Customer Reviews for

The Girls from Ames: A Story of Women and a Forty-Year Friendship

Average Rating 3.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Touching Moment!

This book truly exceeded my expectations. I was not sure what I was going to get out of reading this book. Jeffrey produced such a wonderful insight into these womens lives. This book made me laugh, cry, contemplate things I am doing in my life and appreciate the things...
This book truly exceeded my expectations. I was not sure what I was going to get out of reading this book. Jeffrey produced such a wonderful insight into these womens lives. This book made me laugh, cry, contemplate things I am doing in my life and appreciate the things that I already have in my life. I am also looking forward to things that are in the future for me and the Ames girls gave me hope. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

posted by dclement04 on May 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sounded good but NO!!! What could have been a great novel about a group of women was a terribly written documentary that went beyond boring. It would have been good had one of the women written their story and left Jeffrey Zaslow to his own work.

I could not get through the first half and returned the book to the store.

posted by 365243 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Awesome look at relationships between women

    I've had the great blessing of getting away for a few days every year for the past 18 years with 7 of the best girl friends anyone can ask for. We just had our annual reunion a month ago at one of the girls beautiful new home on Green Turtle Cay. One of the other girls bought each one of us this book because it made her think of us. We started trying to figure out which one of us was which woman in the book (who are approximately our age by the way, but we didn't become friends until college). I'm still reading it, others have finished and commented and we all are enjoying. Thanks Stacey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Absolutely loved it.

    I read about this book in a magazine. It was in their "summer reading" section, so I went and picked it up. I thought it was wonderful. (and it's non-fiction!) You get connected to the girls and their life stories. The pictures the author includes are great- you get to see what the girls really look like back then and today. I just think this is an important book for a girlfriend and her friends to read. The story of friendship that lasts throughout the years, sticking through it no matter what. It has some sad parts, but totally worth the tears to read it. I plan on buying copies for my closest girlfriends too. Great book. Definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Heartwarming stories

    This was one of my favorite books I read this year. It is the true story of the lives of eleven women whose friendships have lasted over decades. When the book ended, I wanted to keep reading to continue to learn about these women. If you have one or several close friends, this book will help you appreciate their friendship even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Riveting Story out of the Heartland

    I could hardly put this book down once I started to read it. Although the book was ostensibly written in a journalistic style, there were plenty of feelings that were evoked throughout the story. Even though I am a generation older than these girls, the wealth of detailed memories in this book often moved me and helped me understand what other people might be going through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    An engrossing read, a true friendship account.

    I was surprised by the format, a chapter about each of the friends, not what I expected. But an engrossing read. Once I got into it, I found it hard to put down. The author does a good job of remaining objective as an observer, engaging my curiousi. Marilyn was my favorite charcter. I found myself wishing these girls had been my friends, yet it caused me to recall childhood friendships with great pleasure. For these women to have all remained close thru their whole lives is a wonderful thing. I am interested to see how our book club reviews it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Fascinating till the last page

    Fantastic book about those special relationships women share-a must read if you ever had a BBF and still treasure them today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Awesome book

    This is a great book about lasting friendship between women. I have actually met a Karla and Karen. Jennifer Benson now Jennifer Litchman is actually my boss!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    read. march 2011

    read march 2011

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    Do you keep in contact with those friends from childhood? Do you have girls that you call with all of the good and bad news before anyone else? Are there friendships worth fighting distance, time constraints and obstacles? YES!

    The Girls From Ames was a great book about 11 women who through many different ways came be a very close knit group of girls who have shared absolutely ALL the ups and downs that life can throw at anyone. Divorces, miscarriages and loves lost all bring them together even though they live in very different parts of the US. They have also been able to celebrate many good times from healthy children, job promotions and the men who make their lives complete.

    I absolutely loved this book. I cried. I laughed. I wanted to call all the girls that are currently in my life and those who have been in and out to thank them for their listening ears and the moments we have had. Whether you have kept in touch with childhood friends or not, this book is definitely one to go to pick up and fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For any woman with close friends...

    This book touched my heart. A girlfriend sent it to me, and I passed it on to others. Through this one story of female friendship, Jeffrey Zaslow tells the story of the beauty of all femail frienships. You will laugh, you will cry - you will relate. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    What does it take to have friendships last a lifetime?

    The girls are wonderful honest about themselves and each other in this reflective book. The girls share very personal moments in their lives and how it impacted them and their friends. They acknowledge when they feel they have let one another down and how that helped them to grow and become a better person as a result.

    To date, the girls get together each year (although they are constantly in touch). If you have a friend or friendships that have lasted a considerable period of time, what has made your friendship(s) endure?

    The author was extremely sensitive to each of the girls and, despite being given access to their journals, notes, and conversations, made sure that what was written was not embellished or taken out of context. So, when you sit down to read this wonderful book, you will feel that you are there with the author viewing forty years of friendships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lasting Friendships

    This book is an easy read and becomes a catalyst to awaken memories of friendships we've all had throughout our lives. Some of our friendships have been fleeting, but a few have remained special and have been more lasting. This book makes the reader want to reconnect with friends left behind, as life has changed. How special the girls from Ames relationships have been. Following along with their lives as one reads, brings the reader into this group. The reader is soon experiencing the girls' happy moments and times of sadness right along with them. It's totally easy to become very involved in their lives. This book would be a perfect gift for today's friends, as well as, a gift to give to friends with whom one would like to reconnect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    A great read

    I loved this book. Being from Iowa might have made it more special but it was such a good explanation of women's friendships as compared to men's friendships. I have women in my life who mirror someone in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    For any female who has ever understood the meaning of friendship

    I loved this book about friendship! I have recommended it to my group of best friends because this could be our story in many ways. Although these women are in their forties, their story transcends age. I became totally absorbed in this touching account of female relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    A Moving and Compelling Read

    The subject matter has the potential to become sickly sweet but this book avoids that pitfall. It does not reflect every woman's experiences with friendships but I think every woman will find some aspect of the stories that speak to her. Men won't read this, which is a shame since it could provide important insight into the nature of women's friendships for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Great Book!

    I loved this book. I started reading it and didn't stop until I was finished. It made me more appreciative of my long-time female friendships. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Wonderful read and beautiful book to share

    This is one of those books you'll read and pass on to friends. Jeffrey's style and passion for writing do not disappoint as you really won't want to put this down. Perfect book for a summer day in the hammock.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    The Bond Of Friendship

    Loved this book! What a way to celebrate the special bond women have with eachother! Thank God for girlfriends!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Friends Forever

    This compelling and beautifully written non-fiction book is destined to become a classic in the female friendship literature. If you're lucky enough to still be friends with someone from your childhood, you (and your friend) will love this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2