this creepy world that Kendare Blake has created!!

posted by Amabe421 on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror n

Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed i...
Anna Dressed in Blood is one of my favorite young adult horror novels because Kendare Blake does not hold back when it comes to blood and gore! I didn’t expect anything less when I picked up Girl of Nightmares and I’m so glad! All my favorite aspects from Anna Dressed in Blood were alive and thriving in Girl of Nightmares which made for a really exciting read!

One of the reasons why Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares are so amazing is because of the three main characters! They really came together in the former and continued to rely on each other in the latter. The dynamics of Cas, Thomas, and Carmel really works well and they play off of each other’s strengths which always makes for an exciting read! Thomas’ grandfather is one of my favorite characters! He made me laugh a lot! I really wanted to know more about the Obehman. Was he human before he became this monster? Was he a ghost who became super powerful? Is he a demon? I would have liked his origins explored more.

Going into Girl of Nightmares, all I really knew is that Cas was going to try to save Anna from wherever she was. Cas didn’t even know where Anna was! So I didn’t know where this book was going to take the readers but that almost made it more exciting because I had no idea! I really liked that the adventure took the gang outside of their little town into London and then into the Suicide Forest! The secret society of ghost hunters was also very interesting and I would love to see a side book that dives deeper into the history of it!

I really, really liked this book and I’m so glad that Kendare Blake has decided to write horror within YA! I give Girl of Nightmares 4 hearts because even though I loved it, it wasn’t as enthralling or all-consuming as Anna Dressed in Blood!

posted by ElegantlyBoundReviews on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cove

    I am going to start off by being totally spastic about this cover. OMG guys, this picture does it no justice at all!! In real life it is freaking fabulous. It's absolutely gorgeous and I want like a wall sized poster of it!!! Okay, now that I've gotten that out of the way I will tell you that I loved Anna Dressed in Blood (You can see my review here) so I was super excited for Girl of Nightmares. This book was every bit as amazing as Anna was. It is not as fast paced, but the character growth and interactions are really great in this one and although not as creepy, there are some super chilling parts that gave me the shivers. The whole feel of this book is totally different from the first book. Where in Anna it was scary, this one is a more subtle, but lingering creepiness that never quite leaves you.

    Cas is still really amazing to me. I really loved his character growth in the first book where he went from being a loner who didn't want any relationships or connections , to a boy who has a few really good friends and is actually okay with staying in one place for a while. He grows even more in this book and it's absolutely great. He is closer than ever to Thomas and Carmel and he will do whatever he can to get Anna back from hell, even if it means sacrificing himself. He is very strong emotionally and I really like that about him. It's not to say he's not afraid because he definitely has plenty of fear. He is just very determined to do what he believes is right. it's not just because he cares about Anna, but he doesn't think that she deserves to suffer in Hell for eternity.

    Thomas and Carmel are great friends. They stick by Cas no matter what even if they don't agree with his decisions. Thomas constantly makes me laugh, he had some of the best lines in this book. Carmel is really a tough chick. She doesn't let fear rule her. She also is determined to prove that she can be part of the group and help out when needed. She's not just a friend, but also someone who Cas needs by his side through this. To me Thomas and Carmel really stepped it up a lot in this book.

    We also meet a few new characters and some I liked, some I didn't, but all were interesting. I was a bit sad that Anna wasn't more in this book, but she's in Hell so that's expected. I still really love her character. Let me tell you, she is still one awesome scary ghost!! Jestine is a new character we meet and I didn't really know what to think of her. She is really nice, almost too nice, but I was never sure quite what her motives were.

    In this book Cas is really having a hard time. As if he isn't already distraught that Anna went to Hell to save him and his friends, now he seeing her, but he can't talk to her. When he sees her, it is like torture. He is living a nightmare and all he can think about it that he needs to go get her out. Along with his faithful friends they set out to do what everyone says is impossible.


    This book is full of suspense, creepiness, and heart aching moments. I was thoroughly engaged in this book from the first page to the last. The characters are so amazing, and the descriptiveness is wonderful. I could imagine myself tagging along in this creepy world that Kendare Blake has created!!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    AMAZING second installment - a must read!

    Kendare Blake is an incredible writer. She combines humor, love, and gore in a really beautiful way. Her characters are believable and the dialogue never sounds forced. (read as an adult writing like a teenager that sounds too adult - Blake actually sounds like a male teen)

    Excited for whatever she comes up with next!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    This was amazing. Cas is determined to save Anna, no matter the

    This was amazing.
    Cas is determined to save Anna, no matter the cost. While not everyone is supportive, Thomas is always by his side and a few others hop aboard along the way.
    We revisit old friends, and get to know them better, and we meet some new friends, or enemies, depending on how you look at it. The ending was definitely satisfying, considering I couldn't get up until I reached it, but it did make me cry. I don't know if there will be another book, I don't know if there could be, but the selfish part of me wishes for one.
    I really loved this book, I love living in Cas's world, but I almost wish that we could have been able to see a bit more into Anna's world throughout the story. All in all, I am just going to tell you these two words: Read it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Yes!!

    Omg this book was amazing! Just as good as the first one if not better!!! Must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    This book is great

    This book is a great step up from all tjhe past star crossed lover stories. This book shows young adults that love and friend ship are th two most power ful thing in the world (mostly love). It also gives the sutle yet still strong vibe of welcomeing creepyness

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Love

    I love the ending so sweet and yet so sad, but no matter what I would never change it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Kend

    Can someone plzz lend this to me?!
    - may0 (maya)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Suspense

    This book is an amazing addition to the one prior. I was super excited to read it, and finished it more quickly then I had wanted. The beginning picked up flawlessly from were the prior book ended. Furthermore, ending to this one was heartfelt and on so sweet. My heart raced in the end, as the suspense grew. This was a perfect second addition, and I am glad it was not a let down. : D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Ahhhh

    This series was awesome! I read them both in little over a day...i couldnt put it down. Im sad its over.i loved the charecters and the plot, whats better then a impossible love. Must read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    A great sequel!  I was happy with the conclusion of this story,

    A great sequel!  I was happy with the conclusion of this story, but I wish there was more to read. I forgot how quickly I can read through books when the story is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    FREAKIN AMAZING

    I dont like to rea books very much but this book was AMAZING \(^.^)/ i hope there will be another one coming out soon:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Anna Dressed In Blood

    This book is amazina.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Sci fi fan

    Just finnished this book and i absoulutely loved it.really horrific and i love cas and gideon, best characters in this book. Please write at least one more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Question

    Can someone lend me this book please?
    -Layla

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    The cover.... amazing.

    The cover just pulls you in- Anna showing you her Hell. How can that not make you want to read it?
    Cas can't get over Anna-he makes that very clear in the first chapter. As the book drawls on... Cas is willing to sacrifice anything-ANYTHING-for Anna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    First of all, I would like to thank Tor teens for providing us a

    First of all, I would like to thank Tor teens for providing us a hardback copy of Girl of Nightmares. You rock!
    Before I start, I want to say that my review will most likely contain some spoilers from the first book, so for those who haven't read Anna dressed in Blood yet, I highly recommend you guys to go and read it. Now.

    Okay! On to my review. Girl of Nightmares is the second book of Ms. Blake's addicting series, Anna, and it follows where the story ends in book one where our protagonist, Cas, is struggling with his daily life without his beloved Anna, who has moved on to the other side after she sacrificed herself to save everyone from the Obeahman. Well at least that's what everyone thinks. But when Cas started seeing Anna again in random torturous ways, he begins to wonder if she really is in a safe place.

    Ms. Blake has once again wowed me with her awesome storytelling skills, and writing style. Everything is already perfect for me, from the plot, and down to the minor characters. The world building was so believable that Cas' world is so easy to imagine. I really enjoyed reading the parts that involved ghosts, and the forest part was the one that creeped me out the most! (especially that I was reading it at night)

    Cas is a very fun main character, and he's definitely not boring. He has his own unique features that makes him different and interesting. Of course, I won't forget our dear Anna. (who's still as awesome as she was during the first book.) Thomas and Carmel are also really great supporting characters, even our newbie, Jesse isn't so bad. (The ghosts are cool as well!) Conclusion: I love each and every character!

    Over all, Girl of Nightmares is a great book. It has action, horror, humor, romance and a twist of the famous paranormal genre. It is fast paced and addicting, leaving you wanting for more. I'm not sure if this series has a third book, but I'm definitely looking forward for more of Ms. Blake's works.

    I give this book 5 thrilled whales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced, dark story, humor, love beyond death, adventure, bra

    Fast-paced, dark story, humor, love beyond death, adventure, bravery, friendship, letting go, all of this packed in one book and you get the thrilling GIRL OF NIGHTMARES. The best achingly beautiful end to an epic series.

    First appeared on Bookshelf Confessions

    I think everyone already knew that the cover of this book is totally creepy and beautiful. I didn’t realize until I look closely that Anna is actually beckoning us like in a come-for-me sort of way..:D Very pretty and bloody..:)

    So I heard so much about Anna Dressed in Blood. I have read my co-bloggers reviews, read the praises from many book sites, and got totally excited about it. I look for it anywhere and from anyone, publicist, the author, and got no replies, (I haven’t had that many followers and page views back then¿). Until 2012 came, and I heard about the sequel. It wasn’t until July that I tried reaching out to the people concerned for a review copy. And again, I got no replies. And right when I didn’t thought anymore of the possibility of reading it, a parcel arrive at my house second week of August, and when I opened it, a copy of GIRL OF NIGHTMARES is lying pretty in the center with 2 pins. WOW, just wow. I don’t know who send it, no sender’s name, but it totally made my day. So THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

    The plot is something I’ve never heard of, a ghost-hunter trying to save his ghost girlfriend from hell. Really? The creepiness didn’t stop me from divulging in this right away after opening it that resulted in a one-late-night read.:)..This book proved that a series could stand alone. It was easy for me to jump in where ANNA DRESSED IN BLOOD left. We’re given glimpses of what happened in the past, why Anna’s in hell, the reason behind the athame, and everything else was brought into closure. The story flowed perfectly with the characters flawed but very real.

    Blake’s writing has its sensuous dark enticement. It kind of lures me to continue reading the gothic depiction of Anna and the story as a whole. The style’s been balanced, with enough humor for a reader to get some fresh air, and full-packed horror to make us suck our breaths again. Blake made an exceptional depiction of macabre things (I know I’m the first to say that, but that’s worth repeating.:D). It made my mind imagine scary things that even right now, when I close my eyes, made me remember and flinch again.

    I couldn’t comment more on Cass behavior, except I don’t hate him, I kind of understand what he feels. Trying to move on, but how could he, when everywhere he looks, Anna haunted him. The date he goes out with, I agree it’s not good, and sometimes disagreeing with your parent, not good either. But isn’t that what teenagers mostly do? How could we judge him, when he’d gone through more than what we could imagine? It’s not wrong to kind of break inside sometimes. Though I wish, at the end we’re shown that Cass developed his character socially not just with his friends but with others, though.

    Carmel, I kind of hate her (don’t hate me just yet, remember I don’t know what major role she plays on the first book). She was depicted as this paranoid, immature, “I-don’t-want-to-have-any-business-with-ghost type and I don’t know what’s the reasoning behind for her little drama of **Spoiler** “I-had to-broke-up-with-him-to-keep-him-safe”, and dumping him that way, was she really that bad? Luckily, she did change her mind at the end, and that’s where I saw she’s actually cool. I don’t hat her now, just don’t really like her..:D

    The ending?... it’s sad, but I can’t imaging another way for the author to end it. It suit, it’s perfect!

    I just missed the thing where most bloggers say they love Anna for her craziness, revenge, headstrong, powerful and beautiful spirit. She’s mostly shown in the 2nd book as someone who’s tortured, powerless and needs help from Cass. Although, at the later end, I was rejuvenated to see her kicking ass but it’s short-lived. If I had the chance, I would love to read Anna Dressed in Blood.

    And oh, I feel like I have to mention, the visit to Aunt Riija was awesome. Didn’t see it coming. KENDARE BLAKE would be forever in my bookshelf list of excellent horror and suspense authors.>:D

    Fast-paced, dark story, humor, love beyond death, adventure, bravery, friendship, letting go, all of this packed in one book and you get the thrilling GIRL OF NIGHTMARES. The best achingly beautiful end to an epic series. Very highly recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Girl of Nightmares picks up about six months from where Anna Dre

    Girl of Nightmares picks up about six months from where Anna Dressed in
    Blood left off. Cas is mooning over the loss of his beloved Anna, and
    not much else has changed. Well, except that instead of traveling from
    place to place sending ghosts on as he'd always done prior to coming to
    Thunder Bay, he's contented himself with tending to minor ghostly
    disturbances in the area. You can take the ghost away from the boy, but
    you can't take the ghost hunter out of him. The male point-of-view can
    be difficult to accomplish realistically for a female writer, but
    Kendare Blake nails it. Cas is so honest and says exactly what he's
    feeling, even it it's not what you want to hear. But now he's having a
    really hard time dealing with Anna's absence. Cas is still his
    sarcastic, witty self, but it's like a piece of him is missing, like the
    light has gone out of him. But once he starts seeing visions of Anna, he
    finds his sense of purpose again. He wants, no needs, to find out what
    happened to Anna after that fateful night when she gave up her existence
    to save him and his friends. Once he gets over his little mourning
    period, the story really picks up the pace and he's nearly back to his
    old self again. And throughout the novel, I had the urge many times to
    grab Cas by the shoulders and tell him he was doing the right thing. I
    think the fact that I have such physical reactions to what Cas is doing
    speaks volumes for the characterization, not to mention the writing as a
    whole. I feel like I know these characters...they have personalities all
    their own and they've grown so much in such a short period of time. Cas
    is pitted against a formidable potential ally and even though I never
    fully trusted her, I liked her, just as Cas did. It's not fair for the
    author to make me like the competition, but she did it anyway. That lady
    is one smooth talker. And she brought the creepy back full-force, too.
    Girl of Nightmares gave me just as many nightmares as Anna did. Maybe
    more. Not only was Cas living through his own personal hell, but his
    very skill and right to wield his father's athame were being questioned.
    He's tested, put through the ringer to prove he is deserving. There may
    even be a Suicide Forest involved. Oh, and a trip to Hell. All in a
    day's work for our favorite ghost hunter. Don't worry, though, the humor
    that balanced out the scary in the first book hasn't disappeared either.
    I didn't realize until just recently that Girl of Nightmares would be
    the final book in the series. Two books. That's it, folks. I wish some
    series would end at two novels, but not this one. I could read about
    these characters forever. However, I do believe that this ending for Cas
    and Anna is as perfect as it's going to get. Kendare answered all of my
    questions by the end. And so even though this is a sequel, it's also
    the end, and a brilliant end it is. Some books are casual acquaintances
    and leave you feeling lukewarm towards them. Others you might actually
    date for a bit before forgetting about them. But this book? This book
    I'd marry. I could spend the rest of my life with this book and never
    look twice at another book. I would be completely monogamous with this
    book, ya'll. Yep, we'd have a very long and happy life together. Well,
    until that Antigoddess series is out. I can't make any promises then,
    not with the way Kendare writes for my soul. Thanks to Tor Teen for
    providing a finished copy for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Liketoread

    Loved the book but ending was a little sad cause Cas had to say goodbye to Anna but glad that he was able to give her the peace she needed at last. The ending came to quick for me but i do recommend anyone to read both books.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    AEWSOMELY GRIPPING!!!

    I loved this book! It was an amazing sequel to my favorite book Anna Dressed in Blood! But, I hated how Anna would kill herself in the beginning, it was a little creepy. However, I loved the addition of Jestine. She made it a little more intense. It was really great that he got rid of the Obeahman in the end. It was really sweet how he told Anna he loves her and that he will miss her, when he let her go, down in Hell. It was really cute. I hated how Jestine was soclose to replacing Cas as the warrior binded to the athame. But, their comptition down in Hell was awesome, but it creeped me out how the speed of their blood draining was their timer. This was an amazing read, definetly worth the time. I would recomend this book to anyone looking for a haunting book.
    INKDEATH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2