BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Given Day: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Lehane is a master....

Stepping away from the familiar, Lehane takes us back to 1900s Boston. Other reviewers have given loads of info. All I will say is, you won't be dissappointed. Loved it from first page to last and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a historical but readable novel...
Stepping away from the familiar, Lehane takes us back to 1900s Boston. Other reviewers have given loads of info. All I will say is, you won't be dissappointed. Loved it from first page to last and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a historical but readable novel. This one should go to the top.

posted by Anonymous on September 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

M

Thanks to harriet klausner and the other long winded plot spoilers here is another book ruined. I am curious as to why these rude ppl think they have to give away every detail of a book? That is not a review, it us a book report, a dissertation, a cliff note wanna be. B...
Thanks to harriet klausner and the other long winded plot spoilers here is another book ruined. I am curious as to why these rude ppl think they have to give away every detail of a book? That is not a review, it us a book report, a dissertation, a cliff note wanna be. Bn, you r losing sales to these hateful ppl. But i guess you dont care.

posted by 8888649 on December 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    I give it a B +

    A fine portrait of Boston in the 1915 - 1925 (roughly) era. The first part of the book deals really well with Babe Ruth getting himself in a game against some African American baseball players. I'm not a big baseball fan myself, but this was one of the best parts of the book. We get into the meat of the book, and follow two main protagonists. Danny is a Irish Boston policeman being drawn into the police forces struggles to unionize, and Luther is an African American (he's in the baseball game) who goes from Ohio, to Tulsa Oklahoma, and then has to flee to Boston, where he ends up getting a job working in Danny's father's house as a servant. The characters in this book from the main one's on down are really well portrayed. If I had a problem, it was maybe that there are too many big events / adventures. I might of liked to have a little more of the focus on the little things in the life of Bostonians of this era. Overall it's not a Classic, but it's a really good book that is worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Given Day

    While I enjoyed the change of era, early 1900's, it was difficult to identify w/any of the characters. Also, it is a very long read and the climax comes very near the end. I did enjoy the fact that given the times there was an open and socially unacceptable relationship between a negro, a white woman and her lover, the main character. It demonstrated that not all people felt the need to keep the races seperated. I thought that was rather fascinating. This is my first read of Lehane and I would have difficulty reccomending this book due to how long the book is. So, if you have the time, give it a shot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Not a keeper so borrow or read sample first

    Find these two families sagas boring and era not a favorite fiction one as seen in every other novel lately. must have some empthy with characters and just didnt however this is a form liked by many and can also be considered a recent historical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Long but worth it

    Very ambitious work. The writing is very comprehensible for the average reader to digest-not dense or rambling. I'm not sure if the story is epic enough to justify its length. One objection I have is the excessive profanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    Lehane fans will enjoy

    This is a solid effort by Lehane to venture into new territory. Like others here, I am a huge fan of his Kenzie and Gennaro series, and was unsure about giving this one a try. Sometimes it seems that authors totally misstep when they try something new, but he did a good job. The main issue is that the book is about 200 pages too long. I think he tried too hard to connect the dots between all the characters and I just tired of it by 2/3 of the way through. However, the plot is strong, the characters are well-rounded, and it's just dark enough to keep you turning the page. Lehane fans will really like it, fans of historical fiction will like it but not love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Good

    Thisbook seems like it would be a good book but at the same time it seems boring but i have just read what the aurther put and i think im going to get the free sample and read it and then i will be alble to tell a little more if its going to be amazing or boring :) for amazing :( for boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Qwertyuiopasdfghjklzxcvbnm.

    .mnbvcxzlkjhgfdsapoiuytrewQ

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2