BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

great book

This book was great! I've read what feels like every pregnancy book known to man, and I really love ones like this and Jenny McCarthy's, because nothing is sugar coated and the added humor is a great touch. I find it amusing how many ladies who have read this are all be...
This book was great! I've read what feels like every pregnancy book known to man, and I really love ones like this and Jenny McCarthy's, because nothing is sugar coated and the added humor is a great touch. I find it amusing how many ladies who have read this are all bent out of shape about this book and the way she talks - she states up front that she is not a doctor so why anyone would read this book and be upset by that is anyone's guess. She writes more about experiences, and not about cold hard medical facts, and there is nothing wrong with that. She offers no medical true advice, just her own opinions. And as far as her opinions on natural birth go... well, those are her opinions and a lot of people share them! I don't agree with them myself, and I was fully capable of reading this book without being bothered by her attitude towards natural birth.

I love the way she talks about how pregnancy isn't about glowing skin and a wonderful 9 months for a lot of women... many of us have a downright miserable first trimester and beyond! And you know what, some of us just don't glow. And that may be a disappointment to some first time moms, but it's the honest truth!

This was a fun companion to any standard medical text. I wouldn't read it solo, since you won't get some important medical facts that you should be getting from something like Great Expectations or Your Pregnancy Week by Week.

posted by painted_devil on February 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Neat Title ~ Major Disappointing Content

My wife added this book to our collective reading material. When I asked her what she thought, she said she quit reading it. My wife is an educated woman with a college degree and a good judge of many things. After seeing the title and reading the books description I wa...
My wife added this book to our collective reading material. When I asked her what she thought, she said she quit reading it. My wife is an educated woman with a college degree and a good judge of many things. After seeing the title and reading the books description I was curious why she felt this way. Now that I have read the entire book I understand.

Ms. Iovine's choice of vocabulary and sarcasm does not come off as humorous but more like she has a chip on her shoulder. You get the impression that doctors and nurses are incompetent degenerates. It reduces the fathers role into nothing more than an insensitive, incapable neanderthal, whose only positive attributes are during conception. She tries to empower pregnant women with a crude almost paganistic sense of selfishness. The advice given seems to come from Ms. Iovine's own collection of negative experiences.

In the book the author advises not to breast feed your child due to how it will make your nipples look. If you choose not to breast feed - that's fine - that's every mother's choice, but for Christ sake do it for some other reason than the fear of your nipple's appearance. This shallow vanity is on every page. Words like "Fat" and "Ugly" are always paired together throughout the book. Ms. Iovine advice is prioritized more by what her friends might think, than the welfare of her unborn child. Parts of this book are flat out dangerous for inexperienced mothers.

If you are a pregnant woman looking for an excuse to go on a nine month self indulged power trip, you will enjoy the book. There were a few crumbs of information but nothing you wont read 101 times elsewhere.

posted by ProudPapa14 on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Neat Title ~ Major Disappointing Content

    My wife added this book to our collective reading material. When I asked her what she thought, she said she quit reading it. My wife is an educated woman with a college degree and a good judge of many things. After seeing the title and reading the books description I was curious why she felt this way. Now that I have read the entire book I understand.

    Ms. Iovine's choice of vocabulary and sarcasm does not come off as humorous but more like she has a chip on her shoulder. You get the impression that doctors and nurses are incompetent degenerates. It reduces the fathers role into nothing more than an insensitive, incapable neanderthal, whose only positive attributes are during conception. She tries to empower pregnant women with a crude almost paganistic sense of selfishness. The advice given seems to come from Ms. Iovine's own collection of negative experiences.

    In the book the author advises not to breast feed your child due to how it will make your nipples look. If you choose not to breast feed - that's fine - that's every mother's choice, but for Christ sake do it for some other reason than the fear of your nipple's appearance. This shallow vanity is on every page. Words like "Fat" and "Ugly" are always paired together throughout the book. Ms. Iovine advice is prioritized more by what her friends might think, than the welfare of her unborn child. Parts of this book are flat out dangerous for inexperienced mothers.

    If you are a pregnant woman looking for an excuse to go on a nine month self indulged power trip, you will enjoy the book. There were a few crumbs of information but nothing you wont read 101 times elsewhere.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    This book was great! I've read what feels like every pregnancy book known to man, and I really love ones like this and Jenny McCarthy's, because nothing is sugar coated and the added humor is a great touch. I find it amusing how many ladies who have read this are all bent out of shape about this book and the way she talks - she states up front that she is not a doctor so why anyone would read this book and be upset by that is anyone's guess. She writes more about experiences, and not about cold hard medical facts, and there is nothing wrong with that. She offers no medical true advice, just her own opinions. And as far as her opinions on natural birth go... well, those are her opinions and a lot of people share them! I don't agree with them myself, and I was fully capable of reading this book without being bothered by her attitude towards natural birth.<BR/><BR/>I love the way she talks about how pregnancy isn't about glowing skin and a wonderful 9 months for a lot of women... many of us have a downright miserable first trimester and beyond! And you know what, some of us just don't glow. And that may be a disappointment to some first time moms, but it's the honest truth! <BR/><BR/>This was a fun companion to any standard medical text. I wouldn't read it solo, since you won't get some important medical facts that you should be getting from something like Great Expectations or Your Pregnancy Week by Week.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Pregnancy Book

    I bought this during my second pregnancy, and swear I could have written it myself!

    It is truly what a girlfriend would tell you, had you thought to ask. It is also hilarious and a great break from those serious books.

    My most recent purchase was for a pregnant colleague and she also has laughed her way through its combination of informative and deadpan prose.

    Get this for your friends, family or yourself! You will not regret it!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Not for all Girlfriends

    Funny at times,but not for all types of girlfriends. She constantly bashes anyone unafraid of natural childbirth (as if you would only have a baby without painkillers to prove something) and talks in a very, 'let me tell you how it is, honey' sort of way. Pretty condescending and preachy. I also just didn't identify with a lot of the problems or issues she discussed. Like bonding with your mom (which she preaches you should do) and being afraid of being a bad mom. I am already bonded with my mom and I think I'll be a great mom. And well if my husband were shocked by farting then I don't think he would be my husband. If he would leave me because of my haircolor (as she claims hers would have), then he doesn't even deserve to be my husband. . Sometimes it reminded me of those old time movies where the woman says she has to keep all of her beauty secrets or lose her man. I just can't relate and don't have any pregnant girlfriends who have acted the ways she describes. And I've known a lot of pregnant ladies. Aside from irritating me as only a know-it- all mother can do, there was some good info.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Nice, Lighthearted Look at Pregnancy

    So many of the books on pregnancy are very serious - can be a little frightening for a first time mom. This book is hilarious, and gives you a great, practical look at the "interesting" parts of being pregnant.

    I received a copy when I was pregnant, and now make this a standard gift for my friends who are pregnant for the first time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Fun to read but offers no new ideas

    I bought this book for my second pregnancy because I was so stressed out about my first one that all I could read were books written by MD's. I thought I had a better head this time around and could enjoy a good laugh, which I did when I read this book but that was as good as it gets. There were not many helpful tricks of the trade -- you know, the stuff that wouldn't be covered in those MD books. It didn't offer practical information on pregnancy essentials like don't listen to the sales ladies who tell you to buy a nursing bra in a size larger because your chest will be so much bigger. When you're thinking about nursing bras, you should know that at some point, your bust line plateaus and those puppies are as big as they will get. Anyway, nursing bras are elastic so they naturally offer some additional give!!

    What i really wanted to know was how to maximize my clothing allowance on maternity clothes without repeating the mistake of so many women before me who threw out their entire maternity wardrobe because they were so ugly and itchy. And basically, that was the advice of the author. Borrow your girlfriend's old maternity clothes and call it a day. No mention of empire waist blouses, maxi dresses, tunics, draw string linen pants, buying men's jeans and getting them hemmed (their jeans offer more room in the waist and thigh areas), etc. There was no creativity for the modern fashionista girlfriend!!

    In the end, I had a few good chuckles reading this book but for the real meat, you should scout out some clever blogs. Oh, and the medical information contained in the book is borderline dangerous for its inaccuracy (beware first time mommies!)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A really, really good guide to pregnancy.

    When I was looking for pregnancy books, this one kept popping up. There was a reason why--it's good! So glad I got it and read it from cover to cover. It's got a lot of helpful tips and the author really knows her stuff.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    An excellent break from all the medical advice

    After reading some of the standard, medical books for pregnancy (What to Expect and Your Pregnancy Week by Week), this book was exactly what I needed! It was helpful to hear about real women's experiences - the good and bad. I didn't find her preachy like some reviewers said - she is just telling you what decisions she made and why. For example, she really didn't excercise during her pregnancies (oh no in the medical books!). While I am still excercising, it made me feel better to know there are other people out there who can barely make it through a day of work, much less excercise and then cook a well balanced healthy pregnancy meal. That just didn't happen most days during my first trimester and the medical books can make you feel like a failure as a mother before you've even become a mother! She reminds us that this is a fun time, not a nervous-nelly medical condition you should fear! And also, my husband is the most awesome husband and will be a terrific father, but those 'helpful' sidebars in the medical books that say your spouse should be rubbing your feet every night and sharing in every emotional moment with the same gleam in his eye, are just setting most women up for a huge disappointment. This book reminded me that men react differently than women and they are still excited and will be great fathers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    Not for the stuffy pregnant woman...

    I am a 23 year old pregnant woman, and thought this book was hilarious. A lot of other young reviewers said that young women wouldn't be able to relate, but I really could. She talks about a few things that I just couldn't find in other pregnancy books, and I found it comforting that I wasn't the only person that these things were happening to. Of course not every word in the book is relatable for everyone, but what book is? I thought this book was great for moms-to-be that don't take themselves too seriously.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    Not for me!

    As a young mother to be, this book was definitely not for me. This book was written by a woman who had her first child at 33, which I am not. She bashes her husband constantly (which isn't very nice or respectful in my opinion) by saying stupid things like when she was pregnant with her fourth child he said 'how could you do this to me.' or her fear of him leaving her if he saw two inches of the grey in her hair if she didn't get it dyed. She is excessively concerned with trivial things that don't matter, and even though she can be funny, all I'm getting is a negative vibe from this book. Actually, it's been making me more neurotic about my pregnancy then I was before. She's also against exercising while pregnant, and personally, because of my age, I am full of energy during my first trimester. If you are a businesswoman in your thirties just having your first child and trying to get it to suit your life, then go for this book. Anyone else, don't bother. It's a waste of reading.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    Not for everyone

    This book got a lot of laughs out of me when talking about what happens to the body during pregnancy, but I was quickly turned off by the author's negative view of the husband's ability to support his wife. She also criticizes the idea of natural childbirth, basically saying that anyone concerned enough about her baby to choose this method is just too stupid to know better. Mildly entertaining, but I'll stick to the books written by doctors.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    My favorite - from a mother of 2!

    I read this during my pregnancies, (my kids are 9 & 7). I happened to be on here to buy it for my pregnant cousin and got a glimpse of some of the reviews. I really wonder about some people! This book is humorous and light, and answers all the embarrassing questions! No book, ESPECIALLY about pregnancy, should be taken as the do-all, end-all advice. Everyone is different. Take it as it is, a real-life book about what a lot of women experience. If you're different, do what you feel is right. As I said, I read the book. I also delivered both times in a hospital, but naturally - no spinal or drugs. I excercised as much as I felt comfortable doing, and I breast fed (my nipples are fine). Unbend a little and find the humor in things, you have to to be a parent!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    funny and real glimpse into pregnancy

    loved it. laughed out loud, felt great that im not crazy/alone in these prego symptoms, and learned some things about what to expect. LOVED IT.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    Great guide!

    I really liked this guide. It had a lot of information without bogging down the reader. I also liked the wit and humor. It's a good guide most pregnant woman can relate to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Must Have Pregnancy Book

    Enjoyable,informative,funny,refreshingly honest,great first pregnancy book to read.full of all"the good stuff" you need to know about pregnancy...I truellly appreciated to authors honesty.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    Great easy read - author has a lot of energy

    I enjoyed this book. Was easy to read and could relate to much of it without feeling that everything must be taken to heart. Informative but did not find it overwhelming. This is not a rule book. I was looking for a pregnancy book that was not a week by week scientific/medical read. I needed something more reader-friendly. This book delivered! I did not agree with every opinion in the book (I am choosing not to color my hair), nor do I agree with everything in the medical books either sometimes (even science based medical 'facts'/opinions are contradictory depending on source or timeline). Reading that the author's husband was not always joyous during her pregnancies did help me understand that my husband might share some of the same feelings and yes, at times, some ineptitude in dealing with the pregnancy. If you are looking for a week by week medical guide to pregnancy, this is not the book for you. However, if you are looking for a book that reads as though you were listening to a bunch of women sharing their personal experiences and giving you their honest, straightforward opinions and advice, I'd highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2008

    Wife made me return it after looking at it for 5 mins

    I picked this up for my wife at the local B&N and after 5 minutes of browsing it, she asked me to return it. She didn't have any complaints about the content, it was the presentation. The book reads like a People magazine. There is a small main portion of text on each page and then a bunch of pink and green 'bubbles' all over the rest of page. The end result is pure distraction. I'm not completely opposed to side-bars, but this was excessive. Should I keep reading the main portion? Should I go check out all the sidebars? Where was I again? What are we reading about? Who knows! This book is styled in such a confusing manner that we returned it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Kristy

    I bought this book after going to a baby shower and heard all the women talk about how great it was. I guess my sense of humor is different, but i did not find this book amusing or helpful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    NOT FUNNY!

    I began reading this book at 6 weeks and it scared me to death. It was suppose to be humorous and lighthearted but it only made me worry more that I was going to be fat, ugly , not sexy and sick for not 9 but 10 months. I don't recommend this book for new mothers. I think it might be good if you have already been through a pregnancy and can appreciate the humor but it made me depressed with all the things that will go wrong with you and your body. Some parts were humorous and I tried to remain optimistic but eventually put the book down and decided for my mental health not to read any further.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Lighten up people! This book is supposed to be funny and non-medical based. Seriously, I read this when I was thinking about TTC and it helped me realize what I had in store. You won't agree with everything she says, but it's all done in a funny, sarcastic way. I thought it was hysterical. The friends that I've loaned it to loved it. It's a funny read. If you can't laugh at this book, I feel sorry for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8