BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Give Me a Break

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Easy Read but Full of Info

    I'm curious what 'verifiable facts' Stossel is ignoring. Regardless of your view point, the book certainly raises some interesting issues. Should Donald Trump be able to evict a widowed lady so he can expand his casino? Should rich folks get their beach front properties subsidized by government? Why is it that even raising such questions could be so controversial? This is a must read, and it's easy, quick and entertaining to get through as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    Finally an unbiased viewpoint

    Unlike the other bestsellers, this one is based on truths and real experience. His conclusions may be not potlitically correct and eye opening at times. But the author never fails to tell you how he reached them. He doesn't use bumper slogans and spin to make you think the way he wants you to. I am getting tired of those books that try to persuade me with conjecture and half truths. A must read for all, Thanks John.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    John is right

    John is right. It is too bad the politicians in Washington have not learned how to read. If they read this book, maybe, just maybe, they would realize how stupid they have been over the past fifty years. They have mad a mess out our country and John exposes them. Great job John!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Reommended

    John Stossel is an advocate who will open your eyes to government fraud waste and abuse. This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    Great book for the libertarian minded

    I loved how Stossel presented problems and solutions in this book. He has lots of really good points and will challenge both the left and right leaning readers. If you have any kind of an open mind read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Common Sense

    "Give Me a Break" is fantastic! Mr. Stossel is a quality reporter who exercises integrity, consistency, and common sense to respond to difficult social and economic issues. All of these qualities are reflected in this book. I appreciated the honest tone and supporting evidence to each section and the connection to Mr. Stossel's past ABC specials. By visiting YouTube, you can watch his specials as they relate to the content of the book, which provides a fantastic visual guide. I highly recommend this book to lovers of economic liberty and personal freedom!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2009

    Great Book with Great Facts & Research

    Very engaging and intellectually stimulating book with great research to back up why so many things taken as conventional wisdom are incorrect. Everyone should read this book once before interpreting information broadcast by the mainstream media as fact. It's also a telling personal tale of the inner working of journalism with personal anecdotes scattered among the intellectual and factual points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For a different perspective

    As a long time viewer of Mr. Stossel"s, I wanted to read his book. I like his expose style. However he is does not fully inform readers, e.g. the hot coffee at McDonalds case. Looking into the case reveals that McDonald's refused to go to court forced mediation, have settled 700 times for the same hot coffee, reexamine their standards for their coffee (served at 195-205 degrees F.) or inspect the machine in question. I disagree that the economy and market take care of themselves at all times. And that government agencies are unnecessary. They are usually ineffective, but there was a time that labor was exploited (e.g. wages, child labor, long hours, harassment...). A time when "chicken soup" didn't have to be chicken. It could be rat, dog, cat or anything! There was no regulation or enforcement. I like his views on government staying out of peoples lives. Jabs at Ralph Nader are enlightening. Unique in his journalism, Stossel tackles the ridiculous yet legitimacy our country has to offer - the Americans with Disabilities Act, asbestos scares, the war on drugs, assisted suicide and many more. It seems Bill O' Reilly endorses this book. I never thought I would read such a book. Worth checking out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    All time Great

    It was an amazing book and John Stossel told the media how the cow ate the cabbage and his politcal philosphy is mine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Give me a break from reading this garbage!

    Stossel is a big liberertarian. Keep that in mind when you read this crap!!! He is a master spin doctor & master of sophistry a la Rush 'pig boy' Limbaugh. He takes an ounce of truth & warps it into a down right lie. There are too many lies to list but for example, he does not believe in road rage, despite studies showing it is in fact, on the rise. Like scumbag Tom DeLay & fellow neocons, wacko Stossel thinks 3rd world sweatshops are FINE! I would like to see him work in one: THAT WOULD BE GREAT! He also thinks gas is dirt cheap right now(Maybe for him! He's rich!) Bottom line: If you want the truth, take this bozo with a grain of salt & don't waste your time reading his dumb book! Just like that other wack job Bill O'Riley, Stossel acts like he's looking out for you when in REALITY he is only looking out for his GREEDY, ARROGANT SELF!!!!!! It is also apparant, he sides with the BIG CORPORATIONS & doesn't give a rat's rear about the little guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    Stossel talking about Stossel

    I found this book highly dissapointing...at first when I started hearing his various confrontations, I was intrigued, but as the book went on, nothing changed, and it got old quick. John Stossel just attempted to further his career by making himself look to dang good in this book. He left alot of things unanswered, and had some very biased opinions. I dont see how anyone but John Stossel could enjoy reading this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Not a very good book

    This book is about a reporter from ABC that exposes scam artists on television and explains how he does it and how he finds his information. When I first started reading this book I really got into it and didn't want to put it down. I thought it was interesting how many people get scammed every day, and what things they get scammed out of. About halfway through the book, however, I stopped liking it because he seemed to be complaining about the scam artists and other government actions that scam the people in the U.S. instead of telling about his stories of exposing them. I got sick of the whining and was barely able to finish the book. This book is recommended for people interested in learning about journalism and people who are interested about things not very known that happen in our country every day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    Give this Book a Chance

    Everyone should read this book. I don't completely agree with Stossel on social issues, but I'm with him %100 when it comes to economics, and while some his arguments should be painfully obvious, I had never thought about many of the points he makes. He also writes with a simplicity and a sense of humor that really keep you interested. Once again, everyone should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2005

    Very Good Book

    I had reservations about Stossel before I read this book. After reading this book, I found that his arguments make common sense. This book is for everybody regardless of whether you are conservative or liberal. His book is simple to read and very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Give Me A Break! How I Went from Exposing Hucksters to Becoming One

    Stossel is controversial for a reason. He says inflamatory things that don't neccessarily make sense. His book displays a very poor understanding of the actual operations and functions of the markets which he believes can solve every problem. His assertation that the FAA caused 9/11 is a prime example. Airline security was performed by markets prior to September 11th, which, if Stossel's blind faith in markets (which he has a very rudimentary and non-nuanced understanding of), would never have happened, because market efficiency would have led the market to impregnable airport security. If you want to really understand how markets work, where they are appropriate and what they will never work for, read something by Dr. Porter of Harvard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    A well written book

    I really liked this book. It was fair, provided many examples, and it opened my eyes to things I wasn't aware of. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Must read for college freshman

    This book really underscored how well intentioned policies can go wrong.He articulated just how deep and corrupt the field of law has become.He has taken a factual approach to emotional issues.Life expectancy has steadily gone up this past century.Certain people are still convinced in the face of this fact that we are worse off than before. As a businessman for over 20 years I could relate to the insane rules and regulations that have come about the last 6-7 years.I wish someone in govt will push for the adoption of 'loser pays' in litagation cases.Our court system would finally hear cases with merit, instead of all the frivoulous garbage it is burdened with at present.I agree with him, most lawyers are voracious parasites.60 years ago the insides of many warships were covered in asbestos to prevent ships from burning when hit with missles or torpedoes.How many lives to you think were saved from asbestos.He makes many great insights about our present societal trends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Stossel has great points but needs help with writing

    Mr. Stossel stresses several good points throughout his book but it is hard to keep track of all of his points with back and forth writing. I was not pleased with this style but everything else was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2004

    Required Reading for Citizens of 'Free' Societies

    The book starts kind of slow while Stossel lays the background of his career. As the book progresses you find yourself looking at the issues that affect our culture from both sides... as Stossel's own views have changed based upon the research and interviews that he delivers in every short, readable section. You will love how Stossel's confrontational journalism is presented to you... the most interesting and telling parts of each of his television specials. Best of all, his careful analyses of 'unintended consequences', which appear throughout the book will make you glad you bought the book. You will wonder what society would be like if everyone would at least consider the ideas that Stossel carefully presents. Btw... there are no sacred cows or protected institutions in this book... right and left are likely to both be offended... that is, if diverse and carefully thought out, alternate viewpoints are offensive to them. Hooray for Stossel. Thanks for writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Give Me a Break - from John Stossel!

    John Stossel is known for his aversion to the truth whenever it suits him. Over and over again he tries to pass off his rants as valid commentary on American society, yet shows a distinct aversion to basic, verifiable facts. He takes himself much too seriously, but does not extend this serious attitude to the outrages he 'exposes'. What he exposes is his own cavalier overreliance on sweeping generalizations and bogus statistics. For one who likes to play the part of the champion who can sniff out even the slightest fraud, he curiously commits enough of it himself...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2