Customer Reviews for

Girls to the Rescue Book #1: Tales of Clever, Courageous Girls from Around the World

Average Rating 4
( 1172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(589)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(77)

1 Star

(157)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Worth reading, even as an adult

Educated fairytales? Without weak feminine role models? That are still fun to read? Best for preteens, I think 8-12ish age range, but still enjoyable as a read aloud to younger children and I personally enjoyed reading them as well(I adore fables and fairy tales, tho...
Educated fairytales? Without weak feminine role models? That are still fun to read? Best for preteens, I think 8-12ish age range, but still enjoyable as a read aloud to younger children and I personally enjoyed reading them as well(I adore fables and fairy tales, though....). Personally can recommend... my nine year old DD is going to be reading this one, and as a free download, it's a steal. Book size is smallish- it's a collection of short stories, and is under a hundred pages, but that's a bonus for the target age range. Hope you enjoy!

posted by NightingaleTamar on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Ok?

Its ok but its a little to easy. Its like a beginer book

posted by 5765845 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Ok?

    Its ok but its a little to easy. Its like a beginer book

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Cute book

    I read this with my granddaughter. Ready to read #2. I loved that this book was free. I wish somemore of the Recue Girls series would be offered free as well.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Solid stories, heroic women

    A solid collection of short stories with strong heroines. Some of the stories are extremely short though. But the women here are smart, strong, quick thinking, wise, and courageous. There is a nearly complete lack of violence in these stories, which isn't all bad. If there's one thing we could do with a little less of it's explicite violence. But, it would be nice to read about a heroine who ignores gender roles - because girls should be allow to hit things too. Even if it's just implied...

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    ~Mrs. Terry Purse On

    Is it worth the monry. Cause if it us... ill be broke in no time ;)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    oka

    ummmmm this book is okay. sometiimes it put different letters instead of the proper ones

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    ?tsxxg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Girls to the rescue

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Un

    Ok, WHO KEEP S WRITING LOL!??? IF IT IS U SGOP! I A M TRIEING TO SEE IF I SHOULD BUY & U KEEP SAYING LOL! SO STOP!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    THINK I WILL LIKE IT

    looks like i'll like it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Inspirattional

    Being a mom of three kids, i felt this book broight me peace. Until the dog in the story ate the main character! Now she is scared gor life! It also hes many inipropriate seens. Over all i give it a 3 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Cute book

    Some of these stories are pretty amusing, and empowering for young girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Abby i like the Ave from c

    I like the secod one better than this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining

    The book was free so if you don't enjoy it you won't be out of any money.
    It wasn't very long but I did find it entertaining. Would read again and I will keep an eye out for book 2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    good

    I have not read the book but my 10 year old has and she says she likes it. She is really good about telling me when she doesn't like a book and she says this one is not bad, she likes it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Okay Stories

    I thought Girls to the Rescue was a cute little book, and for the most part the stories were engaging; however, I don't think that deceitfulness should be viewed as courageous or clever, such as in The Royal Joust. I think that sends the wrong message. Not a bad book for a freebie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Okayishgood

    It is a good book to read when you are bored and have nothing to do. I have read a lot better books but thisis better than some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    FAIR

    Not+the+best+book+ever+but+some+creativity+in+it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Ok

    It was fine wasnt special i sure didnt pick this book but since there was nothing else to read i guess it was good...ish. i cinda wanted the first story to not have included cinderellaa but hey! if u like fairytales then this is the book for u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    fun to read on a rainy day

    this book is fun for children and adults. I found it more a of a book to read when there's nothing else to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    an ok short read-however not very exiting

    Yes, this book is about fairytails of girls doing the clever and corageous. Some of them are good and have very nice life lessons...
    however, it isn't a very exiting book. it isn't written quite so good that you are sucked into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8