Customer Reviews for

Girls in White Dresses

Average Rating 3
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good read

Touching and inspiring. I liked the feel of this book and how it almost reads like a collection of short stories.

posted by evanescenceSE on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Disappointment

I should have listened to the other reviews. The writing style of this book was choppy and at times I felt it may have been written by a 12 year old! It just never seemed to flow, even though the author was attempting to entertwine the short stories. When I got to the ...
I should have listened to the other reviews. The writing style of this book was choppy and at times I felt it may have been written by a 12 year old! It just never seemed to flow, even though the author was attempting to entertwine the short stories. When I got to the chapter on Hope, that was quite enough for me. I don't like books where the author sneaks in their political views. I wanted to read light chick lit and didn't appreciate the politically left leaning slant. If I want that, I'll buy a book with that, thank you very much.
Knowing this, I won't try another by this author.

posted by ctsoxfan on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    Touching and inspiring. I liked the feel of this book and how it almost reads like a collection of short stories.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    What a book - this book is so good, I am putting it on my shelf to read again, that never happens! A collection of a short stories or a book with characters weaving in and out - I don't know or care how you call it, it was excellent.

    As a girl who finds herself right in the thick of this book, I found my friends amongst her characters and even found myself in some of the same situations. I think this is why I fell so much in love with this book because I could completely relate to all of the characters. I enjoyed that each chapter involved a few of the friends, but you saw them again in another chapter. So yes, maybe it was a collection of short stories, but because you saw the characters again, I think it is a book where each chapter highlights a different character. I will not divulge any details - because this is a must grab, purchase it quickly.

    I will be buying this book in bulk for my girlfriends - I know they will love to read about us at the time we are right now in our lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    This is a good book!

    This is all about love storys and is very entertaining i read it in
    Two days

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great, quick read

    Highly recommended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Cute

    Really cute book. A look inside the dating seen and all the kept and broken promises and the pressure to get married........

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great book!

    I loved this book, the characters are wonderful and i laughed out loud several times, great for a fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Fantastic read!

    The characters could not have been more real and hilarious. Loved it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Loved It!

    As a recent college grad I was intrigued to read Girls In White Dresses. After graduation all of my friends moved to different places all over the country, having our lives we built together for the past 4 years to break apart. Girls In White Dresses captures the friendships of girls that have known each other since college and create lives after leaving school. Every chapter somehow reminded me of my friends and I and I've already recommended it to all of them. Close did a great job interweaving stories and making the characters extremely relatable. I would definitely recommend the book to anyone who knows what it's like to go through their 20s with friends that will always be there for you. I can't wait to read whatever Close comes out with next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This seventeen short stories anthology amusingly and intelligently follows the lives of three BFFs

    This seventeen short stories anthology amusingly and intelligently follows the lives of three BFFs (Isabella the account manager turned publishing assistant, Mary the lawyer, and Lauren the realtor) and their buddies in New York City. Isabella opens the anecdotal collection when she was twelve and her older sister was getting married as the tweener learns "The Rules of Life". In "Summer Sausage" the trio and others know Ellen's mantra is she dates ugly guys culminating in Louis who dumped her several times. Isabella and her boyfriend at the time Ben always fought until they broke up, but she recalls the wedding of his friend Mike to a Jon-Benet look alike in JonBenet and other Tragedies". The best tales are "Blind" as Isabella who has not dated since Ben left her to survives job switches and bad bosses; the profound "The Peahens" in which Abby describes her odd family; and the deep satirical "Hope," in which Shannon's boyfriend Dan informs her that the Candidate is the next president. Though some of the entries have similar themes told elsewhere, this is a strong chick lit sex and relational tsuris in the city summed up nicely when Mary gives birth to Henry to the joy of Ken and his widow mom Grandma Button who would never interfere between a mom and her baby like her late mother-in-law did when she terrorized her; instead she sweetly orders her daughter-in-law to do this and do that.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Featherdash

    Is a slim light grey shecat with cyan blue eyes. Is adventurous and likes to try new things. Is a newbie at nook se<_>x so don't expect her to know that many tricks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Silverfish

    ((Da.mn. gtg bbl.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Cheetwo and Sylvanas bios

    Cheetwo is a hun<_>ky Brown tom with cream markings,a black tail, and yellow eyes. Sylvana is a se<_>xy silver she cat with light green eyes. They have no kits. No kin. No crushes. They are ageless. They are the weekend joint leaders and starters of HeatClan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Age???????

    What age reply at alexis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Courtney

    Okay i will tell everyone to go to second result. K?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Zaine

    Hello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Fawn

    "Kay."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    WOODS

    A forest of trees with a stream, beach

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If youy love Chick Lit this is the book for you!

    I'm always searching for a book with a fresh concept; a new idea; something to peek my interest. This book is a collection of stories but told with enough details that your imagination can fill in the blanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2