Customer Reviews for

The Giver

Average Rating 4.5
( 4293 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2691)

4 Star

(831)

3 Star

(391)

2 Star

(154)

1 Star

(226)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

197 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

One of my Faves

I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your care...
I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your career, society and think of things in a different perspective. the writing is superb and you get sucked in from the very beginning. it's a page turner, even after having read it many times before. as i mentioned in the title, it's one of my favorite books of all time. i highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read something that makes them think. A must read for everyone!

posted by stephj on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

55 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Thank you Lois...

The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came toge...
The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came together like a puzzle, and I could comprehend it.
I do not recommend this book for anyone below thirteen. It has very disturbing points that the main character, Jonas, must go through. He must test his courage, strength, and heart in this story. These events cause unbelievable tension and terror, but, to a teenager or adult, this book would be a very good read.
I believe The Giver shows us what we could do to ourselves in the future. We want to fit in so badly, that ┬┐Sameness┬┐ could become a real thing. It teaches us that our individuality is dangerous, but, at the same time, it allows us who we are. In the end, I did enjoy the novel and recommend it to my fellow readers. It was well written and was written to provide shocking moments for the reader.

posted by 974407 on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4304 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 216
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    One of my Faves

    I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your career, society and think of things in a different perspective. the writing is superb and you get sucked in from the very beginning. it's a page turner, even after having read it many times before. as i mentioned in the title, it's one of my favorite books of all time. i highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read something that makes them think. A must read for everyone!

    197 out of 214 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    A must read!

    The Giver is a fantastic novel well deserving of the Newberry Award. It is the story of a post apocalyptic world that on the surface is perfect. Everyone has a job and a meaningful purpose, there is no crime, no poverty, no hunger. All of the problems of our current world are no more. But things aren't as perfect they seem. In this world you are given your job assigned to you by the Elders during the ceremony of twelves. It is during this ceremony that Jonas is given the job of the Receiver, the most honored job in the community. Being given memories of a much different world by the Giver, Jonas begins to question the perfection of the community and it is here that the story begins to unfold. Angered and confused by his imperfect and very intriguing past, Jonas must save himself and his community from the fantasy life that has been thrust upon them.

    I love this book for the simple fact that it poses questions that we never think about. What freedoms would give up if to have a perfect society? How important is individualism? What is the most valuable gift in life? Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down. I kept reading to find out what Jonas was going to do but I won't spoil the ending for you. You'll just have to read to find out.

    If you're into wizards or galactic star fights this isn't the book for you. But if you enjoy a thought provoking book full of profound questions then this is the novel for you.

    109 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    Thank you Lois...

    The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came together like a puzzle, and I could comprehend it.<BR/>I do not recommend this book for anyone below thirteen. It has very disturbing points that the main character, Jonas, must go through. He must test his courage, strength, and heart in this story. These events cause unbelievable tension and terror, but, to a teenager or adult, this book would be a very good read. <BR/>I believe The Giver shows us what we could do to ourselves in the future. We want to fit in so badly, that ¿Sameness¿ could become a real thing. It teaches us that our individuality is dangerous, but, at the same time, it allows us who we are. In the end, I did enjoy the novel and recommend it to my fellow readers. It was well written and was written to provide shocking moments for the reader.

    55 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE

    I absolutely love dystopian literature and this book didn't disappoint! And although many don't like the ending, I thought it was really good. You should buy it because it's one of those books you can just read over and over again.<BR/>Enjoy!

    42 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    GREAT BOOK

    When I first heard of this book I thought that it wasn't going to be good, but I was wrong. This was a really great book and Lois Lowry has outdone herself and i thank her for writing this good book. Jonas, as a 12 year old has had a great responsibility put on him. At first he thinks it is too much to bare but as he goes on and gets more educated he realizes that it's an honor not a privilage. If you want to have one of the best reads of your life you should get this book, it can be found in any god bookstore.

    32 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Amazing book

    This book is one of the best i have every read. From the very beginning it pulls you in and kepps you there. Its never boring and uses great detail. The compasson that this story shows is intence and surreal. I have read this book over and over again since middle school, it never gets old though. An amazin read for anybody who wants a good book.

    25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Unusual but great.

    The world in this book was completely different from what the world actually is. There was a few stuff I did not want to know that went on in that world because it was too sad. Especially this part about the twin babies, I had tear during that part, it was unbelievable. This book made me keep thinking about the modern world..

    22 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    The Giver.

    The Giver is a fascinating book,it always brought up discussion. It was pretty challenging to put all the pieces of the book together,but once I got them together it was awesome.Jonas was a perfect character for the book.It was pretty sad,once you understood what released meant. It was kind of a confusing book,and you have to use your imagination to comprehend most of it.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    Th Giver

    The book was good but I like a book with a lot of action. This book to me was very plain. I do like the idea that the town was controlled because it gives the book meaning. It wasn't a book that I would want to read a second time because it doesn't have a reason to read it a second time. My whole class read this book so there are different oppinions on the book. All in all this is not a book that I would show to my freinds.

    19 out of 95 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book

    I read this book in 7th grade with my class.It's a really good book!

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Very confusing

    I had to chose a book foor summer reading and this wa one o the options but the first few pages were so confusing so my mom said keep going but i could not it was so boring. Do not read if you do not want to be confused

    10 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Love this book!

    When I was in fifth grade my teacher recomend I read this book over the weekend since I was such a bookworm. I refused. Instead I took a H.P. book. But later that year we had reading groups. And I picked the group that was reading The Giver. I was put into that group and when we finished reading The Giver I was in love with it. I soon found myself in the library checking the sequals out. I was also recomending it to everyone in the library looking for a good book. I just LOVE this book and the books following it. A must read!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Review for THE GIVER.

    The Giver by Lois Lowry is an extraordinary novel in which the author really makes you turn on your creative side. Everybody lives in a perfect community, where everything is planned for you, no painstaking decisions required. Hardly anybody in the society ever gets hurt, emotionally, socially, or physically. This is untrue for one boy, Jonas, where he isn¿t given the choice, but to take the most difficult and sacrificing job. As you go on through the novel, you will find unbearable feelings of sadness, nonstop laughter, and a hint of confusion.<BR/><BR/> The characters in this book are full of life and have distinct personalities, making the book merely impossible to set down. The setting caries greatly, even though I feel that the author didn¿t describe the settings enough; you¿re only given a vague view. I tend to get the feeling that Lowry doesn¿t explain enough in the book. You often find yourself in wonder, ¿Why did Jonas do that?¿ Although, I do feel that Lois Lowry achieved her purpose for writing the book because it really made me consider about how fortunate I am.<BR/><BR/> There are many unexpected and unusual surprises in this paperback. All the surprises are equipped with individual, unique styles of writing an an even more unexpected conclusion. Even though, the book brings innocent laughter and history that every person should know about, I only suggest this book for people above the fifth grade.<BR/><BR/> Overall, this book was quite the read. After you begin reading this novel, until you finish it, there will be constant moments of wanting for the book. I would recommend this because it was an incredible telling of imagination, awe, and admiration. You¿ll want to track this novel down if you find humorous, slightly mysterious, surprising books at the least bit, thrilling.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    The Giver

    Overall this book was okay. I wasn't very interesting. I just couldn't focus on this book. I guess I would recommend it to my friends. They probably wouldn't like it though.

    7 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Overall this book has to be one of the best I have ever read. Th

    Overall this book has to be one of the best I have ever read. The concept of sameness and the constant fight that Jonas was putting up from the beginning to end keeps the reader interested the most. Also the fact that people that are living in the world of sameness didn&rsquo;t know any different and were taught to live this way since they were going true their ones, twos, threes&hellip;ect. Me personally I think that the captured my attention because of how it relates to how we live now. As humans it is in our nature to become like each other, for us to be equal to one another, but what we are missing in this constant struggle is that it is our differences that make us unique. And because of everyone being unique, it gives people the chance to make decisions for themselves on how they want to live their lives. After all, isn&rsquo;t that what makes me different from any other person in the world, the freedom to make my own decision on how to live my life?

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Bizarre read

    A bit bizarre in the beginning, but the book grew on me. Book can definitely bring about some interesting discussions and debates.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    The Giver

    Book Review Outline<BR/>Book title and author: The Giver By: Lois Lowry <BR/>Title of review: <BR/>Number of stars (1 to 5): *<BR/><BR/>Your final review<BR/>In the book The Giver, there is a little ¿strange¿ community. There are only a couple hundred people that live there. <BR/><BR/><BR/>Description and summary of main points<BR/> One of those people happens to be Jonas. Jonas has another sibling named Lucy. It is not his blood sister and his ¿parents¿ are not his biological parents either. In his community people have babies, and then the babies go to this place where these people called nurturers take care of them until they are able to be assigned parents. Jonas is scared of the upcoming December because he was going to be twelve. Jonas¿s father started taking care if another child named Gabriel. Jonas is assigned the receiver of memories which is a really important.<BR/><BR/> In my opinion, The Giver is a very confusing book. I would not like to live there, especially if I was a twin. (Which I am not!) One part that I did like was when Jonas gave Gabriel the memory of snow. The description was really good.<BR/><BR/>Conclusion-<BR/> Jonas and Gabriel escape to the wilderness. They traveled by night and slept by night. They made it to elsewhere.

    6 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I loved it

    I first read this book in the third grade of elementry school. It was a more advanced book but that only made it more exiting. I loved it; how it was put together, the society created by the author, it is an amazing book. I especially loved the ending. Anyone who has read it knows why.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    So good

    Definitely need to read

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    The book is boring and slow. Some things in it was dumb. We read

    The book is boring and slow. Some things in it was dumb. We read it for 7th grade and I hated it.

    5 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4304 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 216