Customer Reviews for

Girlfriend Curse

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong chick lit tale

    Peg Silver is tired of finding men, getting them interested in marriage, and having them wed someone else as her last boyfriend Paul Tester, her seventh failure in less than a decade, just did. She concludes that she needs a full body lifestyle makeover, starting with a change of scenery as she is sick of someone else gaining the fruits of her labors. Peg decides it is time to leave the asphalt jungle of New York where she has resided for her entire thirty two years of living and rusticate elsewhere, just not the burbs because that would be too much of a fall. --- During the grueling seven hour train trek to White River Junction, Vermont, Peg receives an accidental poke in the eye when she tried to be Good Samaritan and then meets womanizing Ray Quick who climbed on board in Hartford. She decides to delay her search for an organic male to join him at the Inward Bound retreat In Manshire, Vermont where he is going to attend a seminar on curing neurotic dating patterns. At the retreat, Peg finds herself still attracted to Ray, but also pulled towards the facilitator Linus Bester. --- THE GIRLFRIEND CURSE is a strong chick lit tale that focuses deeply on relationships mostly through Peg¿s troubles paraphrasing her thoughts that she can make men come, but not stay. The deep cast turns the tale into a powerful insightful look at why relationships work or fail. Peg is gold as the center of the novel while her two male competitors bring out the best and worst in her. Relationship drama readers will receive immense pleasure from this perceptive contemporary fiction novel.--- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is by far my favorite book by Valerie Frankel thus far! I f

    This is by far my favorite book by Valerie Frankel thus far! I found the book to be different than others; although it did take me back to that movie with Dane Cook in it, but the character development was exceptional, giving readers a chance to root for the characters! I loved Peg- and of course Linus. What a cute chick lit book. A+++++ for Frankel- Ill be picking up more books by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!

    I stayed up all night to finish reading this book. There are points where you will laugh out LOUD. This book is well written and hilarious. This is my first time reading this writer and I am so glad I chose her. The character and story are well developed. What a funny journey of self discovery. A fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Girlfriend For Life?

    Since this is the second book by Valerie Frankel that I've read and writing about, I'll be skipping that part about what I thought of the author and go on right ahead about what I think of the story - which I hope you, dear readers won't mind.

    This is yet another product of Valerie's romantic comedies at work. It is so engaging and funny I almost spent half a day reading this novel instead of working - you can put the blame on two of my co-workers who gave me the book for Christmas and without a doubt made Christmas 2007 one of the best in my life so far. To you both (and you know who you are), it was truly unexpected on my part and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    Now back to the story of Peg Silver and her so-called "girlfriend curse." To tell you the truth, I haven't met anyone who has such a relationship pattern and I myself haven't been in that situation - which I hope it won't happen in my near future - yet.

    The title itself is so catchy along with the cover art and summary at the back that one couldn't help but wonder so much about it. My other officemate thought it was a book about witchcraft because of the word "curse" but I shook my head and said, "I don't think so."

    True enough the book didn't contain anything about witchcraft at all. They should be looking at "Hex and the Single Girl" if that is what they're after. As always, I don't expect much when reading a new novel because I'd rather be taken by surprise.

    And surprisingly, The Girlfriend Curse is such an eye-opener in the sense that - and I do agree with what Peg did - in order to fix a problem, you should first search within yourself if you have done anything wrong to deserve your current situation; organize your priorities or your life, change in yourself what you think is a negative trait or perspective and learn to love your body and yourself. A person should only change for the better and not for worse.

    Second, you should look back - not literally of course, but rather take a closer look at what happened to you in the past that resulted in the situation you are now in. When you visit your past, take note of the people you surround yourself with, their attitude and behavior towards you, your attitude and behavior towards them, the decisions you've made, the result of those decisions, and how did everything affect everyone in your circle. After that, try to connect everything while keeping this in mind: for every cause there is an effect.

    You will see a pattern somewhere there just like what Peg discovered - well, actually, it was Linus who sat her down and told her face to face what happened exactly and why all her relationships seem to end - and ultimately affect the guys she dated - in the same way. After all that has been said and done, and you think that the only way to solve your dilemma is a drastic change in lifestyle and all that, just be sure that you are bold and strong enough to actually go through and live with it; financially, emotionally, and spiritually stable enough to pursue such drastic measures, and that you tie up all lose ends before starting out your new life somewhere. It will certainly be no fun at all if you just packed up and go riding towards the sunset and leave a huge mess behind because somehow that huge mess you dumped on those who were left behind will follow you, and anywhere you go, it will find you, no matter how far or how long you've traveled.

    Like people, situations also need closure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty, sarcastic, smart, and sexy with a whole lot of funny!

    What to say about this book...I was really expecting a romance with some raunch. What I found was me pouring over with a tummy ache from all the laughing. Peg is witty, sarcastic, intelligent, and sexy in looks and personality. This book was very entertaining. I'm one to read for the couple but this book made me think of my life and how I fall into some of the same circumstances over and over thinking that they find me, but in reality, it's me who seeks the familiar as to not fall into the unknown of all things new. Aside from that, the banter and all the events that took place were hysterical. And my favorite part...it had a very happy ending. Everything I could ask for in a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT

    Great Book...one of my favorites EVER...great advise

    Valerie Frankell is one of my favorite writers of all times. Her books are gripping from the first page and laugh-out-loud hilarious. Every story has great characters, heartwarming plots, and hilarious dialoged. You'll fall in love with all the characters from the beginning and want to read every book she has ever written. You won't regret this buy!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    OMG! Was this lady spying on me?!

    This book was hilarious and it hit home! I cannot be the only person this continually happens to... If you are looking for something lighthearted and upbeat, this will do the trick. The main character is quirky but not so original as to be annoying...she is totally someone you know even if you don't realize it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Am I crazy???!

    I can't believe that some of you actually like this ridiculous book! I want my money back with interest! I have to admit that I did not even finish it. This book insulted my intelligence. I don't even know why I purchased it I'd like to blame it on a moment of insanity. Actually I think I ordered it by mistake. Anyway the main character was boring and the story made no sense. Chick lit at its lowest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Cute, stylish, and very funny

    This book is so cute. The main character is one that every woman can probably see something of herself in. The story is well-paced, funny, and never dull. The protagonist's path to self-discovery and true love was an enjoyable one to follow. I will definitely be reading more of Valerie Frankel's books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    Girlfriend Curse

    For years, I've thought of Valerie Frankel as a well-kept secret, a writer few knew about. But those of us who do read her stuff absolutely love it, can't get enough of it. I am so happy for her that The Girlfriend Curse is getting reviewed everywhere, including People magazine, and that Valerie Frankel might now get the wider audience she so richly deserves. Congratulations! And, oh, yeah, the book is genius, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    Disappointing

    This was my first Valerie Frankle book and it will also be my last. The story was disappointing and boring. I found myself skipping many pages only to still know what was going on. No change or climax. Frankel can use some much needed lessons from the greats of fiction such as Kinsella, Griffin, Ahern and Markham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    One of the better chick lit books!

    This is one of the best chick lit books I've read in a long, long time. Frankel has a keen knack for dialogue and character development, and her pacing and humor are right on. You'll laugh yourself silly over Inward Bound (read the book to find out what it means) and you'll never want this terrific read to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Girlfriend Curse

    Scene by scene, Frankel has built a story and a character that grow and change, eventually arriving at a completely different place than the book began, with hundreds of witty jokes and laughs along the way. Line by line, the humor is downright wicked. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2