Customer Reviews for

Glamour

Average Rating 4
( 3607 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1368)

4 Star

(1110)

3 Star

(623)

2 Star

(235)

1 Star

(271)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

I really enjoyed the book. The Typos were a little frustrating but, all in all ... i cant wait for the next one in summer of 2011. I also like that in this free e book you get a sneak peek to the next book, it helps me get over the ending a little.

posted by 5207675 on November 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

86 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Good writer, good concept, needs polish. Recommend to YA readers.

I DO recommend this book, especially to YA readers. I enjoyed this story immensely, read it fast and with gusto, but it falls short in a few ways that a good edit/editor other than the author should clean up.

1.) Pacing is a little rough at the beginning, and then s...
I DO recommend this book, especially to YA readers. I enjoyed this story immensely, read it fast and with gusto, but it falls short in a few ways that a good edit/editor other than the author should clean up.

1.) Pacing is a little rough at the beginning, and then smooths out.
2.) Some time to learn to LIKE the main character before stuff starts flying and changing would give her reactions depth.
3.) In the beginning, there were areas that were way too heavy in introspection; this problem fades and balances later in the book.
4.) Occasional tense, word usage, and spelling errors. These have been mostly cleaned up, and fade later in the book.
5.) Abrupt ending. I understand a second book is in the works, but you needs to resolve at least SOMETHING in the first book. The stories are linked, yes, but if there is no resolution of any sort it is ONE book, not two.
6.) One, seemingly incomprehensible, scene and location change. I believe a section may have been accidentally dropped here.

These tell me that a hard edit might clear up most of my issues and make this a smooth, polished read. I enjoyed the read, and the concept and characterization is fun, but there needs to be some house cleaning to make this book a professionally written read.

posted by ReneeKytokorpi on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Good writer, good concept, needs polish. Recommend to YA readers.

    I DO recommend this book, especially to YA readers. I enjoyed this story immensely, read it fast and with gusto, but it falls short in a few ways that a good edit/editor other than the author should clean up.

    1.) Pacing is a little rough at the beginning, and then smooths out.
    2.) Some time to learn to LIKE the main character before stuff starts flying and changing would give her reactions depth.
    3.) In the beginning, there were areas that were way too heavy in introspection; this problem fades and balances later in the book.
    4.) Occasional tense, word usage, and spelling errors. These have been mostly cleaned up, and fade later in the book.
    5.) Abrupt ending. I understand a second book is in the works, but you needs to resolve at least SOMETHING in the first book. The stories are linked, yes, but if there is no resolution of any sort it is ONE book, not two.
    6.) One, seemingly incomprehensible, scene and location change. I believe a section may have been accidentally dropped here.

    These tell me that a hard edit might clear up most of my issues and make this a smooth, polished read. I enjoyed the read, and the concept and characterization is fun, but there needs to be some house cleaning to make this book a professionally written read.

    86 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    In need of a good editor

    First I would like to say that despite all of it's flaws, I couldn't put the darn thing down! The story has great potential and it is a wonderful world that I would like to see more of. If you like the house of night novels, I'm sure you will enjoy this new author.

    I will not comment on the need for copy editing and the number of typos because the lovely author is aware of these and is putting out revised editions.

    I do still think that the novel could use a good editor, however. I think that it could vastly improve the flow of the book. The beginning is disjointed and confusing, and the pace of the book felt very rushed. It is like watching a movie based on a much longer book. People fall in love and the reader is left wondering why. The main characters have emotional reactions to things, but the reader doesn't feel with them due to lack of time (Alex anyone?). I realize that the book is over 400 pages long (in ebook format), but the relationships simply did not have enough time to develop properly. I would have liked to see the author take a little more time to develop them, (and Rae's feelings) and possibly split this book in two. The first book to allow Rae and the reader adjust to her new life (with hints of the much bigger plot), and the second to really delve into the fairy world and the political intrigue.

    On the whole, it was a good free book. I hope that the author keeps at it and gets lots of good feadback that can improve her writing :)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Enjoyable; needs a competent editor

    I enjoyed this book quite a bit. However, the glaring spelling, vocabulary, punctuation and grammatical errors were distracting - middle school mistakes - and made the book feel self-edited and a little to reliant upon spell-check.

    While I understand that we are supposed to be as much in the dark as the protagonist, important details known to Rae are sometimes provided a little too little, making the story feel a tad disjointed. The Rupture could have been explained in general terms in a prologue with specific details filled in later. The entire section regarding the prophecy was too long and gave away too much of the ending. Prophecy by its very nature is vague. Other small details were inconsistent (though likely only noticed by those readers with an inner "Comic Book Guy.") The guiding hand of a proficient editor would have prevented these distractions.

    Ms. Fletcher has created a unique post-apocalyptic setting as the background for a story of identity discovery and the inevitable resultant conflicts. Something new and different for the fall of civilization is refreshing. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    five stars if not for the grammatical errors

    Since this is a free ebook, I checked it out. The basis of the story is good, but boy were there spelling and grammar errors. The reader is left confused and wondering what the author is trying to say. It didn't just happen once, it happened a lot. I sat there trying to reword and plug in words that would make sense and it took away from the story.
    In the beginning of the book i was left wondering what in the world a Pride was, along with all these other terms that the author didn't bother explaining until MUCH later on. I was going to stop reading, but i stuck with it and i am happy i did. The story was good, although a bit rushed. It was a 485 page book and all the events took place in a matter of a day. I have no idea how they all stayed awake.
    Although most of my review seems negative i did enjoy the book. The author just needs to get spell check for the next book coming out and not rush the book so much. This story of a teen finding her true self is one i would recommend. Plus, it involves a love triangle and who doesn't enjoy that? :D

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    good story

    This is a fun read. I only wish the story would have continued more with the relationships vs. the battles.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    different but good

    hard to read as the editing is not very good. lots of words either missing or misspelled. but the story is intriguing if difficult at times to follow. not sure if i will read the whole copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    good story, a little undeveloped

    it was very choppy, but an amazing story once you got past the lacking flow in the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Grammatical errors drove me nuts!

    I enjoyed the book, but probably would've enjoyed it more if I didn't have to re-read some sentences because it wasn't transfered correctly into this format. Very annoying! Hopefully they'll be more careful in the sequel. Looking forward to continuing the story then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    imaginative, gripping plot-unfortunately poorly written/edited

    - violence/brief sexual assault
    - many typos/grammatical errors/wrong use of your vs. You're. The errors distracted from the great plot and sometimes interfered with my understanding. It is a shame because the story is awesome. Read it if you can handle being annoyed by errors the entire time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    I liked it, but...

    Overall the book was fantastic. I enjoyed reading it very much. My only complaint is against the editor. What happened to spell check? I found many grammatical errors that pulled away my focus from truly enjoying a book a wonderfully creative as this was. I am definitely looking forward to the next book. But please, do a spell check.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    A good fast read!

    I enjoyed the story even if it was not very complicated, and look forward to the next chapter in Rae's life. My only criticism, and it is minor, is I would love to see the characters and the world they live in fleshed out in more detail. I think there is potential here for several more books. For a first book by a young author, not bad. Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Is it okay for 11 year olds?

    Please tell me.It looks plain awsome.Please please please please please say it is okay for 11 year olds.PLEASE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Ok

    I liked this book. It had the potential to be very interesting, It was entertaining, but
    some parts she elaborated on were not important. The spelling and gramatical errors were unusual (not that I could do any better. But I do have spell check) This made it hard to read at times. The main thing that frustrated me was the characters decision making skills. She should have stayed away from the vampire. This book is interesting, but I wouldn't reccomend it. I don't like giving bad reviews on books :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    A little boring

    Id give it two and a half stars if i could its a little confusein i mean it jumps in different directions but its kind of a good book oh an if an author desides to write bout a girl being fought over by two guys dont think twilight cuz thats kind of dumb all i think is fun wen its in a book XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Interesting characters

    This book was o.k. The characters were interesting. The book seemed to have no real closure in the end. I know this is because it is supposed to be a series book, but I'm not inclined to read the next one. Too slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked the concept of this book. My only problem was wi

    I really liked the concept of this book. My only problem was with the the beginning. The suthor jumped around a lot and didn't really explain or go into delth about what was happening with the characters. It made it hard to follow sometimes and it got aggrevating trying to figure out what was going on. The book should have been proof read and that would have helped a lot of the problems. Overall a good book but would have gotten a better review from me if the beginning was better and there weren't so many errors. One other point is things started happening to the main character and I think the author should have paced herself with what she wanted to happen instead of just jumping right into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Enjoyable Read :)

    it was an interesting read...i found it enjoyable and entertaining while being easy to read. The downside to the book is that several plot lines where started and will have to be answered in future books. I would definitely recommend this book if you like a good paranormal read and you don't mind series...i give it two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book was very good and kept my interest, but became comfusing in some parts. Otherwise, it was a good quick read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Okay book....

    Not one of my favorites but not horrible. Little too rushed thru. Kinda felt like i wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Hard to read

    I cant get past the first chapter. It has waay to much desciption and not enough talk. But acrually it is a good book just need less description. So if i had to give this book a raing then read the stars above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 623 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32