Customer Reviews for

Glamorama

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you think you can handle it...

This book messed with my head. Ellis writes so well I seriously had to convince myself these were not my memories but an amazing piece of fiction. The lead character is a model living on the west coast in the 80s. Ellis writes so amazingly that as someone who is very...
This book messed with my head. Ellis writes so well I seriously had to convince myself these were not my memories but an amazing piece of fiction. The lead character is a model living on the west coast in the 80s. Ellis writes so amazingly that as someone who is very not into this kind of scene, I found myself reading this character's thoughts as my own. I've never experienced anything like this. With the lead character getting involved with a very dangerous scene, the plot gets crazy towards the end. It was thrilling, scary, and awful with moments of levity scattered throughout. I loved and hated this book at the same time.

posted by PittTenor on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beyond bizarre

It's hard to say which was more pornographic, the sex or the violence. Having read previous books by Bret Easton Ellis, I thought I was prepared, but this one really blew me away. Only those with cast iron stomachs should consider reading this book.

posted by Anonymous on April 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you think you can handle it...

    This book messed with my head. Ellis writes so well I seriously had to convince myself these were not my memories but an amazing piece of fiction. The lead character is a model living on the west coast in the 80s. Ellis writes so amazingly that as someone who is very not into this kind of scene, I found myself reading this character's thoughts as my own. I've never experienced anything like this. With the lead character getting involved with a very dangerous scene, the plot gets crazy towards the end. It was thrilling, scary, and awful with moments of levity scattered throughout. I loved and hated this book at the same time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    brilliant

    a brilliant book because it makes you hate the story, the writing and the characters as you read the first part. brace yourself and make it through that because, that is when the story goes insane. only then do you start to see the purpose of the first part and the characters. black comedy is not a strong enough description - it succeeds as a satire because as you go through it seems so horrifying accurate and real. manhattan, or any other major city will not look the same to you again, nor will the 'beautiful people'.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Literary Genious and Captivating

    This is possibly my favorite book of all time. Living in Manhattan, I was initially absorbed by his detailed descriptions of all the sights and surreal attitude...but that all changed very quickly. What ensues is the most thrilling and ingenious story I have ever read. After recommending this to all my friends, they all reacted with the same enthusiasm and adoration for a great novelist and amazing storyteller!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    A Psychotic American Masterpiece

    The title only hints at the brilliant roller-coaster ride contained in the pages of iconoclastic genius Ellis's latest literary funhouse mirror. As with 'American Psycho', 'Glamorama' is not for the sqeamish, faint of heart, or those looking for a light read. The initial pages of 'Glamorama' are trippy and seem to be all in good fun as they follow a day in the life of sweet-but-clueless New York model Victor Ward, but Ellis's MTV video-like imagery and wild narrative style quickly kick the story into higher, scarier planes. As Victor gets drawn into a web of deceit and terrorism, he keeps partying at breakneck speed in the world's fashion capitals as his worlds collide, elide, and implode. 'Glamorama' is a black-comedy mirror that reflects both the emptiness of pop-culture worship and the blurred line between order and evil. And, again as in 'Am. Psycho', Ellis weaves an outstanding pop/rock/alternative-music sountrack into his surreal, magic carpet-ride text. 'Glamorama' is his best work yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Beyond bizarre

    It's hard to say which was more pornographic, the sex or the violence. Having read previous books by Bret Easton Ellis, I thought I was prepared, but this one really blew me away. Only those with cast iron stomachs should consider reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2001

    Actually, it was good...

    Ok. I'm going to start off by saying i'm a 14 year old and a freshmen in high school. I came here and saw sophmores and seniors saying that it was 'the most confusing book they've ever read'.. if you can read, and then can actually comprehend what you read, this book is mere child's play. Ok. now let me get to the book. This book, i bought it under the pretenses that it'd be confusing. I quickly read through it, and i loved it. I love how he created a self absorbed character and threw him in a situation that changed his whole world and outlook on life. I loved the way the story unfolded, and the chapters went backwards as a countdown, to the anything but disappointing ending. Ellis, yet again, has created a masterpiece. This book was written perfectly. Words alone cannot express how good it was. This book is something i'd recommend to anyone. No matter what style of reading you enjoy, you'd like this book. This book actually scared me because all of it can REALLY happen. I loved the way it mixed the whole political thriller into the whole modeling-entertainment industry. I loved how it was actually thrilling. This is a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    Confetti Storm

    Luxurius book for the masses. Enjoy the B.E.Ellis pain attack. Remember, is a GenX man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Totally vulgar. I loved it..

    The biggest attack on materialism since American Psycho.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    I want several hours of my life back

    If vapid characters, superficial plot lines, gore and gratuitous sex appeal to you, this is your book. Still trying to figure out what the point was, what was real/imagined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Better You Look, The More You See

    I don't know what it was about the first 150 or so pages of this book that really just got me into Victor Ward's world and made me not want to leave, but whatever it was kind of...fizzled out for the rest of the book. I mean, sure, it stays interesting, but it's a completely different story after after part 1. I've never read a spy/terrorist thriller type story before, mainly because the people who write them are just terrible, and the stories are contrived action movie plotline wannabes, and that's just not worth reading. Anyway, Glamorama turns into one of these espionage-esque stories and does it well, in my opinion. I liked the way it worked. This does not mean it jives with the first part of the story. It's as though Mr. Ellis was making this up as he went, as a character says in the story. And all the stuff with the different film crews isn't confusing or anything, it's just...pointless? Sure, it has its funny moments, and it's thrilling moments, but Glamorama is like two completely different books mashed into one. I know that's the whole point, the two different worlds Victor inhabits throughout the tale, but the entire tone of the novel shifts, which is jarring. There were points where it was just boring. When he talks about people and clothes and useless things in the first part of the story, it's a narrative that's got spark and life. Everything after that is monotone, even the violence. Speaking of violence...what is everyone complaining about? This story barely has any violence, and the violence that does come (in heaps) doesn't show up until the last half of the book. There are a few graphic sex scenes but it's American Psycho sex here, so it's not erotic or sensual at all, just details. Which is fine.

    I don't know what I'm trying to say. I liked Glamorama, maybe even more than American Psycho (though Psycho wins for humor), I'm just not entirely sure why I liked it. I guess when you're traveling at such a blistering pace in the beginning, everything afterward has no choice but to seem slow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    For Those Who like... Graphic...

    It was a great book, don't get me wrong, but it was just a *tad* graphic. I wouldn't recommend it to younger readers, but other than that, this book was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    Fantastic read

    Initially, I was looking for American Psycho, but when I couldn't find it I picked this book because of the cover.I didn't expect it to be that good, but it was fantastic, I really felt sympathetic for the lead charater. I loved this book. It's sad, it's funny, it's great. It made me a hugh fan of Ellis and since then I've read all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2001

    you may not understand

    some people may not get the point behind alot of ellis's books, however, his subjects deal with real things that are happening around us and the people we often come in contact with. if you live in so. cal or nyc you will understand. if you don't ge tthe storyline then you still have alot to experience in in our messed up society.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    slowly made my way through a pointless journey

    this book was pathetic. i could NOT understand the plotline let alone follow what was going on...bret easton elis skips around so dang much you dont know whats going on. dont waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    most confusing book I ever read

    Well, I guess you get intrigued by the extremely glamorous characters during the first half of the book....but the whole first half you read endlessly, waiting for the plot to start. When it finally did for me, I got totally confused and couldn't figure out where things were coming from...shooting a movie, terrorists? (for those of you who read it, I never even figured out how he came across J.F.)Now, I'd have to say i'm a relatively intelligent person, and usually catch on to things quite quickly, but gosh! I had no idea what was going on, the ending gave me no closure whatsoever, the author NEVER uses periods in his writing (one sentence is an entire paragraph long, I bet the word 'and' was used about 5 trillion times), and basically was very disappointing. I'd have to say though, for about 1/4 or 1/5 of the book I was positively enthrawled like I never have been in any book, it was so captivating....but this part had no closure, no resolution...I ended up finishing the book only so I could try to figure out what was going on...but I couldn't do that either. The sex scenes were pretty good, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2000

    Great if you get past the first 100 pages

    I ended up both loving this book and being confused by it which is probably Ellis' objective. Although I had to reread the first and second chapters to try and understand his writing style, I eventually caught on and fell deeply into the character and story. The best way to understand this book is to stop trying to understand it at all...go with the flow and you'll come away with more insight than you ever dreamed possible. Thank you, Mr. Ellis, for letting me finally enjoy a contemporary writer of my own generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2000

    An Oddyssey of A Modern Day Bloom

    In reading Glamorama I kept thinking am I crazy or does this read like a contemporary Ulysses? A period of time in the life of a New Yorker. The interiors work flawlessly. So I was pleased to read the interview with Ellis that indicated Ulysses was one of his favorite works. The influence is there. I commend Ellis for writing in the Delillo/Wallace style with the added strength of having a protagonist with dimension. I have just finished Glamorama and know that it will have to be read again. It is a sophisticated commentary on the choices we have to make about how we live ourlives. If you read any recent literary work it should be this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3