Customer Reviews for

Glass (Crank Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 618 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(471)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 621 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    Glass

    After reading the first page of Glass, you won't want to put it down. It takes you through the life of Kristina Snow and her meth addiction. To get the full concept of Glass you might want to read Crank first. Crank is the first book about Kristina and her addiction and how it all started. The more you read the more you are wanting to figure out what happens next. Ellen Hopkins describes Kristina's life with such vivid details that you can't help but love it. Glass really shows you how big of an affect drug addiction has on someones life and the troubles that it causes. Many teenagers will be able to relate to some of the other things that occur in the book. Glass really makes you have a new outlook and makes you want to stick to your dreams and not mess them up. Glass is my favorite book by Ellen Hopkins, I highly recommend reading it if you enjoy her books, you won't be dissapointed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GLASS

    Kristina thinks she has a control over crack. Now with a baby to care for, she's determined to be the one in control. But the monster is too strong, and before she knows it, Kristina is back in its grips. She needs the monster to keep going, to face the pressures of every day life. Once the monster has control over Kristina, she'll do anything for it, including giving up the one person who gives her unconditional love; her baby.<BR/>GLASS is the sequel to CRANK. This story continues the tale of Kristina and how the drug ends up controlling her life.<BR/>Gritty and raw, this tale shows the effects crack has on an individual and their love ones. Ellen Hopkins does a great job of taking us on this painful trip that was loosely based on her own daughter's experiences with the monster.<BR/>This is a haunting tale that will stay with the reader.<BR/>I'd highly recommend this book to those who know loved ones in the grip of the monster. Even though Kristina loses her way, the reader can't hope that maybe she'll be able to climb out of the abyss--back to her family and to her son, Hunter. Well written. I recommend this one too.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book

    Reviewed for Monster Librarian as part of Banned Books Week

    Glass is the direct follow up to Crank, which starts with Kristina Snow after she's had her baby, kicked meth and nicotine and shortly before her eighteenth birthday. It follows her relapse in her struggle with the meth monster and goes farther than Crank imagined. Sharp and painful Glass is hard to read. For one Kristina seems to not even care that she'd making such horrible mistakes. Almost on autopilot in her quest to fill simple needs, reader with more than once want to reach into the lines and try to shake some sense into her.
    While Crank goes very far to combat drug use as an introductory tale, Glass is Anti-Drug 201, a hardcore look at more of the nasty side effects of addiction, as good as an uncut marathon of Intervention with viewers thrust, uncomfortably, inside Kristina's head. There's no doubt it will be too much for many readers, either too brutal, or too close to home. But Hopkins savagely slices through any illusions of "normal life" with beautiful poems and style that make the story she's telling all the more monstrous. Highly recommended for collections, but with the warning that these pages might leave reader's scarred.

    Contains: sex, drug use, language, domestic violence

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    GREAT BOOK

    I LIKED THIS BOOK BECAUSE IT SEEMED SO REAL WITH ALL THE DRUGS,PEOPLE AND EMOTIONAL. DOES NOT NEED TO BE AT SCHOOL WOULD NOT WANT A KID NOT MATURE TO READ THIS BUT I DID LIKE IT AND THOUGHT THAT IT WAS A GOOD BOOK PLZ ENJOI.......... :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    READ NOW

    You need to read this book now. K? K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    GREAT!

    I loved Crank and im hooked on Glass. Im so ready to read Fallout :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Great Book!!

    I thought this book was very good. It's very intriguing how Ellen Hopkins describes the experiences. I think it's a good example of what people can go through, especially when they are young, with drugs. It shows the cycle of drug use. I think that Kristina's struggle with drugs should be an example. IT shows how she had a child and got off the drugs and things start to happen and she can't seem to pull away. Everything feels so real and anyone can relate to this book even if you don't do drugs. I would reccommend this to anyone who likes books that deal with real issues and drugs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Glass by Ellan Hopkins. Great book!

    Glass is the continued story of Crank. Crank is about a teenager who is an ordinary girl named Kristina or "Bree", who succeeds very well, who goes to visit her father one summer. She encounters the drug crack and falls in love with it, falls in love with the "monster". The books end with this girl pregnant with the baby of the boy who raped her.
    Glass starts with the baby born named Hunter with her mother who isn't even eighteen yet, living at her mom's house. Kristina avoids the monster as long as she can to save her life and Hunters'. She holds strong for the first couple months but soon the monster starts to call her. Kristina starts wanting it bad so she lies to her mom and tells her she's going to a college fair but really she's going to visit her friend at state to find the monster once more. When she arrives to her friend's college she meets Trey her room mate who would soon become her one love.
    Kristina soon goes back home with the monster in her pocket. One day at home with Hunter while on crank she falls asleep and Hunter rolled under a chair and hurt himself, and Kristina is kicked out of her own house and isn't allowed to take her own child.
    So Kristina find a place to live with Trey's cousin Brad who had two children, who did not like the fact that she was living with them. Eventually the baby's mom comes home and Kristina is forced to leave. But shortly after that she convinces Trey to get an apartment with her.
    Kristina and Trey get an apartment, but are extremely poor. The only way they can succeed is to steal money and buy and sell meth "glass". They eventually are kicked out of the apartment and they decide to live in their car living off foods like McDonalds and other fast food restaurants. Sleeping one night high off the left over glass they haven't sold they are pulled over for parking in a place they aren't supposed to be and searched. The cop finds a little lock box full of the half pound 90 percent pure crystal methamphetamine and also finds a warrant for Kristina's arrest for stealing. It turns out it was her mom who called the cops because Kristina stole from her. As the author states in the end of the book, "Kristina and Trey will no longer share an apartment, a car, a bed, a pipe, a cigarette, a kiss, promises, dreams or vows." The only thing they will share is a baby. Kristina hopes to be out of jail before it comes, hoping that the meth didn't mess her soon to be baby up, hoping for forginvess, and hoping just once more she might see Trey again once both released.

    This was a great book, and I really encourage all to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    if you like edgy books, that keep you reading, this is fantastic (as is Crank- the first book of the series)

    let me start of by saying that i read Crank months before i read this, and i expected to be a bit lost in this book considering it is a series and i had mildy forgotten some parts of Crank. Ellen Hopkins did a fantastic job on basically summarizing Crank at the start of this book. (If you read Crank prior to this it will by a smooth read, if not and you just read Glass on its own, you can still really enjoy the book). All of Ellen Hopkins books are page-turners, i never wanted to put down Glass once i started reading it, to the point where i finished it within a few hours. In addition the book is written in poetic form and it goes suprisingly fast. Theres not a dull moment in this book, i promise. My only problem with this book, as well as Hopkins other books is there is no chapters or anything to really divide the book, so its a bit difficult to find the right part to stop at (its do-able though). I honestly cannot rave enough about Glass, it really shows the dark side of addiction, as well other "dark" topics. i strongly suggest this book to anyone who really wants a good, edgy, book. Its onc of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Glass by Ellen Hopkins

    Makenzie VanderMeulen <BR/>Ms. Rogal <BR/>Strategic Reading<BR/>17 November 2008 <BR/><BR/>Glass<BR/>By: Ellen Hopkins<BR/><BR/> The title of the book I am reviewing is Glass, by Ellen Hopkins. It is the sequel to Crank, which is also written by Ellen Hopkins. I believe the purpose for writing this book is to show young minds the nature of addiction, and how drugs can hurt more then the person using the drugs. ¿Have you ever tried to quit a bad habit, one that has come to define you? To cease using a substance, any substance, that you not only need, but enjoy? To stop yourself from lighting up that cigarette? It¿s going to kill you, but hey, you¿re going to die someday anyway, why not die happy, why not die buzzed, why not die satisfied? Why not die sooner, with fewer regrets, than later?¿ Hopkins intended this book for teens; I believe Hopkins chose teens because that¿s normally when experimentation with drugs occurs. The person telling this story is a girl named Kristina, she has a split personality also, named Bree, she is telling this story to show teens what drugs did to her. Hopkins wrote this story about her daughters walk with ¿the monster¿, so that¿s how she interpreted the characters and storylines. I could connect with Kristina most, because she has 2 sides to her, I don¿t have split personalities but I have many sides to me. The author wrote this story beautifully, I believe she reached her goals writing this book. I learned how addiction works, and how cruel it really can get. This book is a lot like Go Ask Alice and Cut, both of these books are about addiction. The significance of the books title is it is Kristina¿s or Bree¿s new drug of choice. I would recommend this book to young teens to show how drugs can affect you and your family, so that they know what drugs can do to you before they start experimenting. This book was amazing; I was always reading it and constantly engaged. The ending was the best part I didn¿t see it coming at all, it was perfect. I would give this book five stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Is What You Have Been Missing

    Crank by Ellen Hopkins was a phenomenal book that uses very powerful writing with describing what it is like, as Kristina calls it, to be with monster. Ellen Hopkins pulls her readers in until they find themselves not reading fast enough to see what happens next. The overall scheme of the book was extremely captivating. It showed what your life could turn into if you made a mistake like Kristina did. Characters such as Kristina, Bree, Brendan, and Chase make the book so much more enjoyable because their personalities are all so different, besides one thing, living with the monster. I love the fact that when Kristina wants to feel dangerous and have an attitude she brings out her alter-ego, Bree.<BR/><BR/>The book is mainly about a girl named Kristina, who after dealing with becoming a meth addict, is dealing with the aftermath of friends, family, lovers, and her new born baby. Even though she tries to keep her family happy by attempting to stay clean, she falls back into her old ways and continues being an addict again. She starts dealing with the mexican mafia and eventually is way over her head with problems and is forced to run away with her boyfriend,Trey.<BR/><BR/>This book is a great book that alllows for some readers to connect to it and others readers to understand how hard it is to live a life like Kristina did in the book. It allows for readers to realize how little their problems are compared to Kristina's and think, what have i been complaining about all these years when people in the world are living lives like these?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    one of the best books

    this book was a great book. i could not put it down. i stayed up all night reading it. i really wish Hopkins could right a sequel to this book. i really want to know what happens next so bad!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2008

    Uhh, try like twelve stars.

    I cannot even begin to describe how much I loved this book. There are not words, ha. I guess to give you an idea of how amazing this book is I'll tell you that I've lost count of how many times I have read it. It is all too relate-able, wether your like me and you've done/do drugs, or you've never even touched them. Crank and Glass are my all time favourite books and I'm buying Identical tomorrow. Ellen Hopkins is an incredible writer and I recommend her work to everyone mature enough to handle it. [though i'm not a huge fan of burned.]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    wow

    this book was great reading,although it did leave you wondering what was going to happen to christina and her boyfriend ,this was the perfect sequal to crank.It was very in detail,and is one of those books you can read all day and night.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Couldnt put it down!

    Beautiful, compelling, heart wrenching. Amazung story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Other great book by Elen Hopkins!

    I imediatly read this book after fininishing Crank. I am so excited to see what become of Kristina and her longing for love and her poor baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Half way

    Im half way and it is sad hard to read if you were looking down at your feeding child and he looks up and smiles at you how could you think you need anything else i know it is going to get harder to read bu these books are to good to put down for to long i hoe the last one ends alittle better but from reading her past work i find that hard to belive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book, just ugh! Wow was this sad and annoying at times what

    This book, just ugh! Wow was this sad and annoying at times what with the MC. But still you can't help but keep reading and feel sorry for her. Hard to read at times. Oh and again, sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Extremely frustrated

    I am about halfway through with the book but it already has irritated me because she has stopped caring. I would not reccomend this book to anyone who wants to better themselves. I mean she just keeps getting in more and more trouble. She doesn't even seem to want to try to be a mother to her son Hunter which to me is unbelievable I mean howw could she be a mom but not want to be with her child or help her child in any way. By that i mean quitting. My mom did it fome in real life...how can she not be able to do it in a book? I am frustrated with Ellen Hopkins for not trying to help her character. This book so far is extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Does anyone have this so i can blorri Pleas help Does anyome have this and will let me borrow it.?

    Does anyone have this and will let me borrow it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 621 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32