Customer Reviews for

The Giving Tree (50th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 294 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(235)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

The greatness of the tree

This book 'THE GIVING TREE' by Shel Silverstein is a great book to read to children. It is a sad story but the lesson that it teaches is really valuable. This story speaks about the unconditional love the tree had towards the boy.When the boy was little he would gather ...
This book 'THE GIVING TREE' by Shel Silverstein is a great book to read to children. It is a sad story but the lesson that it teaches is really valuable. This story speaks about the unconditional love the tree had towards the boy.When the boy was little he would gather the leaves, climb up on her trunk and swing from her branches. She would let him eat her apples and give him shade when he was tired. As he grows older he completely forgets about the tree. He remembers her only when he needs her.But the tree keeps giving him whatever the boy wanted. The man sells all the apples and even cuts her down to build his house. Even then the tree keeps giving whatever he wanted. When I read this book to my children , my daughter who is going to 3rd grade said that it was very mean on the boy's part to keep asking for more and more from the tree. My daughter hated when the boy cut the tree down to build his house. She was in tears when she read that page in the story. She told me that she will never be as mean as that boy . She was infact angry that the boy did not thank the tree even once. I think that this book helped my daughter learn the importance of give and take. I highy recomend readers to read this book to their young ones and also teachers to keep this book in their classrooms. I think it is a great book to share.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Why not take all of me?

I have hated this book since I was little. It seems cruel the way the little boy uses the tree for his own needs, never reciprocating, appreciating or even thanking the tree. The only time he comes to see the tree is when he needs something. This is not something tha...
I have hated this book since I was little. It seems cruel the way the little boy uses the tree for his own needs, never reciprocating, appreciating or even thanking the tree. The only time he comes to see the tree is when he needs something. This is not something that we should teach our children. That it is OK to continually take from someone and never give in return. I can also see it in a feminist viewpoint. The tree being a woman who gives all she can, including her own body, for a love that is not returned. I heard on National Public Radio from a woman who wrote a new book on how to teach your children to love reading that Shel wrote this about women and how stupid they were. He did write for Playboy, ya know.

posted by Anonymous on November 26, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    The greatness of the tree

    This book 'THE GIVING TREE' by Shel Silverstein is a great book to read to children. It is a sad story but the lesson that it teaches is really valuable. This story speaks about the unconditional love the tree had towards the boy.When the boy was little he would gather the leaves, climb up on her trunk and swing from her branches. She would let him eat her apples and give him shade when he was tired. As he grows older he completely forgets about the tree. He remembers her only when he needs her.But the tree keeps giving him whatever the boy wanted. The man sells all the apples and even cuts her down to build his house. Even then the tree keeps giving whatever he wanted. When I read this book to my children , my daughter who is going to 3rd grade said that it was very mean on the boy's part to keep asking for more and more from the tree. My daughter hated when the boy cut the tree down to build his house. She was in tears when she read that page in the story. She told me that she will never be as mean as that boy . She was infact angry that the boy did not thank the tree even once. I think that this book helped my daughter learn the importance of give and take. I highy recomend readers to read this book to their young ones and also teachers to keep this book in their classrooms. I think it is a great book to share.

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I love this book!

    The lessons are great and I first was read this book 30-some odd years ago, in 2nd grade. I've bought it numerous times because the lesson in it is fanastic and actually changes, the older I get.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!

    I give this book to all new mothers. Both of my kids enjoy it. Great story.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    The Giving Tree

    One of the Best books ever written. I have purchased this book for
    both of my children who are now adults and they have handed this book
    down to their children. This really teaches you about selfishness.
    Great Book

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Should be in everyone's home

    I hadn't read it in over 30 years and when I read it to my 5 year old it made me cry. The message is so touching and powerful. Rarely are so few words so moving. Never read it? Haven't read it in years? Pick it up now.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Everybody should own this book!

    I first was introduced to Shel Silverstein as a child...reading Where the Sidewalk Ends and The Giving Tree. I give this book as a git to all my nieces and nephews because of its powerful meaning and the dialogue that can occur between parent and child while reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brings back memories

    I clearly remember reading this book when I was a child. I really would like to buy this book for my 6 year old sister. I know she will love this book as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless classic

    This is a wonderful book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    To all the 1/2 star givers and haters of the this book, I say th

    To all the 1/2 star givers and haters of the this book, I say the following: This book is meant to show that some people will take through their nature till there is nothing left to take and some will give (again through their nature) till there is nothing left to give. I too am an educator and I feel this book gives a valid depiction of both sides and it is up to you (the educator or parent) to use the book as a teaching tool and be impartial. I see giving this book 1 or 2 stars because you hated the boy's actions or the tree's attitude as petty as someone giving the quadratic equation or an anti-derivative 1 or 2 stars because you "didn't like doing them or didn't get it" sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    Review of Giving

    In the book there was a boy and an apple tree. The apple tree gave the boy everything that he could give. Almost everyday the boy came to the tree. Soon the boy got older and began to want other bigger things. I liked that even if you're tree you can have a friend. I thought it was good in the story that it showed that all trees can't live forever. It was well thought-out how the title of the book matched what happened in the story. At the end of the book it got a little sadder, so you could understand the lifecycle. It almost felt like I was in the book. If you like books about friendship or love, you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    A precious and wonderful book!

    This is one of the best books ever written! I recommend it for any age, even a thirteen year old woulld find this book cute, I am in 4th grade and I still love this book! A 10 out of 10 from me!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Classic read!

    Touching book to share with children that should be a part of everyone's library.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic

    This is a book that every child and adult should have in their book case. I love giving this book out as gifts all the time. This book was given to a new wounderful teacher. I know she will use it for years to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Giving Tree is on my permanent nightstand.

    The Giving Tree has been on my bookshelf since I was 12. My grandmother used to read it to us as children. It's a simple story of a boy who visits a tree that is genuinely always there for him. And it's a timeless story about giving, receiving and love. I could read it every day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    Best Children's Book Ever Written

    I read this book for the first time when I had my first child and was very impressed with it. I bought one for my class library (elementary school teacher) and recommended it for the school library. I give it as a gift whenever a child's book is called for. It is well written and thought provoking and a good discussion starter for kids of any age. Its meaning can change as the child grows and the thought processes mature. It has become the favorite book of several people to whom I've given it. It is my favorite children's book and a book that even adults can have reasonable discussions about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Giving tree

    This book has inspired me in every way it could it is a fanstic book and shel could`nt have wrote a better one !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Geat book for all ages

    This is one of my favorite books even today. I still cry every time I read it. It show the power of giving and teaches people the importance of being kind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 1999

    A necessity

    Unconditional Love, enough said. Every household should have this book. Every person alive should be able to relate to this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2015

    Excellent book

    I purchased this book to read to a group of 2nd graders. It is the perfect blend of not too long and good message for that age. Love the 50th Anniversary cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Anyone who has written a message about how this book promotes se

    Anyone who has written a message about how this book promotes selfishness has COMPLETELY missed the point. The people talking about women misusing their bodies must be projecting..  The point comes at the end when the old man has nothing left but a stump.. It warns a child that you have to also give back, you can't just take and take.  The old man isn't winning at the end.. he has nothing but an old stump left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12