Customer Reviews for

Girls to the Rescue Book #1: Tales of Clever, Courageous Girls from Around the World

Average Rating 4
( 1171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(589)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading, even as an adult

Educated fairytales? Without weak feminine role models? That are still fun to read? Best for preteens, I think 8-12ish age range, but still enjoyable as a read aloud to younger children and I personally enjoyed reading them as well(I adore fables and fairy tales, tho...
Educated fairytales? Without weak feminine role models? That are still fun to read? Best for preteens, I think 8-12ish age range, but still enjoyable as a read aloud to younger children and I personally enjoyed reading them as well(I adore fables and fairy tales, though....). Personally can recommend... my nine year old DD is going to be reading this one, and as a free download, it's a steal. Book size is smallish- it's a collection of short stories, and is under a hundred pages, but that's a bonus for the target age range. Hope you enjoy!

posted by NightingaleTamar on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Ok?

Its ok but its a little to easy. Its like a beginer book

posted by 5765845 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 60
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Worth reading, even as an adult

    Educated fairytales? Without weak feminine role models? That are still fun to read? Best for preteens, I think 8-12ish age range, but still enjoyable as a read aloud to younger children and I personally enjoyed reading them as well(I adore fables and fairy tales, though....). Personally can recommend... my nine year old DD is going to be reading this one, and as a free download, it's a steal. Book size is smallish- it's a collection of short stories, and is under a hundred pages, but that's a bonus for the target age range. Hope you enjoy!

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    must read

    I read both the first and second book and I can say only: Enchanting and wonderful!
    I will look for more of these exciting stories. Highly recommended!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    awesome book

    it was such a good book i had to get the second book in the series and im going to read it right away

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Ok?

    Its ok but its a little to easy. Its like a beginer book

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    great kids stories

    i enjoyed reading this i hope to share such stories with my kids some day

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Easy read with a lot of heart

    Great stories featuring brave girls with a strong head on there shoulders. Loved these tales and will definitely be reading more.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Cute book

    I read this with my granddaughter. Ready to read #2. I loved that this book was free. I wish somemore of the Recue Girls series would be offered free as well.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    cool

    this book is very good!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Solid stories, heroic women

    A solid collection of short stories with strong heroines. Some of the stories are extremely short though. But the women here are smart, strong, quick thinking, wise, and courageous. There is a nearly complete lack of violence in these stories, which isn't all bad. If there's one thing we could do with a little less of it's explicite violence. But, it would be nice to read about a heroine who ignores gender roles - because girls should be allow to hit things too. Even if it's just implied...

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Delightful and creative

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is absolutley amazing it has gr8 stories+its free

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    COOL

    WOW

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Great great great great great!

    This book was so cute and i could not believe that it was free! Cute stories that make girls feel like they can do something worthwhile and that we are capable of anything. Simply wonderful! :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Gbduegedjh td

    My dog died last summer.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    H

    LOL LOL LOL LOL ROFL ROFL ROFL ROFL :) :) :) :) :D :D :D :D
    TEE HEE TEE HEE TEE HEE TEE HEE!!! GO CLUB PENGUIN ULTIMATE JAM YAY ITS AWESOME!!! MEET CADENCE! MEET CECE AND ROCKY! MEET PENGUIN BAND ( PB ) PEANUT BUTTER!! LOL LOL LOL LOL there that solve your problem peolpe who said r trying to focus! Tee hee hola and now good bye and peace,! ===!:)>

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    AWESOME

    The book is awesome you can readit for school or for fun it is kust that good..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Hfhfgfhdbcyfh (READ THIS COMMENT)

    Some people type the weirdest things like above is an example of one of the things done then there is the dog one. If u type u like izzy on a comment she gonna find out! Btw i hate the sound of this book and would not have put a star if i didnt have 2.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Fjdfhu

    Fydhgyghu

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    ~Mrs. Terry Purse On

    Is it worth the monry. Cause if it us... ill be broke in no time ;)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hate it

    Stupid book! Dont buy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 60