Customer Reviews for

The Giver (Illustrated Gift Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4452 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2792)

4 Star

(865)

3 Star

(399)

2 Star

(160)

1 Star

(236)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

221 out of 239 people found this review helpful.

One of my Faves

I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your care...
I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your career, society and think of things in a different perspective. the writing is superb and you get sucked in from the very beginning. it's a page turner, even after having read it many times before. as i mentioned in the title, it's one of my favorite books of all time. i highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read something that makes them think. A must read for everyone!

posted by stephj on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Thank you Lois...

The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came toge...
The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came together like a puzzle, and I could comprehend it.
I do not recommend this book for anyone below thirteen. It has very disturbing points that the main character, Jonas, must go through. He must test his courage, strength, and heart in this story. These events cause unbelievable tension and terror, but, to a teenager or adult, this book would be a very good read.
I believe The Giver shows us what we could do to ourselves in the future. We want to fit in so badly, that ┬┐Sameness┬┐ could become a real thing. It teaches us that our individuality is dangerous, but, at the same time, it allows us who we are. In the end, I did enjoy the novel and recommend it to my fellow readers. It was well written and was written to provide shocking moments for the reader.

posted by 974407 on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4463 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 224
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    So good

    Definitely need to read

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Ok. My whole english class read this and finished about 2 or 3 m

    Ok. My whole english class read this and finished about 2 or 3 months ago. I just haven't forgotten about this book. I absolutely LOVED this book, and tell everybody that asks that this is the best book that i have EVER read! I just appreciate this book so much, that it can't ever be put into words. Also, if you liked this book, i recommend reading the Gone series, by Michael Grant. It is also an amazing dystopian series and has a thrilling, mysterious, and suspenseful plot. It's the kind of book that you read in public and get embarrassed for smiling about.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    The book is boring and slow. Some things in it was dumb. We read

    The book is boring and slow. Some things in it was dumb. We read it for 7th grade and I hated it.

    6 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Horrid

    This book was so boring and no action occured. It was boring beginning middle and end. You dont need to focus or use imagination at all because nothing ever happens that you really have to try and figure out. It is way to predictable. And even if you like simple books dont read this one. It is long and boring!

    6 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Uh

    This book is really boring and slow. I had to read it for seventh grade and hated every minute of it

    6 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    The giver

    It wont let me read it. I have heard its fantastic but it annoys me. Its just blank on the first page. Does anyone know why?

    Please dont say this wasnt helpful. I wasnt TRYING to help i was just ASKING for help.

    5 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Giver

    This book peeks into the boring life of Jonas, ayoung boy in a dystopian world. This book is the reason that I no longer read dystopian tales. It starts out boring in the begining then there is the smallest amount of excitement. In the end he runs away with a toddler and you don't know if theymakeor don't, condeming both to death. This is not a book I would reccomend.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Imagine

    Jonas lives in a world without choice. As he becomes a twelve, he gets selected as retriever of memory. He then learns about choice, color, grandparents, etc, because the giver gives him the memories. He then finds out that a baby, gabriel, who' s living with them temporarily living with them is going to be released, killed. He then steals his fathers bicycle, and takes gabriel with him. They ride for days until jonas reaches a sled on a hill, which he remembers in a memory the giver gave him. He then rides down the hill into a world of color and joy. This is my favorite book. Read it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Awsome book

    This book is the best my daughter is 8 a LOVES this book , but is mad they rated it 4 stars please do 5!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    G

    This deserved the newberry stuff. It kept me reading unil the last page a clif hanger. Bring on
    the new forth book to nook

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Obviously a text recommended, required, and/or read by students

    Obviously a text recommended, required, and/or read by students all over the world, I managed to avoid reading this book for almost 28 years! It was a great read! I get it. I totally understand why so many people push students especially to read this book. I just hated the ending. The conscious decision Lowry made to avoid establishing a clear, finite ending to the story slightly frustrates me more than it intrigues meLois Lowry's The Giver has collected a variety of awards since its 1993 publication; in fact, The Newberry Medal is prominently displayed on Gift Editions of the title. However, as is often the case with award winning books, this one garners much controversy, falling, too, on the American Library Associations's most challenged list. Aimed at an approximately sixth-grade demographic, The Giver opens as a Utopia but soon reveals itself to be a dystopia instead.




    Well crafted enough to hold an adult's attention, Lowry's premise of sameness is shocking when inevitable conclusions are reached within the safe, rule-ridden society. Though the community has little variation, the text is vividly descriptive, and readers soon know that this is a colorless world. Life is simple here. So simple that there are no choices to be made by individuals, for it is the community, not the person that holds importance. In this culture, to be too different is to be released into, well, nobody knows into what! Most don't even understand what the term means. When Jonas discovers that choices could be made if things were different and the true meaning of "release," he must take action.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    With such high honors and great reviews I assumed it would be a

    With such high honors and great reviews I assumed it would be a wonderful story. No. It held my attention and I read with expectations it would lead to something profound and wonderful. Instead it stopped with no ending whatsoever. It is as if the author had no idea what to write next so just stopped. I was left feeling very disappointed. A great beginning and middle and no conclusion.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Best Book EVER!

    I am reading it during school and it is the best book ever. We are going to do a big project on it too. The book will help you understand the meaning of life. As you read this, you will discover what is really important to you. Not only that, it gives you so much love and you will be anxious for more. There is the movie coming out in the summer! The author is amazing and no matter how old or young you are, I promise that you will finish this book faster than anybook you ever read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Best book ever!!!!

    I started reading the fiver becaus of school but khow this is my favorite book of all time , i EXTREMLY recommend it

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I love this book

    This is the most suspensful book I've ever read. It is great for younge adults. I hate reading but I fould this book interesting and enjoyable!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Great read

    I read this book for class. At first, the old man on the cover convinced me that this was a boring and old book. After the first chapter, I immediatly wanted to read on and continued reading until I finished the book. Very good!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    The Giver Is a book about a boy named Jonas that lives in a fi

    The Giver Is a book about a boy named Jonas that lives in a fixed society. Where things like emotion, war, and racism do not exist.
    Everything in this society is already planned out. The people living in the community are not given a choice. They are not even allowed to choose their own spouse or job. I recommend this novel simply because it is an interesting book that makes you think about your own lifestyle and choices. Lois Lowry did an outstanding job writing this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I HATED THIS BOOK!

    Do not buy this book! So sad and so not worth $5.00. SO if you want a GOOD book check out anything but this. It will just make sad.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    A haunting tale of morals and life in the eyes of a child. A nessesity for everyone to read at one point in their lives.

    I appologis preahead of time for spelling errors and improper grammer. This book is interesting on many levels. It is a dystopian society themed novel. I personally enjoyed the book even though many individuals had to read it for school and ended up disliking the book. The novel touches on many of the flaws of the "community" which is the setting and the flaws of the modern world. I found that many people would find the book boring or even uneventful, but I thought that for such a short novel it made me think more than I ever have in my life about the worlds future societies and past ones and how a perfect utopian soceity is an impossible without sacrifices that would affect everyone. The simplicity of the novel ignites the mind to imagine and reach a better understanding of the world and the effect that humans will and have had on this planet. The main characters age was a wise choice on the authors part because it reveals the injustice of the world and in a strange way lightens the very dark plot. I understand that many others who have read the book disliked it or even hated it, afterall the book is difficult to grasp and the concepts overwelming. Many of the events of the book are disterbing and unsettling and I do not recomend the book to children or the emotionaly immature, but i do reccomend that the people who disliked and especially loath or hate the novel to reread it with a open mind and accept it for what it is. The book in my oppinion is a lesson to the people the modern and future world almost like a history lecture but for what to avoid in the future and to understand that individuality is important but is also preventing the utopian society that many crave. The crave for a utopia is dipicted in the real world with conuismthat everything is equal. That would end in disaster due to the fact that certian people require and need more than other leading to inequality and possibly warfare. Once a again i prompt that the readers who disliked the book for what ever reasons negitive or out right trivial to reread it when they feel its right and immersthemselves into the world of The Giver and learn that this book should be read by everyone multiple times if nessisary. The siplicity of the plot and setting reveals a darker plot that i think that people tend to miss and an even darker message to us the reader from the author that something is seriously wrong with the world that we live in and the possible future she has depicted to us in this short novel. It is a wonderful read bound to leave you with questions and an urge for change in our world

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Very Confusing...

    I am reading this in ELA (Sixth Grade) and am so confused! This book is definately not suitable for my age. Some of the content is not appropriate for sixth and even seventh graders. Also, as mentioned above, it is very confusing. There are a lot of important details the author keeps from you until the end, and even then, they are hazy. I personally hate that. You never know anything that's going on in detail at least. You don't meet the charecters or know the setting untill at earliest the third chapter. In oposition, the aurhor goes into depth about things absoluteley meaningless to the story. She spends a whole page talking about light-colored eyes and never mentions their significance! As well as the issues above, the ending is a big part of my complaints for "The Giver". It is not complete. You must make infreneces to what happens. I at least like to know how the story ends. I don't feel like I do in this story. Overall, I would never recommend this book to anyone. The contex is insanely difficult to understand, the important details are shady, the unnecissary details are pointed out repeatedly, and there is not a complete ending. If you know what's good and wholesome reading, you will NOT read The Giver.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 4463 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 224