Customer Reviews for

Glass (Crank Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 617 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(470)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Half way

    Im half way and it is sad hard to read if you were looking down at your feeding child and he looks up and smiles at you how could you think you need anything else i know it is going to get harder to read bu these books are to good to put down for to long i hoe the last one ends alittle better but from reading her past work i find that hard to belive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Does anyone have this so i can blorri Pleas help Does anyome have this and will let me borrow it.?

    Does anyone have this and will let me borrow it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptionally written story by Ellen Hopkins. Horrific account o

    Exceptionally written story by Ellen Hopkins. Horrific account of how the main character, Kristina, battles with the monster. This story makes you analyze how easy it is to make the wrong decision, but extremely hard to get out it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great series

    Read the whole srsie s in 2 weeks could not put the down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Loving it

    Loving this one as much as I did Crank!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Its something you sould check out

    I really did enjoy this book more than the first one. I was so interested in finding out if her habits would change and seeing if shed be able to raise her son. I immediately got into this book and would take it to school and secretly read it during my math class witch I do not recommend. If you have not read the first book CRANK I do recommend it since this is the book that follows it. I would recommend this book to anyone as I have already recommended it to a few friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Another great amazing book that crushes your heart and makes you bleed. I mean really, reading this book has really opened my eyes to something I never really seen or felt before. I always seen this type of things go on in movies, or heard through stories, but to really be in someone else's shoes and goes through this has really made an impact on me.

    Once again this story is about Kristina and the return of her past. I think, that if something returns from your past that you once let go and is now following you, this is your test. Whats it gonna be? Your life or the drugs? Throughout the book we see Kristina struggle so much. Many times, I just wanted to help her get out of what she is doing and be the person she is meant to be.

    The plot line is the same expect now Kristina has a child. And one thing I always failed to understand is how a parent can choose a drug over a child. After reading this book, I am at a more understanding part of this. Drugs aren't easy to get out of. It has such a strong on hold on the person, like you are a slave to it. I saw Kristina fight so hard, yet fail.

    This is another great book that will leave you speechless. I admire Ms. Hopkins so much for taking the time to write such true stories like this one. The impact that Ms. Hopkins has on me is something that I will always remember. Her writing and inspiration to write about these subjects has really inspired me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Good read

    I liked it but I don't think it was as good as "Crank".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Better than the first

    So well written, I felt like I was getting high right alongside Bree/Kristina!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Thought it wont hurt to try it once? think again...

    The book is Glass by Ellen Hopkins; its date of publication is 2007. It's a contemporary Fiction book. The storyline of the book is about a teenagers life as a methamphetamine addict and an early age mom. The book's intended audience is for a teenagers and young adult audience.

    Glass by Ellen Hopkins is a book which takes in it a story of lust, tragedy, suspension, keeps you reading for more. Have you ever been pressured to do something you know is wrong, but think to yourself that one try will not hurt until you are addicted and cannot find a way out? Glass is the continuing story of Crank. Crank is about a teenager who tries crank for the first time and falls in love with the monster. The book ends with the teen pregnant with the baby of the man who raped her.

    This book affected me as a person to make me think twice before doing something that can kill me slowly and destroy my life. I find it important and significant to read it. It gives you a basic life story of what it would be like if you were on a drug that is taking control over your life how it is for other and the consequence it may have. I recommend this book to every teenager and young adult out there who has and hasn't experimented with any drugs. Once you start drugs, it's like a new best friend, but like all friends, it tends to take over, change who you are, create someone else, and destroy you.

    The main character in the book is Kristina and her inner half the monster Bree. Throughout the story you see Kristina and Bree battle it out and along with the change and growth of both of them. The characters are really believable. You have you drug addict, your dealer, the person who got her started, her family, and they all act like people would in the real life. The author really catches the perspective of the character. They all play their roles well. You actually think they are real.
    It's a really good book, so enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT!

    I really liked this book! It took me a little while to read but, it WAS 681 PAGES! HAHAHAH! Overall I really enjoyed this book. Kristina really mad me mad sometimes and made me want to slap her! But sometimes I wanted to reach out and give her a hug! Kristina has a very hard life in this book, worse than in Crank. Fallout here I come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This sequel is better

    Usually sequels never live up to the hype or people's expectations, but this one does. This book is longer than the original, Crank. This allows for the stories and characters to be expanded. While the first book gives you an introduction, this book tells the story. Now we just have to wait for the ending in November (I think).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well...

    First off, I have to say that Ellen Hopkins is an amazing writer. I love both Crank and Impulse. However, I didn't really think that Glass was as good as the other books she has written.

    The ending, meant to be a cliffhanger, was kind of expected and a bit annoying, to be frank. Some of this book was great and really compelling, but other parts were predictable and got me fed up with the story. Though Kristina's situation, especially in the beginning and very end was super-real and totally relative to life today, some of the in-between parts were almost like, "Really? You think this could happen to a normal person? I'm supposed to believe this?"
    Also, Kristina is a great character, who is definitely relatable, but some of the other characters were almost repeats of characters from Crank. But there are other characters who you want to know more about, and there is a lead-up to them, then the disappear from the story altogether.

    In general, though, if you have read Crank and want to see what happens next, read Glass. But if you're content with where Crank ended, then don't bother. It's an alright book, but certainly not her best. Her other book Impulse is just as addicting, of not more so.

    Total: 3.5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    Can't wait for the next book!!!!!!

    My daughter said I should read this series so I did now I can't wait for the next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Glass

    The book I read for my book review was Glass. The author of the book was Ellen Hopkins. The reason the author wrote the book was to give insight at the damaging affects of what the author calls "The Monster", which is the deadly drug methamphetamine. The author wrote this book for people who think they want to experiment with drugs to show them it's a bad path. The narrator of the story is the main character. An 18 year old girl named Kristina who is addicted to meth and is trying to get her life back on track. She has a split personality named Bree who is her "bad side". It's important that the narrator is this girl to show what happens to someone addicted to meth. The author showed the character as she goes through her life while dealing with drugs and Bree who is always telling her to do the bad things. The person that I can relate to the most would be Kristina, because of her relationships that she goes through. The author wants to teach people of the unforgiving affects of meth and I learned that it's a very addictive drug. Kristina dropped her baby, let him crawl under a rocking chair, and left him to live with his grandmother (Kristina's mom). There is a book written before Glass called Crank that is the 1st book in the series. The books title is a street term for methamphetamine. I recommend this book to people who are thinking about getting into drugs because this will help show you the right decision and not do the drugs. They are "an unforgettable nightmare" (Hopkins 679). I thought the book was awesome. It was a look at the life of a drug addicted. Its message was a good one. Don't do drugs. The ending was sort of abrupt. It was not an expected ending but it was ok. I give the book 4 out of 5 stars, because it was an awesome book but the ending wasn't the best.
    BY: Josh K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    y is wasnt 5 stars

    This book was really good. i loved how Ellen Hopkins constructs the middle, just like she did with Crank. i honestly dont think she can do better than the first book, Crank. the negative part was the ending. it ended basically for you to wonder about, i dont like that. Hopkins does this with every book one of her books. its really not a good writing skill.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    getting addicted

    I got to know what you call a crackead in this book.knowing how someone goes from good girl to bad and such.Other than that, I loved the book and how you can actually feel what she was going through. In my eyes i thought of her as a deeply disrupted teenager. HOwever, maybe you'll find more than just crystal-meth under this girl. Knowing too much might hurt the story. So, all I'm going to say negative is that i did not like the ending. It just ended blankly no more future of trey and kristina?...other than that its an awesome book pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Once reading Crank, You Can Never Stop Reading

    I loved Crank: read it in practically two days. In fact, I purchased three of Ellen Hopkin's books at once, not knowing what to expect. I loved Crank and immediatley started GLASS. It had taken me a while longer to finish it, perhaps two days as well if I had not had school. I found myself a bit bored in some parts. But otherwise, I loved the story by the ending proved a bit unsatisfactory. Too many HOPEFULLY-ies in once page. I did not like that Ellen Hopkins ended the books like she did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    ...WoW...

    As I read this book it convised me to be someone else a part of me i new was there but others did not and unlike the story of this book it was a good side... I recomend this book to people to beter help their perspective of people the world and DRUGS...i loved it... =p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2007

    Great Book

    i thought this was a great sequel to crank. it was alittle depressing and fustrating seeing how kristina kept making wrong decisions. I've been waiting so long for this book to come out that i think i expected too much from it. But overall i recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5