Customer Reviews for

The Girls

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Boring

    I did not likit at all. It was very boring and did not make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Not good

    Not read... it was a good book but it was to short it end to fast and not worth your time or money it would be good if it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I love this book!

    I am reading this book in book club and i luv it. I like how it is about how you shoud treat friends. To me Candace is just mean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    faith crists reveiw

    This book is a good book for girls who are having trouble at school or in life. Its about five girls that are very rude to this one girl named Maya. Candace is the leader of this mean groop. If your daughter or if u are having trouble with bullies this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    This book was awesome!

    I think this book was amazing and that it might not grab your attention in the beginning of the book but just keep on reading and it will grab your attention. I also like how the title of each chapter is one of the friends name and it will be about that girls point of view. In this book you learn about friendship and how if one friend turns on one another will you do it too??? Will the girls stay friends or will they be enemies.

    written by a 4th grade girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay

    If you are looking for a funny book buy Diary of A Wimpy Kid,if your looking for a mystery get Lightning Thief,if yuor looking for a more to the dull side short story,clique book buy The Girls.The main character Maya gets excluded from the clique by her so call friends and she finds out that she needs better friends.THE END.This practically 2 sentence book is okay for the Middle Schooler trying to get her Summer Reading List out of the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Not Great

    Sorry to all that like this but I just think it is kind of stupid. The writing is awful and the events that happen don't seem real. It was a waist of time to read. I would have rather read Harry Potter in the time period!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    omg how real

    This was such a realistic book that was the main reason why it was so good!The author put so much into it ,it made it seem as if she were writting about my own personal expieriences or most likely in any girls situations . That's why i think girls will really like and realate to this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Eh, Not That Great

    This book may have a good plot, but it was too short. It would have been better if the author put in more details and explain more about whats happening between the 5 girls. But otherwise, this book was great, it showed what really happens in a teenager's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    AWESOME!

    The Girls was an awesome book explaning the cliques of Middle School. The leader Candace was snobby, but nice to new comers in her clique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    magnificent

    This book is a powerful story about five girls who get in to some trouble in the begining but end up great friends in the end. This book is for readers who enjoy learning and relating to their life as a teenager, it will help you get through some tough times and laugh out loud. I sincerely recommend this book for ages 11 and up..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    BOO! I didn't like this book

    Boo! this book was ok in the beggining, but the end sucked.(No offense to anyone who liked it but I for one didn't) sheesh. I've definately read better books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    YAWN!

    I read A LOT...and this book was the worst book I have read in a very VERY long time. It didn't give any informationa and it didn't have enough detail. If you want to read a good book, read something by Meg Cabot. Anything written by Meg Cabot is better than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Great book for girls my age!

    I am 12 years old, I read this book with my friends in our book club. I loved this book, it seems so real. All of my friends seemed to enjoyed it as well. 2 thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2005

    greatttt!!!!!!!!!!

    this book was great, and i enjoyed readig it, guys this book is a keeper!! maya, i understand how she feels, sometimes you feel like there are some friends that you know for a fact that you can't trust but, since you want to be popular, you try to see the good in them, even though that isn't the case. so candace reminds me of those popular girls who try to be nice and first, but then once they got you to believe that they actually consider you as a friend, they start to be mean to you, and leave you out of things. and it made me apprieate all of my friends, because i know that they would never do this to me! when times get rough, it's your REAL friends, that will stay there and stick it with you, and not just turn their backs, they're there throughout the GOOD and BAD times! and i think the moral of this book is choose your friends wisely, because you don't want to end up like maya!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    I loved this book

    I love this book so much. It reminded me a lot about how my friends and I treat other girls it even made me want to be nicer to other people. My friends and I are always getting in dumb fights and this book tells about that so much. I would recomend this book to anybody I even acted it out for a book report It was set up in talk show formation I got to let my friends act out characters in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    synopsis

    Candace, Darcy, Brianna, Renee and Maya were all best friends until Candace, who is the leader of the group, decides that Maya can¿t be part of the group. Everything began to change the day Mayas father was taking her to a theme park and said she could invite a friend. When Maya called her friends houses no one was home, and she found out from Brianna¿s mom that Darcy invited every one for a sleep over, except for her. At the sleep over the girls made a prank phone call to Mayas house. When Darcy¿s mom heard about how mean the girls were to Maya she grounded Darcy until she apologized to Maya and her mother. The only girl left in the group of friends is Darcy who is desperate for Candace¿s friendship even after Candace kicked Maya and Brianna out and befriended another girl named, Nicole

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    I love candace

    i just loved Candace and Darcy. The things they did to Maya I do that to my friends!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    The cool Girls

    THE GIRLS I enjoyed this book because the author made this book sad just like my life, the story begins when a girl named Maya was exited about magic mountainbut her friends where at Darcy¿s sleep over Maya wanted to go but Candace and the others kicked her out of the group Candace and the others apoligized to Maya and became friends again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Two enemies

    I enjoyed this book I thought this story was very interesting because of all of the action that went on in the story.Maya didn¿t understand why all her friends ditched her until she got back from magic mountain and her family and she were talking and the phone rang when she answered it the person hung up. She called back to see why they hung up. At Darcy¿s house her sister answered the phone then she aked Darcy why they did that she said because we don¿t like Maya any more. When they went back to school Renee & Brainna cut in line to say sorry but Candace & darcy wouldn¿t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2