Customer Reviews for

The Giver

Average Rating 4.5
( 4321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2706)

4 Star

(838)

3 Star

(392)

2 Star

(156)

1 Star

(229)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

207 out of 224 people found this review helpful.

One of my Faves

I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your care...
I read this book the first time in high school and have reread it a hundred times since. After losing my copy during a move, i decided I had to replace it. After reading it again, I remember why it's such an incredible story. it makes you question yourself, your career, society and think of things in a different perspective. the writing is superb and you get sucked in from the very beginning. it's a page turner, even after having read it many times before. as i mentioned in the title, it's one of my favorite books of all time. i highly recommend it to anyone who likes to read something that makes them think. A must read for everyone!

posted by stephj on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

Thank you Lois...

The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came toge...
The Giver was an interesting novel that gave off many emotions. Joy, anger, horror, anguish, love, and desire were just a few of the many emotions the reader will dig up during their read. I did not understand the book at first. However, in the end, everything came together like a puzzle, and I could comprehend it.
I do not recommend this book for anyone below thirteen. It has very disturbing points that the main character, Jonas, must go through. He must test his courage, strength, and heart in this story. These events cause unbelievable tension and terror, but, to a teenager or adult, this book would be a very good read.
I believe The Giver shows us what we could do to ourselves in the future. We want to fit in so badly, that ¿Sameness¿ could become a real thing. It teaches us that our individuality is dangerous, but, at the same time, it allows us who we are. In the end, I did enjoy the novel and recommend it to my fellow readers. It was well written and was written to provide shocking moments for the reader.

posted by 974407 on February 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    Th Giver

    The book was good but I like a book with a lot of action. This book to me was very plain. I do like the idea that the town was controlled because it gives the book meaning. It wasn't a book that I would want to read a second time because it doesn't have a reason to read it a second time. My whole class read this book so there are different oppinions on the book. All in all this is not a book that I would show to my freinds.

    19 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    The Giver

    The book The Giver, it is a really interesting book. It¿s kind of confusing in the beginning of the book, but once you start reading it then it¿s a really interesting book. The main idea of this book is that not everything in life is perfect; we all know that it would be a lot much easier but then what would be that point of living, if life was easy? Jonas he, is really scared for December to come, because they find out what there going to do for the rest of there life. Well, when December comes, and all the kids that are old enough go to this little place and they all get there names called but Jonas. So, finally they are talking about how important this next job is and they call Jonas¿s name, and he goes up there. Then they give him the job of being the Receiver of Memory. There previous receiver was released because she couldn¿t handle it, so they had to find another one and they said that he was responsible enough to be the Receiver of Memory. I think that the book did achieve its standards, because it¿s a really good book. The book was well thought and well written. It has some really good points for life in this book. If you read it then you will see life from a whole other dimension. At the end of the book they all realize that life is definitely not perfect, and there¿s a whole other life out there that not many people get to see, but if you have the opportunity then you should take it, because your not going to have that many offers in life to do that.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    no

    this book was just bad. period.

    2 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Well..............

    It is a great book....... as long as you don't mind (spoiler from here on out) the murdered elderly, twins, ill, and rule breakers. If you don't mind that and the fact they can't love, the babies are taken at birth, and a few other things it's great. Just peachy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Retarded

    This book i understand it but its just so annoying in a way and its really boring.... well unless you like old people stories. :)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    DId not live up to hype

    I found myself fast forwarding through parts of the book as it did not hold my interest that much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Wazzzzz uppppppppp

    Waz uppppp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    hummm-I am with the author

    Dont get all the hype-ok - FOR A SHORT STORY-MEANT FOR TEENS for sure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    You have got to be kidding.  8 bucks for 149 pages and 4 of them

    You have got to be kidding.  8 bucks for 149 pages and 4 of them are her "remembering her past"  this is the first time in my life that I could say "the movie was better"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    A kid's book.

    A kid's book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Fktwow to

    Tmlzctomdil

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Not impressed

    I had to read this book for school. That alone, for myself at least, makes me not like the book. It wasn't particularly entertaining and would not recomend it. Of course I am only 11 so if you are older you might find it more sutible. I am an avid reader and do read for fun, so do not think I didn't like it just because I must not like reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    The giver

    Not realy enterested in this book im mean it is ok (a good book and all) but im not so eager to read the boook becides im kinda confused,no efense (even know im not even realated to Lois Lowry) but what was you thinking what made you rlwrite this book that is my question and if i rated nine out of ten i would get this book a two or a three depending how deep i get in the book , thanks Lois Lowry for writeing this book (sarcastem)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Book

    It sucks and it is stupid but it keeps my brain going

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Help

    Someone with the book the giver please lend it to me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Bad

    I found this book, along with the rest of the series, to be very slow moving, confusing, and boring. It is one of my least favorite books and I would never reccomend it to anyone. I personally love distopia bokks, but not this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Can you really hold someone in a society, with no feelings, memo

    Can you really hold someone in a society, with no feelings, memories, or cares of what goes on around? Is it truly fair to hold someone captive? Everyone should have the option to either know nothing of pain or the horrors of the past. When you mess with someone’s mind without them knowing then you aren’t protecting them, you are keeping them from the reality of life. Everything is not perfect, so don’t give everyone the false knowing of the way things are. The experience of life and the changes that happen within it is what makes people who they truly are.In this book you learn about the difference of the way people may choose to live in some point and time. You will get to know some loving characters, such as Jonas the average 11 year old or so he thinks, Asher his partner in time, Lilly his little sister, Fiona his first love, and Gabriel is a little child that fell into Jonas life for what was supposed to be temporarily, but ended up to be long-term. Also it will feel as if your emotions are a rollercoaster as you experience the thrills and horrors that Jonas goes through. Some may be wonderful and full of delight and others may be nothing but sorrow, pain, and depression, which change your aspect on life entirely. Within this book I was rather not interested, but there were a few points that I truly felt deeply about. Like the Elders not allowing the people in the community to choose whether they want to feel the pain from the past just to know the love and compassion of the present and the future to come. Yes it would be nice for everyone to be treated equal, but just to get rid of a few character building things is not worth losing love. With pain and discomfort some people may die along the way, but that is not because of others, but because it was their destiny, they obviously weren’t meant to live on or they just weren’t strong enough to succeed. Another part that I strongly dislike is that when I child does not grow as expected or is a smaller twin then they are chosen to die. It’s not fair because not everyone matures the way or at the same pace, plus the smartest man in the world is a handicapped man that talks with a machine. With all that I have said I do believe this book was not very interesting, but very frustrating. Many things were not the perfect society but the most horrid, where everything is perfect and the same. I recommend The Giver to people who are into science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Hshzbsj

    Hi im cleo and i am 17 and i live in Salt Lake City, Utah. And im SINGLE and open to LONG DISTANCE relationships. Contact me at (546-7748)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Read this comment

    This book is stupid.Whats with all the jobs at twelve?Jonas wanting to bathe a girl.There are many questions in this world that cannot be answered like why is Nikki Minaj judging a talent show or why Justin Bieber is so dumb or why One Direction is so retarted.But one of the biggest questions is why are these kids taught not to lie.I know lying is bad but come on lying is essential to life.Everybody does it.Nobody can live without LYING.What does it mean to be released?What the heck do they do to you?Where do you go?Do they kill you?Do they feed and house you?I dont know

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    This Book is a must read , not by choice, for every middle schoo

    This Book is a must read , not by choice, for every middle school and high school student. I was required to read it 3 times during
    middle and high school. and I have no idea how everyone enjoys it so much. I detest it. However i do have to give major props because
    it does make you think about things. I do recommend this book for everyone because if you haven't read it you may love it you may hate it
    however it is impossible to know if you will like it or not just by what you normally read. I personally love books that make you think about 
    things the way this book does.... however I hated the book. I have a friend who loves Stephen King style of books and loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8