Customer Reviews for

Girls in White Dresses

Average Rating 3
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Touching and inspiring. I liked the feel of this book and how it almost reads like a collection of short stories.

posted by evanescenceSE on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I should have listened to the other reviews. The writing style of this book was choppy and at times I felt it may have been written by a 12 year old! It just never seemed to flow, even though the author was attempting to entertwine the short stories. When I got to the ...
I should have listened to the other reviews. The writing style of this book was choppy and at times I felt it may have been written by a 12 year old! It just never seemed to flow, even though the author was attempting to entertwine the short stories. When I got to the chapter on Hope, that was quite enough for me. I don't like books where the author sneaks in their political views. I wanted to read light chick lit and didn't appreciate the politically left leaning slant. If I want that, I'll buy a book with that, thank you very much.
Knowing this, I won't try another by this author.

posted by ctsoxfan on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Disappointment

    I should have listened to the other reviews. The writing style of this book was choppy and at times I felt it may have been written by a 12 year old! It just never seemed to flow, even though the author was attempting to entertwine the short stories. When I got to the chapter on Hope, that was quite enough for me. I don't like books where the author sneaks in their political views. I wanted to read light chick lit and didn't appreciate the politically left leaning slant. If I want that, I'll buy a book with that, thank you very much.
    Knowing this, I won't try another by this author.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Collection of short stories, not novel

    I bought this expecting a novel about 3 friends. Instead its a collection of short stories about a group of friends. I found it difficult to keep track of the characters. The stories felt true and were well written, but this just wasn't what I expected or like.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Disjointed and disappointing

    Listen to the other reviews! This book is choppy and hard to follow. It really is like a bunch of short stories vs a novel. I only finished it because i paid for it. Save your money.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Touching and inspiring. I liked the feel of this book and how it almost reads like a collection of short stories.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    Choppy, awkward writing. Forgetable characters. It just doesn't work.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Very bad writing

    Didn't like it at all. Very bad developed characters. The short stories are not stories. Don't waste your money. If you really intrigued, check it out from a library!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Disappointed

    Very boring! I had to wade through it because I paid for it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    shallow

    Happy to know that my female relationships have more depth than these forgettable characters. Totally a yawner.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    This is a good book!

    This is all about love storys and is very entertaining i read it in
    Two days

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great, quick read

    Highly recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    What a book - this book is so good, I am putting it on my shelf to read again, that never happens! A collection of a short stories or a book with characters weaving in and out - I don't know or care how you call it, it was excellent.

    As a girl who finds herself right in the thick of this book, I found my friends amongst her characters and even found myself in some of the same situations. I think this is why I fell so much in love with this book because I could completely relate to all of the characters. I enjoyed that each chapter involved a few of the friends, but you saw them again in another chapter. So yes, maybe it was a collection of short stories, but because you saw the characters again, I think it is a book where each chapter highlights a different character. I will not divulge any details - because this is a must grab, purchase it quickly.

    I will be buying this book in bulk for my girlfriends - I know they will love to read about us at the time we are right now in our lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    love love loved it

    I read this book a few months ago and still think back to it often. As a young, 20-something girl I can relate to a lot of what the girls are going through (especially the 8-bridal-showers-for-the-same-bride-and-you-have-to-go-to-all-of-them situation which left me crying with laughter the entire time!). I liked how their lives intermingled but didn't read like a typical plot line where you know they will all end up happy and rich with 2.5 kids at the end of the book. They struggle, feel completely lost at times, have their crazy party stories, and go through the highs and lows of growing up before the readers' eyes.

    Great writing, great storyline, and a must read for anyone who has ever spent back-to-back weekends celebrating other peoples weddings in dresses "you can totally wear again!!" Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    I need more Isabelle and Harrison!

    Loved the book. I would love if Jennifer Close would write another book about just Isabelle and Harrison!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Cute

    Really cute book. A look inside the dating seen and all the kept and broken promises and the pressure to get married........

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    disappointing

    First, this really wasn't a novel, but a series of short stories loosely tied together. Only one really caught me, about 3/4 of the way through the book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Funny heartwarming stories

    A good book about characters similar to women we may know or even ourselves in early adulthood. It was surprisingly funny (I laughed out loud many times) and an easy read. I agree that the stories were not well connected. There were many characters to keep track of and the stories were not in chronological order. I decided to take each story on its own. Instead of trying to remember who was who I just started anew with each chapter. I throughly enjoyed this book. Absolutely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great book!

    I loved this book, the characters are wonderful and i laughed out loud several times, great for a fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Skip it

    Mildly entertaining but tries too hard. Writing is sub par and characters are hard to follow amidst all the disjointed stories. Not sure why J. Courtney Sullivan endorsed it -- her writing is far superior so seems foolish to cloud a reputation by stepping out for something so undeveloped.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    bad kitty vs baby

    Nbccfjgff d drrd z aw ede

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Fantastic read!

    The characters could not have been more real and hilarious. Loved it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8