Customer Reviews for

Girl With a Pearl Earring: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 407 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Chevalier is a Painter of Words

I actually watched the film first and I liked it, so I decided to give the book a chance and loved it! This is Holland in the 17th century where a young girl named Griet is forced to work at the house of Vermeer. She tells the story in first person. I felt her pain h...
I actually watched the film first and I liked it, so I decided to give the book a chance and loved it! This is Holland in the 17th century where a young girl named Griet is forced to work at the house of Vermeer. She tells the story in first person. I felt her pain having to leave home at such a young age. Women did not have many options during that era, either give in to men or be cast out, which Griet battled with. So many times I thought her and Vermeer would make a love connection, and Chevalier definitely added that romantic stress to the plot. As for the painting, the pearl earring was Vermeer's wife's possession and she was quite the vindictive lady, which unfortunately, Griet had to deal with the wrath of her jealousy.

posted by Anonymous on April 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was very disappointed in this book. Considering how popular it

I was very disappointed in this book. Considering how popular it is, I figured there would be more of a story to it. It's a short read, but I felt like I had to force myself through it. Page after page I was waiting for something to happen, but nothing really did. The b...
I was very disappointed in this book. Considering how popular it is, I figured there would be more of a story to it. It's a short read, but I felt like I had to force myself through it. Page after page I was waiting for something to happen, but nothing really did. The best way I can describe this book is to think of a dime store romance novel, but take away the romance. You're left with practically nothing. No point. I'm not saying I am disappointed in this book's lack of romance, but I am saying that there could have at least been a point to it if romance was thrown in there. As it is, there's just nothing to it.

The main character (Greit) lacked any sort of personality. She is one of the most boring and plain characters I've ever read in a novel. She rarely had emotion, and when she did have emotion, it was hard to believe. Almost as if the author tried to randomly throw in character development for the sake of development, rather than allowing the character's personality to naturally appear throughout the story.

I don't mean to completely dismiss the book. The overall details were interesting, particularly where Greit started and how she got to where she ended. It would have been a great book had the author simply been better at writing and putting together a story. That was no the case though.

posted by StacieRosePittard on April 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Lulu river

    Why is this book banned?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Ft

    Oh. Okay. Firetail yawned and curled up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I expected this to be my favorite Tracy Chevalier book and was v

    I expected this to be my favorite Tracy Chevalier book and was very surprised when it wasn't. Though the book was enjoyable in many ways I had issues with the way the characters were depicted. Although I like for a character to have contradictions, I need to understand the reasons behind actions that are out of character. If I don't know what the character's motivations are it's hard to relate to them. There were a lot of things I liked about the "The Girl with the Pearl Earring". As usual, Chevalier makes the atmosphere come to life in her own magical way. You feel as if you have really stepped back in time to mid 17th century Delft. The storyline, involving Vermeer's relationship with a young housemaid is very interesting and compelling. I recommend this book to fans of Tracy Chevalier.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Awesome Intriguing

    A good rainy day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A very imaginative novel in the sense of what it's based off of.

    Girl with a Pearl Earring is novel about Griet, a young girl who must work as a maid to support her family, who is failing financially. She is chosen by Johannes Vermeer, along with his wife Catharina, after she displays an understanding for detail and color. She enters the household and in turn a completely different world altogether, where she must adapt to the lifestyle she doesn't necessarily always understand and maintain her dignity as well. It portrays a theme of rigidness of class structure, as well as painting a picture of want that is highlighted by restraint, not necessarily brazen behavior. Although I found the writing to be a perfect fit for the voice of the narrator, it was just that that I didn't like. I am drawn to extremely strong and unique writing styles, and although Chevaliers voice wasn't necessarily weak, there was something about it that turned me off. I didn't see much of a demographic in this book, so it would be a good fit for really anyone, whether you're reading it to supplement some historical reading, or just to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    Captivating at times

    I found the book Girl with a Pear Earring a somewhat capitvating read. The author did a wonderful job of drawing you in and creating the world of Griets master, but at times she made the scenes seem distant and cold. All in all it was an okay read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Light reading

    Ok, I thought this book was very good and the writing was really well too, but I don't see why it was raved about and hyped up so much. I mean it was really good but not rivetting like everyone made it out to be. It seemed more like a Junior High School student was experimenting in writing a book. I would have considered this a childrens book if not for the sexual themes in it. If I could give it three and a half out of four stars I would, instead I have to settle with three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    Okay book

    I really liked the story-line, but felt that the author could have done a better job at deepening these characters' thoughts. This book seemed too simplistic to me (like a junior high student could easily read it) and I guess I just look for more abstract meaning in character emotions and actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    OK but kind of dull

    I may be the only one but I thought the book was predictable and unrealistic. I really didn't feel it had any value or anything that was memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    Lovely Story

    I thought this story was well written, it reminded me of the movie mansfield park. I'm dying to see the movie adaption of this book. Chevalier ties in facts and fiction beautifully making it difficult to separate the two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Disappointed Reader

    It just didn't impress me as much as it evidently did others. I didn't end with a 'what a great book' feeling. I liked the attention the author paid to the details...but I had to work to get through this book. I've decided I'm not going to pay so much attention to the 'Best Seller List' any longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    ...eh, but good, I guess?

    I read this book because it was recommended by several people, and also for an english class. Though it did not grab my attention, (certain parts a bit tedious to read...)as the book went on, I did want to see what was to happen in the end. I was slightly disappointed with the ending, but I was aware of why things did turn out as they did. Griet's character can be seen at many levels, personally I saw her as timid, and almost flat. Several questions remain an enigma into the end, leaving little closure on some matters. But regardless, I admired the authors methods to derive a poigant story from a mere portrait. I suppose a picture is worth a thousand words after all. An okay read, if you don't have time to read it, then I suggest you don't, because your not missing out on the greatest book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Alley scenes not necessary

    I enjoyed reading this book until the two or three alley scenes were thrown in. I do not think the sexual encounters needed to be shared in order for this novel to maintain its quality. It ruined my perception of Griet and left me sceptical of her character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    AN OKAY BOOK

    I read an extremely wide variety of books on the higher end of the 'intellectual' range. I read this book as part of a book club. I thought that this one was boring. For a book written about art, it sure was bland. Greit was a meek character and not particularly likeable. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    Interesting but not fascinating.

    This novel was very well written. The language was historically accurate and it sets the mood of the book. The description of the setting is the most intriguing aspect of all. As far as the storyline goes, I was not very satisfied. The balance between setting and plot is not maintained. The excessive description definately looses stars for this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    I think I missed the point here!!!

    I liked the book, however I don't see any important message behind the story, or the main point (Vermeer's life or his inspiration??). I think the book was nicely written, however not great. I am still not sure if Griet was ever in love with her master.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    A fine first novel

    I enjoyed the story well enough, but there were some jarring things about it. Griet's air of superiority, the hostility of Vermeer's wife; nothing that really detracts from the story, but do not seem to serve any purpose. Her superior knowledge of composition is completely unbelievable as are the terms of Vermeer's will portrayed here. For a more insightful book on a Vermeer painting, read Girl in Hyacynth Blue by Susan Vreeland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    I guess I'm in the minority

    I enjoyed the book, but would hardly give it 5 stars. It was pleasant, but not great. Griet's ability to perceive compositional improvements to the paintings BEFORE Vermeer noticed them was ridiculous. She was an inexperienced teenager and no amount of natural talent would give her an edge on Vermeer. Sorry, I don't buy it. And I'm a female artist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3