BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Glamorous Illusions

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Start to a New Series

Another wonderful start to another wonderful series by Bergren. I am a huge fan of Lisa’s River of Time series, as is another of our reviewers (Kole). This series follows a girl that has been living a simple life, barely making ends meet with her family. Soon she is swe...
Another wonderful start to another wonderful series by Bergren. I am a huge fan of Lisa’s River of Time series, as is another of our reviewers (Kole). This series follows a girl that has been living a simple life, barely making ends meet with her family. Soon she is swept up into a world she has never seen, with a family she has never known. Alternating her point of view with Will’s, one of her tour guides, gives the reader the chance to get to know both of these characters from inside and out.

Glamorous Illusions has less action/adventure to it than the River of Time series, but that doesn’t mean it can’t hold its own. It is all about self discovery and following one’s heart. Both Cora and Will are determined to do the right thing through and through, even though they both need to learn about themselves and the changes in their world in order to do so. There are many characters in this book, but never too many that I mixed them up or was confused as to who was who, as they are all very distinct personalities. Lisa does have a way with writing strong woman and I love it!

I am not an avid Christian book reader, but what I have read of Lisa T. Bergren’s series isn’t preachy. Yes, it does have Christian characters and speak of God, but it isn’t overwhelming and simply lends itself to the characters and the wonderful story she has created. The characters ponder over the challenges that they are faced with and turn to their religion to help see them through it. I hope this book is filed under Young Adult, Romance, Historical Fiction, and Christian books at stores because there are so many readers that will enjoy this series.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not for me

Its a lord this, thank you god, honk if you love jesus book. Wish they would have it explain it more on the review, so i woudnt have picked it!

posted by LeeAnn-bookluvr on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Start to a New Series

    Another wonderful start to another wonderful series by Bergren. I am a huge fan of Lisa’s River of Time series, as is another of our reviewers (Kole). This series follows a girl that has been living a simple life, barely making ends meet with her family. Soon she is swept up into a world she has never seen, with a family she has never known. Alternating her point of view with Will’s, one of her tour guides, gives the reader the chance to get to know both of these characters from inside and out.

    Glamorous Illusions has less action/adventure to it than the River of Time series, but that doesn’t mean it can’t hold its own. It is all about self discovery and following one’s heart. Both Cora and Will are determined to do the right thing through and through, even though they both need to learn about themselves and the changes in their world in order to do so. There are many characters in this book, but never too many that I mixed them up or was confused as to who was who, as they are all very distinct personalities. Lisa does have a way with writing strong woman and I love it!

    I am not an avid Christian book reader, but what I have read of Lisa T. Bergren’s series isn’t preachy. Yes, it does have Christian characters and speak of God, but it isn’t overwhelming and simply lends itself to the characters and the wonderful story she has created. The characters ponder over the challenges that they are faced with and turn to their religion to help see them through it. I hope this book is filed under Young Adult, Romance, Historical Fiction, and Christian books at stores because there are so many readers that will enjoy this series.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hott Synopsis: Shock. Absolute, staggering, shock. Cora can¿t

    Hott Synopsis:

    Shock. Absolute, staggering, shock.
    Cora can’t believe that she’s not the person she thought. Her father isn’t the man she thought. Her mother could have done something so degrading.

    Her life changes absolutely when she arrives home from Normal School, halfway to her teaching certificate, to find her father has had a stroke. How can God ever help them recover from this devastation?

    Oh, but He does provide an answer. Not the one Cora had anticipated or hoped for but an answer. She’s to have a Grand Tour with siblings she doesn’t know.

    Now, Cora must cope with a new family that doesn’t want her, a new name she’s not prepared for, and admittance into a world she’s never considered.

    Will she be able to navigate all of these changes and the fear of leaving behind the only life she’s ever know and still keep God at the forefront?

    Hott Review:

    I don’t enjoy books like this. I grabbed the second book in the series, Grave Consequences, thinking it a mystery then decided that I needed to read this first. I almost didn’t when I realized it was really a book about life and not just a sweet inspiration romance or mystery.

    What I liked: WOW. Just WOW! I was completely drawn into this book. I just couldn’t out it down – and when I was unable to read, I was thinking about it. The plot and imagery are so real you feel transported through time! Amazing!

    What I didn’t like: Honestly, I’m glad this series is in three books, but I can’t imagine not reading all of them. If I’d realized that is was essentially one book cut into three books of 400+ pages each I probably wouldn’t have started this series yet, I feel that I’d be missing something integral if I’d not taken this journey with Cora.

    More…

    Author: Lisa Tawn Bergren
    Source: Kindle Free Read 6/2012
    Grade: A
    Ages: 16+
    Steam: YA
    Setting: Montanna & then Europe
    Series: Grand Tour #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Great Series!

    Lisa Bergren does a wonderful job of transporting the reader into the early 1900's and to the various places the characters travel to in Europe. I really enjoyed following Cora's journey of discovery and love throughout the entire series. Worth the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Glamorous Illusions will take anyone on a ride full of adventure

    Glamorous Illusions will take anyone on a ride full of adventure,mystery, travel, and romance. Taking place in 1913, the story evolves around Cora Kensington, a girl Montana, whose future is about to change as soon as her biological father appears in her life. Not knowing that the father that she thought was hers is not her real father, Cora is immediately thrown into a world of mystery and secrecy. Discovering that she is the illegitimate daughter of the Copper King, she will have to adjust to a new life style all for her parents. As soon as she is told that she will have to take the Grand Tour with her half siblings and their friends, Cora will not only have to fight to gain their approval, but she will also learn to find the importance of what she has and of who she really is. In a world of glamour and richness, Lisa T. Bergren takes readers to a whole new world, full of amazing adventures in the most amazing places in the world. As a lover for all things traveling, I was really excited to read this book. The cover itself completely grabbed my attention, the art represents the book really well. There are only a handful of historical romance books that I've read, but this one has made it to my “all time favorite” shelf. The story is beautifully written,and it captures the feel of the cities very well. I found myself completely immersed in the book. Cora's adventure definitely keeps the reader wanting for more. Her personally is very likable, and she is strong minded (which protects her from her unlikable siblings). I absolutely love Will in the story, he is the only person that Cora can truly trust, and it makes it hard as a reader to see that my favorite characters in the book don't always en up together. But as new adventures unfold, the book suddenly stops with a cliffhanger. Which wasn't my favorite part, but I will definitely read the second book of the series. I can't wait to see what happens next. I would recommend this book to those that love historical books, romance, and for those that love traveling as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    This book is breath-taking in its scope, in the questions it rai

    This book is breath-taking in its scope, in the questions it raises, and in the way it pulled me until I had to put the world on hold for just a few more minutes so I could finish the story. Loved it and aching to dive into book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Wanted more

    Enjoyed the story. Didn't know the story would not end with this book. I want to know what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading her River of Time series, I was more than willing

    After reading her River of Time series, I was more than willing to give Bergren's other's books a shot as well. When this one came on my radar, I really loved the sound of it. And while I didn't get the overly Christian fictions feel with her series, I thought this one might have a little bit more. I was right, and also completely ok with it.

    I really loved the lavish backdrop that this story is set in. Who doesn't love the traditional rags to riches story. I love that Cora is bound and determined to show that she can be different. She shows how her upbringing has affected who she is. But, it's also apparent that some of her characteristics come from her father. I think that is definitely something she needs to come to terms with over the course of this book. She does a very good job of coming to terms with what has happened to her, but she also needs to realize her place within the family might not be exactly what she thought.

    I've never heard of the Grand Tour before and found the concept fascinating. The American rich trying to pretend they are some new generation of nobility by mimicking what they do for their coming of age children. I wonder what European nobility thought of the practice when it first began. I think it would be fun to be an outsider looking in on all of this. The idea of being able to attend all of these functions and learn about all the history in each country sounds awesome.

    I liked the family dynamics behind all this. Her father surprised me the most. From the little we do get to see of him, I didn't like him very much. But, by pushing Cora to accept who she is on her own (plus admitting his own faults and failures) show what kind of man he is. I liked her siblings because I think they were true to who they were plus how they should be in the situation. I also really enjoyed William and look forward to were the story goes with is character.

    I will be continuing this series. I think I found another winner with Bergren!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    I loved Lisa T. Bergren's River of Time series so when I saw thi

    I loved Lisa T. Bergren's River of Time series so when I saw this one I knew I had to read it. It was very different from the River of Time books with much less action, but Lisa delivered again with amazing characters you can't help but fall in love with and scenery you'll be dying to visit.

    Cora (side note: I love that name) was twenty years old when her life changed drastically. Obviously I don't want to ruin the mystery so I won't tell you what happens. Some of the other kids her age on the Grand Tour aren't happy to have a girl from a farm accompanying them. Cora had to learn to maneuver through some tricky relationships. Cora was someone I really wanted to see succeed. I enjoyed watching her journey. There were a few guys with romantic interest involved which always makes the read more interesting for me.

    The scenery was beautiful. It made me want to take a tour of Europe. I've always wanted visit London and France and Italy. The characters were able to see some amazing sites. There was mystery and excitement throughout. I'm looking forward to continuing the tour with Cora in the next book of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Wish there was more...

    I found this to be a fast moving book. Very good overall, but I would have liked to know what happened at the next step inthe relationship between main character and the frenchman. Hopefully there will be another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Cora has been living a fairly good life. She's been given the ch

    Cora has been living a fairly good life. She's been given the chance to get off her parents' farm and go to teaching college. When her dad suffers a stroke, Cora realizes going back to finish her teaching certificate may not be possible. All her time and money is going in to keeping the farm afloat. Her dad needs more help than anyone in town can give him though. All this leads to the biggest surprise of Cora's life. The only father she has ever know has turned out to not be her biological father. In truth, Cora is the daughter of a huge mining baron. Her biological father comes to offer Cora's family the care her father needs, but he also wants to take Cora under his wing and declare her his daughter. When he won't accept no for an answer, Cora finds herself embarking on the experience of a lifetime- the Grand Tour of Europe. Cora will see and do things she never imagined, all while trying to determine what her future truly holds.

    This book was a joy to read on many levels. First, the whole idea of the Grand Tour enthralls me. How cool would it be to be able to just travel around Europe, seeing amazing sights and meeting amazing people? Of course, only the very wealthy could go, so I would have been out. It's a brilliant concept though. Having Cora be an illegitimate daughter allows the reader to relate to her more. Cora has a very hard time adjusting to her new situation in life, and she definitely does not get easy acceptance into these new social services. She can't help but be amazed and excited at her circumstances though. Who can blame her? I found it very interesting to watch Cora struggle with her duel identities. Her past and her future were so vastly different, so it was fun to see her deciding to forge her own path.

    Of course, no grand novel would be complete without some romance. In this case, there are two potential beaus competing for Cora. One seems to represent her past, while the other is clearly a part of this new reality. While it was interesting to watch things play out, I know which one I preferred. I was frustrated (in a good way) by the ending. I was dying for more, and I cannot wait for the next book in the series! The ending wraps up well, but there are some loose ends that definitely left me hanging. This book will be appealing to a lot of people. The travel, history, and romance aspects are very enjoyable. I even found the fashion to be enthralling. I seriously enjoyed this book, and I will be looking out for the next in the series. I highly recommend this book.

    Book provided for review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Good read

    This is about a 300 page book it is about a young girl trying to find herself through several circumstances ifound that i really enjoyed this book though if it was longer and more of the story i would have gave 5stars instead of 4 it leaves off lacking a little at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    G¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿nnghghqyhkl,mmnnhhghhhgggggggggggggggggggrrtyuiopl,mnbvcxzPgtt'ggggggrddddsdssdxxdddxzeffty

    Tzgyhyhjjhhihjkhjhihihiboijooppkbffhyhhhuhuuiyioooopplkkjgcuuggrtyuiolpivyyfpdxd
    Xcxxjgdwudjvjfkglgouiyigkbmvnbjgkgjhjhjihnhknmhjggfdsaqwerttyuiopwweetrtyuiopzqwe,lg vffv .
    ?
    ?.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1