Customer Reviews for

Giving Chase

Average Rating 4
( 1090 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(497)

4 Star

(339)

3 Star

(151)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Series

Read this for free but get hooked enough to pay for the next three... great series... you won't want to put it down.

posted by MudFrog on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

So boring took to long to get to the point

posted by 8424094 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Horrible

    So boring took to long to get to the point

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    The plot premise was OK, but the execution was juvenile. It read

    The plot premise was OK, but the execution was juvenile. It read like something a middle schooler who knows nothing of courtship and love would write. The story direly needs a good editor. Maggie vacillated between being a blushing just-about-virgin to a party girl to an experienced “cougar” under the prim clothes. The supporting cast alternates between reasonably sophisticated and hokey caricatures of small-town country folk, spouting some of the corniest drivel I can remember reading. As someone mentioned, the over-use of ‘shug’ (as in the Southern endearment ‘sugar’) was an annoyance. But, perhaps because I’m not a Southerner, I wasn’t as sensitive to that, but I found the repeated use of ‘snort’ beyond ridiculous. I finally searched on the word. She used it 26 times – I felt as though I’d taken a wrong turn and ended up on a pig farm! “Maggie snorted”, “Maggie turned to snort”, "Kyle wisely kept his snort to himself”… what is with all the snorting??? Lauren hon, a word of advice, shug: Buy yourself a thesaurus! ::snort, snort:: Her mother and sister started out mean-spirited and shallow, but by the end were so over-the-top evil it defied belief. That Maggie didn’t end up huddled in a corner or a sociopath as a result of their treatment is completely unrealistic. She just snorted (what else?), held her head up and went about her life. I bought the entire series – now I regret it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I tried really hard to like this book, but I just couldn't. The

    I tried really hard to like this book, but I just couldn't. The characters were juvenile, and I felt like there were chunks of the story missing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Truly disappointing

    The characters, their relationships, and the plot were all underdeveloped and I felt as though I was reading an early draft or half written effort instead of a book by a woman whe work I had previously enjoyed. I loved her Brown Family series and was expecting a similar high level of plot and steamy scenes, instead this book is likely a solid 'R' rating, but no more. Often while reading this I wondered if I had accidentally shopped in the 'young adult' department based on the quality of writing and watered down nature of her (limited) sex scenes.

    I wish I had bought this book as a hard copy instead of as an e-book: I would have returned it (something I rarely do) because I was so disappointed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Stilted

    All the characters are so one dimensional. I skimmed a lot of this book. There was no real passion in the hero and heroine. Dont bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    cant finish it.....

    did a teenager write this, cuz the wording and storyline are so immature...i cant even finish it. wont be reading the rest of the series. Maybe they can get a talented ADULT to write for ms. dane....give it up dane!! one star for gay waiter in the bar,the only real character in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    horrible

    could not get into this book, hard to like the characters and felt the writing was very simple......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    Worst Dialog of All Time

    I read a lot and some pretty bad books at that, but this was the worst dialog I had ever read. I have read 200 pages, and I only got that far since I could not believe that a book this bad would have been published.

    Bad dialog and the book was just plain boring. I don't know how this book got 4 stars, the only explanation that I can think of is all the reviewer have never read anything even remotely good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Forget it

    Stupid, waste of time. Delete!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Not for me

    Too many graphic words would not choose this author again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3