Customer Reviews for

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 17062 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8260)

4 Star

(4738)

3 Star

(2053)

2 Star

(881)

1 Star

(1130)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

99 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Superb writing

I've seen some complaints that it is too slow. To that I say, it's because of realism. Having done some investigative reporting stuff myself, I can say that the pace at which it starts into its mystery is completely believable. And the methods used as well. Is it a ...
I've seen some complaints that it is too slow. To that I say, it's because of realism. Having done some investigative reporting stuff myself, I can say that the pace at which it starts into its mystery is completely believable. And the methods used as well. Is it a little slow in the first half? Yeah, but is that a bad thing? No. It's attention to detail and characterization, and a commitment to realism. And that's nothing to complain about.

I've seen some opinions about the violence, and I didn't think it was overly graphic... nor without a point. I can't stand graphic violence with little to no point. But by the time you get to the end of the first book, at least for me anyway, I found myself fully appreciating his tackling this issue of violence against women in Sweden. And I finally both fully understood and appreciated the statistics regarding crimes against women that were inserted at the beginning of each new Part of the book. It seemed clear to me that Larrson wanted to let people know what life in Sweden can be like for a woman, and having no frame of reference to such before reading the book I found myself respecting Larrson for making this his main drive and theme of the story.

I don't know... I can't complain. I think this is some of the best published writing I've read in a long time. I was never bored or disinterested. He kept me captivated from start to finish.

My only complaint is that it's a little more vulgar and perverse than I usually care for. But even at that, he could have been much more perverse with as much promiscuity some of his characters indulged in; yet he often used the old school film method of setting the implication (or starting the process) and moving on to something else. Something with plot, something with character. Something we could care about.

I just need to get the second in the series now, so I can pick up where it left off. OH, which reminds me, somebody said something about the end being a dud and that's said. It's called leaving loose ends, because it's a series and you want to keep your readers with you. If you resolve everything and walk away people won't come back--having been fully satisfied. My only hope is that the third (and final book he completed) has some full resolve or that they finally let his life-long companion finish his fourth one--which he was working on when he died.

It really is a shame he left so early and that his works couldn't have been written and published earlier in life. It's reported he had 10 books in the series in mind. I guess we'll just have to make do with what he gave us.

posted by onyxdragon on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

161 out of 309 people found this review helpful.

Terrible!

I was given this book as a gift and had to force my way through it. Unlike some I did not have trouble with the characters I just did not like the story. I for one do NOT appreciate reading about violence against women especially in a VERY graphic manner. If it is vital...
I was given this book as a gift and had to force my way through it. Unlike some I did not have trouble with the characters I just did not like the story. I for one do NOT appreciate reading about violence against women especially in a VERY graphic manner. If it is vital to the story its one thing but I found some of it completely unnecessary. It was very slow and had to force myself to finish it. And just when I thought things were getting good..it ended with a thud. Do not waste your money!

posted by CleoTX on January 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1130 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 57
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    Wish I'd known the Swedish title was Men Who Hate Women--if (and only if) you enjoy graphic rape scenes, this is the book for you

    I found this book to be brutal, disturbing, and overly long. I will admit that the central mystery was engaging, which is why I got sucked in and finished even though I was very troubled by multiple incidents leading up to the big reveal. I found the resolution of that mystery to be truly sick--as mortifying as many other horrors committed in this novel. While I did appreciate the strength of the titular heroine, I can't imagine anyone enjoying this novel unless they find violence against women to be entertaining.

    In addition to my sheer disgust at the atrocities against women throughout this book (which I still am sickened by days later!), I found the other plot lines to be anticlimactic, even unnecessary. And I wish that the translator had included some footnotes or a forward giving background for the many allusions to Swedish culture, politics, and finance.

    11 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well Written, But a TERRIBLE STORY!

    This was, by far, one of the worst books I've ever read. Anyone with any morals whatsoever should not read this book.

    This book was advertised as a murder mystery, with thrills, an intricate plot, etc. FALSE. This was hardly a murder mystery. It was so bad, I only made a little past pp. 200. Maybe the end it good; I wouldn't know. The beginning was AWFUL TERRIBLE NO-GOOD ROTTEN BORING and many other such negative adjectives.

    Let me summarize briefly what I did and didn't like about the first 200 pages of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.

    LIKED: It was written well, and the brief mention of the murder mystery was interesting - sort of locked-room mystery, as they referred to it. But this was only a brief portion of the first 200 pages.

    DISLIKED: Mystery was barely mentioned. Blomkvist was sleeping with 2 different women, both of which were married. His relationship with Berger was one of the book's key focuses, and it frequently mentioned how she was in an affair and her husband didn't mind. Also, the other main character, Lisbeth Salander (a cool name btw), was mentioned to have had OVER FIFTY SEX PARTNERS! She used drugs, and didn't seem to have a problem with this. She got raped two times in the first half of the novel, once by getting handcuffed to a bedpost...uhh...(EXTREMELY GRAPHIC SCENES!) The book focused heavily on Lisbeth's problems.

    Maybe by the end of the book, the characters realized they were living unhealthy lives. Maybe not. It's your choice to read and find out, but for me, reading 200+ pages of this crap was enough. Very little mention of the murder mystery. Very tedious; there was lots of repetition of Blomkvist's sex life and his slow research on the murder case (not interesting or exciting, because it's just him living by himself on an island looking through old files OVER AND OVER).

    If you choose to read about the gruesome above topics (which are not advertised on the attractive book cover) then maybe you could try out this book. But don't start reading the story with a smile, because it is very miserable. If you read this with a smile, you are a sick person. AND I wouldn't recommend buying the $25 hardcover of this book, bc it's not worth it. Really. It's not worth it. Check it out of the library if you're really interest in reading about sex affairs and a girl getting raped on the streets of Sweden (and some brief, boring mention of Swedish banks, and one this-aint-goin-nowhere murder mystery).

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    One star is to much but I can't give it less

    This book is so over rated it's not funny. This is not a mystery worthy of Agatha Christie it doesn't even belong on the same book shelf. It is long drawn out, overly violent for no reason other than to be violent, I figured out what was going on from the start it was quite obvious and what he did at the end is so ridiculous that I actually became annoyed that I waisted so much time reading this book. Maybe the movie is better but I bought this book I guess cause the title sounded intriging unfortunately it had no real meaning in the book it is just a little passing line if you blink you's miss it or actually doze off while reading the book. I happen to agree with all the negative reviews and am sorry I didn't look here before ordering the book. I surely will not read the rest of them, since someone told me they are worse than this one. Readers don't fall for the hype.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    Overrated.

    I simply do not understand why this book is so hyped up. In my opinion, its nothing special. Actually, I thought it was terrible. Its no mystery. Its simply explicit love scenes, dull predictable characters, and a little bit of fluff. I knew exactly what was going to be the 'mystery of harriet vanger' within the first few chapters. I guessed exactly right. I'm mad that I finished this book when I knew the ending the whole time...because that was the only reason to even bother. Not continuing the series thats for sure!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    I am an avid reader. I will read a cereal box front and back, this had to be the hardest book to get into that I have read in years. It didn't get the least bit interesting until you were in the middle of the book. The ending was predictable.

    There were way too many characters, after a while you just lost interest in who was who. I kept reading waiting for this huge explosion, which unfortunately never happened. As I said the ending was predictable and a little confused. I have absolutely no interest in reading the next two books in the trilogy. It jumped all over the place, just as you got interested the book headed in an altogether different direction was not only not boring that I found myslf skimming through those parts of the story. I HAD GOTTEN IT ALREADY. Very repetitive, as well as disappointing.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Boring as hell. Not what i expected.

    It has taken me 2 months to read 96 pages. This may be the most boring book i have ever read...tried to read. People keep telling me to hang in there, that it gets better. When? Its a giant clusterf*** of too much mundane detail and the author has completely failed to engage the reader as far as i am concerned. Wish i could get my money back to buy a different book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Have not read

    Have not read

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Not recommended-very slow

    This was the strangest book I've ever read. I don't understand all the hype I kept hearing about it. It was very slow, I was more than 3/4 of the way through the book before any big event happened, and it took forever for this book to get to the point. Lots of the characters were also very creepy. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    HORRIBLE

    I do not understand what all the talk is about this book. It was absolutely boring, I couldn't pronounce half the names in the book and it was the most unthrilling thriller I have ever read.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    This book is painfully dull reading. I found the characters to b

    This book is painfully dull reading. I found the characters to be very two-dimensional. I am an avid reader and cannot begin to comprehend how this book has gotten so popular. I can only guess that few are afraid to admit that the emperor has no clothes. Abysmal book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Bad

    Dont bother reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    To help me

    Dont listen to them im 12 and i read book with sex and watch shows with rape law and order svu for example i think it counts on your maturity and wat you can handie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Tattoo?whattattoo?

    This book was sooo boring that i only read the first chapter idgiven it zero stars but the nook wouldnt allowit thisbookwas boring: : dont bother buying even at a yard saleyoud be wasting your minds and money

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Ugh!

    Totally hated this one, with all my heart. Didnt even get around to the other 2 in the series, the first one was so dull.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Taylor

    I have not read it yet but the name sounds pretty cool and that is not something a ten year old would say .cause i am ten

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    I CANT THINK OF A TITLE

    Thanks for warning everybody. I didnt know what to expect. Good thing i read the reviews. P.s. Hate to burst your bubble but THERE IS NO SAMPLE!! Sorry...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    This is a best seller? Really?!

    I am giving up on this book. 100 pages in and its a yawner.

    I am not completely out yet. I will watch the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hated it

    This book is sooo slow and too boring to read.I could not get past the first two chapters. Too much detail and not enough actions to keep a reader interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Slow

    The book is so god damn slow takes for ever to get interesting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Terrible

    I hated it. Took me weeks to get through. The characters didn't draw me in, I felt nothing for Salander at all. The sexual components were badly done and I had no empathy for anyone. I would not recommend this to anyone. Just Awful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1130 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 57