Customer Reviews for

A Girl of the Limberlost

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    A Review of A Girl of The Limberlost

    I read this book as part of an independent reading project at school. My mother read it when she was a girl and her mother read it before her. Elnora Comstock goes to her first day of high school wearing an old calico dress and clunky high topped shoes. She quickly learns that she has to pay tuition and buy books with her own money. Elnora learns she can earn money by collecting moths, butterflies, and insects. She does this for four years and the results are exciting. At school she learns about an insturment called the violin and is able to play it without any lessons. To find notes she mimics the sounds she hears in the Limberlost. Although the book was written in 1909, it has a wonderful plot and is very interesting in its facts. I learned that things we take for granted today were much harder to get in that time. Elnora's appearance was just as important to her as it is to girls today. In order to have a new dress,the fabric and pattern had to be washed and ironed,pieces cut out, and sewn by hand.Throughout the first part of the book,Elnora has to struggle every day to get along with her mother. Elnora knows that she can depend on Uncle Wesley and Aunt Margaret Sinton to help her out when she's in trouble. But when Elnora's mother learns the truth about a long held secret about her husband's death, things change dramatically. The book was very intersting because it's written using words and phrases we don't use anymore. It is a good source of vocabulary words.This 479page novel seems long at first, but once you get going you forget about the length and enjoy the story a lot. I loved this story and plan to read more books by this author.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Timeless Classic

    Gene Stratton-Porter knew how to write a book that catches the heart of the reader. I started reading her books 40+ years ago and have re-read them many times. I had to get a copy for my new Nook. She was the first author that I put on my nook and will probably read many more times. The story between mother and daughter and the misunderstandings are classic and happens in any time period. I love the way she wrote with very descriptive phrases and her knowledge of moths and nature was amazing. A wonderful classic to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I would put more exclamation points, but mmy hands tired.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Beautiful Book! a good read

    This book is wonderfully old fashioned, and can sometimes be little difficult to understand at first, but if you give it a try, confusing language and all, you will discover a wonderfull story. An inspiring tale about one girls pure quality, strength, endurance, and change from a lonely girl to a hopefull woman. i love it. My grandmother read it to me when I was young and it's been in my heart ever sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    girl of the limberlost review

    What an absolutely captivating book. After reading the first two pages I was a little unsure of the book, due to older style of language, and a lack of background information. However, by the end of the first chapter, I didn't want to put this book down. I fell in love with the character of Elnora Comstock....what a brave and amazing character! Kate Comstock (Elnora's mother) as well as the stintons are equally as important, and valuable to the story. What an amazing book! I have read many books both in and out of school, and i find that this is one of my most cherished reads. In my oppinion, this should be added to the required reading list for older high school students, or college students. If more people would read books like the girl of the limberlost, i think that it would show people how wonderful reading is! This is an easy to read book, in language, and in content. Don't miss this great find!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    classic must read

    Veery good. I read this book because it is my Grandmother's favorite book. So glad that I did!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Highly recommed fir Highly recommend for all ages

    I got this book for my 11 year old daughter and decided to look at it, well i couldnt put it down! Excellent read- redemptive and uplifting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Amazing book

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!

    LOVED THE BOOK. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Wonderful book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The author did a great job of developing the characters over the years and I enjoyed watching them grow. I wish there was a sequal so I can find out what happens next. I also felt like I had a better understanding of early 1900's after I finished the book. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    wonderful nostalgic read...makes you want to hunt moths

    After reading some dark, compelling books by Laura Lippman I bought and reread this book to calm myself down. A much-loved book as a girl, this book takes you back to a much simpler time. The story makes you want to see the beautiful moths described in the book and you root for the girl who starts out with nothing, including a bitter mother who resents the daughter for living.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Everyone will enjoy this book. Gene's knowledge and explanation of events makes page turning easy and something you want to do to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Most Heartwarming Tale!

    A Girl of the limberlost is one of the best books I have ever read! I first loved it when my own darling mother read it to me about five years ago and because of it's warmth and and rags to riches(in an emotional sense) plot, I recently (two days ago!) picked it up again for a light summer read! I would encourage anyone to read this book, because after chapter two or so you will feel as if there is always brighter days ahead!
    C.D.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    a book to treasure

    You who read this review, you must read this book. I recommend this book to so many people. It is one of my favorites, and I read it at least twice a year. Elnora is the dearest, most honorable character I have come upon. In fact, I believe I shall name my future daughter Elnora.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Lovely Story

    'Girl of the Limberlost' was a bright, heart-moving novel. The story of Elnora and Kate Comstock allowed myself to see things in her perspective. Though she suffers a great deal, she is determined to make the best of life while being true to herself and others. It made me see how much I took things in my life for granted, and what should be the main focuses in life instead of the things I had squandered my time on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    Best book to bond with your grandmother over

    I first found this book one summer when I didn't have much time at the library - I found the biggest book on the shelf (in the children's section) and checked it out. I have read it at least once a year since, last summer I was reading it at my parents house when my grandmother was visiting. She read the book when she was young and remembered how much she loved it. I love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    wonderful reading

    My grandmother came across this book shopping, thought it sounded intresting, bought it and gave it to me for Christmas a few years ago. It quickly became one of my favorite books, and I have read and re-read it more times than I can count. I actually may have to buy a new copy seeing as my old one is "well loved" and well read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    A true classic

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read. It is great. It is so much better than any novel written today that those novels are simply pitiable. It starts out as the story of a girl named Elnora and her struggles with being a 'country girl' in high scool and with a resentful, widowed mother. About halfway through the book, her mother learns a sad secret about her dead husband, and, because of this revelation, finally shows her love for her daughter. Soon after, a young man comes on the scene. The story becomes a good, not overdone love story that is wonderful to read. I especially liked the things that make it such a good story; Elnora's violin playing and her collecting of moths to finance her education. One word, though: if you really want to enjoy this story you ought to read FRECKLES first. It is the prequel, and though somewhat more difficult to read than A GIRL OF THE LIMBERLOST is just as terrific in content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2000

    A Book for Every Age

    This just seems to be one of those books that a woman can pass all the way through each generation of her life. I was born in 1979 and my mom read me this book at least once a year from the time I was four up until I was ten. It was one of those special memories I will always treasure. This book stands out among so many novels who try to remind us how awful the world is and how people have no values anymore. It reminds you about the simpler things in life and how a relationship between a mother and a daughter is truly timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    You can feel the flutter of moth's wings

    I am 57 years old, and recently found this book again. My mother read it when she was in school.She is 79 and still remembers the part where Billy tried to retreive a bird from a dog

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3