Customer Reviews for

The Given Day

Average Rating 4
( 241 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Lehane is a master....

Stepping away from the familiar, Lehane takes us back to 1900s Boston. Other reviewers have given loads of info. All I will say is, you won't be dissappointed. Loved it from first page to last and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a historical but readable novel...
Stepping away from the familiar, Lehane takes us back to 1900s Boston. Other reviewers have given loads of info. All I will say is, you won't be dissappointed. Loved it from first page to last and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a historical but readable novel. This one should go to the top.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

M

Thanks to harriet klausner and the other long winded plot spoilers here is another book ruined. I am curious as to why these rude ppl think they have to give away every detail of a book? That is not a review, it us a book report, a dissertation, a cliff note wanna be. B...
Thanks to harriet klausner and the other long winded plot spoilers here is another book ruined. I am curious as to why these rude ppl think they have to give away every detail of a book? That is not a review, it us a book report, a dissertation, a cliff note wanna be. Bn, you r losing sales to these hateful ppl. But i guess you dont care.

posted by 8888649 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    OK for $1.99

    Had never read Lehane before. This doesn't make me rush to buy another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Love

    I love this game so much! The graphics are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This version of Angrey Bird is the best yet! My favorite color is dinosour and i can count to purple! Potatoe you later!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Review of "The Given Day" by Dennis Lehane

    Dennis Lehane is a very good writer whose characters are believable and well defined.
    He choses topics that engage your immediate interest and weaves compelling plots
    that hold you from start to finish.
    "The Given Day" is a great read while offering a history lesson about the horrendous
    working conditions faced by workers in America before labor reforms and unions.
    He uses the deplorable plight of the Boston Police as a vehicle to outrage us and he sent me to the internet to read even more about.
    This book explores race relations,and even works in a little baseball as a metaphor
    for the change to come. It even gives a heart-breaking account of the effect that the
    1918 flu epidemic had on Boston while at the same time giving a hint of why there was such a red scare in the 1950's.
    Buy the book! You won't regret it. Read it before they make it into a movie.
    By,NafNF

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    I give it a B +

    A fine portrait of Boston in the 1915 - 1925 (roughly) era. The first part of the book deals really well with Babe Ruth getting himself in a game against some African American baseball players. I'm not a big baseball fan myself, but this was one of the best parts of the book. We get into the meat of the book, and follow two main protagonists. Danny is a Irish Boston policeman being drawn into the police forces struggles to unionize, and Luther is an African American (he's in the baseball game) who goes from Ohio, to Tulsa Oklahoma, and then has to flee to Boston, where he ends up getting a job working in Danny's father's house as a servant. The characters in this book from the main one's on down are really well portrayed. If I had a problem, it was maybe that there are too many big events / adventures. I might of liked to have a little more of the focus on the little things in the life of Bostonians of this era. Overall it's not a Classic, but it's a really good book that is worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    Good story teaches about and interesting time

    Good story and characters tell about an interesting time in American history (post World War I) in Boston and the dominant political themes of the time. Real life characters are woven into the fictional account about issues such as labor unrest,race relaions, terrorism, and even baseball. My only criticism is that the violence depicted in the book was a little over the top and really not necessary. In the final analysis an exceelent book about the development of urban America in modern times and the growing pains it endured.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    We did not need another "Ragtime"

    Lehane is one of my favorites. But this effort is not even close to the tense atmosphere and believable characters of Mystic River, still his masterwork. This book has wooden characters, strained and unbelievable links to Babe Ruth, Samuel Gompers, Calvin Coolidge and historical events. Please go back to what you know and do well, Lehane.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Given Day

    While I enjoyed the change of era, early 1900's, it was difficult to identify w/any of the characters. Also, it is a very long read and the climax comes very near the end. I did enjoy the fact that given the times there was an open and socially unacceptable relationship between a negro, a white woman and her lover, the main character. It demonstrated that not all people felt the need to keep the races seperated. I thought that was rather fascinating. This is my first read of Lehane and I would have difficulty reccomending this book due to how long the book is. So, if you have the time, give it a shot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2015

    An excellent picture of life in Boston after WWI.  The Boston Br

    An excellent picture of life in Boston after WWI.  The Boston Brahmins rule while the Irish, Italians and Blacks scrape and claw their way up the social ladder.  The minorities are treated like expendable, easily replaceable chattel.  Some of the Irish inch their way to the grand table through graft and corruption, others by trying to organize against all-powerful employers.  The impoverished Italians prefer anarchy while the Blacks serve the whites and detest them.  
    The book is disturbing at times but so well-written the reader will get to the end and look for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Wonderful

    I loved this book. It is my favorite work of Lehanes now. I feel as tho he has reached a new level of writing. His prose was the best ever. The srorys characters draw you in and you care so much what happens to them.They feel real. I am still thinking of this book a week later after i have rrad four other books. Definately recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Not a keeper so borrow or read sample first

    Find these two families sagas boring and era not a favorite fiction one as seen in every other novel lately. must have some empthy with characters and just didnt however this is a form liked by many and can also be considered a recent historical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    1

    2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    DULL

    I hate to say anything bad about Mr Lehanes work but this was like watching paint dry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    Excellent read!  Dennis Lehane never fails to write a detailed a

    Excellent read!  Dennis Lehane never fails to write a detailed and exciting story.  Now reading Live by Night the 
    sequel to this one and it is just as good as the first.  Love these books by Lehane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    I've read all of Mr. Lehane's books. This is my favorite.

    I've read all of Mr. Lehane's books. This is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Good.

    What a storyteller this author is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Good

    Very well written. A truly enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Forced mysdlf 1/# Forced myself 1/2 way

    Too many other things i want to read to waste more time on this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great book, definitely recommend reading it!

    I enjoyed reading every page of this book as I was on the edge of my seat. I really loved the story and characters. This is a must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Very good historical novel

    The story centers around the Boston police strike of 1919, about which I was totally ignorant. From the little research that I've done, subsequently, it's accurate. (Especally interesting is the role of Governor Calvin Coolidge.) It also deals with the racial situation, in this country, at that time. Seems to be accurate on that subject, as well. From time-to-time, Babe Ruth passes through the story, and I'm very curious to know how accurate are the thoughts that are attributed to him. Hard to verify that. For a good view of the United States, in 1919, a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Great read - especially for the price

    A lot to be learned from this book - a time we seem to neglect far too much in American history - although fiction, it is full of factual information concering that era in America

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13