Customer Reviews for

Girls in Trucks

Average Rating 3
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A raw, down and dirty, must read!

I was pleasantly surprised by this book! It captured moments in time that shape a very unfortunate womans life. Life is made up of moments.... The flow was great and the characters popped out of the pages and sat next to me on the couch. Enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yellow Light Ahead

I'll start my review by stating I didn't like this book. Not because it is bad in the grand sense of the word but rather just bad for me. I wholeheartedly admit that I felt slightly deceived by the synopsis on the back cover. The way I read it the story was made to s...
I'll start my review by stating I didn't like this book. Not because it is bad in the grand sense of the word but rather just bad for me. I wholeheartedly admit that I felt slightly deceived by the synopsis on the back cover. The way I read it the story was made to sound lighter than it actually was. In reality the biting-humor advertised fell short on me as I waded through the darker tone and dysfunctional situations. It was simply not what I was expecting nor would it have been a book I would have chosen to read had the notes on the back portrayed that darker tone a bit more.

Despite the above, Crouch did a great job of developing an extremely complex set of characters. Most importantly her protagonist Sarah Walters is as multi-layered as it gets as she struggles to find what she considers the perfect life for herself. It is she that the reader follows from an awkward girl through her coming of age as part of the Cammelias and then into womanhood. It is this dysfunctional journey that shows how skilled Crouch is as a writer as she portrays Sarah with a sensitivity that makes her rootable. Often times I found myself hoping things would finally turn around for her and that she would finally work through her myriad of addictions (men, alcohol, etc.) to find peace, solace and ultimately happiness.

If you are looking for a book that delves a bit more into social structures and how they influence our psyche and the way we navigate life I think this book would be a good selection for you. Further if you are interested in intricate character development you'll enjoy Girls in Trucks a great deal.

posted by Galleysmith on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Different- Everyone should read it

    When i was looking at getting this ook i thought it would be about a high school southern girl getting away from what her mother wanted her to be. When I read it it wasn't at all what i expected. Was it bad? No. Was it the most amazing book that I've ever read? No. But this book makes you think. Honesly I think people should read this book its off the beaten path and I think you'll find that when you finish it you'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    A great read from a new author!

    I'll admit, when I first started reading Girls In Trucks, I was less than enthusiastic. I found it to be slow-moving, irrelevant, and random. Instead of ceasing to read, I continued and I'm glad to say I did. This book is not the type I would normally read; however, it has grown to become one of my favorite books.
    Crouch's attention to detail adds to the elaborate characterization of the main character Sarah, a former southern debutante, and makes me feel like Sarah is my best friend. I laugh with her, I cry with her. I can hear her voice and internal monologue as I read through her narration. Some may not enjoy that fact that most character emotion is concealed throughout the novel, but I enjoy the mystery and inferences I have to make. It is all show and not tell which always keeps me guessing.
    I also love Crouch's wit and sarcasm. Generally, the novel is definitely not the most uplifting, but at more than few points I would find myself laughing at Sarah's thoughts and actions. Her use of word choice really brings light and humor to a somewhat depressing novel.
    The only problem there may be with this novel is the tiny group of people this book would appeal to. This book appeals to mainly to women, not old but not too young either. Given the cover and title, I doubt many men would want to read this book and would probably be even less interested in reading once they had already started. However, I enjoyed the novel without complaint.
    Girls in Trucks may not be everyone's cup of tea, but I thoroughly enjoyed the short-read. It was thought-provoking, shocking, and funny and I'm not sure what more I can ask for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Girls in Trucks

    I actually liked this quirky book with a real character. Sarah Walters is a Southern Belle who leaves the south behind when she heads North for college. While there, she not only got an excellent education, but she learned how to party with the best of them and fell for the worst men around. As the years, and pages, go by, Sarah comes to terms with the fact that she will never live up to the Southern Belle expectations that her parents and others have set for her.

    The book is written in a series of disjointed snippets of memories. It is almost as if the narrator, Sarah was either writing her story in a journal or speaking with a therapist. The snippets sometimes start and stop abruptly, causing some confusion if you really aren't paying attention. Sarah's story is dark and at times twisted, yet you can't help but feel compassion for the woman with self-destructive tendencies.

    I didn't dislike Girls In Trucks, it wasn't what I expected yet it took me into a world totally different from the one I live in. And isn't that what reading fiction is all about?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    On the Human Heart and Happiness

    "Girls in Trucks" is a fresh novel by a new author, Katie Crouch, who details the life of a southern girl named Sarah. As a member of the Camellia Society, Sarah tries to follow the debutante code, but finds it especially difficult when she heads north to college. She learns to drink, smoke pot, and has her share of flings, but when Max, a slightly older and emotionally troubled man, steps into her life, she finds herself asking the age-old question: "What is love?". She and Max stay together for only a couple years, but that was long enough for him to lure her to her black side then abandon her, leaving her stranded. After years of mistakes, and one big surprise, Sarah learns that one cannot EXPECT anything from anyone; though she grew up being taught what to expect from life and marraige. Expectations are what let one down, and true happiness is the kind that comes on its own, requiring no reason and no assesment. This novel gives refreshing insight to the heart of a modern woman, and Crouch holds nothing back. The author's youth and spirit shine brightly throughout this outstanding debute novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Great writing, great book

    This is a really interesting book. Katie Crouch's writing is so fun to read, and the character she creates is so vivid and real. At times the books gets a little sad, but the ending has a great message that makes it all come together. I'm excited to hear of future books from Katie Crouch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Summer Read

    I like the way the story began and took you in and introduced you to the characters. The plot twisted and ended in a much different way than I thought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    The Perfect Summer Read

    I Just Have to say, I loved this book! A great debut from Katie Crouch.. After reading it I got such a warm feeling inside..The title character Sarah is funny, Honest and flawed. not your average heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Engaging and Insightful into issues of women today

    Being able to read Sarah Walters candid thoughts around her contemporary issues was engaging and at times eye opening. Katie Crouchâ¿¿s book goes beyond â¿¿Sex in the Cityâ¿ and â¿¿Cosmopolitanâ¿ and gives the reader a unique story of a modern woman dealing with real world issues without the Superwoman solutions or Hollywood endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    real girls ride in real trucks

    This isn't your typcial chick book. While it is amusing and fun to read, it doesn't have the typical happy hollywood ending, which is what keeps it real. It is witty, accurate portrayal of a girl struggling with love and her place in the world. If you've ever had your heart broken, get it and you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2