Customer Reviews for

Glamour

Average Rating 4
( 3602 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1367)

4 Star

(1109)

3 Star

(622)

2 Star

(234)

1 Star

(270)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

I really enjoyed the book. The Typos were a little frustrating but, all in all ... i cant wait for the next one in summer of 2011. I also like that in this free e book you get a sneak peek to the next book, it helps me get over the ending a little.

posted by 5207675 on November 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

86 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Good writer, good concept, needs polish. Recommend to YA readers.

I DO recommend this book, especially to YA readers. I enjoyed this story immensely, read it fast and with gusto, but it falls short in a few ways that a good edit/editor other than the author should clean up.

1.) Pacing is a little rough at the beginning, and then s...
I DO recommend this book, especially to YA readers. I enjoyed this story immensely, read it fast and with gusto, but it falls short in a few ways that a good edit/editor other than the author should clean up.

1.) Pacing is a little rough at the beginning, and then smooths out.
2.) Some time to learn to LIKE the main character before stuff starts flying and changing would give her reactions depth.
3.) In the beginning, there were areas that were way too heavy in introspection; this problem fades and balances later in the book.
4.) Occasional tense, word usage, and spelling errors. These have been mostly cleaned up, and fade later in the book.
5.) Abrupt ending. I understand a second book is in the works, but you needs to resolve at least SOMETHING in the first book. The stories are linked, yes, but if there is no resolution of any sort it is ONE book, not two.
6.) One, seemingly incomprehensible, scene and location change. I believe a section may have been accidentally dropped here.

These tell me that a hard edit might clear up most of my issues and make this a smooth, polished read. I enjoyed the read, and the concept and characterization is fun, but there needs to be some house cleaning to make this book a professionally written read.

posted by ReneeKytokorpi on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Recommended

    I found it to be a little rushed, packing in lots of action with little information, but a good read nonetheless. The information given about the characters was round about and confusing, but if you like tales of demons and supernatural powers its not bad. I look forward to the next book doing a lot of explaining!

    28 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    Not Recommended

    It may have an interesting story, but the lack of proper punctuation, sentence structure and many typos, it's a rough read. If you're really interested, purchase the real book instead of this unedited version.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Good plot line. Bad grammer

    I enjoyed the plotline. I was able to read the book in a few hours. But, if you are a freak about grammer like me then you won't like it. I was forced to read most the book over because there was extra words, misspelled words and so much more. Over all it was a good book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not my cup of tea

    I have had this book on my nook for a while now and finally got got around to reading it. For being so short of a story, it was awfully hard to get through. There was a lot of errors in the writing and it was such a distraction from the story because you had to decode what the author was saying. As well as the characters are not that relatablable. Rae is as confused as confused can get. She is kissing everyone and is making connections with every otherworld person she comes across. The love triangle was unnecessary and really just made you roll your eyes at the book and think "really?". There was also a ton of inner dialogue of random babblings that had no huge importance to the story. When I came across a page or two of that, I just skipped through until I got back to the story.

    The concept was good, a hybrid demon who is brought up ignorant of who she is and is taught to hate those like her. But unfortunately the execution just did not work for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Confusing

    I couldn't finish this book it was just not worth reading. I usually like this type of book, I just couldn't get into it. Maybe I will try later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Too much..

    It would have been a good story if the author had not packed so much action into it. She left no room to breathe, it was literaly one major climax after another. There was no flow, and no information to explain things. It left my head spinning and it was a relief to finally get it finished. I'm not sure if it is worth reading the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    Poor grammar :(

    I may be turning into my junior high English teacher, but I was so distracted by all the typos that I couldn't focus on what otherwise was a fair plot line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    Okay Maybe

    The author had good ideas just the transitions were killing me. It was like trying to read a crazy dream. The scenery just kept changing with only a thin erratic line of reasoning keeping it all together. There is good work there, it just has to be little more refined.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    It is a rough read, though interesting

    Leaves me asking too many questions.....Read a comment below, and Queue is actually correct, as is waiting your turn in line...cue is a pool cue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    I think her writting is hard to read and doesn't make sence. It

    I think her writting is hard to read and doesn't make sence. It seems like the books havn't been edited enough. Other than that, they are pretty good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Same old thing

    Thid started off very well--good concept, strong heroine, good plot. WHAT HAPPENED?? It became the same whiney, angsty, can't make a smart decision teenage drivel that is in almost every other YA book out there. Why cannot YA novels have strong, smart heroines that show how teens can be if they believe in themselves and be grounded in their convictions? I know that one of the reasons to read is to get away from real life for a little while, but isn't reading about make believe lands and beings and magic enough? I never can enjoy these stories because I'm so frustrated by the unbelievable absurdity of the actions of the heriones that I just give up. I should have learned my lesson by now but I gues my "fantasy" is that there will ever be a good YA book with this in place. Our young girls (as well as boys) need to have these strong intelligent teens as role models instead of these sappy, can't make good decision until the end when the light shines through and love will last forever. And that's another thing--you don't have to be with somebody to be happy or to have self-worth. Believing in and loving yourself is much more important than being in a relationship. A strong healthy relationship can only come after you respect yourself. Sorry to go on like that but this has been building up for a while. I also know that these weak-minded characters appear in adult fantasy/paranormals as well which is just as frustrating. I am thankful to Ms Harris, Ms Hamilton, and Ms Harrison among others for making the type of strong heroine that I can believe in and enjoy reading about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Not as good as i exspected

    I thought this would be a good book but unnedded curse words and a whaked out opening was not some thing to pay for. Go free fridays

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Good story but a rough read.

    While i enjoy the mythos of the story... it is a bit weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unsure...

    This book has a great story idea behind it. There is a lot of potential to the story but it was written in a very amateurish way. Spelling and grammatical errors left and right. Not to mention the text issues. However, if you can get past the technical part of the writing the story has interesting characters with interesting plot points but again it was amateur. The story flowed too quickly. The entire book took place in the span of three or four days with huge life changing events. I also felt the characters reactions, though delightfully unpredictable, a tad unrealistic given the circumstances. If the author is reading this, I would like to mention this. When you are writing a story, particularly if it is written in the first person, you have to realize the reader will relate to your story from that perspective. If the reactions and thought processes of your main character are so far removed from your audience's own emotions it will be difficult to relate and follow the story. In light of this, I hope to see improvement in the story structure as I follow Rae Wilder in her adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Unable to finish

    The pace was fast and easy to read but much harder twords the end and middle to stay interested. I still haven't finished the book and went on to purchase new books. Honestly i thought it was going to be a little scary and was disappointed that it wasnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Not quite ready

    I imagine this is what Marx would've been like without Engels around to do his editing; interesting ideas, but not well executed. The story was fairly interesting though, and she's definitely got a good imagination, so I'd give her a few more books to polish up her work before writing her off (pun intended).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    I saw that this book a while ago and saw that it had fairly good reviews but decided against it because it didn't look like my mind of book but changed my mind cuz I read all the free books I was interested. Yea, should've listened to my gut. This book needs editing and a likeable main character. I thought Rae was kinda funny in the beginning but as I kept reading, she turned into an idiot. She supposed hates it when people touch her yet she was ok with vampire boy biting and drinking from her and instead of kicking his butt, she ends up making out with him??? For goodness sakes, he promised not to bite her and she even apologized to him for being late! WTH, did she leave her common sense/brain on the other side of the Wall? I kept reading thus far hoping the book would get better but that was when I stopped and skimmed the ending hoping the ending would redeem itself but nope it didn't. Sorry to rant but I just hate weak, stupid female main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Idea, World are great

    An awesome idea! Really, really cool in regards to the world, The Rupture, etc. Could use some help in regards to story arc, word choice, spelling/grammar, etc. A quality, impartial beta-reader could do a world of good for this book. Intersted to see if the next installment of the series shows improvement based on people's reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me

    I after the first chapter I was still lost as to what was going on and there was no apparent direction that I was being taken. I was just bored which surprised me after the first sentence hooked me with great interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    Interesting Story but Needs Work.

    The story itself was interesting but the author's presentation was lacking. The characters were not developed fully and neither was the plot. The frequent typos were distracting. The ending was a real 'let down'- there was no ending- no conclusion to the story- it just stopped- no tying up of loose ends or answers to all the questions that popped up along the way. Where the last chapter should have been, the author gave us the first chapter of the sequel. After reading it- still no answers. Think I'll skip the new book and move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12