Customer Reviews for

Giving You Forever

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Very disappointed

    I'm not even sure where to begin with this book. I have read all the other books in the series and really enjoyed them, but this one was so tedious to read. I think it should have been a novella just like Collin and Summer's book. There was just so much redundancy that i ended up skipping pages, especially the sex scenes (I mean seriously, every other page was them going at it!) Not a whole lot of meat to the story until almost half way thru the book. I really liked Nolan in the first book, but didn't really buy into him in this book. He almost seems like the type to shower his girlfriend with love and attention, but once the ring is placed on her finger he becomes possessive and controlling. It usually only takes me about one day to read a book this short, but this one took me 4...i just really had a hard time getting into it; the characters were just so superficial. I did purchase the next book because the storyline seems intriguing...i just hope it doesn't disappoint like this one did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    SO HEARTWARMING!

    I really loved this book. The love and sexual chemistry between Alexa & Nolan is amazing. I think Nolan is every girls dream come true. This book is only 196 page and so worth it. Nolan has got to be the most sweet, kind, considerate, caring and loving guy I've ever heard of. I reconnend this book to everyone. Myonly problem is there's not really any drama in this book. It's all love romance and sex, sex, sex, not that I'm complaining.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Nolan and Alexa appear to have found the perfect match in one an

    Nolan and Alexa appear to have found the perfect match in one another. A year into dating he's put a ring of her finger and is
    announcing to the world that he has found the woman of his dreams and plans to make her his. What appears to be paradise and
    the beginning of their happily ever after soon turns into a stressful relationship that eats away at Alexa.

    Nolan's parents left him an inheritance that has allowed him to finally follow his dream of one day opening his own gym. With his
    friend Mike, they become partners and begin building their dream empire. What neither one of them expected, was that for dream
    would eat up so much of their time. Both of them spending far too much time away from their families and no free time, no days off.
    Nolan doesn't seem to see that he's spending far too much time away from Alexa until he forgets one night to meet her at a restaurant,
     leaving her standing there for hours and feeling like a fool.

    Alexa has been on cloud nine. She is going to marry the man of her dreams and their life together is wonderful. They attraction to one
    another is incredible and they are meant for one another. But Alexa can't help the feeling that she comes second to Nolan, his first love
     being his beloved gym. They only spend ten minutes together in the morning and a little time together at night. Alexa is in her senior
     year of college and works as a teacher's assistant in the afternoon. On top of that she's planning her own wedding and the pressure
    of everything is killing her so one night, she comes up with an idea that she hopes Nolan will agree to, a wedding planner. Nolan
     doesn't want to spend the extra money, but decides that Alex could use the extra support so he agrees. Alexa meets with Meg a
     wedding planner, and while Meg tells her there is no more open appointments when she hears Nolan's name she decides to take
    on the wedding herself.

    Everything seem to be going great with the wedding, that is until Nolan decides that he should be more involved when Alexa reveals
    how much she misses spending time with him. The second Nolan arrives at the florist, he explodes pointing an angry finger at Meg
     but calling her Margo. Alexa is not sure what to make of the encounter and pulls Nolan home and demands an explanation. Turns
    out he knows Margo from high school. He went through a difficult time after his parents died and Margo was suppose to be what
    pulled him out, but her ultimate act of betrayal changed Nolan's life forever, leading him on the path to good and Margo out of his
     life forever.

    Margo returning into Nolan's life, no matter if it was only for a short time, changed Nolan. He started to see things differently and
    ultimately leads Nolan to do the unthinkable when tragedy strikes Nolan and Alexa. Will Nolan finally be able to learn that he's not
    responsible for what happened in his life and that he deserves happiness? Will Nolan and Alexa ever make it down the aisle?

    At first when I started reading this, I was a bit confused because Alexa and Nolan seemed so happy, it just seemed like in the
    beginning they were so happy, so I thought this was going to be a book about a wedding and a happily ever after. I thought there
    would be nothing in between. That is until Nolan started spending too many hours away from Alexa at his new gym and his clients
    at his old gym. Right from there I could see that there were going to be problems between this fairy tale couple. When Nolan did the
    unthinkable, it changed my mind from this book being a three to a four star rating. While I found the sex scenes in this a little too
     similar for my liking, it was clear that these two were very passionate about one another and overall it was a good read which is why I
     gave it four stars.

    ***ARC provided by author in exchange for a honest review***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was the first book I've read in this series, and while it c

    This was the first book I've read in this series, and while it can be read as a standalone, I might have have liked Nolan more if I had read the previous books. I didn't end up liking him, though, and was close to wishing Alexa would find someone more worthy of her. They're written as being perfect for each other, but Nolan has an ugly temper and can be rude. I wouldn't be as understanding as Alexa if my fiance was downright rude to people while we were out in public together. Not to mention the way he treated her friend.

    While the issues they faced in their relationship were completely realistic, I had a hard time buying that after three years they were still going at it like rabbits. Don't get me wrong - the sex scenes were smoking hot - but it seemed like every two seconds they were ripping each other's clothes off. I was worn out, and I was just reading the book!!

    With the stress of Nolan starting up his own business and Alexa finishing college all while planning a wedding, Nolan's past rears its ugly head and throws more stress at them to deal with. The way Nolan dealt with his problems towards the end of the book just made me not like him even more. His reaction caught me off guard, and I thought Alexa deserved better from him after all they had been through.



    I did enjoy the author's writing style, I loved Alexa, and like I said earlier, the love scenes were hot! I loved the way Alexa fit in so well with Nolan's family, and there were twists in the story I didn't see coming. I plan on reading the other books in this series. I'm interested to see how Nolan and Alexa's relationship began and what it was like back then.


    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    ***I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review*** I like

    ***I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review***

    I liked this book, because Alexa and Nolan just know each other so well that know what the other want without asking about. And that Nolan is sooo damn protective over Alexa. A bit on the side of being afraid of losing her to someone else. But every time they seem to find away to get over every obstacle that’s in their way.

    “My girl is playing rough, and I’m loving every f***ing second of it” – Nolan

    How easy it is to take for granted what we have every day and Nolan remember how much he loves to wake up next to Alexa in the morning, after apparently haven’t had done so in a long time because of his work with build his own gym, and her focusing on finishing school and arranging their wedding.

    “I’ve been so damn busy that it’s been months since she’s woken up in my arms.” – Nolan

    Alexa is someone who knows what she wants, and knows how to get, and I like her determination at going after it, and she succeeds, because she gets a wedding planner, from the best, the owner of Simple Elegance. She is so excited, because 1. she can relax a little, 2. she knows her wedding is going to be AMAZING!

    When everything is going smoothly something unexpected happens, and spurs a chain reaction of things happening, some good and some really bad, that devastates both Alexa and Nolan.

    “I’ve tried. I’ve tried to be happy, to love again, but I can’t. Bad things happen to those I love. I can’t do that to you. I love you too much. You mean to much to me.” – Nolan

    Nolan has things to work and feel like he doesn’t deserve to be loved, and Alexa just want to love him for who he is, and not caring that he keeps telling bad things happen to does he love.

    But in the end they get their happy ending, despite the obstacles, and sorrow that they go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ** I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest revi

    ** I received this book as an ARC in exchange for an honest review. **

    I had heard nothing but great things about this book since I got my hands on it. I couldn't wait to read it, and I wasn't disappointed. The characters are easy to love and and even harder to forget. Even though I finished the book the characters and story just keep playing in my head.

    Nolan is a great character and his love for Alexa is very clear. He will bend over backwards to make sure that Alexa is happy and taken care of. Nolan lovers her more than anything, and it's very clear how devoted to her he is. Alexa is madly in love with Nolan, and is willing to do anything it takes to prove to him that no matter what happens her love for him will not falter. I wish more relationships in real life had the qualities that Nolan and Alexa's relationship has.

    The sex scenes in this book are definitely hot and steamy and leave nothing to the imagination. Ashley Wilcox doesn't leave much to the imagination and I am so glad that she actually calls body parts what they are and there aren't any lame words and phrases to explain what is really happening.

    I give this book 4 out of 5 stars for wonderful story telling, great characters, and some amazing sex scenes! I will definitely be reading more of Ashley Wilcox's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog Unf

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Unfortunately, I found too many things that I had problems with in this book. I can’t give this book a recommend. ~ Under the Covers

    As my first book by Ashley Wilcox, I went into this book with an open mind. But unfortunately, I found too many things that I had problems with in this book.

    Here’s just a quick overview of my thoughts in bullet form:

    The writing – I didn’t particularly feel that the author’s voice was established. The book is written in alternating POVs between the hero and the heroine. However, the author switches back and forth them so quickly, I felt like I was getting whiplash. There wasn’t enough time for me to really settle down and sink into the character before there was another change of POV. Every time I turned the page, there was a new switch, resulting in an overall feeling of disconnection from the work as a whole.

    The hero – I found it quite difficult to like Nolan Pratt. He is the fiancé of the heroine and right from the get-go, she isn’t happy with him for missing an important meeting. When you stand up your own bride-to-be I think that gives readers the wrong sense of character in your opening scene. Nolan is an alpha in the bedroom and while I could appreciate his prowlness in bed, Nolan darts off like a scared wolf when trouble comes in. Again, I don’t think that comes across as a good judge in character. It made it difficult to like him and therefore, I couldn’t find an interest in his character at all.

    The heroine – Alexa is sweet and a little feisty. I actually felt a little bad for her. Here she is about to marry a man who doesn’t seem to have his act together. I definitely can accept flawed behaviour, however this seemed to tip over into the no-no-finger wag territory. In the end, I found myself either getting frustrated with this book or simply indifferent.

    All of these things combined made this book very hard to get through. Unfortunately, I can’t give this book a recommend.

    *ARC provided by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love Ashley Wilcox, in fact, I was super excited to

    I absolutely love Ashley Wilcox, in fact, I was super excited to get this book to review. I loved the story of Nolan and Alexa in Waiting on Forever. (That is still my fav book so far!)

    This book is very different that the other's because there is a lot more physically going on. Like dang, they are freakin rabbits! (Yes, I know what category that this book falls.) They are getting married, Nolan wants it to be perfect, Alexa gets exactly what she wants... that is until Nolan meets Meg. I will stop right there because I do not want to spoil it for anyone. :)

    Alexa is very needy in this book, and Nolan is always there for her...well, most of the time. Nolan is super successful, and Alexa never has to want for anything, especially while she is still in school.

    Nolan is Nolan, and is the boy you hope your daughter finds... or at least I thought that in Waiting on Forever.

    I have to say that my favorite part is the ending of this book, it gives insight into Nolan's past, present, and future. In fact, the end made all my other thoughts disappear of how I felt due to all the rabbit activity. I stated before that this wasn't may fav. Ashley Wilcox book, and I think that's because I wanted more than just the physical part of Nolan and Alexa. I wanted to hear their thoughts, feeling, raw emotions, and what made them tick.

    If you have read any of the others in this series, you will want to read this book. It gives insight into their future and Nolan's past. A lot of thoughts I had in Waiting on Forever were answered in Giving You Forever. For me, I think because I was accustomed to the "clean" version of Ashley's writing, I had a hard time with this one. Nolan was the guy I wanted to daughter to bring home... yes, he is still that guy but my view of him is a little different now... but not in a bad way... So if you want to know more about Alexa and Nolan... make sure you 1-click Giving Your Forever... it's H-O-T y'all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When going into Giving You Forever I had high hopes, especially

    When going into Giving You Forever I had high hopes, especially with the overwhelming amount of positive reviews. I could not believe nothing, Absolutely nothing but boredom is what I felt for 70% of this. All I receive was a taste of drama then back to boredom.

    Part of my disappointment was caused by my lack of research. I did not know before reading that Giving You Forever is part 4 of a series. Oops.

    While Ms. Wilcox was able to articulate a very beautiful story I was just out done by the day to day of wedding planning, going to school, and getting a business of the ground. Honestly its the stuff I do everyday out side of the wedding planning and opening a business.

    Nolan and Alexa have a very loving relationships and they equally think the world of each other. Which at times was gag me with a spoon worthy. I will admit that their sex life was off the charts caliente!

    It does need to be said that even that even though that these two were crazy in love, their relationship needed some major work before walking down the isle. Alexa on some level has an immature personality. I mean who runs home to mommy and daddy because of a minor disagreement. Nolan sent me over the edge when he left Alexa during a time she needed him the most. He even had the audacity to leave a note rather than face her.

    Needless to say I felt Giving You Forever felt like forever to get through to the point I did not think I would finish, but that's not going to stop me from starting from the beginning with this series. Maybe I'll find a new appreciation for Nolan and Alexa or The Forever Series for that matter?

    *ARC copy was given to me by author /publisher via AToMR tours in exchange for my honest review*
    Follow my blog shawnasurvey dot BlogSpot dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    One thing's for certain...this was a hot book packed with lots o

    One thing's for certain...this was a hot book packed with lots of S.E.X.! I've read the other books in this series and I have to admit that I was more than curious as to how Wilcox was going to move the series into the Erotic category. But, out of all the characters in this series...Nolan and Alexa definitely fit. So, what did I think? Well, I liked it. 




    Nolan and Alexa have a lot going on. They're trying to plan their wedding, start a new business, and Alexa needs to finish school. That's a lot of stress to deal with. The one thing that is constant, is their love for each other. This couple simple enjoys being around each other. They seem to bring out the best in one another too. Aside from learning more about them as a couple, I liked getting a better idea about what Nolan's past was like. It seemed that he had some healing to do and he does ultimately get there, but it takes a while. Nolan was really the key for me in this book. I like Nolan, but what makes him appealing is how he treats Alexa. He really does put her needs first and is always finding ways to make her feel special. As for the sex...as I said, it was hot. And there is a lot of sex going on here. I did enjoy it, but there were some scenes that felt a bit repetitive. 




    Overall, I liked it and it was interesting to see this couple in more of a spicy light. I felt that Wilcox made the transition into Erotica well. In fact, I'd like to see her write an Erotic book about Matt!!! If you're looking for a quick sexy read, check this one out! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    3OMG was there a lot of steam. Hot, hot steam. This couple was

    3OMG was there a lot of steam. Hot, hot steam. This couple was hot from the start.

    The story begins with the couple at their engagement party. You instantly feel Nolan’s love for Alexa. He just sees no wrong in her, which upset me a little. He wants to give her everything and anything her heart desires. Nolan, he is just a sweet guy. It killed me that he had a hard time accepting that he was worthy of Alexa’s love. Of course her was worthy of her love!!!

    Did I feel connected to the characters? I had a hard time connecting to Alexa’s character. Nolan was a hard worker. He was trying to open his gym so he spent hours at work. Only, Alexa would give him a hard time (and whined) about him working late. She wanted the $30,000 wedding but she did not work. She was still in school, but I was hoping she would be more understanding. Nolan was a nice guy. Loving, understanding, I really liked him. Sometimes, I just wanted him to tell her to leave him alone.
    Pace of the Story: Very good
    Positives: The author has a great writing style. The story flowed. I did feel like any of it dragged. You immediately felt the love Nolan had for Alexa.
    Negatives: I thought the way Nolan handled a particular issue was a little immature. However, I forgave him since I really liked him. Some situations were predictable, but that was okay. It worked for this story.
    Do I recommend? Worth the read if only for sexy Nolan.
    Bottom line: The plot is nicely done, the reader is able to relate to the hurdle that the couple must face.

    Book Format Read: A copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

     First of all I will state the obvious that this book was rec'd

     First of all I will state the obvious that this book was rec'd as an ARC for an open and honest review and that this was my first book I have read by Ashley so I cannot compare it to her previous book(s), but I do have to say I want to read more of her books now (updating TBR List) I was very happy that this book could be read as a standalone as it is part of a series of books.




    Giving you forever was filled with so much raw emotion, sexuality and secrets that just made me not want to put the book down once the story picked up. Its definitely and emotional roller coaster ride with so many HOT HOT HOT sex scenes. I liked the compatibility of Nolan and Alexa, and everything they went through in the book. There were parts that had me so sad and my heart was breaking for them and then there were also so many fun parts to this book, like the way Nolan would sometimes poke fun at Alexa and she couldn't stand it. I sometimes did want to knock some sense into Nolan, I didn't like how insecure he was at times, but once his story his revealed you do get a better understanding of the decisions he made. Alexa and Nolan were a couple meant to be together and Ashley did a great job of telling their story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    My favorite book in the forever series! Erotica at it's best! No

    My favorite book in the forever series! Erotica at it's best! Nolan is sexy, sweet, loving! He has  a bit of a dark side and a troubled past. He is so in love with Alexa and their attraction is blazing HOT! Ashley has a way of sucking you right into her books, I never wanted it to end. There are some very tense moments, I cried and my heart tore open!  Alexa is so wonderful to Nolan, she's patient, and helps him.through his dark moments! They are hit with a heart breaking situation too. I had to take a minute to gather myself. We also get some of Ashley's quick humor.that I adore! Ilove this book! I love this series! I highly recommend it. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1