Customer Reviews for

Girlchild

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Girlchild

Tupelo Hassman is Shakespeare of the trailer park. Loved reading Girlchild.

posted by 6345029 on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

unique but strange read -

different than anything else i've read recently, but i'm not sure i could or would recommend this book to others.

girl growing up poor, fatherless, in a trailer park, misunderstood, abused, somewhat depressing overall

author's writing is hard to follow at times
...
different than anything else i've read recently, but i'm not sure i could or would recommend this book to others.

girl growing up poor, fatherless, in a trailer park, misunderstood, abused, somewhat depressing overall

author's writing is hard to follow at times

glad i read it but also glad it's finished

posted by laEH on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    unique but strange read -

    different than anything else i've read recently, but i'm not sure i could or would recommend this book to others.

    girl growing up poor, fatherless, in a trailer park, misunderstood, abused, somewhat depressing overall

    author's writing is hard to follow at times

    glad i read it but also glad it's finished

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Girlchild

    Tupelo Hassman is Shakespeare of the trailer park. Loved reading Girlchild.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Brilliantly Confusing

    I almost gave up on this book, then would read one more short chapter after the other until I got to the end and said, "Well, I'm glad I read that book." I work at a middle school, and this book helped to remind me that not all children have a loving mother and father at home helping them succeed in school and in life. This little girl raised herself, protected her mother from knowing that she was being molested, and evidently was brilliant in school. The book ends the only way it could - with her striking out on her own. Yes, it's hard to follow at times. Then again, the chapter with all the lines blacked out showing what it was like in the dark bathroom ... well, that was brilliant if you have an imagination. So, take your chances if what I've said intrigues you! For those who are interested in knowing more about students who are this age, I also recommend Alice Bliss.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not What I Expected

    This book has good moments but it really wasn't what I expected. Not something I'd recommend. I've read better books about traumatic childhood experiences.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I loved this book. She nailed it - the people in Calle, the girl

    I loved this book. She nailed it - the people in Calle, the girl and her mother and her grandmother; the abuse and wanting to still belong to her mother, and having to figure out how to forgive the fact that she wasn't protected. How hard it was to leave, and how it all stays with you even when you do leave and move on and do better than where you came from . . . I knew this girl once and I knew those people. She totally nailed it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Ugh

    Hard to follow. Depressing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Hard to follow

    I felt that she assumed readers could follow her thoughts more easily than they could. Very depressing concepts and attitude.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    The cover caught my eye. A trailer that looks like it would feel at home in my trailer park but set in the desserts of Nevada.

    I started reading and it knocked me over to read a story that followed my own childhood eerily close. It didn't hide how common child sexual abuse is, but it didn't go into painful detail either. I think it was the perfect balance on such a difficult topic for so many (too many) women.

    This story is not an easy read. It deals with those living in poverty for generations as their own counter-culture. I thought it was brilliant because so much of it range true. Especially how anyone from the government (including or and especially police) is not to be trusted.

    How very hard people work just to get by. During a time when the stereotype of the welfare abusers is running rampant, we see that is stupid because even with welfare, life is hard and lean.

    I thought this was such a sad read, and so well written I literally couldn't put it down. It's not going to be for everyone. The story is written almost like a diary, with the time-frame and memories jumping all over the place without a lot of hints about where you are currently at in Rory Dawn's life. But I absolutely loved it, the story was completely captivating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Beautiful novel that takes on difficult topics---multigeneration

    Beautiful novel that takes on difficult topics---multigenerational poverty and physical and sexual abuse---in a sensitive way. The author's stream of consciousness approach might not be for everyone, but for those who appreciate its lyricism this is an incredible read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    she remembers many of the things that kids do and think to try t

    she remembers many of the things that kids do and think to try to keep themselves sane in an insane world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Modern Lit Meets Trailer Park

    Rory Dawn Hendrix is an under-privileged, imaginative young girl, growing up a the low-class trailer park known as "The Calle" (de Las Flores) outside Reno, NV. She is the mother of a teenage mother who is the daughter of a teenage mother as well. There is heartbreak and disappointment in this life, but Rory finds comfort in The Girl Scout Handbook, spelling words and using her imagination to escape. Beautifully written in brief digestible chapters, stream of consciousness and intercalary interludes lend a unique voice to the main character and her coming of age saga. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of modern lit, coming of age novels, serious dramatic themes and anyone who started out with a rough beginning in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Tough book to finih

    Still trying to get through this book.....hate not to finish reading a book that I have paid good money for but it is hard. I guess I should keep my opinion to myself until I finally do finish it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman is one of those books, that after re

    Girlchild by Tupelo Hassman is one of those books, that after reading other people's reviews, I was dying to read.  And luckily, this book fell into my hands after a library book sale (those are always the best, aren't they?).

    Girlchild is a book about Rory Dawn Hendrix, a girl who lives in the trailer park in Reno with her mother and near her grandmother.  Her life is not beautiful, not wonderful, not uplifting in any way at all.

    But Rory finds a connection with the Girl Scout Handbook, which is her bright shiny way out of the trailer park.

    Will Rory be able to break the cycle and not get pregnant young?  Will she be able to leave the trailer park and set up a new life for herself?  Or will she be just like her mother, stuck in the rut of the trailer park lifestyle forever?

    This is a tough book to read about.  There are issues like sexual abuse, drugs, and drinking.  But the sexual abuse is much less explicit (almost "hidden"), not like in the book Push.

    But similar to Push by Sapphire, Girlchild is a tough read that should be read.  It's a small window into a world that is foreign to most of us, but is REAL.  Don't shy away from it because it's tough: embrace it.

    What do you think about these kinds of tough reads?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    tupelo hassman can write...she can write very well...she can wri

    tupelo hassman can write...she can write very well...she can write so well i still have the taste of paper in my mouth from devouring this book..this girlchild...this chosen one to break the family curse....this all alone girl out in the desert of poverty had to make it out...no matter what it took...ignorance, poverty, abuse, false promises, even death...and the girl scouts of america....lessons taught, observed and learned...rooted for her and cheered her on....this tupelo had a story to tell...and she told it well...thank you ms hassman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved ot Loved it

    I love a book that can evoke emotion. Even if that emotion is a hard one. I like that she says so much without having to spell out all the gory details. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Very disappointing. Depressing, nothing redeeming whatsoever, s

    Very disappointing. Depressing, nothing redeeming whatsoever, strange ending probably intended to convey some kind of hope but which, to me, conveyed nothing more than the final doom of the character. Even the measliest crumbs of anything good happening in the story have a negative angle as viewed through the chronically depressed lens of the characters. Maybe some lives are really like this, but I suspect even the toughest, most disadvantaged lives have a few more positive moments than the lives portrayed here. To add insult to injury, the writing is mediocre, nothing brilliant, inspiring, thought-provoking, often really predictable. Just an unrelenting bad time. If you want a similar idea but well written with much more satisfying insights, read The Glass Castle, a real-life memoir by Jeannette Walls.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Girl Child

    It was okay.
    Sad that humans treat one another this way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Too short

    I liked what I read, but it left you wanting more to the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Hassman has written a disturbing but lyrical coming of age story

    Hassman has written a disturbing but lyrical coming of age story with a twist (or maybe just twisted). A trailer park is home and the main character provides what little nurturing is available to a dysfunctional set of adults. She tries to imagine what "normal" families are like and is determined to escape the degradation of her surroundings and the self defeating behavior displayed by the sad examples of humanity populating the trailer park. Written with wry, deadpan humor (or sarcasm) the 6th grader explores sexual abuse, alcoholism, the welfare system, incompetent educators, Supreme Court decisions all of which leads her and the reader to conclude that it really, really sucks to be poor in the US. I ached for her as my mother was also toothless and pregnant at 15. I escaped this dreadful life and hope she did too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    What the.....

    Very hard to follow &understand. I was disappointed I paid to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2